CTNF 18/767,686 CTNF 90458 Detailed Action 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA 2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 112 07-30-03 AIA 3. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such a claim limitation is: “inter pupillary distance (IPD) adjustment mechanism” in claims 1, 15, and 20. Because the claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1, 15, and 20 are interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. As for the limitation "inter pupillary distance (IPD) adjustment mechanism”, a review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph): [0151]-[0152] of the specification, Fig. 5 of the drawing and claims 7 and 18 disclose "distance (IPD) adjustment mechanism” includes a motor connected to a gear and the gear connected to a rack. If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action. If applicant does not wish to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), applicant may amend the claim so that it will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA 5. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION. — The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 6. Claims 6-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 6 depends on claim 1. Claim 1 recites a limitation “… controlling an inter pupillary distance (IPD) adjustment mechanism to move by a first distance in a first direction to eliminate a backlash error of the IPD adjustment mechanism…” Claim 6 further recites a limitation “… the first distance is 0 …”, which is in contradictory with the limitation recited in claim 1 because a 0 movement distance is equivalent to no movement, and as a result, the backlash error cannot be eliminated. Furthermore, claim 6 recites a limitation “… the first distance is 0; and the controlling the IPD adjustment mechanism to move by the first distance in the first direction …” The limitation recited in claim 6 is self-contradictory because a 0 movement distance is equivalent to no movement. Claims 7-14 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected base claims. Claim 20 recites the limitation “the head-mounted display device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation “the head-mounted display device” is interpreted as “a head-mounted display device”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 7. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 8. Claims 1-8, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PATEL (US 20170237977 A1) in view of TANAKA (US 20070196093 A1). Regarding claim 1, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses an inter pupillary distance adjustment method (e.g., Figs. 8-9; inter-pupillary distance adjustment method) , applied to a head-mounted display device (e.g., Figs. 2-5; head-mounted display device) , comprising: after a user wears the head-mounted display device, wherein the head-mounted display device (Figs. 2-5; head-mounted display device) comprises an inter pupillary distance (IPD) adjustment mechanism and two optical display modules (Figs. 2-5 and [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0031]; inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism comprising a motor 210 connected to a pinion gear and the pinion gear connected to a rack 220A for control of right lens 240 and right display 250 and connected to a rack 220B for control of left lens 240 and left display 260) , and the IPD adjustment mechanism is configured to drive the two optical display modules to move (Figs. 8-9 and [0039]-[0043] and claims 1-2; the motor able to engage the gear assembly to move the right display 250 and the left display 260 closer or to move the right display and the left display further apart based on the user inter-pupillary distance) ; and controlling the IPD adjustment mechanism to operate and move by a second distance in a second direction (Figs. 8-9 and [0039]-[0043] and claims 1-2; the right display 250 and the left display 260 move closer or further away corresponding to a first direction or a second direction, the moving distance is determined by user inter-pupillary distance) , wherein the IPD adjustment mechanism drives the two optical display modules to move to generate a movement, and a distance between the two optical display modules after the movement matches an inter pupillary distance of the user (e.g., Fig. 8, Steps 830 and 860, Fig. 9, Steps 920-970, and [0040], [0043]; distance between the right display 250 and the left display 260 is adjusted to match user inter-pupillary distance) . PATEL does not disclose controlling an inter pupillary distance (IPD) adjustment mechanism to move by a first distance in a first direction to eliminate a backlash error of the IPD adjustment mechanism. However, PATEL (Figs. 2-5 and [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0031]) discloses the IPD adjustment mechanism is a gear system. The backlash is well known in a gear system. As a reference, TANAKA (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses a gear adjustment mechanism. TANAKA further discloses controlling the gear adjustment mechanism to move by a first distance in a first direction to eliminate a backlash error of the gear adjustment mechanism (e.g., Figs. 3, Steps 18 and 38, Figs. 4, 6, and 8, Fig. 13, Steps 53-2 and 53-5, and [0016]-[0019], [0076]-[0079]; backlash elimination, e.g., a second direction is determined to be a target direction, the gear adjustment system moves in a first direction by a distance corresponding to an amount equivalent to a backlash removal) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from TANAKA to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL. The combination/motivation would be to provide an inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism with a minimized backlash and an increased precision for a motion control. Regarding claim 2, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the method according to claim 1, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction, and the first direction is a direction in which the two optical display modules move close to or away from each other (Figs. 8-9 and [0039]-[0043] and claims 1-2; the right display 250 and the left display 260 move closer or further away corresponding to a first direction or a second direction opposite to the first direction) . Regarding claim 3, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the method according to claim 2, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses wherein the first direction is a preset direction, and the preset direction is the direction in which the two optical display modules move close to or away from each other (Figs. 8-9 and [0039]-[0043] and claims 1-2; the right display 250 and the left display 260 move closer or further away corresponding to a first direction or a second direction opposite to the first direction) . Regarding claim 4, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the method according to claim 2, the combination of PATEL with TANAKA discloses wherein the controlling the IPD adjustment mechanism to move by the first distance in the first direction comprises: controlling the IPD adjustment mechanism to operate and move by the first distance in the first direction (TANAKA, e.g., Figs. 3, Steps 18 and 38, Figs. 4, 6, and 8, Fig. 13, Steps 53-2 and 53-5, and [0016]-[0019], [0076]-[0079]; the gear adjustment system moves in a first direction by a distance corresponding to an amount equivalent to a backlash removal) , to drive the two optical display modules to move beyond a preset distance or to move to an inter pupillary distance limit location (TANAKA, e.g., Figs. 3, Steps 18 and 38, Figs. 4, 6, and 8, Fig. 13, Steps 53-2 and 53-5, and [0016]-[0019], [0076]-[0079]; and PATEL, e.g., Fig. 8, Steps 830 and 860, Fig. 9, Steps 920-970, and [0040], [0043]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from TANAKA to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL for the same reason above. Regarding claim 5, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the method according to claim 1, the combination of PATEL with TANAKA discloses wherein the first direction is the same as the second direction, and the first direction is a direction in which the two optical display modules move close to or away from each other (Figs. 8-9 and [0036]-[0043]; the right display 250 and the left display 260 move closer or further away corresponding to a first direction or a second direction, depending on backlash error, the first direction can be same as the second direction) . Regarding claim 6, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the first direction and the second direction are opposite to an operation direction of the IPD adjustment mechanism during a previous inter pupillary distance adjustment of the head-mounted display device, and the first distance is 0 (PATEL, Fig. 8 and 9, and TANAKA, Fig. 3 and [0068], [0073]; e.g., inter-pupillary distance for a previous user, no backlash error) ; and the controlling the IPD adjustment mechanism to move by the first distance in the first direction comprises: controlling the IPD adjustment mechanism to operate for a first duration in the first direction, wherein the first duration is used to eliminate the backlash error of the IPD adjustment mechanism (e.g., Figs. 3, Steps 18 and 38, Figs. 4, 6, and 8, Fig. 13, Steps 53-2 and 53-5; the gear adjustment system moves in a first direction in a time period by a distance corresponding to an amount equivalent to a backlash removal) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from TANAKA to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL for the same reason above. Regarding claim 7, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the method according to claim 6, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses wherein the IPD adjustment mechanism comprises a motor, a gear connected to the motor, and a rack connected to the gear, and the rack is further connected to at least one of the two optical display modules (Figs. 2-5 and [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0031]; inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism comprising a motor 210 connected to a pinion gear and the pinion gear connected to a rack 220A for control of right lens 240 and right display 250 and connected to a rack 220B for control of left lens 240 and left display 260) ; and TANAKA (Fig. 1) discloses the controlling the IPD adjustment mechanism operate for the first duration in the first direction comprises: controlling the motor to operate for the first duration in the first direction, to drive the gear to rotate for the first duration (e.g., Figs. 3, Steps 18 and 38, Figs. 4, 6, and 8, Fig. 13, Steps 53-2 and 53-5; motor 40 drives the gear adjustment system to move in a first direction in a time period by a distance corresponding to an amount equivalent to a backlash removal) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from TANAKA to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL for the same reason above. Regarding claim 8, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the method according to claim 7, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses wherein before the controlling the IPD adjustment mechanism to move by a first distance in a first direction, the method further comprising: obtaining inter pupillary distance adjustment information, wherein the inter pupillary distance adjustment information represents an inter pupillary distance adjustment value adjusted by the head-mounted display device; and determining at least one of the first direction or the second direction based on the inter pupillary distance adjustment information (e.g., Fig. 8, Steps 830-860, Fig. 9, Steps 920-970, and [0040], [0043]; distance between the right display 250 and the left display 260 is adjusted to move closer or further apart to match user inter-pupillary distance) . Regarding claim 15, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-10) discloses a head-mounted display device, comprising: two optical display modules (first display module comprising a right lens 240 and a right display 250 and second display module comprising a left lens 240 and a left display 260) ; an inter pupillary distance (IPD) adjustment mechanism configured to drive the two optical display modules to move (Figs. 2-5 and [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0031]; inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism comprising a motor 210 connected to a pinion gear and the pinion gear connected to a rack 220A for control of right lens 240 and right display 250 and connected to a rack 220B for control of left lens 240 and left display 260) ; a memory (Fig. 10 and [0044]; memory 1020) ; and a processor (Fig. 10 and [0044]; processor 1010) configured to: be coupled to the memory (Fig. 10 and [0044]; memory 1020) , read instructions in the memory (Fig. 10 and [0044]; memory 1020 stores instructions) , and enable, according to the instructions, the head-mounted display device to perform: after a user wears the head-mounted display device (e.g., Figs. 2-5; head-mounted display device) ; and controlling the IPD adjustment mechanism (Figs. 2-5 and [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0031]; inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism comprising a motor 210 connected to a pinion gear and the pinion gear connected to a rack 220A for control of right lens 240 and right display 250 and connected to a rack 220B for control of left lens 240 and left display 260) to operate and move by a second distance in a second direction (Figs. 8-9 and [0039]-[0043] and claims 1-2; the right display 250 and the left display 260 are driven to move closer or further away corresponding to a first direction or a second direction, the moving distance is determined by user inter-pupillary distance) , wherein the IPD adjustment mechanism drives the two optical display modules to move to generate a movement, and a distance between the two optical display. modules after the movement matches an inter pupillary distance of the user (e.g., Fig. 8, Steps 830 and 860, Fig. 9, Steps 920-970, and [0040], [0043]; distance between the right display 250 and the left display 260 is adjusted to match user inter-pupillary distance) . PATEL does not disclose controlling an inter pupillary distance (IPD) adjustment mechanism to move by a first distance in a first direction to eliminate a backlash error of the IPD adjustment mechanism. However, PATEL (Figs. 2-5 and [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0031]) discloses the IPD adjustment mechanism is a gear system. The backlash is well known in a gear system. As a reference, TANAKA (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses a gear adjustment mechanism. TANAKA further discloses controlling the gear adjustment mechanism to move by a first distance in a first direction to eliminate a backlash error of the gear adjustment mechanism (e.g., Figs. 3, Steps 18 and 38, Figs. 4, 6, and 8, Fig. 13, Steps 53-2 and 53-5, and [0016]-[0019], [0076]-[0079]; backlash elimination, e.g., a second direction is determined to be a target direction, the gear adjustment system moves in a first direction by a distance corresponding to an amount equivalent to a backlash removal) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from TANAKA to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL. The combination/motivation would be to provide an inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism with a minimized backlash and an increased precision for a motion control. Regarding claim 20, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-10) discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions (Fig. 10 and [0044]; memory 1020 stores instructions) , and when the computer instructions are run on a device (Fig. 10 and [0044]; processor 1010) , the device is enabled to perform: after a user wears the head-mounted display device (Figs. 2-5; head-mounted display device) , wherein a head-mounted display device comprises the IPD adjustment mechanism and two optical display modules (Figs. 2-5 and [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0031]; inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism comprising a motor 210 connected to a pinion gear and the pinion gear connected to a rack 220A for control of right lens 240 and right display 250 and connected to a rack 220B for control of left lens 240 and left display 260) , and the IPD adjustment mechanism is configured to drive the two optical display modules to move (Figs. 8-9 and [0039]-[0043] and claims 1-2; the motor able to engage the gear assembly to move the right display 250 and the left display 260 closer or to move the right display and the left display further apart based on the user inter-pupillary distance) ; and controlling the IPD adjustment mechanism to operate and move by a second distance in a second direction (Figs. 8-9 and [0039]-[0043] and claims 1-2; the right display 250 and the left display 260 move closer or further away corresponding to a first direction or a second direction, the moving distance is determined by user inter-pupillary distance) , wherein the IPD adjustment mechanism drives the two optical display modules to move to generate a movement, and a distance between the two optical display modules after the movement matches an inter pupillary distance of the user (e.g., Fig. 8, Steps 830 and 860, Fig. 9, Steps 920-970, and [0040], [0043]; distance between the right display 250 and the left display 260 is adjusted to match user inter-pupillary distance) . PATEL does not disclose controlling an inter pupillary distance (IPD) adjustment mechanism to move by a first distance in a first direction to eliminate a backlash error of the IPD adjustment mechanism. However, PATEL (Figs. 2-5 and [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0031]) discloses the IPD adjustment mechanism is a gear system. The backlash is well known in a gear system. As a reference, TANAKA (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses a gear adjustment mechanism. TANAKA further discloses controlling the gear adjustment mechanism to move by a first distance in a first direction to eliminate a backlash error of the gear adjustment mechanism (e.g., Figs. 3, Steps 18 and 38, Figs. 4, 6, and 8, Fig. 13, Steps 53-2 and 53-5, and [0016]-[0019], [0076]-[0079]; backlash elimination, e.g., a second direction is determined to be a target direction, the gear adjustment system moves in a first direction by a distance corresponding to an amount equivalent to a backlash removal) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from TANAKA to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL. The combination/motivation would be to provide an inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism with a minimized backlash and an increased precision for a motion control. 9. Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PATEL (US 20170237977 A1) in view of TANAKA (US 20070196093 A1) and further in view of LIN (US 20180348860 A1). Regarding claim 9, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the method according to claim 8, PATEL discloses wherein the head-mounted display device further comprises an head tracking apparatus and an eye tracking apparatus to obtain obtaining inter pupillary distance (Figs. 6-7 and [0032]-[0034]) . As another reference, LIN discloses wherein the head-mounted display device further comprises an eye tracking apparatus (Figs. 1-2; eye tracking sensor 124b; [0037]) , and the obtaining inter pupillary distance adjustment information comprises: obtaining an inter pupillary distance offset of a single eye by using the eye tracking apparatus, wherein the inter pupillary distance offset of the single eye indicates a deviation between a pupil of the single eye and a corresponding optical display module (Figs. 3-9 and [0044]-[0046], [0054]-[0056]; determine the interpupillary distance value and determine the interpupillary distance offset determined by a threshold value) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIN to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL in view of TANAKA so that the right display and the left display are allocated by the displaying device according to the interpupillary distance value. Regarding claim 10, PATEL in view of TANAKA and further in view of LIN discloses the method according to claim 9, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses wherein the head-mounted display device further comprises an IPD adjustment sensor, and a detection value of the IPD adjustment sensor represents an inter pupillary distance of the head-mounted display device ([0028], [0042], and [0032]-[0033]; IPD adjustment sensor comprising a position sensor detects a inter-display position and a head-tracking or eye tracking sensor detects the interpupillary distance) ; and the obtaining inter pupillary distance adjustment information further comprises: obtaining a current detection value of the IPD adjustment sensor ([0028] and [0042]; position sensor detects a position of the display) ; and determining at least one of a target inter pupillary distance value or a target detection value based on a calibration table (PATAL, Fig. 8, Steps 830-860, and Fig. 9, Steps 920-960; LIN, Fig. 3, Steps 202-210; determining a target interpupillary distance value) , the inter pupillary distance offset of the single eye (PATAL, Figs. 6-7 and [0032]-[0033]; LIN, Figs. 3-9 and [0044]-[0046], [0054]-[0056]; determining interpupillary distance offset) , and the current detection value ([0028], [0042], and [0032]-[0033]; position sensor detects a display position and a head-tracking or eye tracking sensor detects the interpupillary distance) , wherein the calibration table indicates a correspondence between the detection value of the IPD adjustment sensor and the inter pupillary distance of the head-mounted display device (Fig. 8, Steps 820-850; detection values associated with corresponding IPD values) . Regarding claim 11, PATEL in view of TANAKA and further in view of LIN discloses the method according to claim 10, LIN discloses wherein the distance between the two optical display modules matches the inter pupillary distance of the user comprises: |δx|≤k, wherein δx represents an inter pupillary distance offset that is of the single eye at a current moment and that is obtained by using the eye tracking apparatus, and k represents a preset inter pupillary distance offset error (Figs. 3-9 and [0044]-[0046], [0054]-[0056], [0067]-[0068]; e.g., Fig. 4 or Fig. 5, Wwd1<IPD-Wdp, and Fig. 7, 2R1<IPD-Wdp) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIN to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL in view of TANAKA so that the right display and the left display are allocated by the displaying device according to the interpupillary distance value. Regarding claim 12, PATEL in view of TANAKA and further in view of LIN discloses the method according to claim 10, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses wherein the head-mounted display device further comprises the IPD adjustment sensor, and the detection value of the IPD adjustment sensor represents the inter pupillary distance of the head-mounted display device; and that the distance between the two optical display modules matches the inter pupillary distance of the user comprises: |V2-V1|≤δV, and/or |L2-L1|≤δL (Figs. 8 and Fig. 9) , wherein V1 represents a first detection value of the IPD adjustment sensor at a current moment, V2 represents the target detection value corresponding to a target inter pupillary distance of the head-mounted display device, L1 represents a first inter pupillary distance value that corresponds to the first detection value V1 and that is determined according to the calibration table, L2 represents the target inter pupillary distance value, δV represents a preset detection value error, δL represents a preset inter pupillary distance error, and the calibration table indicates the correspondence between the detection value of the IPD adjustment sensor and the inter pupillary distance of the head-mounted display device (Fig. 9, Step 940 or 960, and [0040], [0043], current inter - lens distance L1, desired inter - lens distance L2, and |L2-L1|=0) . In addition, LIN (Figs. 3-9 and [0044]-[0046], [0054]-[0056], [0067]-[0068]) discloses the same limitations as claimed . 10. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PATEL (US 20170237977 A1) in view of TANAKA (US 20070196093 A1) and LIN (US 20180348860 A1) and further in view of ABELE (US 20200365066 A1). Regarding claim 13, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the method according to claim 12, but does not disclose outputting prompt information indicating that inter pupillary distance adjustment of the head-mounted display device ends. However, ABELE (Figs. 2-7) discloses a method further comprising: outputting prompt information indicating that inter pupillary distance adjustment of the head-mounted display device ends (Fig. 7 and [0052]-[0053]; user interface for interpupillary distance adjustment) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ABELE to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL in view of TANAKA and LIN. The combination/motivation would be to provide a user interface for automatic control of a user interpupillary distance. Regarding claim 14, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the method according to claim 13, ABELE (Figs. 2-7) discloses wherein the prompt information further comprises an inter pupillary distance value of the head-mounted display device after the inter pupillary distance adjustment (Fig. 7 and [0052]-[0053]; user interface for interpupillary distance adjustment) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ABELE to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL in view of TANAKA and LIN for the same reason above. 9. Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PATEL (US 20170237977 A1) in view of TANAKA (US 20070196093 A1) and further in view of LEE (US 20220404578 A1). Regarding claim 16, PATEL in view of TANAKA discloses the head-mounted display device according to claim 15, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses further comprising an eye tracking apparatus (Figs. 6-7 and [0032]-[0034]; eye tracking device) , but does not disclose the eye tracking apparatus comprising at least one light source and at least one camera module. However, LEE (Figs. 1-3) discloses a head-mounted display device, further comprising an eye tracking apparatus (eye tracking sensors 140) , comprising at least one light source and at least one camera module (Figs. 2-3 and [0152]; eye tracking sensors 140 comprising a light source and a camera) ; the at least one light source is configured to emit light to a human eye (Figs. 1-3 and 9 and [0152], [0189]) ; and the at least one camera module is configured to obtain a part of the light reflected after the at least one light source irradiates the eye (Figs. 1-3 and 9 and [0152], [0189]) . LEE also discloses using eye tracking sensor to obtain inter pupillary distance ([0025] and claim 1) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LEE to the inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism of PATEL in view of TANAKA so that the right display and the left display are allocated by the displaying device according to the interpupillary distance value. Regarding claim 17, PATEL in view of TANAKA and further in view of LEE discloses the head-mounted display device according to claim 16, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses further comprising an IPD adjustment sensor, wherein a detection value of the IPD adjustment sensor represents an inter pupillary distance of the head-mounted display device ([0028], [0042], and [0032]-[0033]; IPD adjustment sensor comprising a position sensor detects a inter-display position and a head-tracking or eye tracking sensor detects the interpupillary distance) . Regarding claim 18, PATEL in view of TANAKA and further in view of LEE discloses the head-mounted display device according to claim 17, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses wherein the IPD adjustment mechanism comprises at least one motor and at least one IPD adjustment mechanical structure connected to the at least one motor, the at least one IPD adjustment mechanical structure comprises a gear and a rack, the gear is separately connected to the at least one motor and the rack, and the rack is further connected to at least one of the two optical display modules; and the IPD adjustment mechanical structure is configured to drive, under a driving of the motor, at least one of the two optical display modules to move (Figs. 2-5 and [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0031]; inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism comprising a motor 210 connected to a pinion gear and the pinion gear connected to a rack 220A for control of right lens 240 and right display 250 to move and connected to a rack 220B for control of left lens 240 and left display 260 to move) . Regarding claim 19, PATEL in view of TANAKA and further in view of LEE discloses the head-mounted display device according to claim 18, PATEL (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses wherein the at least one motor includes a motor, and the at least one IPD adjustment mechanical structure is configured to drive, under the driving of the motor, the two optical display modules to move simultaneously (alternative limitation, it is interpreted optional, in addition, Figs. 8-9 and [0004], [0028] and claim 1 teaches the right display 250 and the left display 260 move closer or further away simultaneously) ; or the at least one motor includes two motors, each motor of the at least one motor corresponds to an IPD adjustment mechanical structure of the at least one IPD adjustment mechanical structure, the at least one IPD adjustment mechanical structure includes two IPD adjustment mechanical structures, and the two IPD adjustment mechanical structures are connected to the two optical display modules in a one-to-one correspondence; and each IPD adjustment mechanical structure is configured to drive, under a driving of a corresponding motor, a corresponding optical display module to move (Figs. 2-5 and [0027]-[0028], [0030]-[0031]; inter-pupillary distance adjustment mechanism comprising a motor 210 connected to a pinion gear and the pinion gear connected to a rack 220A for control of right lens 240 and right display 250 to move and connected to a rack 220B for control of left lens 240 and left display 260 to move) . Inquiry Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YUZHEN SHEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1407. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:00-18:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chanh Nguyen can be reached on 571-272-7772. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 2 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 3 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 4 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 5 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 6 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 7 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 8 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 9 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 10 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 11 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 12 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 13 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 14 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 15 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 16 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 17 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 18 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 19 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 20 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 21 Art Unit: 2623 Application/Control Number: 18/767,686 Page 22 Art Unit: 2623