DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Response to Restriction filed 01/07/2026.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 have been withdrawn;
Claims 11-15 are pending and have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/07/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (Claims 11-15) in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 07/09/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 20190292729; Tan).
Regarding Claim 11 Tan discloses a method of forming a supply of crepe paper the method comprising the steps of:
providing a paper; (207)
creping the paper to form a creped paper;
applying an adhesive to the creped paper;
drying the adhesive to form a dried adhesive on the creped paper; and
forming a roll of the creped paper comprising the dried adhesive. (par 86, 88)
Tan discloses all of the method steps except the use of the crepe paper for unitizing one or more packages into a shipping unit.
The recitation that “for unitizing one or more packages into a shipping unit” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. MPEP 2111.02(II)
Regarding Claim 12 Tan discloses the method as described above. Tan further discloses the adhesive is applied by spraying the adhesive on to the creped paper. (par 82, 86)
Regarding Claim 13 Tan discloses the method as described above. Tan further discloses the adhesive is dried by fan-driven air. (par 29)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 14 the Prior Art does not teach adhesive is applied to both sides of the creped paper, the adhesive is dried on both sides of the creped paper, and the dried adhesive is formed on both sides of the creped paper in addition to the limitations included in Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 15 the Prior Art does not teach the crepe paper comprises a fire retardant in addition to the limitations included in Claims 14 and 11.
Conclusion
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731