DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10, 12-19, and 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. See remarks on page 9-12.
The rejection of pending claims 1-10, 12-19, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, is maintained in view of MPEP 2106.04(d). Applicant argues that claim 1 recite does not recite managing and facilitating a sweepstakes game because the claim does not expressly recite expecting sweepstakes entries, maintaining a pool of participants, determining odds, or awarding prizes. Applicant further argues that the amended claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application because the claims provide a specific technological implementation involving generation, recording, activation, and evaluation of a cryptographic token containing data defining outcome conditions. Applicant arguments are not persuasive. Although the claim recites generating a cryptographic token, minting the cryptographic token on a distributed ledger, activating the cryptographic token, and determining whether conditions corresponding to the particular asset are satisfied, these technological components are used to carry out the recited sweepstakes functionality. The Specification describes the blockchain infrastructure as a distributed ledger used for tracking and recording exchanges and generating tokens and describes activation of the token as a mechanism for determining the outcome of the sweepstakes based on the token. The Specification does not establish that the claimed arrangement improves the functioning of the discributed ledger, cryptographic token, computing device, or any other technology. Rather, these technological components are used to generate and evaluate digital tokens for determining sweepstakes outcomes. Accordingly, considered individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, applicant arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection under 35 USC § 101 is maintained. See remarks on page 7-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10, 12-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 1:
Claims 1-8 and 21 are directed to a system, claims 9-10 and 12-15 are directed to a method (process), and claims 16-19 are directed an article of manufacture. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 2A – Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1). An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groups: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts. MPEP 2106.04(a).
Representative independents claim 1, 9, and 16 include limitations that recite at least one abstract idea.
Claims 1, 9, and 16 are directed to the abstract idea of “receive a request for a cryptographic token; determine a particular asset of a plurality of assets based on a random number generation; generate the cryptographic token corresponding to the particular asset, wherein generating the cryptographic token comprises minting the cryptographic token on a distributed ledger; generate a sweepstakes outcome from a set of sweepstakes outcomes for a particular sweepstakes game based on minting the cryptographic token on the distributed ledger; and render the sweepstakes outcome and the cryptographic token on a display.” Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this claim is managing and facilitating a sweepstakes game by selecting an asset associated with conditions for a sweepstakes outcome, determining whether the conditions associated with the selected asset are satisfied, generating the sweepstakes outcome, and displaying the outcome. Accordingly, the identified limitations recite certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Dependent Claims:
Claim 2 recites: wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to associate the cryptographic token with a patron account; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 4 recites: wherein the patron account is associated with a plurality of other cryptographic tokens individually corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of assets; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 5 recites: wherein each of the plurality of assets are individually associated with a respective probability of a plurality of probabilities; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 7 recites: wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to determine a plurality of terms and the conditions for the cryptographic token, wherein the plurality of computing instructions comprise a smart contract representing the plurality of terms and conditions; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 8 recites: wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to: receive a request to acquire a feature for the particular sweepstakes game according to one of the plurality of terms and the conditions; and enable the feature for the particular sweepstakes game automatically according to the one of the plurality of terms and the conditions; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 14 recites: determining, via one of the one or more computing devices, a patron account comprises a plurality of cryptographic tokens individually corresponding to individual ones of a particular subset of the set of assets; and authenticating, via one of the one or more computing devices, the patron account for access to a particular service based on the patron account comprising the plurality of cryptographic token; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 15 recites: wherein the particular subset of the set of assets is defined within the plurality of cryptographic tokens; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 19 recites: receive a request to trade the cryptographic token in a first patron account with a second cryptographic token in a second patron account; assign the cryptographic token to the second patron account; and assign the second cryptographic token to the first patron account; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 21 recites: wherein generating the sweepstakes outcome further comprises: determining a value associated with the particular asset; and comparing the value to a threshold associated with the sweepstakes to determine the sweepstakes outcome; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 2A – Prong Two:
The additional elements of claims 1, 9, and 16 include a computing device, memory, display, cryptographic token, and distributed ledger, including generating the cryptographic token by minting the cryptographic token on the distributed ledger and using activation of the cryptographic token to determine whether the conditions corresponding to the particular asset are satisfied. Viewed individually and as an ordered combination, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Rather, the computing and distributed ledger components are used as tools for implementing the recited sweepstakes activity by generating and recording the token associated with the selected asset and using the token to determine sweepstakes outcome. Applicant argues that the amended limitations provide a technical improvement because the system generates, records, and activates a token containing structured data and determines an outcome based on evaluation of the token upon activation. However, the Specification does not describe the claimed limitations as improving the functioning of the computing device, distributed ledger, or any other technology. Therefore, the claimed technological components do not provide an improvement to computer functionality or other technology but instead implement the recited sweepstakes activity using recited computer components. Accordingly, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Dependent Claims:
Claim 3 recites: wherein the patron account comprises a cryptographic wallet. These limitations are additional elements that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 6 recites: wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to generate the cryptographic token by embedding a plurality of computing instructions in the cryptographic token. These limitations are additional elements that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 10 recites: wherein rendering the cryptographic token on the display comprises rendering the particular asset on the display. These limitations are additional elements that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 12 recites: wherein the cryptographic token is a nonfungible token. These limitations are additional elements that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 13 recites: further comprising recording, via one of the one or more computing devices, the token on a distributed ledger. These limitations are additional elements that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 17 recites: wherein the program further causes the at least one computing device to cause a printer to print a ticket comprising a scannable code corresponding to the cryptographic token. These limitations are additional elements that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 18 recites: receive a value corresponding to the scannable code a computing device scanning the scannable code; and associate the cryptographic token with a patron account corresponding to the computing device. These limitations are additional elements that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application
Step 2B:
The additional elements considered individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the identified judicial exception. The recited computing devices, memory, display, cryptographic token, and distributed ledger are used to implement the recited sweepstakes functionality, including generating the cryptographic token corresponding to the selected asset, minting the token on the distributed ledger, determining whether conditions associated with the asset are satisfied upon activation of the token, and rendering the resulting sweepstakes outcome. Considered individually and as an ordered combination, these elements do not provide an inventive concept that transform the abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter, but instead implement the activity using computer and distributed ledger components. The additional limitations of the dependent claims considered individually and in combination, do not provide an inventive concept that transforms the judicial exception into patent eligible subject matter. Rather, the additional elements are used to implement, record, display, communicate, or facilitate the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 1-10, 12-19, and 21 do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andon et al. (US 20230361998 A1), in view of Hardy et al. (US 20110092267 A1), in view of Jakobsson et al. (US 20230075884 A1) and further in view of Guy et al. (US 20230118568 A1).
7. Regarding claim 1, 9, and 16, Andon discloses a system, (a method, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium embodying a program that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to, (Para .0071)),
comprising: a display; a memory device; and at least one computing device communicatively coupled to the memory device and the display, (Para. 0014, The decentralized computing system includes a wireless communications device that connects with one or more remote computing nodes over a distributed computing network, and a cryptographic digital asset registry that stores digital shoes and unique digital shoe ID codes associated with multiple cryptographic digital assets. Other peripheral hardware may include a network interface bus, resident and/or remote memory, a user location tracking device, a UPC/UPID scanner, etc.; and Para. 0015, Continuing with the above example, the decentralized computing system also includes a server-class (middleware or backend) computer that is operatively connected to the wireless communications device and cryptographic digital asset registry. The middleware server computer is programmed to execute memory-stored firmware and software to receive, over the distributed computing network from a remote computing node, an electronic transaction confirmation indicative of a validated transfer of authenticated footwear from one party to another party. Responsive to receipt of the transaction confirmation, the server-class computer retrieves a unique owner ID code of the transferee party from an encrypted relational database, and generates a cryptographic digital asset associated with the article of footwear. The cryptographic digital asset includes a computer-generated digital shoe provisioned through a unique tokenized code with a corresponding access key. The server-class computer then links the cryptographic digital asset to the unique owner ID code in the cryptographic digital asset registry, and transmits the unique digital shoe ID code and unique owner ID code to a distributed blockchain ledger for recordation on a transaction block.)
the at least one computing device being configured to: receive a request for a cryptographic token, (Para. 0013. This representative method includes, in any order and in any combination with any of the above or below disclosed features and options: receiving, via a server-class (middleware or backend) computer over a distributed computing network from a remote computing node (e.g., a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, a personal computer, a smartphone, etc.), a transaction confirmation indicative of a validated transfer of authentic footwear from a first party to a second party; determining, via the middleware server computer from an encrypted relational database, a unique owner ID code (e.g., a member ID of a cryptocurrency wallet or digital locker) associated with the second party; generating a cryptographic digital asset associated with the article of footwear, the cryptographic digital asset including a digital shoe (e.g., a computer-generated avatar) and a unique digital shoe ID code (e.g., a key and cryptographic token); linking, via the middleware server computer, the cryptographic digital asset with the unique owner ID code; and transmitting, via the middleware server computer to a distributed blockchain ledger (e.g., Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, etc.), the unique digital shoe ID code and the unique owner ID code for recordation on a transaction block.)
Andon does not explicitly disclose and rendering, via one of the one or more computing devices, the sweepstakes outcome and the cryptographic token on a display.
However, Hardy teaches and rendering, via one of the one or more computing devices, the sweepstakes outcome and the cryptographic token on a display, (Para. 0011-0013, The participant may be presented with a listing of the current sweepstakes that are accepting entries along with any entries the participant may already have entered into those sweepstakes. The participant may also elect to defer the choice of entering one of the current sweepstakes and place their entries into a repository for future use. The sweepstakes entries may have associated expiration or use policies (e.g. expiration dates, only good for certain promotions, variable effective value). The repository would track expiration and use policies for all sweepstakes entries being stored in the repository…the act of providing an entry into a sweepstakes game to the player includes an act of providing a custom currency redeemable for entry into at least one sweepstakes game. According to another embodiment of the invention, the method further comprises an act of permitting the player to exchange the entry into the sweepstakes game. According to another embodiment of the invention, the method further comprises an act of permitting the player to exchange the custom currency. According to another embodiment of the invention, the method further comprises an act of providing an exchange interface for trading of the custom currency….the exchange interface is configured to display information associated with the sweepstakes entry. According to another embodiment of the invention, the information associated with the sweepstakes entry includes at least one of an expiration for the sweepstakes entry, a value of any outcome of a sweepstakes game associated with the entry, a sweepstake game level associated with the entry, a total number of sweepstakes entries submitted for the sweepstakes game associated with the sweepstakes entry, an outcome of the sweepstakes game associated with the sweepstakes entry, a time for redemption of the sweepstakes entry, a cash value of a prize associated with the entry, and a cash equivalent value of a prize associated with the entry.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Hardy to the known invention of Andon would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate payment details features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include and render the sweepstakes outcome and the cryptographic token on a display result in an improved invention because applying said technique ensure that the user is able to experience the outcome of the sweepstakes and see the results, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
Andon as modified does not explicitly disclose determine a particular asset of a plurality of assets based on a random number generation, wherein the particular asset corresponds to conditions for generating a sweepstakes outcome.
However, Jakobsson teaches determine a particular asset of a plurality of assets based on a random number generation, wherein the particular asset corresponds to conditions for generating a sweepstakes outcome, (Para. 0367, The lottery company may at the end, when the last NFT has been spawned and sold, generate a random value corresponding to a unique value and/or identifier of the NFTs thus making that NFT the winner of the lottery. Such a value can be based on observed events and data in a way that makes it publicly verifiable, e.g., allowing users who did not win to verify that the computation of the winner was done in the proper manner. It may not enable such users to determine the winner, only that they did not win, and that this was not an arbitrary decision. Alternatively or additionally, once the total number of NFTs have been spawned, the lottery company may provide the decryption key and/or decommit to a specific number/value that corresponds to a winning NFT. In accordance with some embodiments, lottery companies may keep track of the number of spawned NFTs because they are all immutably written on the blockchain. The users may then decrypt the encrypted field and see if the number/value of their NFT(s) match the specific number/value that corresponds to the winning NFT.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Jakobsson to the known invention of Andon as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate sweepstakes features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include determine a particular asset of a plurality of assets based on a random number generation, wherein the particular asset corresponds to conditions for generating a sweepstakes outcome result in an improved invention because applying said technique ensure that that the system can select an asset having conditions that determines the sweepstakes outcome, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Andon as modified does not explicitly disclose generate the cryptographic token corresponding to the particular asset, wherein generating the cryptographic token comprises minting the cryptographic token on a distributed ledger.
However, Jakobsson teaches generate the cryptographic token corresponding to the particular asset, wherein generating the cryptographic token comprises minting the cryptographic token on a distributed ledger, (Para. 0365, In accordance with some embodiments of the invention, original NFTs used in the lottery system may include one or more encrypted fields. Such fields may be not inspectable and/or understandable without access to a decryption key. In some cases, the original NFT may be minted/created by a lottery company that holds the decryption key. Encrypted fields may include functions that create random numbers and/or other types of output. Alternatively or additionally, encrypted fields may include static random values. In accordance with a number of embodiments, the NFT may instead be completely open and inspectable and may for example have a counter, value, and/or another unique identifier.; and Para. 0367, Alternatively or additionally, once the total number of NFTs have been spawned, the lottery company may provide the decryption key and/or decommit to a specific number/value that corresponds to a winning NFT. In accordance with some embodiments, lottery companies may keep track of the number of spawned NFTs because they are all immutably written on the blockchain. The users may then decrypt the encrypted field and see if the number/value of their NFT(s) match the specific number/value that corresponds to the winning NFT.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Jakobsson to the known invention of Andon as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate token features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include generate the cryptographic token corresponding to the particular asset, wherein generating the cryptographic token comprises minting the cryptographic token on a distributed ledger result in an improved invention because applying said technique securely records the cryptographic token and its corresponding asset on a distributed ledger, thus improving the overall performance and security of the invention.
Andon as modified does not explicitly disclose generate the sweepstakes outcome from a set of sweepstakes outcomes for a particular sweepstakes game based on minting the cryptographic token on the distributed ledger, wherein the sweepstakes outcome is generated based on activating the cryptographic token and determining that the conditions corresponding to the particular asset are satisfied based on the activation of the cryptographic token.
However, Guy teaches generate the sweepstakes outcome from a set of sweepstakes outcomes for a particular sweepstakes game based on minting the cryptographic token on the distributed ledger, wherein the sweepstakes outcome is generated based on activating the cryptographic token and determining that the conditions corresponding to the particular asset are satisfied based on the activation of the cryptographic token, (Para. 0055-0056, game outcome tokens 204A, 204B (e.g., ERC-721 tokens) can be offered for sale for a contest/gaming transaction representative of one or more possible contest/event outcomes in block 204. When a participant purchases/accepts the transaction, the initial token cost 211, 211B (e.g., entry fee) can be immediately charged and held by the Smart Contract 202A, and a Game Token (e.g., Team 1 Win —204A, Team 2 Win —204B) can be placed into the digital wallet (not shown) of the participant. A status 215, 215B (e.g., pending, won, lost, etc.) of the game outcome tokens 204A, 204B for the contest/event can be included in the game outcome tokens 204A, 204B, in accordance with aspects of the present invention. The outcomes under which the holder of one or more Game Tokens 204A, 204B receives a payout 213, 213A for a win (or a limited or no payout for a loss) can be defined and governed by the Smart Contract by the payout/rules in block 203…once all of a threshold amount (e.g., 50%, 75%, 100%, etc.) of Game Tokens 204A, 204B have been purchased by users, and all entries fees have been paid to the Wallet 209, the Smart Contract 202A can be automatically activated and can confirm that the game is now active in block 206. Predetermined payout amounts from block 203 can be delivered by to one or more respective owners of one or more winning tokens upon satisfaction of predetermined conditions of the Smart Contract 202A, and if the predetermined conditions do not occur, the Smart Contract 202A can execute one or more other predetermined actions (e.g., no payout, less payout, etc.) according to the payout/rules in block 203, in accordance with aspects of the present invention.; and Para. 0059, In block 214, upon the occurrence/satisfaction of a predefined trigger event (e.g., as defined in the Smart Contract 202A), winning token(s) and/or owners of winning token(s) can be determined as per the terms of the Smart Contract 202A, which may be less any transaction fee or service fee charged as part of the Smart Contract transaction, in accordance with aspects of the present invention. In some embodiments, a request for a transfer (e.g., buy, sell, trade) of the game tokens can be automatically generated upon a determined change in value of one or more game tokens reaching a predefined, participant-set threshold selling or buying price for particular tokens.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Guy to the known invention of Andon as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate minting token features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include generate the sweepstakes outcome from a set of sweepstakes outcomes for a particular sweepstakes game based on minting the cryptographic token on the distributed ledger, wherein the sweepstakes outcome is generated based on activating the cryptographic token and determining that the conditions corresponding to the particular asset are satisfied based on the activation of the cryptographic token result in an improved invention because applying said technique activates the cryptographic token and its associated conditions to determine the appropriate sweepstakes outcome, thus improving the overall performance and security of the invention.
8. Regarding claim 2, Andon discloses wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to associate the cryptographic token with a patron account, (Para. 0013, generating a cryptographic digital asset associated with the article of footwear, the cryptographic digital asset including a digital shoe (e.g., a computer-generated avatar) and a unique digital shoe ID code (e.g., a key and cryptographic token); linking, via the middleware server computer, the cryptographic digital asset with the unique owner ID code; and transmitting, via the middleware server computer to a distributed blockchain ledger (e.g., Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, etc.), the unique digital shoe ID code and the unique owner ID code for recordation on a transaction block.; and Para. 0015, The cryptographic digital asset includes a computer-generated digital shoe provisioned through a unique tokenized code with a corresponding access key. The server-class computer then links the cryptographic digital asset to the unique owner ID code in the cryptographic digital asset registry, and transmits the unique digital shoe ID code and unique owner ID code to a distributed blockchain ledger for recordation on a transaction block.)
9. Regarding claim 3, Andon discloses wherein the patron account comprises a cryptographic wallet, (Para. 0011, Concomitantly, an access prompt with a unique (e.g., 64-bit numeric) key is issued to a cryptocurrency wallet account associated with the owner ID code such that the buyer can retrieve a digital shoe with a cryptographic token; the key, token and digital shoe are assigned to the owner ID code.; and Para. 0019, the server-class computer may generate a smart contract that authenticates ownership of and/or tracks future transaction of the cryptographic digital asset. The unique owner ID code may be linked with a cryptocurrency wallet that registered with the distributed blockchain ledger.)
10. Regarding claim 4, Andon discloses wherein the patron account is associated with a plurality of other cryptographic tokens individually corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of assets, (Para. 0012, ownership rights for each successive generation of a digital shoe may be tied back to the original, real-world shoe (e.g., wholly or partially; by percentage of genotypic contribution, etc.) via encryption key to the originally associated virtual product.; and Para. 0011] In some embodiments, purchase of an authentic, tangible pair of shoes may enable or “unlock” a corresponding cryptographic digital asset and a digital shoe associated with that digital asset. For example, when a person purchases a real-world pair of shoes from a registered seller, a unique (e.g., 10-bit numeric) physical shoe identification (ID) code of the physical shoes may be linked to a unique (e.g., 42-bit alphanumeric) owner ID code of the buyer. Concomitantly, an access prompt with a unique (e.g., 64-bit numeric) key is issued to a cryptocurrency wallet account associated with the owner ID code such that the buyer can retrieve a digital shoe with a cryptographic token; the key, token and digital shoe are assigned to the owner ID code.)
11. Regarding claim 5, Andon discloses wherein each of the plurality of assets are individually associated with a respective probability of a plurality of probabilities, (Para. 0012, In some embodiments, a digital asset may include genotype information and/or phenotype information for a digital shoe. This genotype/phenotype data may represent certain traits, attributes, colors, styles, backgrounds, etc., of the digital asset, and may be coordinated according to “breeding rules” that govern any intermingling of a digital shoe with one or more other discrete digital shoes. Phenotypic characteristics may depend on genotypic information, and vice versa, along with any one or more of: a virtual environment and attendant effects; time-dependent intermingling restrictions (e.g., cannot breed virtual shoe offspring until both reach a pre-established maturity); virtual user interactions that alter (e.g., speed up or slow down) maturity or increase/decrease a likelihood of certain traits developing; and Para. 0018, One or more of these code subsets may include data indicative of attributes of the corresponding digital shoe. The progeny cryptographic digital asset is provisioned via a distinct cryptographic token key with a code string composed of one or more code subsets with attribute data extracted from the cryptographic token key of the second-party digital asset and one or more code subsets with attribute data extracted from the cryptographic token key of the third-party digital asset. For instance, one code subset of the progeny digital asset may share a distinct alphanumeric sequence with a code subset of the second-party digital asset, while another code subset of the progeny digital asset may share a distinct alphanumeric sequence with a code subset of the third-party digital asset. Generating the progeny cryptographic digital asset may include applying a random number generator to: designate one of the mating cryptographic digital assets as a sire, designate the other mating cryptographic digital assets as a dam, and determine which code subsets of the progeny will correspond to which code subsets of the sire and which code subsets of the dam.)
12. Regarding claim 6, Andon discloses wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to generate the cryptographic token by embedding a plurality of computing instructions in the cryptographic token, (Para. 0018-0019, For instance, each cryptographic digital asset may be assigned a respective unique cryptographic token key with a code string that is segmented into a series of code subset. One or more of these code subsets may include data indicative of attributes of the corresponding digital shoe….For instance, one code subset of the progeny digital asset may share a distinct alphanumeric sequence with a code subset of the second-party digital asset, while another code subset of the progeny digital asset may share a distinct alphanumeric sequence with a code subset of the third-party digital asset. Generating the progeny cryptographic digital asset may include applying a random number generator to: designate one of the mating cryptographic digital assets as a sire, designate the other mating cryptographic digital assets as a dam, and determine which code subsets of the progeny will correspond to which code subsets of the sire and which code subsets of the dam… The server-class computer may respond by determining a new unique owner ID code of the third party, link the cryptographic digital asset with this new unique owner ID code, and record the transfer of the unique digital shoe ID code to the new unique owner ID code on a new transaction block with the distributed blockchain ledger. The digital transfer proposal may be transmitted in response to a confirmation indicative of a new validated transfer of the article of footwear from the second party to the third party. Alternatively, transfer of the cryptographic digital asset to a third party may be independent of transfer of the physical footwear. Optionally, the server-class computer may generate a smart contract that authenticates ownership of and/or tracks future transaction of the cryptographic digital asset. The unique owner ID code may be linked with a cryptocurrency wallet that registered with the distributed blockchain ledger.)
13. Regarding claim 7, Andon discloses wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to determine a plurality of terms and the conditions for the cryptographic token, wherein the plurality of computing instructions comprise a smart contract representing the plurality of terms and conditions, (Para. 0019, For any of the disclosed systems, methods, digital assets and footwear, the server-class computer may receive a digital transfer proposal (from either the transferor or the transferee) with a request to transfer the cryptographic digital asset to a third party. The server-class computer may respond by determining a new unique owner ID code of the third party, link the cryptographic digital asset with this new unique owner ID code, and record the transfer of the unique digital shoe ID code to the new unique owner ID code on a new transaction block with the distributed blockchain ledger. The digital transfer proposal may be transmitted in response to a confirmation indicative of a new validated transfer of the article of footwear from the second party to the third party. Alternatively, transfer of the cryptographic digital asset to a third party may be independent of transfer of the physical footwear. Optionally, the server-class computer may generate a smart contract that authenticates ownership of and/or tracks future transaction of the cryptographic digital asset. The unique owner ID code may be linked with a cryptocurrency wallet that registered with the distributed blockchain ledger.)
14. Regarding claim 10, Andon discloses wherein rendering the cryptographic token on the display comprises rendering the particular asset on the display, (Para. 0089, The CollabScience algorithm then processes the cryptographic digital asset, produces the virtual representation of the new asset, and assigns the asset to the buyer's digital blockchain locker.)
15. Regarding claim 12, Andon discloses wherein the cryptographic token is a nonfungible token, (Para. 0037, As used herein, “cryptographic digital assets,” or simply “digital assets” may refer to any computer-generated virtual object, including digital footwear, apparel, headgear, avatars, pets, etc., that have a unique, non-fungible tokenized code (“token”) registered on and validated by a blockchain platform or otherwise registered in an immutable database. Furthermore all references to “Crypt® Kicks” and variations of the term within this disclosure should be understood to be exemplary of a virtual collectible backed by a unique, non-fungable token or registry entry within an immutable database. It should not be limiting to only footwear. All such references should be read to equally apply to apparel (e.g., “Crypt® Threads”), headgear (e.g., “Crypt® Lids”), and sporting equipment (e.g., “Crypt® Gear”), or other such objects.)
16. Regarding claim 13, Andon discloses further comprising recording, via one of the one or more computing devices, the token on a distributed ledger, (Para. 0021, FIG. 1 is a lateral side-view illustration of a representative article of footwear with a collectible digital asset protected by a cryptographic token that is provisioned through a blockchain ledger in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure.)
17. Regarding claim 14, Andon discloses further comprising: determining, via one of the one or more computing devices, a patron account comprises a plurality of cryptographic tokens individually corresponding to individual ones of a particular subset of the set of assets; and authenticating, via one of the one or more computing devices, the patron account for access to a particular service based on the patron account comprising the plurality of cryptographic tokens, (Para. 0025, FIG. 5 is an illustration of a representative graphical user interface (GUI) of a personal computing device illustrating a library of a plurality of cryptographic digital assets.; and Para. 0040-0044, In a representative example, an authenticated pair of physical shoes are created and assigned a Unique Product Identifier (UPID). Upon purchase by a consumer, the UPID is used to unlock a cryptographic digital asset—a “Crypt® Kick”—composed of a collectible digital shoe and a unique non-fungible token (NFT) operating on a blockchain-based distributed computing platform… upon scanning the shoe's UPC or UPID at a point-of-sale (POS) terminal during first purchase or directly associated with the product, a unique crypto-token and corresponding private key (“KickID”) are automatically generated and assigned to the user's blockchain locker (see FIG. 7). In a second example, a KickID is provided to the user via a printed or digital receipt, a visual or electronic tag (RFID or NFC) hidden in the physical shoe, a pop-up message or email sent to a personal user account, a push notification or text message sent to a smartphone, or some other record; the consumer uses the KickID to link the CryptoKick to their digital blockchain locker. Another example may require the user to assemble the KickID in part via a physical code or UPID associated with the shoe (on the box, on a hang tag, under a label, on an insole, etc.), and in part via a transaction authentication code (i.e., to prevent consumers from collecting a CryptoKick when they merely try on a pair of shoes). Another example may require the user to “hunt” for CryptoKicks in a brick-and-mortar store by using a photographic “snap” or augmented reality (“AR”) function on a handheld personal computing device. For this method, a KickID may be provided via the retail transaction, however, the user must separately find a hidden CryptoKick in AR hidden within the store or local area before the digital asset can be transferred to their locker (i.e., the cryptographic key and the virtual object must both be separately acquired before the transfer occurs). In this example, obtaining the cryptographic key may enable the AR engine associated with a user device to initiate a game where the CryptoKick/virtual object associated with that key is locally hidden and available for the user to locate... In this embodiment, the GPS associated with the smartphone device may further constrain optical recognition capabilities to within a particular geofenced area. Once the CryptoKick is located (e.g., virtually disguised in a billboard advertisement), the user may be prompted to scan a unique code, such as the barcode on their ticket to the event. This two-part action may then transfer a token uniquely provisioned for that ticket to the user's locker. Following the event, the promotion organizer may reclaim any unclaimed KickIDs for subsequent use in other promotional events. After acquiring a CryptoKick, the owner may buy, sell, intermingle, collect, or trade CryptoKicks, e.g., using physical, fiat, and/or digital currency. In some examples, an entity may maintain a digital online marketplace that includes an inventory of CryptoKicks for sale and/or a marketplace that may broker transactions between individuals.
18. Regarding claim 15, Andon discloses wherein the particular subset of the set of assets is defined within the plurality of cryptographic tokens, (Para. 0011-0012, In some embodiments, purchase of an authentic, tangible pair of shoes may enable or “unlock” a corresponding cryptographic digital asset and a digital shoe associated with that digital asset. For example, when a person purchases a real-world pair of shoes from a registered seller, a unique (e.g., 10-bit numeric) physical shoe identification (ID) code of the physical shoes may be linked to a unique (e.g., 42-bit alphanumeric) owner ID code of the buyer…Respective cryptographic tokens may be assigned to the physical shoes and to the cryptographic digital asset; alternatively, a single cryptographic token may be assigned to both the physical shoes and cryptographic digital asset. In some embodiments, a digital asset may include genotype information and/or phenotype information for a digital shoe. This genotype/phenotype data may represent certain traits, attributes, colors, styles, backgrounds, etc., of the digital asset, and may be coordinated according to “breeding rules” that govern any intermingling of a digital shoe with one or more other discrete digital shoes; and Para. 0016, For any of the disclosed systems, methods, digital assets and footwear, the unique digital shoe ID code may include a cryptographic token key with a code string that is segmented into a series of code subsets. A first of these code subsets may include data indicative of attributes of the digital shoe. This attribute data may include genotype and phenotype data for the digital shoe. A second of these code subsets may include data indicative of attributes of the real-world article of footwear, such as colorway, materials, manufacturing, make, sustainability/eco-responsibility, and/or model data, etc., for the article of footwear.)
19. Regarding claim 17, Andon does not explicitly disclose wherein the program further causes the at least one computing device to cause a printer to print a ticket comprising a scannable code corresponding to the cryptographic token.
However, Hardy teaches wherein the program further causes the at least one computing device to cause a printer to print a ticket comprising a scannable code corresponding to the cryptographic token, (Para. 0061, In another embodiment, actions taken by the player are required to trigger enhancements of the sweepstakes entries or features of the sweepstakes system. As an example, a lottery would require the purchase of a specific ticket in order to extend the expiration dates of all his/her sweepstakes entries. Similarly, a casino would require a player to spend a minimum amount of money on the gaming floor before allowing the player to retain unassigned sweepstakes entries. As another example, multiplication of a player's sweepstakes entries would only occur after the player has visited a gaming establishment and validated their ticket.; and Para. 0076, By allowing multiple sweepstakes to be run simultaneously, the system then facilitates the separation of prizes to increase player interest and participation. Instead of a single sweepstakes drawing that has multiple prizes, the system accommodates multiple sweepstakes drawings of single (or small groups of) prizes or prize types. This provides more value, real or perceived, to the end user. An example of a typical sweepstakes prize structure is: 1 Grand Prize (e.g. exotic sports car), 10 2nd Place Prizes (e.g. sport utility vehicle), 100 3rd Place Prizes (e.g. Red Sox season tickets), and 500 4th Place Prizes (e.g. flat screen TV). Typically, this would equate to a single sweepstakes drawing where 611 total winners are drawn. With the present invention, this could broken into 4 sweepstakes drawings (1 for each prize type), or 611 sweepstakes drawings (1 for each prize), or any number of sweepstakes drawings between 1 and 611 (depending on the combination of prizes). A sweepstakes entrant can then decide what prize or combination of prizes is most valuable to them, either explicitly or taking into account the odds of winning.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Hardy to the known invention of Andon would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate scannable code features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the article of manufacture to include wherein the program further causes the at least one computing device to cause a printer to print a ticket comprising a scannable code corresponding to the cryptographic token result in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that users can redeem digital tokens to participate in sweepstake games, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
20. Regarding claim 18, Andon discloses wherein the program further causes the at least one computing device to: receive a value corresponding to the scannable code a computing device scanning the scannable code; and associate the cryptographic token with a patron account corresponding to the computing device, (Para. 0080-0079, the user may receive an email notification with detailed instructions for unlocking a CryptoKick once the shipment arrives. After receiving the shoe box containing the purchased sneakers, the user scans the box UPC with a barcode scan feature in a sneakers app operating on the user's smartphone. In the sneakers app, a new profile page is responsively enabled; the sneakers app opens the new profile page. For at least some applications, the new profile page is linked with, exported to, or initially enabled in the user's personal (NIKEPLUS®) account profile. Private and public blockchain platform keys are generated, genotype and phenotype data are created, this data is embedded in segments of the public key's alphanumeric code, and the virtual representation of the CryptoKick is engendered. The CryptoKick's blockchain data, token, etc., are assigned to the user's new address; the new profile page lists the CryptoKick the user has acquired. The sneaker app may present the seller with a share modal in which he/she can either share the auction via usual social media, or present a quick-response (QR) code for a potential buyer to scan. The buyer may then scan the QR code using a smartphone digital camera through operation of a scan feature in the sneaker app, and transmit the requisite funds (e.g., 3 ETH) to the auction site. The seller's sneakers app notifies him/her of the payment; the seller is prompted to agree to a terms of sale and finalize the transaction. The CryptoKick is then transferred from the first party to the address of the second party.; and Para. 0095, In such an embodiment, the occurrence of the event may trigger an alert on the user's device 39, which would prompt the user to scan their ticket to facilitate the transfer. In one embodiment, to eliminate a secondary market for ticket stubs, the app on the user's device that facilitates the notification may require that the scan occur within a predetermined geofence or time of the game/event. In a further extension, the marketplace (described above) may further permit the user 39 to prospectively sell the unvested right to the CryptoKick if the triggering event were to occur. This would resemble the user writing and selling a tradable option to the CryptoKick that either expires worthless, or results in the option purchaser acquiring the CryptoKick. Similar future rights/options may be prospectively traded for the progeny of a CryptoKick.)
21. Regarding claim 19, Andon discloses wherein the program further causes the at least one computing device to: receive a request to trade the cryptographic token in a first patron account with a second cryptographic token in a second patron account; assign the cryptographic token to the second patron account; and assign the second cryptographic token to the first patron account, (Para. 0080, A user may wish to lease, license, or assign his/her new CryptoKick to any of one or more prospective buyers. In one example, a seller (also referred to herein as “transferor” or “first party”) offers to sell, and a buyer (also referred to herein as “transferee” or “second party”) agrees to buy a CryptoKick for an agreed-upon sum (e.g., three (3) ETH). The buyer may be interested to make such as purchase as the available CryptoKick has one or more attributes (e.g., artist, body type, colorway, etc.) the buyer is looking to add to a collection. The seller may initiate the sale process by marking a specific CryptoKick in the sneaker app as “For Sale” via a corresponding soft-key “auction” button. Sally may set a minimum bid and/or a buy now price, and provide an auction time window of a selected number of hours, days, weeks, etc. The sneaker app may present the seller with a share modal in which he/she can either share the auction via usual social media, or present a quick-response (QR) code for a potential buyer to scan. The buyer may then scan the QR code using a smartphone digital camera through operation of a scan feature in the sneaker app, and transmit the requisite funds (e.g., 3 ETH) to the auction site. The seller's sneakers app notifies him/her of the payment; the seller is prompted to agree to a terms of sale and finalize the transaction. The CryptoKick is then transferred from the first party to the address of the second party.; and Para. 0013, receiving, via a server-class (middleware or backend) computer over a distributed computing network from a remote computing node (e.g., a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, a personal computer, a smartphone, etc.), a transaction confirmation indicative of a validated transfer of authentic footwear from a first party to a second party; determining, via the middleware server computer from an encrypted relational database, a unique owner ID code (e.g., a member ID of a cryptocurrency wallet or digital locker) associated with the second party; generating a cryptographic digital asset associated with the article of footwear, the cryptographic digital asset including a digital shoe (e.g., a computer-generated avatar) and a unique digital shoe ID code (e.g., a key and cryptographic token); linking, via the middleware server computer, the cryptographic digital asset with the unique owner ID code; and transmitting, via the middleware server computer to a distributed blockchain ledger (e.g., Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, etc.), the unique digital shoe ID code and the unique owner ID code for recordation on a transaction block.; and Para. 0017, For any of the disclosed systems, methods, digital assets and footwear, the server-class decentralized system computer may respond to receiving a transaction confirmation by transmitting an electronic notification to the second party with information for accessing the cryptographic digital asset. The server-class computer may subsequently receive, from a handheld personal computing device of the second party, a scanning confirmation verifying a universal product code (UPC) and/or a unique product identifier number (UPIN) corresponding to a make and a model of the footwear has been scanned. Linking the cryptographic digital asset with the unique owner ID code may be executed responsive to receipt of the scanning confirmation. In some applications, the unique digital shoe ID code may include a cryptographic token, and the digital notification sent to the second party may include a unique key with a hashed address to the cryptographic token.)
22. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andon et al. (US 20230361998 A1), in view of Hardy et al. (US 20110092267 A1), in view of Jakobsson et al. (US 20230075884 A1), in view of Guy et al. (US 20230118568 A1), and further in view of Yantis et al. (US 20220058636 A1).
23. Regarding claim 8, Andon as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to: receive a request to acquire a feature for the particular sweepstakes game according to one of the plurality of terms and the conditions; and enable the feature for the particular sweepstakes game automatically according to the one of the plurality of terms and the conditions.
However, Yantis teaches wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to: receive a request to acquire a feature for the particular sweepstakes game according to one of the plurality of terms and conditions; and enable the feature for the particular sweepstakes game automatically according to the one of the plurality of terms and conditions, (Para. 0869, The item management system 202 allows a seller of an item to define a virtual representation of an item. In embodiments, the item management system 202 presents a GUI to a user device 190 of the seller that allows the seller to define the attributes of the item. In the case that the item has never been sold on the platform 100, the seller can select an option to add a new item. In response to doing so, the seller may provide an item classification that indicates the type of item (e.g., “shoes,” “pizza,” “photograph,” “movie,” “concert tickets,” “gift card,” and the like) and a name of the item. The seller may then define one or more additional attributes of the item. For example, in embodiments, the seller may provide an item description, media contents associated with the item (e.g., photographs, videos, audio clips, and the like), relevant links (e.g., a link to a website of the seller), a price of the item, restrictions relating to the item (e.g., “US shipping only” or “seller store hours are 10-6”), redemption instructions (e.g., whether in store redemption is allowed, permitted, or mandatory, whether digital assets are downloaded or emailed, whether the items are transferrable, and the like), a number of the item that are available for transaction (e.g., how many units are available), and/or any other suitable attributes. In response to the seller providing the item attributes, the item management system 202 may generate a virtual representation of the item. In embodiments, the virtual representation may be a data record that includes the attributes of the item. In the scenario where the virtual representation was previously defined, the seller may select the previously defined item and may update one or more attributes. For example, the seller may provide additional media contents, may alter the price, and/or may update the number of items that are available. Whether an updated virtual representation or a newly defined virtual representation, the item management system 202 may output the virtual representation to the ledger management system 104, where the ledger management system 104 may tokenize instances of the virtual representation to obtain a set of tokens.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Yantis to the known invention of Andon as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate term and condition features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the system to include wherein the at least one computing device is further configured to: receive a request to acquire a feature for the particular sweepstakes game according to one of the plurality of terms and conditions; and enable the feature for the particular sweepstakes game automatically according to the one of the plurality of terms and conditions result in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the game can automatically unlock features based on the terms and conditions, thus improving the overall user convenience of the invention.
24. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andon et al. (US 20230361998 A1), in view of Hardy et al. (US 20110092267 A1), in view of Jakobsson et al. (US 20230075884 A1), in view of Guy et al. (US 20230118568 A1), and further in view of Walther et al. (US 20080039173 A1).
25. Regarding claim 21, Andon as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the sweepstakes outcome further comprises: determining a value associated with the particular asset; and comparing the value to a threshold associated with the sweepstakes to determine the sweepstakes outcome.
However, Walther teaches wherein generating the sweepstakes outcome further comprises: determining a value associated with the particular asset; and comparing the value to a threshold associated with the sweepstakes to determine the sweepstakes outcome, (Para. 0089-0091, At step 740, satisfaction of one or more sweepstakes criterion is determined. For example, the gaming related event is compared to the one or more sweepstakes criterion to determine if one or more of the sweepstakes criterion are satisfied. For example, one or more sweepstakes criterion may include at least one of a threshold award amount, an award type, a wager amount, a player identification (e.g., a particular player and/or player group) a denomination, a gaming type, a game result, a time, and a location. Additionally, one or more types of sweepstakes and/or sweepstakes prizes may be configured to be awarded. Sweepstakes configuration may be facilitated by one or more setup screens, “wizards”, automated rules, and/or detail menus, for example. The set up wizard may be configured as a menu which issues or provides step-by-step prompts to walk the operator through the set up process to configure the desired award, date and time for the promotion to begin, funding of the award, award level(s), eligible group dynamics and the like. At step 750, if one or more sweepstakes criterion is satisfied, then a sweepstakes award is awarded to one or more players satisfying one or more eligibility criterion. In certain embodiments, based on satisfaction of one or more sweepstakes and/or announcement criterion, notification of the jackpot award and/or an opportunity for further award(s) and/or bonus play, for example, may be transmitted to one or more players or groups of players satisfying one or more eligibility criterion. For example, if one or more sweepstakes criterion are satisfied, one or more sweepstakes awards may be automatically provided to one or more eligible players. Alternatively and/or in addition, one or more of the eligible players may be selected for a sweepstakes award based on sweepstakes entries or points earned, etc. In certain embodiments, eligible players may participate in the opportunity provided in a sweepstakes announcement, for example. For example, players may move to eligible machines for bonus or extra incentive game play. Players may elect to participate in a special bonus game or jackpot competition as indicated in the announcement, for example. Players may opt into tournament play as indicated in the announcement, for example.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Walther to the known invention of Andon as modified would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate sweepstakes features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include wherein generating the sweepstakes outcome further comprises: determining a value associated with the particular asset; and comparing the value to a threshold associated with the sweepstakes to determine the sweepstakes outcome result in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures the sweepstakes outcome is accurately determined, thus improving the overall performance of the invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Distributed Ledger Based Distributed Gaming System (US 20210233351 A1) teaches a distributed gaming system, comprising a server-side node configured to administer transactions for a gambling casino, selling and redeeming chips using a private database, and recording transactions on a distributed ledger using crypto-tokens for a house account, with a token vault wallet that has a unique identifier and private key to track transactions. Customer wallets, intermediary accounts and one-way redemption wallets track transactions on the distributed ledger. Client-side nodes accept token purchase messages and transfer tokens in the ledger and record in the database, accept token-to-chip messages from an intermediary account and transfer tokens on the ledger to the redemption wallet to extinguish and record the exchange, accept chip-to-token messages from an intermediary account and transfer tokens from the vault to the customer account and record the exchange, and accept token-to-fiat messages from an intermediary account and transfer tokens to extinguish, and record the exchange.
In addition to the foregoing, other aspects are described in the claims, drawings, and text. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Davida L. King whose telephone number is (571) 272-4724. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm.
/D.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3699