DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing on 4/23/2026. Since the previous filing, no claims have been added, amended or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-17 are pending in the application.
In regards to the previous Drawing and Specification Objections, Applicant has amended to overcome these objections and they are therefore withdrawn.
In regards to the previous 103 Rejections, Applicant’s response and amended specification and drawings outline Examiner’s misreading of the claimed limitations and invention. The previous action has been superseded and the previous rejections are therefore withdrawn with new rejections entered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 11/19/25 and 11/21/25 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.97(c) because it lacks the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 line 2: “the each” should be “each” or “the first sheet” to match later language
Claim 16 line 2: “the each” should be “each” or “the first sheet” to match later language
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2020/0237607) in view of Northrup (US 2023/0096560).
In regards to claim 1, Ramanan discloses a laminated air bag, comprising: an outer fabric layer, wherein an air bag assembly is fixed to an inner surface of the outer fabric layer (inner sleeve and outer sleeve form inflatable chambers, paragraph 183 and 184); a plurality of closed spaces satisfying air inflation are formed between the outer layer and the assembly (paragraph 184); and an inflatable connecting assembly is arranged at an outer end of the outer fabric layer (link 1006, paragraph 106).
While Ramanan does not explicitly disclose the air bag assembly is formed of a thigh sheet, a knee-joint sheet, a shank sheet, and a sole sheet from top to bottom, it does teach a sectional device (modular compression garment 22004, paragraph 206) divided between sections of the leg. Ramanan further teaches that it is known to divide the device into four discrete sections of zones which correspond to the thigh, knee, calf and foot (paragraph 243, Fig 56A and 56B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan such that the air bag assembly is formed of a thigh sheet, a knee-joint sheet, a shank sheet, and a sole sheet from top to bottom as this would allow discrete sections to provide specific compression as suited to the location in order to provide the patient with the treatment best suited to their needs.
Ramanan does not disclose wherein an inner surface of the outer fabric layer is attached to the airbag assembly, with each sheet connected to the inner surface of the outer fabric layer via a respective first strip located at a proximal portion of each sheet, for each pair of adjacent sheets defined as a first sheet and second sheet, the first sheet is superimposed on the second sheet and a distal portion of the first sheet is fixed onto the second sheet via a second strip of the first sheet in such as away all first and second strips are discrete and no first or second strip overlaps any other first or second strip in a longitudinal direction of the air bag, wherein the first strip of the second sheet and the second strip of the first sheet together demarcate an overlapping region between the first and second sheets, said overlapping region being the portion of the second sheet spanning between the first and second strips; while each enclosed space is defined by a pair of adjacent sheets and the outer fabric layer, and is bounded by: (i) a section of the inner surface of the outer fabric layer between the first strips of the first and second sheets, (ii) a main body region of the first sheet extending between the first sheet’s first and second strips, and (iii) said overlapping region of the second sheet.
However, Northrup teaches wherein an inner surface of the outer fabric layer is attached to the airbag assembly, with each sheet connected to the inner surface of the outer fabric layer via a respective first strip located at a proximal portion of each sheet, for each pair of adjacent sheets defined as a first sheet and second sheet, the first sheet is superimposed on the second sheet and a distal portion of the first sheet is fixed onto the second sheet via a second strip of the first sheet n such as away all first and second strips are discrete and no first or second strip overlaps any other first or second strip in a longitudinal direction of the air bag, wherein the first strip of the second sheet and the second strip of the first sheet together demarcate an overlapping region between the first and second sheets, said overlapping region being the portion of the second sheet spanning between the first and second strips; while each enclosed space is defined by a pair of adjacent sheets and the outer fabric layer, and is bounded by: (i) a section of the inner surface of the outer fabric layer between the first strips of the first and second sheets, (ii) a main body region of the first sheet extending between the first sheet’s first and second strips, and (iii) said overlapping region of the second sheet (paragraph 63, see Annotated Fig 5, paragraph 65-72, Fig 7-8D).
Annotated Fig 5
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein an inner surface of the outer fabric layer is attached to the airbag assembly, with each sheet connected to the inner surface of the outer fabric layer via a respective first strip located at a proximal portion of each sheet, for each pair of adjacent sheets defined as a first sheet and second sheet, the first sheet is superimposed on the second sheet and a distal portion of the first sheet is fixed onto the second sheet via a second strip of the first sheet in such as away all first and second strips are discrete and no first or second strip overlaps any other first or second strip in a longitudinal direction of the air bag, wherein the first strip of the second sheet and the second strip of the first sheet together demarcate an overlapping region between the first and second sheets, said overlapping region being the portion of the second sheet spanning between the first and second strips; while each enclosed space is defined by a pair of adjacent sheets and the outer fabric layer, and is bounded by: (i) a section of the inner surface of the outer fabric layer between the first strips of the first and second sheets, (ii) a main body region of the first sheet extending between the first sheet’s first and second strips, and (iii) said overlapping region of the second sheet as taught by Northrup as this would ensure that there are no gaps in the applied pressure (Northrup: paragraph 63 and Fig 5).
In regards to claim 2, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further teaches wherein the inflatable connecting assembly comprises a connecting plug, an air-tube adapter (valve adapter 1008), and four air tubes connected in sequence (paragraph 106).
In regards to claim 3, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 2 and the combination further teaches wherein inflatable holes in communication with the plurality of closed spaces are formed in the outer fabric layer, and the four air tubes are connected to the plurality of inflatable holes, respectively (Ramanan: Fig 22).
In regards to claim 4, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 1 and the combination further teaches wherein the air bag assembly is made of a TPU material (Ramanan: paragraph 183).
Ramanan does not disclose wherein the thigh sheet, the knee-joint sheet, the shank sheet, and the sole sheet are fixed together by means of the hot-pressing mode.
However, Northrup teaches wherein the sheets are fixed together by means of the hot-pressing mode (paragraph 61 and 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the thigh sheet, the knee-joint sheet, the shank sheet, and the sole sheet are fixed together by means of the hot-pressing mode as taught by Northrup as it has been held that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product -by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113 I) and the welding described by Ben-nun results in the same end product.
In regards to claim 8, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further teaches wherein an air pump is detachably mounted at a head end of the connecting plug (CPG 1002).
In regards to claim 9, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 1 and the modified Ramanan further teaches wherein a separation distance between the first strip of the second sheet and the second strip of the first sheet is less than a separation distance between the second strip of the first sheet and a second strip of a subsequent first sheet of an adjacent pair of sheets downstream measured along a longitudinal direction of the air bag (Northrup: see Annotated Fig 5).
In regards to claim 10, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 1 and the modified Ramanan teaches wherein the first strip and the second strip are parallel to each other (Northrup: see Annotated Fig 5).
In regards to claim 11, Ramanan discloses a therapy system comprising: a power supply unit (power supply 4210, paragraph 118), an air inflation unit (CPG device 1002); and a laminated air bag that includes an outer fabric layer, wherein an inner surface of the outer fabric layer is attached to an air bag assembly (inner sleeve and outer sleeve form inflatable chambers, paragraph 183 and 184); a plurality of enclosed spaces satisfying air inflation (paragraph 184), and an inflatable connecting assembly is arranged at an outer end of the outer fabric layer (link 1006, paragraph 106).
While Ramanan does not explicitly disclose the air bag assembly is formed of a thigh sheet, a knee-joint sheet, a shank sheet, and a sole sheet from top to bottom, it does teach a sectional device (modular compression garment 22004, paragraph 206) divided between sections of the leg. Ramanan further teaches that it is known to divide the device into four discrete sections of zones which correspond to the thigh, knee, calf and foot (paragraph 243, Fig 56A and 56B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan such that the air bag assembly is formed of a thigh sheet, a knee-joint sheet, a shank sheet, and a sole sheet from top to bottom as this would allow discrete sections to provide specific compression as suited to the location in order to provide the patient with the treatment best suited to their needs.
Ramanan does not disclose wherein an inner surface of the outer fabric layer is attached to the airbag assembly, with each sheet connected to the inner surface of the outer fabric layer via a respective first strip located at a proximal portion of each sheet, for each pair of adjacent sheets defined as a first sheet and second sheet, the first sheet is superimposed on the second sheet and a distal portion of the first sheet is fixed onto the second sheet via a second strip of the first sheet n such as away all first and second strips are discrete and no first or second strip overlaps any other first or second strip in a longitudinal direction of the air bag, wherein the first strip of the second sheet and the second strip of the first sheet together demarcate an overlapping region between the first and second sheets, said overlapping region being the portion of the second sheet spanning between the first and second strips; while each enclosed space is defined by a pair of adjacent sheets and the outer fabric layer, and is bounded by: (i) a section of the inner surface of the outer fabric layer between the first strips of the first and second sheets, (ii) a main body region of the first sheet extending between the first sheet’s first and second strips, and (iii) said overlapping region of the second sheet.
However, Northrup teaches wherein an inner surface of the outer fabric layer is attached to the airbag assembly, with each sheet connected to the inner surface of the outer fabric layer via a respective first strip located at a proximal portion of each sheet, for each pair of adjacent sheets defined as a first sheet and second sheet, the first sheet is superimposed on the second sheet and a distal portion of the first sheet is fixed onto the second sheet via a second strip of the first sheet n such as away all first and second strips are discrete and no first or second strip overlaps any other first or second strip in a longitudinal direction of the air bag, wherein the first strip of the second sheet and the second strip of the first sheet together demarcate an overlapping region between the first and second sheets, said overlapping region being the portion of the second sheet spanning between the first and second strips; while each enclosed space is defined by a pair of adjacent sheets and the outer fabric layer, and is bounded by: (i) a section of the inner surface of the outer fabric layer between the first strips of the first and second sheets, (ii) a main body region of the first sheet extending between the first sheet’s first and second strips, and (iii) said overlapping region of the second sheet (paragraph 63, see Annotated Fig 5, paragraph 65-72, Fig 7-8D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein an inner surface of the outer fabric layer is attached to the airbag assembly, with each sheet connected to the inner surface of the outer fabric layer via a respective first strip located at a proximal portion of each sheet, for each pair of adjacent sheets defined as a first sheet and second sheet, the first sheet is superimposed on the second sheet and a distal portion of the first sheet is fixed onto the second sheet via a second strip of the first sheet n such as away all first and second strips are discrete and no first or second strip overlaps any other first or second strip in a longitudinal direction of the air bag, wherein the first strip of the second sheet and the second strip of the first sheet together demarcate an overlapping region between the first and second sheets, said overlapping region being the portion of the second sheet spanning between the first and second strips; while each enclosed space is defined by a pair of adjacent sheets and the outer fabric layer, and is bounded by: (i) a section of the inner surface of the outer fabric layer between the first strips of the first and second sheets, (ii) a main body region of the first sheet extending between the first sheet’s first and second strips, and (iii) said overlapping region of the second sheet as taught by Northrup as this would ensure that there are no gaps in the applied pressure (Northrup: paragraph 63 and Fig 5).
In regards to claim 12, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 11 and the modified Ramanan further teaches wherein a separation distance between the first strip of the second sheet and the second strip of the first sheet is less than a separation distance between the second strip of the first sheet and a second strip of a subsequent first sheet of an adjacent pair of sheets downstream measured along a longitudinal direction of the air bag (Northrup: see Annotated Fig 5).
In regards to claim 13, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 11 and the modified Ramanan teaches wherein the first strip and the second strip are parallel to each other (Northrup: see Annotated Fig 5).
In regards to claim 14, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 1 and the modified Ramanan further teaches wherein in the first strip is disposed on a top portion of the each sheet and the second strip is disposed at a bottom portion of the first sheet (Northrup: see Annotated Fig 5).
In regards to claim 15, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 1 and the combination further teaches wherein the first strip and the second strip both extend in a substantially transverse direction relative to a longitudinal axis of the laminated air bag (Northrup: Fig 7-8D).
In regards to claim 16, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 11 and the modified Ramanan further teaches wherein in the first strip is disposed on a top portion of the each sheet and the second strip is disposed at a bottom portion of the first sheet (Northrup: see Annotated Fig 5).
In regards to claim 17, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 11 and the combination further teaches wherein the first strip and the second strip both extend in a substantially transverse direction relative to a longitudinal axis of the laminated air bag (Northrup: Fig 7-8D).
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2020/0237607) in view of Northrup (US 2023/0096560) and in further view of Holschuh (US 2021/0301432).
In regards to claim 5, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 1 and the combination further teaches wherein an inner fabric layer is arranged at an inner end of the air bag assembly, the inner fabric layer is sewn at an inner end of the outer fabric layer for wrapping the air bag assembly (Ramanan: attachment of various components sewn, paragraph 184).
Ramanan does not teach wherein the fabric layer is made of memory cloth.
However, Holschuh teaches that it is known the compression devices for a fabric layer to be made of memory cloth (paragraph 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan to have a fabric layer made of memory cloth as taught by Holschuh as this is a known material used in compression devices.
In regards to claim 7, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun, Ben-noon and Holschuh teaches the device of claim 5 and the combination further teaches wherein a shape and a size of the air bag assembly and a shape and a size of the inner fabric layer are adapted to a shape and a size of the outer fabric layer (Ramanan: paragraph 183).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2020/0237607) in view of Northrup (US 2023/0096560) and in further view of Levine (US 2017/0266052).
In regards to claim 6, Ramanan in view of Northrup teaches the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further teaches wherein the outer fabric layer is made of a 210D composite material (garment material may be nylon, paragraph 183).
Ramanan does not teach a decorative layer is sewn at the outer fabric layer at an outer end of the air tube.
However, Levine teaches a decorative layer is sewn at the outer fabric layer at a location marking internal components (paragraph 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan to have a decorative layer is sewn at the outer fabric layer at a location marking internal components. Such as the air tube, as taught by Levine to mark locations of internal components (Levine: paragraph 21). Further, it is considered an aesthetic design change (MPEP 2144.04 I) to add decoration. The location of the decorative features (i.e.: an outer end of the air tube) is also considered obvious as this is reasonably a design choice to provide color or decoration to the device.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the arguments concerning the independent claim, the Applicant has persuasively argued against the previous interpretation of Ramanan in view of Northrup. Examiner misunderstood the instant invention and claimed limitations and misinterpreted the cited art in reflection of said misunderstanding, seen most clearly on the incorrectly annotated Fig 5, which Applicant has correctly noted in their response. Newly submitted amendment to Specification and Drawings have clarified Examiner’s understanding and the art has been reinterpreted in light of this, as seen in the new rejections and corrected annotated figure entered above.
Applicant argues against the combination of Northrup as Northrup shows formation of the adjacent cells using independent bladders instead of sheets. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Northrup establishes overlapped adjacent cells, attached in such a way wherein there is no separation or gaps between the cells and there exists the overlapping sections which are sealed into a cohesive whole.
Conclusion
/ARIELLE WOLFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785