DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 09/28/2026. Claims 1 and through 21 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Note: the amended limitation “at least by:
converting a first server of the physical communication network into the particular forwarding node by instantiating a new virtual machine on the first server among the servers of the physical communication network” does not overcome the OVD rejection, the amened limitation was last limitation of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2-hearafter Ponnuswamy]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 11, and 21 have broaden the scope of claim 1 of Ponnuswamy by eliminating at least “…as software running on servers…”; “…a plurality of virtual machines executing on servers of the physical communication network …”; and “…at least by: converting a first server of the physical communication
network into the particular forwarding node by instantiating a new virtual machine on the first server among the servers of the physical communication network”.
Claims 2 and 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2-hearafter Ponnuswamy]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2 and 12 are substantially the same scope of claim 2 of Ponnuswamy.
Claims 3 and 13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2-hearafter Ponnuswamy]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 3 and 13 are substantially the same scope of claim 3 of Ponnuswamy.
Claims 4 and 14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2-hearafter Ponnuswamy]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 4 and 14 are substantially the same scope of claim 5 of Ponnuswamy.
Claims 5 and 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2-hearafter Ponnuswamy]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 5 and 15 are substantially the same scope of claim 6 of Ponnuswamy.
Claims 6 and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2-hearafter Ponnuswamy]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 6 and 16 are substantially the same scope of claim 6 of Ponnuswamy.
Claims 7 and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2-hearafter Ponnuswamy]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 7 and 17 are substantially the same scope of claim 8 of Ponnuswamy.
Claims 8 and 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2-hearafter Ponnuswamy]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 8 and 18 are substantially the same scope of claim 9 of Ponnuswamy.
Claims 9 and 19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2-hearafter Ponnuswamy]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9 and 19 are substantially the same scope of claim 10 of Ponnuswamy.
Claims 10 and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. [12,034,629 B2-hearafter Ponnuswamy]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2 and 12 are substantially the same scope of claim 11 of Ponnuswamy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strom
et al. (US 2018/0309636 A 1) in view of Alapati et al. (US 2020/0274828 A1).
For claims 1, 11, and 21 Strom teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more hardware processors (paragraph 183 “non-transitory computer-accessible storage media and executed by a processing apparatus such as CPU”), cause performance of operations comprising:
predicting network data transmission attributes for a geographical region corresponding to a portion of a physical communications network during a particular period of time (paragraphs 45, 100 “measuring (predicting) data transversing attributes (metrics) over time”), paragraphs 92-93 “a predictive overlay network architecture that overcomes the deficiencies of existing approaches by addressing the fact that, during any given period of time…underlying network congestion… not only to accommodate nodes that have been added to and removed from the network”, paragraph 220 “predict link-relaying capacity of an identified area”, pargraph 101 “a "metrics processor" processes raw metrics associated with prospective nodes and
links of an overlay network topology and provides such processed metrics to a "prediction engine" (along with a metric "timestamp" reflecting the time period during which such raw metrics were observed and collected)”, and paragraph 265 “predict node-relaying capacity during a particular time period of certain areas of country”); and
based on the predicted network data transmission attributes for the geographical region during the particular period of time (paragraphs 45 and 100 “measuring (predicting) data transversing attributes (metrics) over time”)”):
adding a particular forwarding node to a data transmission overlay network for forwarding data during the particular period of time (paragraphs 92-93 “accommodate nodes that have been added to and removed from the network to improve performance while satisfying defined performance criteria”) by at least:
converting a first server of the physical communications network into the particular forwarding node by instantiating a new virtual machine on the first server (paragraph 81 “reconfiguring (converting) only to the extent necessary to address the addition or removal of nodes”, paragraph 43 “reconfiguring the overlay
network to effectively "route around" or bypass such congestion”, paragraph 48 “In the
event the performance criteria are not satisfied (e.g., due to underlying network congestion), one could elect to reconfigure the overlay network topology by changing one or more of its links, which in turn will result in changes to the lower-level paths that the content item will traverse (potentially bypassing network congestion)”, paragraph 51 “adding dedicated hardware (physical) edge routers or edge servers, wherein the overlay nodes are the edge servers (edge routers)”).
Strom does not explicitly teach converting a first server of the physical communications network into the particular forwarding node by instantiating a new virtual machine on the first server.
However, Alapati teaches At block 220, the SDN manager configures the host (server) as a transport node (forwarding node) by deploying a virtual switch (instantiating a virtual machine) on the host (server) and associating the transport zones with the virtual switch. A transport node refers to a host that acts as a tunnel
Endpoint (forwarding node) by using a virtual switch (virtual machine) that provided tunneling services. In the example of FIG. 3, the administrator uses SDN manager 130 to configure host 305 as a transport node by deploying virtual switch 321 on host 305 and associating the overlay and VLAN transport zones, created at block 210, with virtual switch 321 (Alapati: paragraph 36).
In addition, Alapati teaches a VM that is configured to operate as a gateway device… A gateway device provides VMs 120 on host 105 and other components in data center 102 with connectivity to a network… The gateway device also provides other networking services, such as firewalls, network address translation (NAT), dynamic host configuration protocol (DHCP), and load balancing (Alapati: paragraph 25).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Alapati in the overlay network of Storm in order to configure a host as a gateway to provide networking services, such as firewalls, network address translation (NAT), dynamic host configuration protocol (DHCP), and load balancing (in case of congestion) (Alapati: paragraph 25).
For claims 2 and 12 Strom teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the operations further comprise, based on the adding the particular forwarding node to the data transmission overlay network, temporarily modifying routes used by the data transmission overlay network during the particular period of time to forward data through the particular forwarding node (Strom: paragraph 82 "topology modification", paragraph 161 "anew or modified overlay network topology based on metric changes over time", paragraph 208 "performance criteria are generated and modified dynamically over time", and paragraph 304 "which requires some degree of reconfiguration of the overlay network topology by adding, removing and otherwise modifying existing links (even apart from reconfiguration of the overlay network topology to address performance issues and satisfy the performance criteria").
For claims 3 and 13 Strom teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the particular period of time is a defined duration of time, and wherein the particular forwarding node is temporarily added for defined duration of time and terminated subsequent to the defined duration of time (Strom: paragraph 101 "timestamp reflecting the time period during which raw metric were observed and collected .. predict node-relaying capacity of prospective node" and paragraph 81 "addition or removal nodes" and Lee: paragraph 70 "The method 800 is implemented when the VNF resource container 801 creates a VNF resource container table, such as the VNF resource container tables 291, 293, 295, and 297 in a predefined time and/or when there is a change in a VNFI status” and as discussed in claim 1).
For claims 4 and 14 Strom teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the predicted network data transmission attributes include predicted performance of existing forwarding nodes corresponding to the geographical region (Strom: paragraph 27 "congestion on the performance of alternative paths or link" and paragraph 85 "Historical metrics provide data from which that impact can be measured and predicted. Existing overlay network architectures have yet to address network congestion in a manner that correlates metrics with the performance of alternative overlay network topologies", and paragraph 104 "the node relaying classifier is trained by comparing the observed outputs of each selected training sample to the predicted node-relaying capacity generated by the node-relaying classifier. The "error" between these predicted and observed values are used to adjust weighted parameters over time to facilitate increasingly more accurate prediction").
For claims 5 and 15 Strom teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the predicted network data transmission attributes comprise one or more of:
data processing capacities of the one or more forwarding nodes; a reliability of the one or more forwarding nodes (Strom: paragraph 102 "CPU load, memory
usage, operating system, connection type, uplink QoS, QoE, etc.", paragraph 105 "ping
time along the link, various QoE and QoS metrics (latency, jitter, etc.) as well as link
relaying attributes of the link", and paragraph 190 connection type (LAN, Wi-Fi, L TE, 4G, et.)"); and
For claims 6 and 16 Strom in view of Alapati teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the data transmission overlay network comprises a plurality of forwarding nodes that are configured to forward data between a source communicatively coupled to a first forwarding node of the plurality of forwarding nodes and a destination communicatively coupled to a second forwarding node of the plurality of forwarding nodes (Strom: Fig. 1B “overlay network), and wherein each forwarding node of the plurality of forwarding nodes between the source and the second forwarding node performs operations comprising:
receiving a data packet (Strom: Fig. 1A "routers receive data packets,
examine the headers and route the path according the header content-well known in the art");
decapsulating an outer header of the data packet (Strom: Fig. 1 A "routers receive data packets, examine the headers and route the path according the header content-well known in the art");
identifying a route specified in the outer header (Strom: Fig. 1 A "routers receive data packets, examine the headers and route the path according the header content-well known in the art");
determining whether to modify the route based on network characteristics (Strom: Fig. 1A "routers receive data packets, examine the headers and route the path
according the header content-well known in the art);
re-encapsulating the data packet, without modifying an inner data packet (Strom: Fig. 1A "routers receive data packets, examine the headers and route the path according the header content-well known in the art"); and
forwarding the data packet along a particular route toward the second forwarding node (Strom: Fig. 1A "routers receive data packets, examine the headers and route the path according the header content-well known in the art").
For claims 7 and 17 Strom teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein adding the particular forwarding node to the data transmission overlay network for forwarding data during the particular period of time, comprises:
dividing the geographical region into a first geographical region and a second geographical region (Strom: Fig. 1A "AS network");
wherein another forwarding node existing in the data transmission overlay network prior to adding the particular forwarding node is located in the first geographical region and forwards data traffic originating in the first geographical region (Strom: Fig. 1A "AS network inter-AS and intra-AS operations"); and
wherein the particular forwarding node is located in the second geographical region and forwards data traffic originating in the second geographical region (Strom: Fig. 1A "AS network inter-AS and intra-AS operations").
For claims 8 and 18 Strom teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein predicting the network data transmission attributes comprises generating a model representing predicted network data transmission attributes based at least on historical network data transmission attributes (Strom: paragraph 104 "the node-relaying classifier is trained by comparing the observed outputs of each selected training sample to the predicted node relaying capacity generated by the node-relaying classifier. The "error" between these predicted and observed values are used to adjust weighted parameters over time to facilitate increasingly more accurate prediction").
For claims 9 and 19 Strom teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the model includes a prediction of a number of data flows expected to transit one or more forwarding nodes in the geographical region (Strom: paragraph 104 "the node-relaying classifier is trained by comparing the observed outputs of each selected training sample to the predicted node relaying capacity generated by the node-relaying classifier. The "error" between these predicted and observed values are used to adjust weighted parameters over time to facilitate increasingly more accurate prediction").
For claims 10 and 20 Strom teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein predicting the network data transmission attributes (Strom: "a "metrics processor" processes raw metrics associated with prospective nodes and links of an overlay network topology and provides such processed metrics to a ''prediction engine" (along with a metric "timestamp" reflecting the time period during which such raw metrics were observed and collected)" and paragraph 237 "prediction engine generates "demand prediction) comprises:
training a machine learning model to predict the network data transmission attributes (Strom: paragraph 238 "neural network implement supervised machine
learning and unsupervised learning machine using as inputs various attributes"); and
applying a set of current network data transmission attributes to the machine learning model to generate a set of predicted network data transmission attributes (Strom: Fig. 6A and Fig. 68 "input node metrics and timestamp metrics and output node
relaying capacity"), wherein training the machine learning model comprises:
obtaining training data sets of historical network attribute data, each training data set comprising (Strom: paragraph 222 and Fig. 4A "Prediction Engine 455a receives as input various processed Metrics 445a during each successive time period 453a (in addition to previously obtained or observed historical metrics, in one embodiment, from Historical Performance 485a )"):
a first set of first network data transmission attributes associated with a first time period, the first network data transmission attributes including, at least, data traffic through the data transmission overlay network in a historical geographical region (Strom: paragraph 222 and Fig. 4A "Prediction Engine 455a generates node-relaying
capacity 456a and link-relaying capacity 457a predictions (and, in one embodiment, demand predictions), which improve over time as it is trained with more diverse training
samples");
a second set of second network data transmission attributes associated with a second time period subsequent to the first time period (Strom: paragraph 222 and Fig. 4A "Prediction Engine 455a generates node-relaying capacity 456a and link-relaying capacity 457a predictions (and, in one embodiment, demand predictions), which improve over time as it is trained with more diverse training samples");
training the machine learning model based on the training data sets (Strom: paragraph 222 "prediction engine is trained with more divers samples");
receiving a set of current network data transmission attributes (Strom:
Fig.48 "current metrics are fed to metrics processor"); and
applying the machine learning model to the set of current network data transmission attributes to generate a set of predicted network data transmission attributes (Strom: Fig. 48 "Metrics Processor's outputs are fed to Prediction Engine").
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Gora et al. (US 2012/0252524 A1).
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415