DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received 07/09/2024 for 18767717. Claims 1-20 are presented.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2024 was filed before the mailing date of a first action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 8, 10, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 recite "slope between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point" which has been interpreted as "--the-- slope between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point" for purposes of clarifying antecedent basis.
Claim 8 recites a "method… for perform zoom and tilt operations" which appears to include a typo and has been interpreted as "method… for [[perform]] --performing-- zoom and tilt operations".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 recite "the user zoom input, and slope" which is unclear if the "immediately updating" is applied to only "the user-selected tilt angle" or both the "the user-selected tilt angle" and "slope between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dancie et al. (US 20210011612 A1) in view of Piemonte et al. (US 20140019917 A1) and Korn et al. (US 8977987 B1).
As to claim 1, Dancie discloses a system [Fig. 4, para 0046, machine] comprising: at least one processor [Fig. 4, para 0046, processor]; at least one memory component storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor [Figs. 4-5, para 0052-0053, machine includes memory storing instructions executed by processor] to perform zoom and tilt operations on a map display based on a predetermined relationship between zooming and tilting, the predetermined relationship being defined by a plurality of zoom-tilt transition points [para 0063, 0065-0069, cause display of geographic user interface including map to process operational modes including zoom operation mode and tilt operation mode based on input characteristics within range values (read: transition points) of operational mode criteria (read: predetermined relationship)], the operations comprising:
displaying a map representation of an area, an appearance of the map representation being based on an initial tilt angle and an initial zoom level [para 0036, 0063, display geographic user interface including map (read: map representation) representing geographic map (read: area) in first view (read: appearance) with particular perspective (read: initial zoom level) and particular scale (read: initial zoom level)];
receiving user tilt input to tilt the map representation to a user-selected tilt angle [para 0064-0067, 0069-0070, 0081, receive gesture input with characteristic fulfilling first operational mode including tilt operation mode changing tilt angle];
updating the display of the map representation based on the user-selected tilt angle [Fig. 8, para 0065-0067, 0069-0070, 0081, change displayed map to tilt angle to desired tilt angle];
receiving user zoom input to zoom the map representation, the user zoom input including a zoom direction [para 0064-0065, 0068-0069, 0073, 0080, receive gesture input with characteristic including horizontal and vertical displacement (read: zoom direction) fulfilling second operational mode including zoom operation mode changing zoom scale];
updating a zoom level of the display of the map representation in response to the user zoom input [Fig. 7, para 0068-0069, 0073, 0080, change displayed map to desired zoom level according to processed input].
However, Dancie does not specifically disclose determining a next zoom-tilt transition point in the predetermined relationship, in the zoom direction; and updating a tilt level of the display of the map representation in response to the user zoom input at a rate of tilt based on … between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point.
Piemonte discloses:
determining a next zoom-tilt transition point in the predetermined relationship, in the zoom direction [para 0055, 0085-0086, predefine number of magnification factor steps including a next magnification step (read: next zoom-tilt transition point) when zooming into map (read: zoom direction) with coordinated movement (read: relationship) combining zoom and tilt];
updating a tilt level of the display of the map representation in response to the user zoom input at a rate of tilt based on … between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point [para 0054-0055, 0064-0066, 0085-0086, change displayed map based on coordinated user movement combining tilt gesture changing tilt angle of displayed map and zoom gesture changing magnification step of displayed map based on current magnification factor].
Dancie and Piemonte are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of map display systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined relationship and display of the map representation as disclosed by Dancie with the next zoom-tilt transition point in the predetermined relationship in the zoom direction and updating a tilt level of the display of the map representation in response to the user zoom input at a rate of tilt as disclosed by Piemonte with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Dancie as described above to quickly move between map display factors [Piemonte, para 0055].
However, Dancie and Piemonte do not specifically disclose a slope between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point.
Korn discloses a slope between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point [cols. 1:34-46, 4:12-34, 4:64-5:31, motion-based input includes zooming between one zoom level and a closer zoom level (read: next zoom-tilt transition point) affected by tilt level].
Dancie, Piemonte, and Korn are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of map display systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rate of tilt based on the initial zoom level, user-selected tilt angle, and next zoom-tilt transition point as disclosed by Dancie and Piemonte with a slope between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point as disclosed by Korn with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Dancie and Piemonte as described above for more intuitive input [Korn, cols. 1:66-2:15].
As to claim 2, Dancie discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: upon receiving the user zoom input, initially maintaining the user-selected tilt angle … [para 0065-0068, 0070, 0080-0081, process determining gesture input fulfilling second operational mode and display map with desired zoom level changed from displayed map with desired tilt angle].
However, Dancie and Piemonte do not specifically disclose initially maintaining the user-selected tilt angle until a current zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle are between two zoom-tilt transition points.
Korn discloses initially maintaining the user-selected tilt angle until a current zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle are between two zoom-tilt transition points [cols. 4:64-5:31, display map with discrete zoom level (read: current zoom level) at tilt angle until tilt angle reaches tilt level resulting in farther or closer zoom levels].
Dancie, Piemonte, and Korn are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of map display systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user-selected tilt angle as disclosed by Dancie and Piemonte with the maintaining a user-selected tilt angle until a current zoom level and user-selected tilt angle are between two zoom-tilt transition points as disclosed by Korn with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Dancie and Piemonte as described above for more intuitive input [Korn, cols. 1:66-2:15].
As to claim 3, Dancie teaches the system of claim 1 but not explicitly wherein the operations further comprise: upon receiving the user zoom input, immediately updating the user-selected tilt angle based on the user zoom input, and slope between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point.
However, Piemonte teaches wherein the operations further comprise: upon receiving the user zoom input, immediately updating the user-selected tilt angle based on the user zoom input, and … the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle [para 0054-0055, 0064-0066, 0085-0086, change displayed map based on coordinated user motion combining tilt gesture changing tilt angle of displayed map and zoom gesture changing magnification factor of displayed map based on current magnification factor] and Korn teaches the slope between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point [cols. 1:34-46, 4:12-34, 4:64-5:31, motion-based input includes zooming between one zoom level and a closer zoom level affected by tilt level].
Dancie, Piemonte, and Korn are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of map display systems. Thus it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention apply the teachings of Piemonte changing a displayed map based on coordinated user motion combining a tilt gesture and a zoom gesture to the teachings of Korn with a slope between zoom levels, tilt angles, and a next zoom level with a reasonable expectation of success to result in wherein the operations further comprise: upon receiving the user zoom input, immediately updating the user-selected tilt angle based on the user zoom input, and slope between the initial zoom level and the user-selected tilt angle and the next zoom-tilt transition point [see MPEP 2143].
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply this teaching to Dancie to quickly move between map display factors [Piemonte, para 0055] and provide input proportionately for more intuitive input [Korn, cols. 1:66-2:15].
As to claim 4, Dancie discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the user tilt input comprises a vertical swipe on a touchscreen of two touch inputs [para 0064, 0081, receive gesture including swipe gesture comprising input points with vertical displacement on touchscreen].
As to claim 5, Dancie discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the user zoom input comprises a vertical swipe of a touch input along an edge of a touchscreen [para 0064, 0080, receive gesture including swipe touch gesture with vertical displacement relative to touchscreen edge].
As to claim 6, Dancie discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the operations further comprise: displaying an icon next to the touch input of the user zoom input, the icon being dependent on a zoom level [Fig. 7, para 0038-0039, 0064, 0079-0080, display avatar (read: icon) with (read: next to) component representing swipe gesture in map view displayed in proportion to (read: dependent on) desired zoom level].
As to claim 7, Dancie discloses the system of claim 1.
However, Dancie does not specifically disclose wherein the user tilt input is to a tilt angle that is outside a range defined by the predetermined relationship, and wherein the operations further comprise: instead of updating the display of the map representation at a rate of tilt and zoom upon receiving user zoom input, maintaining the user-selected tilt angle irrespective of the user zoom input.
Piemonte discloses:
wherein the user tilt input is to a tilt angle that is outside a range defined by the predetermined relationship [para 0065-0067, 0085-0086, recognize user tilt gesture changing map tilt angle past range of coordinated movement], and
wherein the operations further comprise: instead of updating the display of the map representation at a rate of tilt and zoom upon receiving user zoom input, maintaining the user-selected tilt angle irrespective of the user zoom input [para 0064-0068, 0085-0086, limit change in displayed map tilt angle to range regardless of user motion in coordinated movement including zoom gesture and tilt gesture, where coordinated movement including zoom gesture and tilt gesture with tilt angle in range results in tilting displayed map].
Dancie and Piemonte are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of map display systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user tilt input and display of the map representation as disclosed by Dancie with a user tilt input to a tilt angle outside a defined range and maintaining a user-selected tilt angle irrespective of user zoom input as disclosed by Piemonte with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Dancie as described above to prevent an unrealistic or uninformative perspective [Piemonte, para 0067].
As to claim 8, Dancie, Piemonte, and Korn, combined at least for the reasons above, Dancie discloses a method, performed by at least one processor [Fig. 4, para 0046, processor], for performing limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claims 9-14, Dancie, Piemonte, and Korn, combined at least for the reasons above, disclose the method of claim 8 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claims 2-7, respectively, and are rejected under similar rationale.
As to claim 15, Dancie, Piemonte, and Korn, combined at least for the reasons above, Dancie discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor [Figs. 4-5, para 0052-0053, machine includes memory storing instructions executed by processor], cause the at least one processor to perform limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claims 16-20, Dancie, Piemonte, and Korn, combined at least for the reasons above, disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claims 2-5 and 7, respectively, and are rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LINDA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172