DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190367043 A1 (Dotzler et al., hereinafter Dotzler).
Regarding claim 1, Dotzler discloses a system for determining a number of data sources for a dynamic ad hoc network of a vehicle (Fig. 1 and pars. [0053], [0067]), comprising:
a vehicle control circuit (Fig. 2, “vehicle control module 204”) configured to determine one or more control inputs to the vehicle (pars. [0024]-[0027], where “204” receives different types of information detected by sensors and other circuits in the vehicle in addition to inputs received from other vehicles); and
an ad hoc control circuit (par. [0053], “driver assistance system 202”, “The received messages and/or signals inform the vehicle control module 204 and other vehicle control modules in the driver assistance network (or ad-hoc network) autonomous states of the corresponding vehicles. In another embodiment, the vehicle control modules of other vehicles generate BSMs and/or other messages and/or signals including three autonomous status bits as described with respect to the method”) configured to:
receive information about the vehicle including at least one of a speed of the vehicle, a type of roadway of travel of the vehicle, routing information about the vehicle, or an indication of vehicle density in an area around the vehicle (par. [0056], “…may monitor (i) the BSMs and/or similar messages and/or signals, (ii) the sensors of the host vehicle, and/or (iii) sensor information received from sensors of the local vehicles…statuses, locations, speeds, acceleration rates, deceleration rates, headings, expected travel paths, etc.”);
dynamically adjust a size of the dynamic ad hoc network for the vehicle, the size of the dynamic ad hoc network including a number of other vehicles from which to receive or process information, based on the received information about the vehicle (pars. [0023], [0067], “autonomous vehicles may maintain full cooperative behavior with a maximum benefit to local traffic. The level of cooperation changes based on the number and locations of vehicles under human control. … Under these lower levels of cooperation, an autonomous vehicle may rely more heavily on outputs of local sensors than on V2X communication”); and
receive navigation or safety information from one or more other vehicles in the dynamic ad hoc network (pars. [0045], [0056]), wherein the vehicle control circuit is configured to determine one or more control inputs to the vehicle based at least in part on the received navigation or safety information from one or more other vehicles in the dynamic ad hoc network (par. [0067], “The level of cooperation changes based on the number and locations of vehicles under human control. … Under these lower levels of cooperation, an autonomous vehicle may rely more heavily on outputs of local sensors than on V2X communication”, where more “control inputs” from the host vehicle are relayed upon when the number of vehicles available around the host vehicle is small).
Regarding claim 10, Dotzler discloses a method for determining a number of data sources for a dynamic ad hoc network of a vehicle (at least pars. [0005], [0053] and [0067]), comprising:
receiving information about the vehicle including at least one of a speed of the vehicle, a type of roadway of travel of the vehicle, routing information about the vehicle, or an indication of vehicle density in an area around the vehicle (par. [0056], “…may monitor (i) the BSMs and/or similar messages and/or signals, (ii) the sensors of the host vehicle, and/or (iii) sensor information received from sensors of the local vehicles, to detect any changes associated with the local vehicles. The changes may include changes in autonomous statuses, locations, speeds, acceleration rates, deceleration rates, headings, expected travel paths, etc.);
dynamically adjusting a size of the dynamic ad hoc network for the vehicle, the size of the dynamic ad hoc network including a number of other vehicles from which to receive or process information, based on the received information about the vehicle (pars. [0023], [0067], “autonomous vehicles may maintain full cooperative behavior with a maximum benefit to local traffic. The level of cooperation changes based on the number and locations of vehicles under human control. … Under these lower levels of cooperation, an autonomous vehicle may rely more heavily on outputs of local sensors than on V2X communication”);
receiving navigation or safety information from one or more other vehicles in the dynamic ad hoc network (pars. [0045], [0056]); and
determining one or more control inputs to the vehicle based at least in part on the received navigation or safety information from one or more other vehicles in the dynamic ad hoc network (par. [0067], “autonomous vehicles may maintain full cooperative behavior with a maximum benefit to local traffic. The level of cooperation changes based on the number and locations of vehicles under human control. … Under these lower levels of cooperation, an autonomous vehicle may rely more heavily on outputs of local sensors than on V2X communication”).
Regarding claim 18, Dotzler discloses a system for determining a number of data sources for a dynamic ad hoc network of a vehicle (Fig. 1 and pars. [0053], [0067]), comprising:
one or more processors (pars. [0074]-[0078]); and
a memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to control the system to perform operations (pars. [0074]-[0078]) comprising:
receiving information about the vehicle including at least one of a speed of the vehicle, a type of roadway of travel of the vehicle, routing information about the vehicle, or an indication of vehicle density in an area around the vehicle (par. [0056], “…may monitor (i) the BSMs and/or similar messages and/or signals, (ii) the sensors of the host vehicle, and/or (iii) sensor information received from sensors of the local vehicles, to detect any changes associated with the local vehicles. The changes may include changes in autonomous statuses, locations, speeds, acceleration rates, deceleration rates, headings, expected travel paths, etc.);
dynamically adjusting a size of the dynamic ad hoc network for the vehicle, the size of the dynamic ad hoc network including a number of other vehicles from which to receive or process information, based on the received information about the vehicle (pars. [0023], [0067], “autonomous vehicles may maintain full cooperative behavior with a maximum benefit to local traffic. The level of cooperation changes based on the number and locations of vehicles under human control. … Under these lower levels of cooperation, an autonomous vehicle may rely more heavily on outputs of local sensors than on V2X communication”);
receiving navigation or safety information from one or more other vehicles in the dynamic ad hoc network (pars. [0045], [0056]); and
determining one or more control inputs to the vehicle based at least in part on the received navigation or safety information from one or more other vehicles in the dynamic ad hoc network (par. [0067], “autonomous vehicles may maintain full cooperative behavior with a maximum benefit to local traffic. The level of cooperation changes based on the number and locations of vehicles under human control. … Under these lower levels of cooperation, an autonomous vehicle may rely more heavily on outputs of local sensors than on V2X communication”).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively. Dotzler further discloses wherein the size of the dynamic ad hoc network is specific to the number of data sources for the ad hoc control circuit of the vehicle, wherein to dynamically adjust the size of the dynamic ad hoc network based on the received information about the vehicle comprises to dynamically adjust the size of the dynamic ad hoc network as a function of the speed of the vehicle (pars. [0045], [0056], “vehicle speed”), the type of roadway of travel of the vehicle (Fig. 2 and par. [0024], “navigation system 216”; navigation systems inherently include/receive information about type of road), and the indication of vehicle density in the area around the vehicle (par. [0045], “amount of traffic”).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 11, respectively. Dotzler further discloses wherein the indication of vehicle density includes at least one of information about a location of the vehicle (pars. [0050]-[0051], “current location of the host vehicle”), a number of vehicles visible to a communication circuit of the vehicle, an indication of traffic density within a threshold distance in a direction of travel along a route of the vehicle, or a number of vehicles detectable by one or more sensors or receivers of the vehicle (only one limitation is required from the choices provided).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively. Dotzler further discloses wherein the vehicle control circuit is configured to determine the indication of vehicle density in a communication area or a sensor area around the vehicle (par. [0045], [0067], “amount of traffic”, “local traffic”), wherein the communication area includes a communication range of a communication circuit of the vehicle (par. [0055], “Vehicles that are in a local environment (or within a predetermined range) of the host vehicle are local vehicles”) and the sensor area includes a detection area of one or more sensors of the vehicle (par. [0056], “monitor (i) the BSMs and/or similar messages and/or signals, (ii) the sensors of the host vehicle”), wherein the communication circuit is a component of the ad hoc control circuit and configured to enable a type of radio frequency communication (par. [0072], “local area network (LAN), the Internet, a wide area network (WAN)” use RF frequencies).
Regarding claim 6, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 1. Dotzler further discloses wherein the vehicle control circuit is configured to determine a first indication of vehicle density using information from a communication circuit and a second indication of vehicle density using information from one or more sensors of the vehicle (pars. [0045], “amount of traffic” and [0056], “…may monitor (i) the BSMs and/or similar messages and/or signals, (ii) the sensors of the host vehicle, and/or (iii) sensor information received from sensors of the local vehicles…statuses, locations, speeds, acceleration rates, deceleration rates, headings, expected travel paths, etc.”; where the information received from the host device and the near-by- devices correspond to first and second indications).
Regarding claim 7, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 6. Dotzler further discloses wherein the vehicle control circuit is configured to determine a composite indication of vehicle density as a function of the determined first and second indications (pars. [0045], “amount of traffic” and [0056], “…may monitor (i) the BSMs and/or similar messages and/or signals, (ii) the sensors of the host vehicle, and/or (iii) sensor information received from sensors of the local vehicles…statuses, locations, speeds, acceleration rates, deceleration rates, headings, expected travel paths, etc.”).
Regarding claim 8, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 1. Dotzler further discloses wherein the vehicle control circuit is configured to determine the indication of vehicle density in a direction of travel of the vehicle based on position (pars. [0045], [0051], “based on the current location, the inputted destination, and/or a heading of the vehicle”) and heading information received from the other vehicles in the dynamic ad hoc network (par. [0053], “status module 212 may receive BSMs and/or other messages and/or signals including vehicle information and autonomous status bits from other vehicles, road side devices, and/or other vehicle communication devices”).
Regarding claim 9, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 1. Dotzler further discloses wherein the vehicle control circuit includes a navigation circuit configured to receive or store mapping information and location information of the vehicle from a global positioning sensor (Fig. 2 and pars. [0024], [0050], “navigation system 216”, where mapping information is inherently received and/or stored in navigation systems),
wherein the received information about the vehicle includes the type of roadway of travel of the vehicle determined using information from the navigation system (Fig. 2 and par. [0024], “navigation system 216”; navigation systems inherently include/receive information about type of road ).
Regarding claim 15, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 10. Dotzler further discloses determining a first indication of vehicle density using information from the dynamic ad hoc network and a second indication of vehicle density using information from one or more sensors of the vehicle (pars. [0045], “amount of traffic” and [0056], “…may monitor (i) the BSMs and/or similar messages and/or signals, (ii) the sensors of the host vehicle, and/or (iii) sensor information received from sensors of the local vehicles…statuses, locations, speeds, acceleration rates, deceleration rates, headings, expected travel paths, etc.”; where the information received from the host device and the near-by- devices correspond to first and second indications); and determining a composite indication of vehicle density as a function of the determined first and second indications, wherein the indication of vehicle density includes the determined composite indication of vehicle density (pars. [0045], “amount of traffic” and [0056], “…may monitor (i) the BSMs and/or similar messages and/or signals, (ii) the sensors of the host vehicle, and/or (iii) sensor information received from sensors of the local vehicles…statuses, locations, speeds, acceleration rates, deceleration rates, headings, expected travel paths, etc.”).
Regarding claim 16, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 10. Dotzler further discloses determining the indication of vehicle density in a direction of travel of the vehicle based on position and heading information received from the other vehicles in the dynamic ad hoc network (pars. [0045], [0051], “based on the current location, the inputted destination, and/or a heading of the vehicle”; par. [0053], “status module 212 may receive BSMs and/or other messages and/or signals including vehicle information and autonomous status bits from other vehicles, road side devices, and/or other vehicle communication devices”).
Regarding claim 17, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 10. Dotzler further discloses determining the type of roadway of travel of the vehicle using mapping information and global positioning information from a navigation circuit (Fig. 2 and pars. [0024], [0050, “navigation system 216”, where mapping information is inherently received and/or stored in navigation systems), wherein receiving information about the vehicle includes receiving the determined type of roadway of travel of the vehicle (Fig. 2 and par. [0024], “navigation system 216”; navigation systems inherently include/receive information about type of road).
Regarding claim 19, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 18. Dotzler further discloses wherein the size of the dynamic ad hoc network is specific to the number of data sources for the dynamic ad hoc network (par. [0045], “amount of traffic”, local traffic), wherein dynamically adjusting the size of the dynamic ad hoc network based on the received information about the vehicle comprises dynamically adjusting the size of the dynamic ad hoc network as a function of the speed of the vehicle (pars. [0045], [0056], “vehicle speed”), the type of roadway of travel of the vehicle (Fig. 2 and par. [0024], “navigation system 216”; navigation systems inherently include/receive information about type of road), and the indication of vehicle density in the area around the vehicle (par. [[0045], “amount of traffic”), wherein the indication of vehicle density includes at least one of information about a location of the vehicle (pars. [0050]-[0051], “current location of the host vehicle”), a number of vehicles visible to a communication circuit of the vehicle, an indication of traffic density within a threshold distance in a direction of travel along a route of the vehicle, or a number of vehicles detectable by one or more sensors or receivers of the vehicle (only one limitation is required from the choices provided).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dotzler in view of US 20140358416 A1 (Faroog Ibrahim, hereinafter Ibrahim).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 13, respectively.
Although implied by Dotzler (by utilizing more nodes/circuits/devices within the vehicle, a power allocation is increased in order to support the additional power required by the additional nodes/circuits/devices). However, for the purpose of further clarify the record, the Examiner is introducing related art concerning a system and method for node adaptive filtering and congestion control for safety and mobility applied toward automated vehicles system, Ibrahim discloses wherein the ad hoc control circuit is configured to adjust a power of the communication circuit as an inverse function to the indication of vehicle density, wherein the communication area is a function of the power of the communication circuit (pars. [0004]-[0005], where when the traffic is dense; the power is adjusted/reduced to match a one-to-one correspondence based on a smaller number of vehicles; thus, inverse function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Ibrahim’s teachings wherein the ad hoc control circuit is configured to adjust a power of the communication circuit as an inverse function to the indication of vehicle density, wherein the communication area is a function of the power of the communication circuit with the driver assistance system disclosed by Dotzler because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that to “address[ing]es methods of reducing the V2X communication congestion problem resulted in high number of one to many nodes communication. … adjust the transmission power based on some data from map database and/or based on a desired calculated communication radius of interest” (Ibrahim, par. [0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Dotzler discloses all the limitations of claims 18. Dotzler further discloses determining the indication of vehicle density in a communication area or a sensor area around the vehicle (pars. [0045], [0067], “amount of traffic”, “local traffic”); and includes a communication range of a communication circuit of the vehicle (par. [0055], “Vehicles that are in a local environment (or within a predetermined range) of the host vehicle are local vehicles”) and the sensor area includes a detection area of one or more sensors of the vehicle (par. [0056], “monitor (i) the BSMs and/or similar messages and/or signals, (ii) the sensors of the host vehicle”), wherein the communication circuit is configured to enable a type of radio frequency communication (par. [0072], “local area network (LAN), the Internet, a wide area network (WAN)” use RF frequencies).
Although implied by Dotzler, (by utilizing more nodes/circuits/devices within the vehicle, a power allocation is increased in order to support the additional power required by the additional nodes/circuits/devices). However, Ibrahim discloses wherein the operations further comprise: adjusting a power of the communication circuit as an inverse function to the determined indication of vehicle density, wherein the communication area is a function of the power of the communication circuit (pars. [0004]-[0005], where when the traffic is dense; the power is adjusted/reduced to match a one-to-one correspondence based on a smaller number of vehicles; thus, inverse function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Ibrahim’s teachings wherein the operations further comprise: adjusting a power of the communication circuit as an inverse function to the determined indication of vehicle density, wherein the communication area is a function of the power of the communication circuit with the driver assistance system disclosed by Dotzler because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that to “address[ing]es methods of reducing the V2X communication congestion problem resulted in high number of one to many nodes communication. … adjust the transmission power based on some data from map database and/or based on a desired calculated communication radius of interest” (Ibrahim, par. [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250031136 A1 relates to dynamic ad hoc network range determination.
US 20230230471 A1 (Guney at al., hereinafter Guney) relates to cooperative traffic congestion detection for connected vehicular platform.
US 20090141669 A1 relates to travel characteristic-based ad hoc communication network algorithm selection.
US 20110009062 A1relates to methods for providing mobile ad-hoc cooperative communications system and related devices.
US 20230025010 A1 relates to device for enhancing coverage of communications network in accordance with predictions.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/ANGELICA PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649
09