DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 23, 25, 27, 28, 29, and 35-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10-12, 20, 21, and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,031,353. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21, 23, 25, 27, 28, 29, and 35-40 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1-7, 10-12, 20, 21, and 23 of U.S. Patent Number 12,031,353. In other words, claims 1-7, 10-12, 20, 21, and 23 of U.S. Patent Number 12,031,353 fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 21, 23, 25, 27, 28, 29, and 35-40 and therefore anticipates claims 21, 23, 25, 27, 28, 29, and 35-40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33-34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "a housing operable to receive the foot" in line 3. It is unclear if this limitation is referring back to the crossbar operable to receive the foot, or a new case that also receives the foot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 22, and 27-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Number 6,799,446 to Tsai
Tsai discloses a portable lock apparatus, comprising: a shackle (73) comprising a foot (distal end of 73 with radial groove); and a crossbar (1, 2, 3, 4 5, 6, 7) operable to receive the foot (figure 2), the crossbar comprising: a bolt (6) mounted for movement between a locking position and an unlocking position; and a trigger (74) mounted for movement between an engagement position and a disengagement position; wherein the trigger in the engagement position retains the bolt in the unlocking position (figure 8); wherein the trigger in the disengagement position permits movement of the bolt toward the locking position (figure 2); and wherein the trigger is configured to move from the engagement position to the disengagement position when the first foot is received in the crossbar (figures 2 and 8), as in claim 21.
Tsai also discloses the bolt is operable to engage the foot when in the locking position, and to disengage from the foot when in the unlocking position (figures 2 and 8), as in claim 22, further comprising a lock device (2, 3, 4, 5, 6) operable to selectively prevent movement of the bolt from the locking position to the unlocking position, as in claim 27, further comprising a slider (64) selectively operable to move the bolt from the locking position to the unlocking position; wherein the slider is operable to move the bolt from the locking position to the unlocking position when the lock device is in an unlocked state; and wherein the slider is inoperable to move the bolt from the locking position to the unlocking position when the lock device is in a locked state (column 6, lines 18-49), as in claim 28.
Tsai further discloses a combination lock (2, 3, 4, 5, 6) operable to selectively prevent movement of the bolt from the locking position to the unlocking position, the combination lock comprising: a plurality of inner dials (4. 4’, 4”) mounted for rotation about a longitudinal axis; and a plurality of outer dials (3, 3’) mounted for rotation about the longitudinal axis and at least selectively engaged with the plurality of inner dials; and wherein each outer dial comprises: a first shoulder (34) formed on a first side of the outer dial, the first shoulder projecting in a first longitudinal direction and configured to inhibit insertion of a tampering tool toward the plurality of inner dials; and a second shoulder (36) formed on an opposite second side of the outer dial, the second shoulder projecting in a second longitudinal direction and configured to inhibit insertion of the tampering tool toward the plurality of inner dials (column 4, lines 1-9), as in claim 29, wherein a distal end face of the first shoulder of one of the outer dials faces a proximal end face of the second shoulder of an adjacent one of the outer dials (column 4, lines 1-9), as in claim 30, and the first shoulder of one of the outer dials is longitudinally spaced from the second shoulder of an adjacent one of the outer dials (shown in figure 3), as in claim 31, as well as the first shoulder of the one of the outer dials is longitudinally aligned with the second shoulder of the adjacent one of the outer dials, but does not longitudinally overlap the second shoulder of the adjacent one of the outer dials (shown in figure 3), as in claim 32, further comprising: a housing (7) operable to receive the foot; and wherein the combination lock is mounted to the housing and is operable to selectively prevent removal of the foot from the housing (figures 2 and 8), as in claim 33, and where a portion of the housing covers the first shoulder of one of the outer dials and the second shoulder of an adjacent one of the outer dials (as shown in figure 2), as in claim 34.
Claim(s) 35-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Number 5,005,384 to Lo et al.
Lo et al. disclose a portable lock apparatus, comprising: a shackle (12) including a foot (20); a crossbar (11) operable to receive the foot; a bolt (15) operable to engage the foot when the foot is received in the crossbar and the bolt is in an extended position (figure 3), wherein the foot is operable to urge the bolt toward a retracted position (figure 2) in response to attempted removal of the foot from the crossbar; a cam (35) operable to selectively retain the bolt in the extended position; a slider (14) operable to move the cam between a blocking position and a releasing position; and a lock mechanism (13) operable to selectively prevent the slider from moving the cam, as in claim 35.
Lo et al. also disclose a ramp (concave structure of 39) configured to urge the bolt toward the retracted position in response to attempted removal of the foot from the crossbar, as in claim 36, wherein the foot comprises the ramp (39), as in claim 37, and an additional bolt (16) operable to engage an additional foot (end with 62) of the shackle when the additional foot is received in the crossbar and the additional bolt is in an additional extended position; and wherein the additional foot is operable to urge the additional bolt toward an additional retracted position in response to attempted removal of the additional foot from the crossbar (via ramped surface of 62), as in claim 38, as well as the bolt is biased toward the extended position (via 28), as in claim 39.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-26 and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims are allowable over the prior art of record because the teachings of the references taken as a whole do not teach or render obvious the combination set forth, including that of the shackle further comprises an additional foot; and wherein the crossbar further comprises an additional bolt configured to selectively engage the additional foot; as well as the cam comprises a pinion and is mounted for rotation between the blocking position and the releasing position; and wherein the slider is coupled to a rack engaged with the pinion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to portable locking devices:
U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0384563 to Ramakrishna et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2007/0234765 to Tsai; U.S. Patent Number 9,495,820 to Li; U.S. Patent Number 4,887,441 to Ling; U.S. Patent Number 1,411,123 to Nadolny.
/CHRISTOPHER J BOSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
CJB /cb/
March 18, 2026