DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1-15 are currently pending. Claims 1, 9, and 14 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the terms “easily stretched,” “slow speed,” and “fast speed” which are relative terms and render the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what is considered easily stretched, a slow speed, or a fast speed and thus it is unclear as to the metes and bounds of the claim.
For sake of further examination, any polyurethane layer will be viewed as meeting the claimed stretch/tighten at slow and fast speeds.
Claims 2-13 are rejected as being dependent upon indefinite claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall et al. (US 2016/0044971).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Randall discloses a sports bra comprising an exterior shell layer (12), fabric layer (32), film layer (36), and inner liner layer (44) (Fig. 1, 0026).
The film layer comprising polyurethane elastomer (0042) and is easily stretched and extended when stretched at a slow speed and tightened for protection when stretched at a fast speed (see interpretation above).
The fabric layer including a knitted or mesh fabric (0031).
Randall further discloses the polyurethane composition comprising a diisocyanate, polyol, and chain extender, the ratio of polyol, isocyanate and chain extender being 1 : 2.00 to 1.10 : 1.00 to 0.10 (0042), overlapping the claimed weight ratio of 80 to 100 : 70 to 90 : 10 to 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Randall discloses its film layer (36) as either resin layer printed or molded with respect to the exterior shell layer (12), internal fabric layer (32) and interior liner layer (44), implying integral formation (0039).
Please note claims 2 and 4 include product by process language with regards to the recitation of hot pressing. The above arguments establish a rationale tending to show the claimed product is the same as what is taught by the prior art. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966). Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious different between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983), MPEP 2113.
Regarding claims 5-7, Randall does not expressly teach the polyurethan layer having a non-linear relationship between shear stress and shear strain or having a rebound force of no more than 20% (or 12-14% in claim 7).
However, Randall teaches a substantially identical polyurethane which comprises a polyol, isocyanate and chain extender having an overlapping weight ratio and molecular weight ranges of each component (0042). Thus, these properties would be expected from the prior art film layer.
Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)), see MPEP 2112. Applicant has not clearly shown an unobvious difference between the instant invention and the prior art’s product.
Regarding claim 8, the polyurethane layer comprises a plurality of circular through holes which are uniformly distributed (0043, Fig. 10).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Randall discloses a sports bra comprising an exterior shell layer (12), fabric layer (32), film layer (36), and inner liner layer (44) (Fig. 1, 0026).
The film layer comprising polyurethane elastomer (0042).
Randall further discloses the polyurethane composition comprising a diisocyanate, polyol, and chain extender, the ratio of polyol, isocyanate and chain extender being 1 : 2.00 to 1.10 : 1.00 to 0.10 (0042), overlapping the claimed weight ratio of 80 to 100 : 70 to 90 : 10 to 20.
Randall does not expressly teach when a force of at least 2 kg is applied to stretch the film layer, an elongation of the intermediate layer in a direction of the applied force at a first stretching speed is at least 2.3 times an elongation of the layer in the direction of the applied force at a second stretching speed is at least 10 times the first stretching speed where in the first stretching speed is 100 mm/min.
However, Randall teaches a substantially identical polyurethane which comprises a polyol, isocyanate and chain extender having an overlapping weight ratio and molecular weight ranges of each component (0042). Thus, this property would be expected from the prior art film layer.
Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)), see MPEP 2112. Applicant has not clearly shown an unobvious difference between the instant invention and the prior art’s product.
Claims 9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Busbee et al. (US 2019/0039310).
Regarding claim 9, Randall discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Randall discloses the polyurethane composition comprising a diisocyanate, polyol, and chain extender the polyol having a functionality greater than or equal to 2 (0042).
Randall does not disclose the chain extender having an average functionality greater than 2.
Busbee, in the analogous field of bras (0124), teaches a polyol formulation for an elastomer comprising a triol chain extender (0113). Busbee teach that the ratio of higher functionality defines the functionality of the system or the degree of branching (0114).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the chain extender of Randal to include a triol, as taught by Busbee, to increase the degree of branching (0114).
Regarding the overlapping ranges discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, Randall discloses the polyurethane composition comprising a diisocyanate, polyol, and chain extender, the ratio by weight of polyol, isocyanate and chain extender being 1 : 2.00 to 1.10 : 1.00 to 0.10 overlapping the claimed weight ratio of 85 to 95 : 75 to 85 : 13 to 17 (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 13, Busbee teaches the polyol being a polyester (0206) and the chain extender including 1, 4-butanediol (0080, 0112). As they are different materials the polyol is dissimilar to the chain extender.
Claims 10-11 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall in view of Busbee as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Gilbert (US 4,867,150).
Regarding claim 10, Randall in view of Busbee disclose the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above. Randall further discloses the molecular weight of the polyol ranging from 300 to 2500, overlapping the claimed 300 to 2000 in claim 10 and 500 to 1200 in claim 11; and molecular weight of chain extender of 60 to 360, overlapping the claimed 90 to 400 in claim 10 and 200 to 300 in claim 11. (MPEP 2144.05)
Randal does not disclose a molecular weight of the isocyanate of 320 to 400 (or 350 to 370 (in claim 11).
Gilbert discloses an elastomeric thin film (column 1, lines 5-10) comprising a polyurethane composition formed from reaction of a polyol, diisocyanate and chain extender (column 7, lines 40-45). The molecular weight of the diisocyanate preferably ranging up to 400 (column 7, lines 45-50), overlapping the claimed 320 to 400 in claim 10 and 350 to 370 in claim 11. (MPEP 2144.05).
Gilbert is analogous art in the field of polyurethane perforated films. Alternatively, Gilbert is reasonably pertinent as Gilbert provide a polyurethane thin film which is soft and has good elastomeric quality (column 5, lines 1-5). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the diisocyanate of Randal to have a molecular weight range of up to 400 as taught by Gilbert to provide for a soft hand feel (column 7, lines 35-40).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the specification clearly defines the terms slow speed and fast speed citing to page 2, line 8, page 11, lines 13-14 and Table 1 and easily stretch on page 11, lines 19-22.
The specification does not define slow and fast speed or easily stretched as argued by applicant. The cited passages refer to “an embodiment” or “e.g.” suggesting that these are not a definition but examples. Furthermore, if these limitations were to be read into claim 1, there would be an issue of independent claim 14/15 not being further limiting/a substantial duplicate.
Applicant argues that Randall does not teach a ratio by weight overlapping the claimed range because Randall teaches a molar ratio.
It is maintained that the ratio of Randall overlaps the present claimed weight ratio. Specifically, Randall teaches the ratio of polyol, isocyanate and chain extender being 1 : 2.00 to 1.10 : 1.00 to 0.10 and molecular weights of 300-2500, 174-303, and 60-360 (0042), respectively and the weight ratio can be calculated e.g.,:
Mass ratio of 1 : 2: 0.25 of polyol : diisocyanate : chain extender
MW polyol = 600
MW diisocyanate = 303
MW chain extender = 360
(1)(600) : (2)(303) : (0.25)(360) = 600 : 606 : 90
Value for scaling = 6.75
Weight Ratio = 88.89 : 89.78 : 13.33, inside range of 80.00 to 100.00 : 70.00 to 90.00 : 10.0 to 20.00
Likewise, if the mass ratio of polyol : diisocyanate : chain extender is 1 : 1.8 : 0.25, the weight ratio = 88.89 : 80.8 : 13.33, inside range of 85.00 to 95.00 : 75.00 to 85.00 : 13.0 to 17.00 as claimed in claim 12.
Correspondence
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781