DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 11/4/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-9, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greene et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0195232).
Regarding Claim 8:
Greene et al. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 9, energy harvester 38 and its related discussion), comprising: an antenna (Fig. 9, antenna 48 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0072 which discloses the energy harvester 38 includes antenna 48); a first tuning network operatively coupled to the antenna (Fig. 9, matching network 12 shown above selector 18, hereinafter referred to as first matching network 12 and its related discussion. See at least paragraph 0118 which discloses the matching networks are Pi, T, L series element, or shunt element networks that contain combinations of inductors and capacitors) and configured to receive at least a portion of a radio-frequency (RF) power received via the antenna (Fig. 9, first matching network 12 receiving at least a portion of RF power received via antenna 48, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0067, 0118, claim 26, etc. which disclose the antenna 48 receives RF energy which is subsequently delivered to the downstream circuitry, including first matching network 12) and to output a first RF power based on the portion of RF power received at the first tuning network, the first RF power having a first voltage level (Fig. 9, first matching network 12 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0065-0067, 0117-0118, etc. First matching network 12 receives an input RF power from antenna 48 and outputs a ‘first RF’ power to the downstream circuitry, such as AC to DC converter 14, based upon the input RF power. The ‘first voltage level’ read on by the resulting level of voltage output from the first matching network 12); a first rectifier operatively coupled to the first tuning network (Fig. 9, AC to DC converter 14 shown to the right of the first matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the AC to DC converters 14 can be a voltage doubler with one or more stages) and configured to receive the first RF power and output a first multiplied RF power having a second voltage level based on the first voltage level (Fig. 9, AC to DC converter 14 shown to the right of the first matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the AC to DC converters 14 can be a voltage doubler with one or more stages. The AC to DC converter 14 receives the first RF power output from the first matching network 12 and multiplies said RF power to a second voltage level, read on by the output voltage level associated with the AC to DC converter 14); a second tuning network (Fig. 9, matching network 12 shown below selector 18, hereinafter referred to as second matching network 12, and its related discussion. See at least paragraph 0118 which discloses the matching networks are Pi, T, L series element, or shunt element networks that contain combinations of inductors and capacitors) operatively coupled to the antenna (Fig. 9, second matching network 12 coupled to antenna 48 as shown) and electrically coupled in parallel to the first tuning network (Fig. 9, second matching network 12 in parallel to first matching network 12 as shown), the second tuning network configured to receive at least a portion of the RF power received via the antenna (Fig. 9, second matching network 12 receiving at least a portion of RF power received via antenna 48, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0067, 0118, claim 26, etc. which disclose the antenna 48 receives RF energy which is subsequently delivered to the downstream circuitry, including second matching network 12) and to output a second RF power based on the portion of the RF power received at the second tuning network, the second RF power having a third voltage level (Fig. 9, second matching network 12 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0065-0067, 0117-0118, etc. Second matching network 12 receives an input RF power from antenna 48 and outputs a ‘second RF’ power to the downstream circuitry, such as AC to DC converter 14, based upon the input RF power. The ‘third voltage level’ read on by the resulting level of voltage output from the second matching network 12); and a second rectifier operatively coupled to the second tuning network (Fig. 9, AC to DC converter 14 connected to the right of the second matching network 12, and its related discussion) and configured to receive the second RF power and output a second multiplied RF power having a fourth voltage level based on the third voltage level (Fig. 9, AC to DC converter 14 shown to the right of the second matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the AC to DC converters 14 can be a voltage doubler with one or more stages. The AC to DC converter 14 receives the second RF power output from the second matching network 12 and multiplies said RF power to a fourth voltage level, read on by the output voltage level associated with the AC to DC converter 14).
Regarding Claim 9:
Greene teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 8. Greene further discloses comprising an RF front-end tuning network operatively coupled to the antenna (Fig. 9, matching network 24 coupled to antenna 48 and its related discussion), the first tuning network, and the second tuning network (Fig. 9, matching network 24 coupled to first and second matching networks 12 as shown), the RF front-end tuning network configured to receive RF power from the antenna (Fig. 9, matching network 24 coupled to antenna 48 and its related discussion), to send the portion of the RF power to the first tuning network such that the portion of RF power received at the first tuning network is a first front-end RF power (Fig. 9, matching network 24 outputs a ‘first front-end RF power’ as a portion of the RF power to the first matching network 12. The first front-end RF power read on by the power output via the matching network 24 to the first matching network 12. See, at least, paragraph 0118), and to send the portion of the RF power to the second tuning network such that the portion of RF power received by the second tuning network is a second front-end RF power (Fig. 9, matching network 24 outputs a ‘second front-end RF power’ as a portion of the RF power to the second matching network 12. The second front-end RF power read on by the power output via the matching network 24 to the second matching network 12. See, at least, paragraph 0118).
Regarding Claim 12:
Greene teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 8. Greene further discloses wherein the first tuning network and the first rectifier are included in a first harvesting stage of the apparatus (Fig. 9, first matching network 12, AC to DC converter 14, and their related discussion), the second tuning network and the second rectifier are included in a second harvesting stage of the apparatus (Fig. 9, second matching network 12, AC to DC converter 14, and their related discussion), and the apparatus further comprises: a third harvesting stage including a third tuning network and a third rectifier (Fig. 18, third matching network 12 with AC to DC converter 14 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0138 which discloses an example of the respective architecture when more than two AC to DC paths are to be implemented), the third tuning network operatively coupled to the antenna and electrically coupled in parallel to the first tuning network and the second tuning network (Fig. 18, third matching network 12 with AC to DC converter 14 as shown coupled to antenna 48 and in parallel with the first and second tuning networks 12, and their related discussion), the third tuning network configured to receive at least a portion of the RF power received via the antenna and to output a third RF power based on the portion of the RF power received at the third tuning network, the third RF power having a fifth voltage level (Fig. 18, third matching network 12 with AC to DC converter 14 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0138 which discloses an example of the respective architecture when more than two AC to DC paths are to be implemented. The third tuning network receives at least a portion of the RF power received via antenna 48 with the third RF power read on by the respective output of the third tuning network), the third rectifier operatively coupled to the third tuning network and configured to receive the third RF power and output a third multiplied RF power having a sixth voltage level based on the fifth voltage level (Fig. 18, AC to DC converter 14 shown to the right of the third matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the AC to DC converters 14 can be a voltage doubler with one or more stages. The AC to DC converter 14 receives the third RF power output from the third matching network 12 and multiplies said RF power to a fifth voltage level, read on by the output voltage level associated with the AC to DC converter 14).
Regarding Claim 15:
Greene teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 8. Greene further discloses wherein the first tuning network is configured to produce a Q-multiplied voltage such that a voltage associated with the first voltage level is Q-multiplied compared to a voltage associated with the portion of RF power received at the first tuning network (Fig. 9, first matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the matching networks 12 contain combinations of inductors and capacitors, i.e., LC tank circuits, which produce a voltage that is effectively multiplied by the Q factor at resonance. Furthermore, the phrase ‘such that’ merely specifies an intended result/ recitation of a benefit of the respective structure, and fails to further limit the structure as currently presented.), and the second tuning network is configured to produce a Q-multiplied voltage such that a voltage associated with the third voltage level is Q-multiplied compared to a voltage associated with the portion of RF power received at the second tuning network (Fig. 9, second matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the matching networks 12 contain combinations of inductors and capacitors, i.e., LC tank circuits, which produce a voltage that is effectively multiplied by the Q factor at resonance. Furthermore, the phrase ‘such that’ merely specifies an intended result/ recitation of a benefit of the respective structure, and fails to further limit the structure as currently presented).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0195232) in view of Kumar et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017/0373662).
Regarding Claim 16:
Greene et al. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 9, energy harvester 38 and its related discussion), comprising: an antenna (Fig. 9, antenna 48 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0072 which discloses the energy harvester 38 includes antenna 48); a first tuning network operatively coupled to the antenna (Fig. 9, matching network 12 shown above selector 18, hereinafter referred to as first matching network 12 and its related discussion. See at least paragraph 0118 which discloses the matching networks are Pi, T, L series element, or shunt element networks that contain combinations of inductors and capacitors) and configured to receive a radio-frequency (RF) power received via the antenna (Fig. 9, first matching network 12 receiving at least a portion of RF power received via antenna 48, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0067, 0118, claim 26, etc. which disclose the antenna 48 receives RF energy which is subsequently delivered to the downstream circuitry, including first matching network 12) and to output a first RF power based on the received RF power (Fig. 9, first matching network 12 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0065-0067, 0117-0118, etc. First matching network 12 receives an input RF power from antenna 48 and outputs a ‘first RF’ power to the downstream circuitry, such as AC to DC converter 14, based upon the input RF power.); a first rectifier operatively coupled to the first tuning network (Fig. 9, AC to DC converter 14 shown to the right of the first matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the AC to DC converters 14 can be a voltage doubler with one or more stages) and configured to receive a portion of the first RF power having a first voltage level from the first tuning network and to output a first multiplied RF power having a second voltage level based on the first voltage level (Fig. 9, AC to DC converter 14 shown to the right of the first matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the AC to DC converters 14 can be a voltage doubler with one or more stages. The AC to DC converter 14 receives the first RF power output from the first matching network 12 and multiplies said RF power to a second voltage level, read on by the output voltage level associated with the AC to DC converter 14); a second tuning network (Fig. 9, matching network 12 shown below selector 18, hereinafter referred to as second matching network 12, and its related discussion. See at least paragraph 0118 which discloses the matching networks are Pi, T, L series element, or shunt element networks that contain combinations of inductors and capacitors) configured to receive a portion of the first RF power having the first voltage level (Fig. 9, second matching network 12 receiving at least a portion of RF power, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0067, 0118, claim 26, etc.) and to output a second RF power based on the portion of the first RF power received at the second tuning network, the second RF power having a third voltage level based on the first voltage level (Fig. 9, second matching network 12 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0065-0067, 0117-0118, etc. Second matching network 12 receives an input RF power and outputs a ‘second RF’ power to the downstream circuitry, such as AC to DC converter 14, based upon the input RF power. The ‘third voltage level’ read on by the resulting level of voltage output from the second matching network 12); and a second rectifier operatively coupled to the second tuning network (Fig. 9, AC to DC converter 14 connected to the right of the second matching network 12, and its related discussion) and configured to receive the second RF power and output a second multiplied RF power having a fourth voltage level based on the third voltage level (Fig. 9, AC to DC converter 14 shown to the right of the second matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the AC to DC converters 14 can be a voltage doubler with one or more stages. The AC to DC converter 14 receives the second RF power output from the second matching network 12 and multiplies said RF power to a fourth voltage level, read on by the output voltage level associated with the AC to DC converter 14). Greene fails to teach the structural arrangement in which the second tuning network is operatively coupled to the first tuning network and configured to receive a portion of the first RF power having the first voltage level from the first tuning network.
However, Kumar et al. discloses a second tuning network operatively coupled to the first tuning network and configured to receive a portion of the first RF power having the first voltage level from the first tuning network (see, at least, paragraph 0030 which discloses a multistage matching network topology wherein multiple matching networks may be interconnected, in T or pi type stages, such that the output of one matching network is provided as a portion of an input to another matching network, and RF power is transferred between distinct matching networks in a cascaded configuration). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structural relationship between Greene’s distinct tuning networks such that the second tuning network is configured to receive a portion of the RF power from the first tuning network to improve overall harvesting efficiency through improved RF power utilization. Accordingly, Greene, as modified in view of the cascaded matching network teachings of Kumar teaches a second tuning network that is distinct from, yet operatively coupled to, a first tuning network capable of receiving a portion of the RF power output by the first tuning network.
Regarding Claim 17:
Modified Greene teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 8. Modified Greene, in further view of Greene, discloses comprising an RF front-end tuning network operatively coupled to the antenna (Fig. 9, matching network 24 coupled to antenna 48 and its related discussion) and the first tuning network (Fig. 9, matching network 24 coupled to the first matching network 12 as shown), the RF front-end tuning network configured to receive RF power from the antenna (Fig. 9, matching network 24 coupled to antenna 48 and its related discussion) and to send the portion of the RF power to the first tuning network such that the RF power received by the first tuning network is a front-end tuned RF power (Fig. 9, matching network 24 outputs a ‘first front-end RF power’ as a portion of the RF power to the first matching network 12. The first front-end RF power read on by the power output via the matching network 24 to the first matching network 12. See, at least, paragraph 0118).
Regarding Claim 20:
Modified Greene teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 16. Modified Greene, in further view of Greene, discloses wherein the first tuning network is configured to produce a Q-multiplied voltage such that a voltage associated with the first voltage level is Q-multiplied compared to a voltage associated with the received RF power (Fig. 9, first matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the matching networks 12 contain combinations of inductors and capacitors, i.e., LC tank circuits, which produce a voltage that is effectively multiplied by the Q factor at resonance. Furthermore, the phrase ‘such that’ merely specifies an intended result/ recitation of a benefit of the respective structure, and fails to further limit the structure as currently presented.) and the second tuning network is configured to produce a Q-multiplied voltage such that a voltage associated with the third voltage level is Q-multiplied compared to a voltage associated with the first voltage level (Fig. 9, second matching network 12, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0118 which discloses the matching networks 12 contain combinations of inductors and capacitors, i.e., LC tank circuits, which produce a voltage that is effectively multiplied by the Q factor at resonance. Furthermore, the phrase ‘such that’ merely specifies an intended result/ recitation of a benefit of the respective structure, and fails to further limit the structure as currently presented).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11, 13-14, 18-19, and 21-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 10, 13, and 18: While the prior art of record discloses a similar apparatus, the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest, “wherein the first rectifier is operatively coupled to the second rectifier such that the second rectifier is configured to receive the first multiplied RF power from the first rectifier and the second multiplied RF power is based on the second RF power and the first multiplied RF power, the fourth voltage level being based on a combination of the second voltage level and the third voltage level” as recited in claim 10, and similarly recited in claims 13 and 18. That is, while prior art Greene discloses a first and second rectifier, the respective outputs of each rectifier is delivered to a combiner as shown within figure 9. It does not appear as though modifying the output of a respective rectifier to be utilized as a combined input power to another rectifier would have been an obvious modification. Furthermore, it appears as though such a modification would potentially teach away from the teachings of Greene. The examiner further notes that if the Applicant so chooses to amend the independent claims from which these claims depend with the subject matter of said claims, dependent claims 11, 14, and 19 need to be further addressed as claims 11, 14, and 19 require a unique and differing structure that would not be possible based upon the structural requirements as presented within claims 10, 13, and 18.
With respect to claims 11, 14, and 19: While the prior art of record discloses a similar apparatus, the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest, “wherein the first rectifier is operatively coupled to a first apparatus output and the second rectifier is operatively coupled to a second apparatus output such that the first rectifier is configured to provide the first multiplied RF power to the first apparatus output independently of the second rectifier providing the second multiplied RF power to the second apparatus output” as recited in claim 11, and similarly recited in claims 14 and 19. That is, while prior art Greene discloses a first and second rectifier, the respective outputs of each rectifier is delivered to a combiner with said output of the combiner being delivered to a singular load as shown within figure 9. It does not appear as though modifying the output of each respective rectifier to be delivered independently to a unique apparatus output would have been an obvious modification. Furthermore, it appears as though such a modification would potentially teach away from the teachings of Greene as once again Greene teaches the respective combination of converter outputs to be delivered to a singular load. The examiner further notes that if the Applicant so chooses to amend the independent claims from which these claims depend with the subject matter of said claims, dependent claims 10, 13, and 18 need to be further addressed as claims 10, 13, and 18 require a unique and differing structure that would not be possible based upon the structural requirements as presented within claims 11, 14, and 19.
With respect to claims 21-27: While the prior art discloses a similar apparatus having a plurality of stages in the form of a matching network with rectifier as shown, the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest that “the first rectifier” includes a plurality of stages which are to include a tuning network. That is, while the prior art, namely Greene, teach a plurality of stages, such as those presented within figure 18, where each stage comprises a matching network 12 coupled to an AC to DC converter 14, the prior art fails to teach at least one of the subsequent AC to DC converters 14 being further comprised of a “plurality of stages” which include an additional tuning network. Furthermore, it does not appear as such a modification would have been an obvious matter, as it does not appear one of ordinary skill in the art would provide an additional matching/tuning network at each stage constituting a first rectifier when the rectifier(s) of the prior art already have an associated matching circuit with which said rectifier(s) are paired. Dependent claims 22-27 are objected to as being ultimately dependent upon claim 21.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836