Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I Species I in the reply filed on 07/02/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laby (US Patent No.: 10/814,102).
Regarding claim 1, Laby (US Patent No.: 10/814,102) discloses a soft robotic (soft robot structures with flexible polymers in column 42 lines 32-67) device comprising: a first layer bonded to a second layer (bonding of at least one layer in column 46 lines 16-50, implying a minimum of two layers), wherein at least one layer is comprised of an extensible thermoplastic material (thermoplastics in column 19 lines 42-67 to column 20 lines 1-3, polyethylene and polypropylene (also in column 45 lines 6-34) are extensible thermoplastics); at least one layer comprises a pneumatic network (being parts 36 in figures 5, disclosed as actuation balloons in column 46 lines 16-50); and wherein an initial conformation of the soft robotic device is a low-volume conformation or a zero-volume configuration (deflation of the balloons are present in column 22 lines 3-34. Further deflation details in column 32 lines 13-60).
Regarding claim 2, Laby (US Patent No.: 10/814,102) discloses the soft robot device of claim 1, wherein the pneumatic network is in contact with a pressurizing source (being the fhuid source in column 53 lines 13-36) such that the pressurizing source facilitates transition of the soft robot device from a low-volume or zero-volume conformation to an extended or actuated conformation via pressurizing the pneumatic network (actuation of the balloons via the fluid source in column 53 lines 13-36 and column 22 lines 45-63).
Regarding claim 3, Laby (US Patent No.: 10/814,102) discloses the soft robotic device of claim 2, wherein the pneumatic network comprises a plurality of channels (in column 22 lines 2-34) arranged in a pattern (shown in figure 7 as per column 29 lines 14-21) such that, upon pressurization by the pressurizing source, the soft robotic device undergoes at least two types of actuation (inflation and deflation in column 36 lines 36-67 to column 37 lines 1-20, movement shown in figures 24A-24E as per column 66 lines 8-17).
Regarding claim 4, Laby (US Patent No.: 10/814,102) discloses the soft robot device of claim 1, wherein the thermoplastic material comprises a polyurethane or silicone, or ant extensible polymer (polyurethane and silicone in column 45 lines 6-34).
Regarding claim 11, Laby (US Patent No.: 10/814,102) discloses the soft robotic device of claim 1, wherein the soft robotic device is substantially planar in the initial conformation (being the configuration in figure 5 and 24).
Regarding claim 12, Laby (US Patent No.: 10/814,102) discloses the soft robotic device of claim 1, wherein the soft robotic device is rolled in the initial conformation (shown in 24E where the assembly is wrapped around a mandrel to provide the configuration, as per column 70 lines 41-67 into column 71 lines 1-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laby (US Patent No.: 10/814,102) in view of Barish (US Patent No.: 10,646,696).
Regarding claim 5, Laby (US Patent No.: 10/814,102) discloses the soft robotic device of claim 1, wherein the soft robotic device is a heart valve (heart valve disclosed in column 28 lines 30-39).
However, Laby does not specifically teach a heart valve in the device disclosed.
Instead, Barish (US Patent No.: 10,646,696) teaches wherein the soft robotic device is a heart valve (in column 72 lines 4-56 and column 98 lines 8-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the heart valve to be placed on a catheter as presented in Barish in order to provide a beneficial use for the device in Laby that involves a heart valve with a deployment, redeployment, and positioning of said valve in column 98 lines 8-32.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Laby (US Pub No.: 2018/0071492) discloses an articulating soft robotic device in the abstract. Barrish (US Pub No.: 10/525,233) discloses a catheter with a heart valve on the proximal end of a catheter in column 62 lines 3-27.
/AREN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774