DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,035,239 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 are “anticipated by” claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,035,239 B2.
Application No. 18/767,754 (Instant)
US 12,035,239 B2
1. A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the DCI including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring field of 1 bit or 2 bits, wherein a ‘0’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates no skipping in PDCCH monitoring, and a ‘1’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring within a time window, and wherein a ‘00’ value for the 2 bits indicates no skipping in the PDCCH monitoring, each of a ‘01’ value, a ‘10’ value, and a ‘11’ value indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring for different lengths of time windows.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: configuring the UE with a power saving operation, wherein the power saving operation includes monitoring a power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal indicates whether to start a discontinuous reception (drx)-on duration timer, wherein the power saving signal is not monitored during a minimum time gap before the starting of an drx-on duration timer, and wherein the minimum time gap is determined based on UE capability information or subcarrier spacing (SCS).
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the DCI is transmitted using a power saving-radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI), and wherein the PS-RNTI is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein at least one of information related to the power saving signal, a time gap between a point of monitoring the power saving signal and a point of monitoring the PDCCH, a size of the DCI, information related to bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated, or information related to search space is configured to the UE.
5. The method of claim 2, wherein the power saving signal includes a wake up signal.
6. The method of claim 3, wherein the DCI transmitted using the PS-RNTI is UE specific DCI for the UE or group specific DCI for a plurality of UEs in which the UE is included.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the group specific DCI comprises N power saving signaling fields, and a position of a power saving signaling field for the UE is determined by high layer signaling.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the N power saving signaling fields are indexed such as to respectively correspond to the plurality of UEs.
1. A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the DCI including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring field of 1 bit or 2 bits; and determining whether to skip PDCCH monitoring based on a value of the PDCCH monitoring field, wherein a ‘0’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates no skipping in the PDCCH monitoring, and a ‘1’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring within a time window, and wherein a ‘00’ value for the 2 bits indicates no skipping in the PDCCH monitoring, each of a ‘01’ value, a ‘10’ value, and a ‘11’ value indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring for different lengths of time windows.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving configuration information for a power saving operation; monitoring a power saving signal based on the configuration information; and determining whether to start a discontinuous reception (drx)-on duration timer based on the power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal is not monitored during a minimum time gap before the starting of the drx-on duration timer, and wherein the minimum time gap is determined based on UE capability information or subcarrier spacing (SCS).
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the power saving signal is carried in DCI monitored based on a Power Saving-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (PS-RNTI), and wherein the PS-RNTI is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the DCI monitored based on the PS-RNTI is UE specific DCI for the UE or group specific DCI for a plurality of UEs in which the UE is included.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the group specific DCI comprises N power saving signaling fields, and a position of a power saving signaling field for the UE is determined by high layer signaling.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the N power saving signaling fields are indexed such as to respectively correspond to the plurality of UEs.
7. The method of claim 2, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of information related to the power saving signal, a time gap between a point of monitoring the power saving signal and a point of monitoring the PDCCH, a size of the DCI, information related to bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated, or information related to search space.
8. The method of claim 2, wherein the power saving signal includes a wake up signal.
Similarly all other dependent claims of the instant application (Application No. 18/767,754) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combinations of dependent claims (similar to combinations of independent/dependent claims as shown above) of U.S. Patent No. US 12,035,239 B2.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,290,958 B2, in view of Wang et al. (2022/0086659 as submitted in IDS), Wang hereinafter, in view of Lee et al. (2015/0208462 as submitted in IDS), Lee, hereinafter.
Application No. 18/767,754 (Instant)
US 11,290,958 B2
1. A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the DCI including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring field of 1 bit or 2 bits, wherein a ‘0’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates no skipping in PDCCH monitoring, and a ‘1’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring within a time window, and wherein a ‘00’ value for the 2 bits indicates no skipping in the PDCCH monitoring, each of a ‘01’ value, a ‘10’ value, and a ‘11’ value indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring for different lengths of time windows.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: configuring the UE with a power saving operation, wherein the power saving operation includes monitoring a power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal indicates whether to start a discontinuous reception (drx)-on duration timer, wherein the power saving signal is not monitored during a minimum time gap before the starting of an drx-on duration timer, and wherein the minimum time gap is determined based on UE capability information or subcarrier spacing (SCS).
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the DCI is transmitted using a power saving-radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI), and wherein the PS-RNTI is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein at least one of information related to the power saving signal, a time gap between a point of monitoring the power saving signal and a point of monitoring the PDCCH, a size of the DCI, information related to bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated, or information related to search space is configured to the UE.
5. The method of claim 2, wherein the power saving signal includes a wake up signal.
6. The method of claim 3, wherein the DCI transmitted using the PS-RNTI is UE specific DCI for the UE or group specific DCI for a plurality of UEs in which the UE is included.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the group specific DCI comprises N power saving signaling fields, and a position of a power saving signaling field for the UE is determined by high layer signaling.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the N power saving signaling fields are indexed such as to respectively correspond to the plurality of UEs.
1. A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving configuration information for a power saving operation; monitoring a power saving signal based on the configuration information; and determining whether to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) based on the power saving signal, wherein the power saving signal is carried in a Downlink Control Information (DCI) monitored based on a Power Saving-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (PS-RNTI), wherein the PS-RNTI is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein determining of whether to monitor the PDCCH further comprises determining whether to start a DRX-on duration timer based on the power saving signal, wherein the PDCCH is not monitored during a minimum time gap before starting of the DRX-on duration timer, wherein the minimum time gap is determined based on a subcarrier spacing (SCS), wherein the DCI is a UE specific DCI for the UE or a group specific DCI for plurality of UEs in which the UE is included, wherein the group specific DCI comprises N power saving signaling fields, the N power saving signaling fields each of which position is determined by high layer signaling, and wherein the N power saving signaling fields are indexed corresponding to each of the plurality of UEs.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: information related to the power saving signal, a time gap between a point of monitoring of the power saving signal and a point of monitoring of the PDCCH, a size of the DCI, information related to bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated, or information related to search space.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the power saving signal includes a wake up signal (WUS).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the power saving signal is monitored at a predetermined time gap before starting of the DRX-on duration timer.
Yet, US 11,290,958 B2 does not claim transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the DCI including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring field of 1 bit or 2 bits, wherein a ‘0’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates no skipping in PDCCH monitoring, and a ‘1’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring within a time window, and wherein a ‘00’ value for the 2 bits indicates no skipping in the PDCCH monitoring, each of a ‘01’ value, a ‘10’ value, and a ‘11’ value indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring for different lengths of time windows.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses the DCI including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig.1-5 & ¶0106 - 301. Sending, by a network side device, a first DCI to a terminal, wherein the first DCI includes first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the terminal not to perform PDCCH monitoring for subsequent N monitoring opportunities, or it is used to indicate the terminal to perform PDCCH monitoring at the next monitoring opportunity, or it is used to indicate the terminal to stop PDCCH monitoring at least within a current DRX on duration, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1;) monitoring field of 1 bit (See Fig. 5) or 2 bits (see Fig. 4), wherein a ‘0’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates no skipping in PDCCH monitoring, and a ’1’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring within a time window (Fig. 5 & ¶0131 - The DCI carries a PDCCH monitoring status field, which is the PDCCH monitoring status field. The field can be composed of several or multiple consecutive bits. The field has two states corresponding to the following two function indications: the terminal does not perform PDCCH monitoring <for example, as shown in Fig.5, when the PDCCH monitoring status field in DCI carries bit “1”, the UE skips N slots monitoring PDCCH> for the N subsequent transmission opportunities, wherein N is statically, semi-statically or dynamically configured by the network side device; the terminal continues to perform the PDCCH monitoring < for example, as shown in Fig.5, when the PDCCH monitoring status field in DCI carries bit “0”, the UE continues to monitor PDCCH as shown in Fig. 5> at the next transmission opportunity. Fig. 5 & ¶0133 - As shown in FIG. 5, after the terminal skips the PDCCH monitoring of N transmission opportunities, when the terminal detects the PDCCH at the new PDCCH transmission time and detects the signaling [0] from the PDCCH monitoring status field of the DCI < for example, as shown in Fig.5, when the PDCCH monitoring status field in DCI carries bit “0”, the UE continues to monitor PDCCH as shown in Fig. 5, see next as reproduced>, the terminal will continue to detect the PDCCH at the next transmission opportunity.), and
wherein a ‘00’ value for the 2 bits indicates no skipping in the PDCCH monitoring, each of a ‘01’ value, a ‘10’ value, and a ‘11’ value indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring for different lengths of time windows (Fig. 4 & ¶0126 - The DCI carries a PDCCH monitoring status field, which is the PDCCH monitoring status field. The field can be composed of multiple consecutive bits. Fig. 4 & ¶0127 - A specific example is shown in FIG. 4. The PDCCH monitoring status field can be indicated by two bits. When the field value is [0 1], the terminal will skip the PDCCH monitoring opportunities of N slots. Fig. 4 & ¶0128 - As shown in FIG. 4, after the terminal skips the PDCCH monitoring of N transmission opportunities, when the terminal detects the PDCCH at the new PDCCH transmission time and detects the signaling [0 0] from the PDCCH monitoring status field of the DCI, the terminal will continue to detect the PDCCH at the next transmission opportunity. When the terminal detects signaling [1 1] in the monitoring status field of the PDCCH, the terminal will no longer detect the PDCCH on a subsequent slot or PDCCH monitoring opportunity in the DRX On duration. As shown, in Fig. 4 <reproduced next>, when the PDCCH monitoring status field in DCI carries bit “0 0”, the UE continues to monitor PDCCH as shown in Fig. 4, in all other combinations of bits arrangement <22 = 4>, for example, 01, 11 as shown below indicates in the PDCCH monitoring status field of DCI to skip monitoring PDCCH, similar to instant application, ).
The applicant and Wang work in the same field of technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine applicant’s (i.e., US 11,290,958 B2) invention of systems and methods for monitoring physical downlink control channel to include Wang’s invention of DCI transmission mechanism for flexible PDCCH monitoring in 5G New Radio (NR) system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for further reducing power consumption by a terminal operating in a plurality of RRC states (e.g., RRC IDLE, RRC inactive, RRC connected) with the flexible PDCCH monitoring option suited for functioning in the 5G New Radio (NR) system as designed for higher throughput along more complex services. (¶0002-¶0004, Wang)
Even though, Wang teaches at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling ……………….. or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), yet, Wang does not expressly teach the claimed feature “scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by DCI” as recited in the limitation, however, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly discloses at least one processor (Fig. 10, 1051) coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 10, 1053) and configured to transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 10, 1060, Fig. 2, UE), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig. 1-9 & ¶0045 - The PDCCH is a downlink control channel, and is also called a scheduling channel in a sense that it carries scheduling information. Control information transmitted through the PDCCH is referred to as downlink control information (DCI). The DCI may include resource allocation of the PDSCH (this is referred to as a downlink (DL) grant), resource allocation of a PUSCH (this is referred to as an uplink (UL) grant)),
The applicant, Wang and Lee work in the same field of technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine applicant’s (i.e., US 11,290,958 B2) invention of systems and methods for monitoring physical downlink control channel and Wang’s invention of DCI transmission mechanism for flexible PDCCH monitoring in 5G New Radio (NR) system to include Lee ’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a DRX operation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of wireless devices by using flexible DRX (Discontinuous Reception) mechanism operating in the wireless communication system (¶0001- ¶0007, Lee).
Similarly all other dependent claims of the instant application (Application No. 18/767,754) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combinations of dependent claims (similar to combinations of independent/dependent claims as shown above) of U.S. Patent No. US 11,290,958 B2, in view of Wang, in view of Lee.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Wang, in view of Lee.
Re. Claims 1 and 9, Wang teaches a method performed by a base station (Fig. 1, 12/Fig.14) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 1), and a base station (Fig. 1, 12/Fig.14) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 1), the base station comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 14, 1410); and at least one processor (Fig. 14, 1400) coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 14, 1410) and configured to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig.1-5 & ¶0008 - in the case that the first indication information is used to indicate to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within the current DRX on duration, the first DCI and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) are not transmitted in a same transmission time interval (TTI). Fig.1-5 & ¶0021 - first DCI is used to indicate to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within the current DRX on duration, and the first DCI and the PDSCH are transmitted within the same TTI, the method further includes: if the network side device detects an NACK corresponding to the PDSCH, stopping, by the network side device, downlink transmission of the terminal. Fig.1-5 & ¶0110 - the first DCI and the PDSCH are transmitted in the same TTI, or the DCI scheduling the PDSCH and the first DCI are transmitted in the same transmission opportunity.), the DCI including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Fig.1-5 & ¶0106 - 301. Sending, by a network side device, a first DCI to a terminal, wherein the first DCI includes first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the terminal not to perform PDCCH monitoring for subsequent N monitoring opportunities, or it is used to indicate the terminal to perform PDCCH monitoring at the next monitoring opportunity, or it is used to indicate the terminal to stop PDCCH monitoring at least within a current DRX on duration, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; ) monitoring field of 1 bit (See Fig. 5) or 2 bits (see Fig. 4), wherein a ‘0’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates no skipping in PDCCH monitoring, and a ’1’ value for the 1 bit of the PDCCH monitoring field indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring within a time window (Fig. 5 & ¶0131 - The DCI carries a PDCCH monitoring status field, which is the PDCCH monitoring status field. The field can be composed of several or multiple consecutive bits. The field has two states corresponding to the following two function indications: the terminal does not perform PDCCH monitoring <for example, as shown in Fig.5, when the PDCCH monitoring status field in DCI carries bit “1”, the UE skips N slots monitoring PDCCH> for the N subsequent transmission opportunities, wherein N is statically, semi-statically or dynamically configured by the network side device; the terminal continues to perform the PDCCH monitoring < for example, as shown in Fig.5, when the PDCCH monitoring status field in DCI carries bit “0”, the UE continues to monitor PDCCH as shown in Fig. 5> at the next transmission opportunity. Fig. 5 & ¶0133 - As shown in FIG. 5, after the terminal skips the PDCCH monitoring of N transmission opportunities, when the terminal detects the PDCCH at the new PDCCH transmission time and detects the signaling [0] from the PDCCH monitoring status field of the DCI < for example, as shown in Fig.5, when the PDCCH monitoring status field in DCI carries bit “0”, the UE continues to monitor PDCCH as shown in Fig. 5, see next as reproduced>, the terminal will continue to detect the PDCCH at the next transmission opportunity.), and
wherein a ‘00’ value for the 2 bits indicates no skipping in the PDCCH monitoring, each of a ‘01’ value, a ‘10’ value, and a ‘11’ value indicates skipping the PDCCH monitoring for different lengths of time windows (Fig. 4 & ¶0126 - The DCI carries a PDCCH monitoring status field, which is the PDCCH monitoring status field. The field can be composed of multiple consecutive bits. Fig. 4 & ¶0127 - A specific example is shown in FIG. 4. The PDCCH monitoring status field can be indicated by two bits. When the field value is [0 1], the terminal will skip the PDCCH monitoring opportunities of N slots. Fig. 4 & ¶0128 - As shown in FIG. 4, after the terminal skips the PDCCH monitoring of N transmission opportunities, when the terminal detects the PDCCH at the new PDCCH transmission time and detects the signaling [0 0] from the PDCCH monitoring status field of the DCI, the terminal will continue to detect the PDCCH at the next transmission opportunity. When the terminal detects signaling [1 1] in the monitoring status field of the PDCCH, the terminal will no longer detect the PDCCH on a subsequent slot or PDCCH monitoring opportunity in the DRX On duration. As shown, in Fig. 4 <reproduced next>, when the PDCCH monitoring status field in DCI carries bit “0 0”, the UE continues to monitor PDCCH as shown in Fig. 4, in all other combinations of bits arrangement <22 = 4>, for example, 01, 11 as shown below indicates in the PDCCH monitoring status field of DCI to skip monitoring PDCCH, similar to instant application, ).
Even though, Wang teaches at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling ……………….. or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), yet, Wang does not expressly teach the claimed feature “scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by DCI” as recited in the limitation, however, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly discloses at least one processor (Fig. 10, 1051) coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 10, 1053) and configured to transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 10, 1060, Fig. 2, UE), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Fig. 1-9 & ¶0045 - The PDCCH is a downlink control channel, and is also called a scheduling channel in a sense that it carries scheduling information. Control information transmitted through the PDCCH is referred to as downlink control information (DCI). The DCI may include resource allocation of the PDSCH (this is referred to as a downlink (DL) grant), resource allocation of a PUSCH (this is referred to as an uplink (UL) grant)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of DCI transmission mechanism for flexible PDCCH monitoring in 5G New Radio (NR) system to include Lee ’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a DRX operation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of wireless devices by using flexible DRX (Discontinuous Reception) mechanism operating in the wireless communication system (¶0001- ¶0007, Lee).
Claims 2, 4-5, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Lee, further in view Zhou et al. (2020/0100179), Zhou179 hereinafter.
Re. Claims 2 and 10, Wang and Lee teach claims 1 and 9.
Wang further teaches configuring the UE with a power saving operation (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0005 - the present disclosure provides a DCI transmission method, includes: receiving, by a terminal, a first DCI sent by a network side device, wherein the first DCI includes first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the terminal not to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring for subsequent N monitoring opportunities… or used to indicate the terminal to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within a current Discontinuous Reception (DRX) on duration, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1…..Fig. 1-5 & ¶0038 - a terminal receives the first DCI sent by a network side device, the first DCI includes first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the terminal not to perform the PDCCH monitoring on subsequent N monitoring opportunities, or is used to indicate to perform the PDCCH monitoring at the next monitoring opportunity, or is used to indicate to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within the current DRX on duration, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1. If the first DCI is decoded successfully, then the terminal responds to the first indication information. Therefore, the PDCCH monitoring flexibility of the terminal can be improved through the above-mentioned first DCI, and the power consumption of the terminal can be further reduced. .Fig. 1-5 & ¶0058 - The not performing PDCCH monitoring on subsequent N monitoring opportunities may be performing PDCCH monitoring after skipping N monitoring opportunities. For example: the current monitoring opportunity for the first DCI is monitoring opportunity n, and when N is 3, the monitoring opportunity n+1, the monitoring opportunity n+2, and the monitoring opportunity n+3 are skipped. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0126 - The DCI carries a PDCCH monitoring status field, which is the PDCCH monitoring status field. The field can be composed of multiple consecutive bits. The field has three states corresponding to the following three function indications: the terminal does not perform PDCCH monitoring for the N subsequent transmission opportunities, wherein N is…. dynamically configured by the network side device; the terminal continues to perform the PDCCH monitoring at the next transmission opportunity; and the terminal stops the PDCCH monitoring and enters the sleep state. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0127 - When the field value is [0 1], the terminal will skip the PDCCH monitoring opportunities of N slots, and the value of N is indicated semi-statically or dynamically by the network side device for the terminal through RRC signaling or MAC CE…. the network side device can dynamically notify the terminal of the index of the specific configuration value of N through MAC CE,); wherein the power saving operation includes monitoring a power saving signal (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0005 - the present disclosure provides a DCI transmission method, includes: receiving, by a terminal, a first DCI sent by a network side device, wherein the first DCI includes first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the terminal not to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring for subsequent N monitoring opportunities… or used to indicate the terminal to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within a current Discontinuous Reception (DRX) on duration, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1…..Fig. 1-5 & ¶0038 - a terminal receives the first DCI sent by a network side device, the first DCI includes first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the terminal not to perform the PDCCH monitoring on subsequent N monitoring opportunities, or is used to indicate to perform the PDCCH monitoring at the next monitoring opportunity, or is used to indicate to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within the current DRX on duration, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1. If the first DCI is decoded successfully, then the terminal responds to the first indication information. Therefore, the PDCCH monitoring flexibility of the terminal can be improved through the above-mentioned first DCI, and the power consumption of the terminal can be further reduced. .Fig. 1-5 & ¶0058 - The not performing PDCCH monitoring on subsequent N monitoring opportunities may be performing PDCCH monitoring after skipping N monitoring opportunities. For example: the current monitoring opportunity for the first DCI is monitoring opportunity n, and when N is 3, the monitoring opportunity n+1, the monitoring opportunity n+2, and the monitoring opportunity n+3 are skipped. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0126 - The DCI carries a PDCCH monitoring status field, which is the PDCCH monitoring status field. The field can be composed of multiple consecutive bits. The field has three states corresponding to the following three function indications: the terminal does not perform PDCCH monitoring for the N subsequent transmission opportunities, wherein N is…. dynamically configured by the network side device; the terminal continues to perform the PDCCH monitoring at the next transmission opportunity; and the terminal stops the PDCCH monitoring and enters the sleep state. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0127 - When the field value is [0 1], the terminal will skip the PDCCH monitoring opportunities of N slots, and the value of N is indicated semi-statically or dynamically by the network side device for the terminal through RRC signaling or MAC CE…. the network side device can dynamically notify the terminal of the index of the specific configuration value of N through MAC CE. As per instant application, “the physical layer power saving signaling is a power saving signal carried by the downlink control information (DCI).” See ¶0063 & ¶0058);
Yet, Wang and Lee do not expressly teach wherein the power saving signal indicates whether to start a discontinuous reception (drx)-on duration timer, wherein the power saving signal is not monitored during a minimum time gap before the starting of an drx-on duration timer, and wherein the minimum time gap is determined based on UE capability information or subcarrier spacing (SCS).
However, in the analogous art, Zhou179 explicitly discloses wherein the power saving signal indicates whether to start a discontinuous reception (drx)-on duration timer (Fig. 26, 27A-B & ¶0278 - A wireless device that is configured for DRX operation may start a drx-onDurationTimer. Fig. 26, 27A-B & ¶0285 - A wireless device may monitor (BRI: determine) a wake-up signal or a wake-up channel within the wake-up duration 2704 (or a power saving duration)….. The wireless device may monitor PDCCHs in the DRX On duration 2706….based on receiving the wake-up signal 2710. A drx-onDurationTimer may be running in the DRX On duration 2706. The wireless device may go to sleep if the wireless device fails to receive PDCCHs in the DRX On duration 2706. The wireless device may be in a sleep state in a DRX Off duration 2708 of the DRX cycle. The wireless device may fail to receive a wake-up signal in a wake-up duration 2712. The wireless device may skip monitoring (e.g., refrain from monitoring) PDCCHs in the DRX On duration 2714,… if the wireless device fails to receive a wake-up signal in the wake-up duration 2712. Skipping PDCCH monitoring, in the DRX On duration 2714, may reduce power consumption at the wireless device.), wherein the power saving signal is not monitored during a minimum time gap before the starting of an drx-on duration timer (Fig. 27A-B & ¶0282 - a base station may send (e.g., transmit) one or more messages 2702 (e.g., RRC messages) comprising parameters of a wake-up duration 2704 (or a power saving duration), to a wireless device. The wake-up duration may be a number of slots (or symbols) before a DRX On duration 2706 of a DRX cycle. The number of slots (or symbols), or a gap, between the wake-up duration 2704 (e.g., an end of the wake-up duration) and the DRX On duration 2706, may be configured in one or more RRC messages, or may be a fixed and predefined value. The gap may be determined based on capabilities of the wireless device and/or the base station. ..The parameters of the wake-up duration 2704 may comprise at least one of: a wake-up signal format (e.g., numerology, i.e., subcarrier spacing (SCS)). Fig. 27A-B & ¶0285 - The wireless device may skip monitoring (e.g., refrain from monitoring) PDCCHs in the DRX On duration 2714,… if the wireless device fails to receive a wake-up signal in the wake-up duration 2712. Skipping PDCCH monitoring, in the DRX On duration 2714, may reduce power consumption at the wireless device), and wherein the minimum time gap is determined based on UE capability information or a subcarrier spacing (SCS) (Fig. 27A-B & ¶0282 - The number of slots (or symbols), or a gap, between the wake-up duration 2704 (e.g., an end of the wake-up duration) and the DRX On duration 2706, may be configured in one or more RRC messages, or may be a fixed and predefined value. The gap may be determined based on capabilities of the wireless device. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of DCI transmission mechanism for flexible PDCCH monitoring in 5G New Radio (NR) system and Lee ’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a DRX operation in a wireless communication system to include Zhou179 invention of activation and deactivation of power saving operation, because it provides an efficient power saving mechanism in improving utilization in the wireless communication system (¶0001- ¶0005, Zhou179).
Re. Claims 4 and 12, Wang, Lee and Zhou179 teach claims 2 and 10.
Wang further teaches wherein at least one of information related to the power saving signal (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0005 - the present disclosure provides a DCI transmission method, includes: receiving, by a terminal, a first DCI sent by a network side device, wherein the first DCI includes first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the terminal not to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring for subsequent N monitoring opportunities… or used to indicate the terminal to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within a current Discontinuous Reception (DRX) on duration, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1…..Fig. 1-5 & ¶0038 - a terminal receives the first DCI sent by a network side device, the first DCI includes first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the terminal not to perform the PDCCH monitoring on subsequent N monitoring opportunities, or is used to indicate to perform the PDCCH monitoring at the next monitoring opportunity, or is used to indicate to stop the PDCCH monitoring at least within the current DRX on duration, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1. If the first DCI is decoded successfully, then the terminal responds to the first indication information. Therefore, the PDCCH monitoring flexibility of the terminal can be improved through the above-mentioned first DCI, and the power consumption of the terminal can be further reduced. .Fig. 1-5 & ¶0058 - The not performing PDCCH monitoring on subsequent N monitoring opportunities may be performing PDCCH monitoring after skipping N monitoring opportunities. For example: the current monitoring opportunity for the first DCI is monitoring opportunity n, and when N is 3, the monitoring opportunity n+1, the monitoring opportunity n+2, and the monitoring opportunity n+3 are skipped. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0126 - The DCI carries a PDCCH monitoring status field, which is the PDCCH monitoring status field. The field can be composed of multiple consecutive bits. The field has three states corresponding to the following three function indications: the terminal does not perform PDCCH monitoring for the N subsequent transmission opportunities, wherein N is…. dynamically configured by the network side device; the terminal continues to perform the PDCCH monitoring at the next transmission opportunity; and the terminal stops the PDCCH monitoring and enters the sleep state. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0127 - When the field value is [0 1], the terminal will skip the PDCCH monitoring opportunities of N slots, and the value of N is indicated semi-statically or dynamically by the network side device for the terminal through RRC signaling or MAC CE…. the network side device can dynamically notify the terminal of the index of the specific configuration value of N through MAC CE. As per instant application, “the physical layer power saving signaling is a power saving signal carried by the downlink control information (DCI).” See ¶0063 & ¶0058. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed feature to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and “or” in the limitation), a time gap between a point of monitoring the power saving signal and a point of monitoring the PDCCH, a size of the DCI, information related to bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated, or information related to search space is configured to the UE.
Re. Claims 5 and 13, Wang, Lee and Zhou179 teach claims 2 and 10.
Yet, Wang and Lee do not expressly teach wherein the power saving signal includes a wake up signal (WUS).
However, in the analogous art, Zhou179 explicitly discloses wherein the power saving signal includes a wake-up signal (WUS). (Fig.27A-B & ¶0285 - A wireless device may monitor a wake-up signal or a wake-up channel within the wake-up duration 2704 (or a power saving duration)….. The wireless device may monitor PDCCHs in the DRX On duration 2706….based on receiving the wake-up signal 2710 (e.g., via a wake-up channel) in the wake-up duration 2704 (or a power saving duration)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of DCI transmission mechanism for flexible PDCCH monitoring in 5G New Radio (NR) system and Lee ’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a DRX operation in a wireless communication system to include Zhou179 invention of activation and deactivation of power saving operation, because it provides an efficient power saving mechanism in improving utilization in the wireless communication system (¶0001- ¶0005, Zhou179).
Claims 3, 6, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Lee, in view of Zhou et al. (WO2020/146499), Zhou499, hereinafter.
Re. Claims 3 and 11, Wang and Lee teach claims 1 and 9.
Yet, Wang and Lee do not expressly teach wherein the DCI is transmitted using a power saving-radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI), and wherein the PS-RNTI is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, in the analogous art, However, in the analogous art, Zhou499 explicitly discloses wherein the DCI is transmitted using a power saving-radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI), and wherein the PS-RNTI is configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Abstract - A wireless device receives a radio resource control message comprising a PS-RNTI for a DCI notifying power saving information: and a location parameter for receiving the power saving information for the wireless device. ¶00347 - a base station may transmit at least one RRC message comprising a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI) to a group of one or more wireless devices for monitoring a common search space for receiving a group common DCI, the group common DCI indicating power saving information for the group of one or more wireless devices. Fig.42 & ¶00374 - At 4210, a wireless device (e.g., a first UE) my receive RRC message comprising a PS-RNTI for (receiving) a DCI notifying power saving information, a location parameter for receiving the power saving information for the wireless device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of DCI transmission mechanism for flexible PDCCH monitoring in 5G New Radio (NR) system and Lee ’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a DRX operation in a wireless communication system to include Zhou499 ’s invention of a system and a method for enabling wake-up procedure and power saving operation in a multicarrier communication system, because it reduces power consumption of wireless devices operating in the multicarrier communication system (¶0057& ¶00287, Zhou499).
Re. Claims 6 and 14, Wang, Lee and Zhou499 teach claims 3 and 11.
Yet, Wang does not expressly teach wherein the DCI transmitted using the PS-RNTI is UE specific DCI for the UE or group specific DCI for a plurality of UEs in which the UE is included.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou179 explicitly discloses wherein the DCI monitored based on the PS-RNTI is a UE specific DCI for the UE or group specific DCI for a plurality of UEs in which the UE is included (¶0138 - The wireless device may monitor a group common search space which may be used by the base station for sending (e.g., transmitting) DCIs that are intended for a group of wireless devices. A group common DCI may correspond to an RNTI which is commonly configured for a group of wireless devices. The wireless device may monitor a wireless device-specific search space. A wireless device specific DCI may correspond to an RNTI configured for the wireless device.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of DCI transmission mechanism for flexible PDCCH monitoring in 5G New Radio (NR) system and Lee ’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a DRX operation in a wireless communication system to include Zhou499 ’s invention of a system and a method for enabling wake-up procedure and power saving operation in a multicarrier communication system, because it reduces power consumption of wireless devices operating in the multicarrier communication system (¶0057& ¶00287, Zhou499).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Lee, in view of Zhou499, further in view of Hwang et al. (2020/0245303), Hwang hereinafter.
Re. Claims 7 and 15, Wang, Lee and Zhou499 teach claims 6 and 14.
Yet, Wang, Lee and Zhou499 do not expressly teach wherein the group specific DCI comprises N power saving signaling fields, and a position of a power saving signaling field for the UE is determined by high layer signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Hwang explicitly discloses wherein the group specific DCI comprises N power saving signaling fields, and a position of a power saving signaling field for the UE is determined by high layer signaling. (Fig. 6A-B, Fig. 12-14 & ¶0123 - a single power saving signal (or WUS) unit may be composed of N power saving signals (or WUSs). Here, transmission of all power saving signals (or WUSs) may be composed of one or more power saving signal (or WUS) units. Fig. 6A-B, Fig. 12-14 &¶0144 - when a power saving signal dedicated for MTC or a WUS dedicated for MTC (hereinafter referred to as am MWUS) is used, for example, a PRB size of the dedicated power saving signal (or MWUS) can be determined by the size of information to be transmitted by a base station using the dedicated power saving signal (or MWUS) (e.g., a sub-group for identifying an MCT device identifier (i.e., UE ID/MTC device group ID (i.e., UE group ID)). Fig. 6A-B, Fig. 12-14 &¶0166 - when N power saving signals (or WUSs) are configured as a single unit and the power saving signals (or WUSs) can distinguish M pieces of information, the power saving signal (or WUS) unit can represent a maximum of MN pieces of information. Fig. 6A-B, Fig. 12-14 &¶0183 - A total power saving signal (or WUS) transmission size may be a value configured by a base station. …. a total power saving signal (or WUS) transmission size can be calculated by multiplying a repetition number of a channel indicated by a power saving signal (or WUS) by a scaling factor. Here, a scaling factor value can be transmitted by a base station through higher layer signaling such as SIB or RRC signaling in such manner that a value is selected from a predetermined list).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s invention of DCI transmission mechanism for flexible PDCCH monitoring in 5G New Radio (NR) system and Lee ’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a DRX operation in a wireless communication system and Zhou499 ’s invention of a system and a method for enabling wake-up procedure and power saving operation in a multicarrier communication system to include Hwang’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring downlink channel/signal using power saving signal, because it provides a mechanism for maximizing energy efficiency of NB (narrowband) IoT (internet of Things) devices. (¶0010, Hwang)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 8 – wherein the N power saving signaling fields are indexed such as to respectively correspond to the plurality of UEs.
Claim 16 – wherein the N power saving signaling fields are indexed such as to respectively correspond to the plurality of UEs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shen et al. (2023/0108344); See Abstract, ¶0020-¶0021, ¶0031, ¶0045-¶0046, ¶0054, ¶0150-¶0153, ¶0167-¶0168, ¶0255, ¶0275-¶0278, ¶0437 along with Fig. 1-6. See snapshot below.
See claim 1 below.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #90; R1-1712806, Source: Qualcomm Incorporated; Title: Efficient monitoring of DL control channels; Prague, Czechia, 21th – 25th August 2017. See Pages 1-20. See §2, §3, §4, §5.
3GPP TSG RAN WG2 NR #99; R2- 1709652; Source: Qualcomm Incorporated, Apple, OPPO; Title: Wake-Up Signaling for C-DRX Mode; 21th – 25th August 2017, Berlin, Germany. See §2-§3.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467