Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a (2) as being anticipated by Smith (US 2022/0008593).
Claim 1, Smith teaches a method of effectively washing hands of a user operating a handwashing apparatus (abstract) comprising:
applying a reactive cleansing agent to the hands, said reactive cleansing agent including a sanitizing component and a visualization component (par. 134: applying 504 a composition to the portion of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual, wherein the composition comprises a skin cleansing agent and a fluorescent agent capable of fluorescing when exposed to light);
activating the reactive cleansing agent to change an optical property of the visualization component to increase the visibility of the reactive cleansing agent, making coverage and removal of the reactive cleansing agent easier to verify (par. 6: The water dispenser further comprises a light source supported in the housing so as to emit light in accordance with a predetermined field of view, wherein the light source is configured to emit the light at a sufficient intensity and wavelength so as to cause a fluorescent agent disposed about the skin or the covering of the skin).
Claim 2, Smith teaches wherein the reactive cleansing agent is premixed to include the sanitizing component and the visualization component (par. 52: the composition of the fluorescent agent and the cleansing agent may be premixed and added to a chamber of the composition dispenser).
Claim 3, Smith teaches wherein the sanitizing component and the visualization component are stored separately and mixed together during the applying step to form the reactive cleansing agent (par. 52: the fluorescent agent may be housed or contained in a first chamber of the composition dispenser separate from a second chamber housing or containing the cleansing agent, wherein the fluorescent agent and the cleansing agent may be brought together and mixed).
Claim 4, Smith teaches wherein the visualization component comprises two chemicals that, when mixed together, give off a glowing light (par. 51: he fluorescent agent can be compounds containing fluorophores, fluorescein, xanthene dyes, rhodamine dyes, stilbene dyes, functionalized polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon dyes including lissamine flavine FF, pyranine, and/or amino G acid, triarylmethane dyes, methyl violet dyes, fuchsine dyes, phenol dyes, malachite green dyes, victoria blue dyes, diarylmethane dyes, and fluorescent fruit extracts including extracts from Viburnum trilobum, Ribes, and Ribes alpine. The fluorescent agent can be a combinations of the described compounds).
Claim 5, Smith teaches wherein applying the reactive cleansing agent to the hands comprises placing the hands in operable proximity to a faucet assembly that dispenses the reactive cleansing agent (par. 138: activating 704 an agent dispensing system supported in the water dispenser to dispense a composition, the composition comprising a skin cleansing agent and a fluorescent agent capable of fluorescing when exposed to light).
Claim 6, Smith teaches wherein activating the reactive cleansing agent comprises placing the hands in proximity to a light source that emits energy that changes the optical property of the reactive cleansing agent (par. 138: activating 710 a light source supported in the water dispenser to emit light onto the portion of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual in connection with the decontamination event, wherein the light causes any traces of the fluorescent agent to fluoresce at a wavelength in the visible spectrum).
Claim 7, Smith teaches wherein placing the hands in proximity to the light source comprises placing the hands under a faucet of the apparatus that includes the light source (Fig. 3G show light source 308 placed to shine onto hand when placed under faucet to wash hands).
Claim 8, Smith teaches further comprising: identifying a user (par. 70: identifying individual); tailoring washing parameters according to the user's preferences (par. 70: The image capturing system 118 can further be configured to capture and store, as part of an individual's personal profile, a plurality of decontamination events as captured over time. The historical data that is collected from each decontamination event can be used for a variety of purposes. For example, such historical data can be used to customize a decontamination procedure that is optimized specifically for that individual).
Claim 9, Smith teaches further comprising: recording information pertaining to the use of the apparatus by the user (par. 70: The image capturing system 118 can further be configured to capture and store, as part of an individual's personal profile, a plurality of decontamination events as captured over time).
Claim 10, Smith teaches a handwashing apparatus comprising:
a housing (Fig. 3A, housing 305);
a water line having an open end and a connected end, the connected end being connectable to a water supply (Fig. 3A, water conduit 312), the open distal end terminating at a user end of the housing to provide water to a user (par. 95: water conduit 312 can be configured to be in fluid communication with a water conduit and a water outlet 303);
a sanitizer line having a distal end and a proximal end, the proximal end connectable to a sanitizer reservoir and the distal end terminating adjacent the open end of the water line (par. 98: internal composition conduit 331 (i.e., at least partially internal to the housing 305) and a composition outlet 301 supported in and/or defined by the housing 305 of the dispensing apparatus 304 via an interface coupling supported at one end of the conduit 314, and to the composition chamber 318 via an interface coupling supported at the other end of the conduit 314);
sanitizing solution contained within the sanitizer line, the sanitizing solution including a visualization component and a base component, the visualization component providing visual feedback to a user under a predetermined lighting environment (par. 14: The dispensing apparatus further comprises an agent dispensing system positioned in the housing configured to dispense a composition from the chamber via a composition conduit that passes through the housing, the composition comprising a skin cleansing agent and a fluorescent agent capable of fluorescing when exposed to light);
a pump in operable association with the sanitizer reservoir (par. 105: the pressure system 322 can comprise a pump 324 configured to pump the composition from the composition chamber 318. The pump 324 can be supported in the composition chamber 318, as depicted, or in the housing 305);
a controller (par. 110: processor); and,
a sensor mounted on the housing and capable of sending a signal to the controller when a user's hand comes within an operable proximity of the sensor (par. 102: touchless sensor 318, configured to activate any one or more of the water dispensing system for dispensing water, the agent dispensing system 307 for dispensing the composition, and/or the one or more light sources such as light source 308).
Claim 11, Smith teaches further comprising a user interface that communicates instructions to a user during a handwashing sequence (par. 77: the notification device 124 can comprises a display that numerically counts time intervals until the expiration of the duration of time of the timed aspect).
Claim 12, Smith teaches further comprising a camera mounted on the housing and in data communication with the controller (par. 122: The camera 940 can be supported in the module housing 914. Alternatively, the camera can be part of the image capturing system 974 housed in the composition dispenser 902).
Claim 13, Smith teaches wherein the visualization component comprises an additive that becomes more visible in the predetermined lighting environment (par. 7: a composition dispenser configured to dispense a composition comprising a skin cleansing agent and the fluorescent agent, the fluorescent agent being capable of fluorescing when exposed to light).
Claim 18, Smith teaches method of washing hands comprising:
providing a handwashing apparatus including a handwashing sequence (Fig. 5, shows steps for sequence for hand sanitation);
providing an activation mechanism for activating the handwashing sequence (par. 134: activating 502, via a first touchless sensor, a water dispenser for a first period of time as controlled by a timer, the water dispenser being operable to dispense water onto a portion of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual);
dispensing sanitizing solution when the activation mechanism senses the presence of hands in operable proximity to the handwashing apparatus (par. 134: applying 504 a composition to the portion of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual, wherein the composition comprises a skin cleansing agent and a fluorescent agent capable of fluorescing when exposed to light);
changing an optical property of the sanitizing solution by activating an energy source onto the sanitizing solution present on the hands (par. 134: activating 506, via a second touchless sensor, a light source for a second period of time as controlled by the timer, the light source being operable to emit light onto the portion of the skin or the covering of the skin of the individual and the composition as applied thereon);
using a sensing mechanism connected to the handwashing apparatus to automatically determine whether the surfaces of the hands are sufficiently covered with the sanitizing solution (par. 135: using a fluorescent emission intensity sensor or an image capturing system, an intensity of fluorescence of the fluorescent agent in the composition as applied to the skin or covering of the skin of the individual, and activating the water dispenser for the third period of time upon the fluorescent emission intensity sensor or an image capturing system detecting a predetermined intensity of fluorescence of the fluorescent agent);
dispensing water once the sensing mechanism has automatically determined that the surfaces of the hands are sufficiently covered with the sanitizing solution, thereby allowing the user to rinse the surfaces of the hands (par. 135: the water is dispensed during the fifth period of time concurrent with the emission of the light during at least a portion of the fourth period of time. The method can further include, the detecting any remaining traces of composition comprises detecting a predetermined intensity of fluorescence of the fluorescent agent using a fluorescent emission intensity sensor or an image capturing system).
Claim 19, Smith teaches further comprising recording data associated with the handwashing event (par. 70: The image capturing system 118 can further be configured to capture and store, as part of an individual's personal profile, a plurality of decontamination events as captured over time).
Claim 20, Smith teaches wherein the data recorded pertains to coverage of the hands with the sanitizing solution (par. 75: the image capturing system 118 may be employed to generate a score based on results of the decontamination event. For example, images of the decontamination event may be analyzed by the image capturing system 118 or a remote computer system to make determinations regarding the decontamination event. The analysis may determine a percentage of coverage of the cleansing agent and the fluorescent agent over the portion of the skin of the individual. Inherently required storing images for analysis).
Claim 21, Smith teaches further comprising: assigning a value pertaining to the efficacy of the handwashing; recording the value (par. 75: the image capturing system 118 may be employed to generate a score based on results of the decontamination event).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Lukasik et al. (CN 201280032685).
Claim 14, Smith does not teach further comprising a sanitizer source verification measure that ensures the sanitizing solution was produced by an approved source.
In the field of endeavor, Lukasik teaches an disinfectant a disinfectant source 4 comprise an electronic tag to store and communicate product information (par. 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Smith’s system by including sanitizer source verification measure through gathering information data stored in the tag as taught by Lukasik for the purpose of data gathering pertaining to the disinfectant source being monitored.
Claim 15, the combination teaches wherein the sanitizer source verification measure comprises a proprietary connector that joins the sanitizer reservoir to the sanitizer line (Lukasik Fig. 3 shows disinfectant container 4 joined with conduit line 6 through specific adapter/connector).
Claim 16, the combination teaches wherein the sanitizer source verification measure comprises an RFID chip (Lukasik par. 41: RFID tag 16).
Claim 17, the combination teaches wherein the sanitizer source verification measure comprises a scannable code on an outside surface of the sanitizer reservoir (Lukasik par. 41: RFID reader read/scan code information stored on tag 16).
Conclusion
/AN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686