DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (UK Patent Publication, GB 2516826 A, published on 11/02/2015, hereinafter refers Denoual).
Regarding claim 1, Denoual discloses a method of encapsulating media data in a media file, in a processing device, the media data comprising a plurality of samples, the method comprising:
generating a first track comprising a media data part storing a first sequence of samples of the plurality of samples, the first track further comprising a metadata part describing the first sequence of samples (Fig. 3, el. 306-1, el. 306-2, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, page 34, lines 1-35, the track header “tKhd” is created to indicated the track sequence, seq_num is to indicate the sequence),
generating descriptive metadata describing a dependency between a given sample of the first track and another sample, the generated descriptive metadata being stored in the metadata part of the first track (Fig. 3, el. 306-1, el. 306-2, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, page 34, lines 1-35, tkhd defined from Track_ID 1 – 6 indicated its dependencies),
and encapsulating (abstract, each track is encapsulated) the first track in the media file wherein the generated descriptive metadata comprise an offset reference indication for indicating a base sample to be used as reference for an offset identifying the sample the given sample depends on (Fig. 3, el. 322, page 35, lines. 17-23, i.e., horizontal offset or vertical offset).
Regarding claim 2, Denoual discloses wherein the offset reference indication indicates whether the offset is computed from the given sample or is computed from a previously identified reference sample (page 35, lines. 17-30).
Regarding claim 3, Denoual discloses wherein the generated descriptive metadata comprise an offset to the other sample relative to the given sample (page 35, lines. 17-30).
Regarding claim 4, Denoual discloses generating a second track comprising a media data part storing a second sequence of samples of the plurality of samples, the generated descriptive metadata describing a dependency between a given sample of the first track and a sample of the second track (Fig. 3, el. 306-1, el. 306-2, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, page 34, lines 1-35, the track header “tKhd” is created to indicated the track sequence).
Regarding claim 5, Denoual discloses wherein the generated descriptive metadata comprise a reference to the second track and an offset to the sample of the second track relative to a sample of the second track temporally corresponding to the given sample (page 35, lines. 17-30).
Regarding claim 6, Denoual discloses wherein the generated descriptive metadata describes a group of samples, a sample of the first track that depends on another sample being associated with the described group of samples (Fig. 3, el. 306-1, el. 306-2, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, page 34, lines 1-35).
Regarding claim 7, Denoual discloses wherein the generated descriptive metadata further comprises a number of samples, in other tracks on which a given sample of the first track depends (Fig. 3, el. 306-1, el. 306-2, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, page 34, lines 1-35).
Regarding claim 8, Denoual discloses wherein the generated descriptive metadata further comprise an indicator indicating that the given sample depends on a same sample a previous sample depends on (Fig. 3, el. 306-1, el. 306-2, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, page 34, lines 1-35, i.e., seq_num).
Regarding claim 10, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, Denoual discloses wherein processing a given sample depending on another sample comprises filtering samples (Fig. 10, Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 19, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denoual in view of Wang et al. (US 2015/0110473 A1, hereinafter refers Wang).
Regarding claim 9, Denoual discloses all limitation of claim 1,
Denoual does not explicitly disclose wherein the media file is an ISOBMFF media file;
Wang teaches wherein the media file is an ISOBMFF media file (para. 28);
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention to modify Denoual to include Wang in order for system to satisfy IEEE system standard in ISOBMFF.
Regarding claim 18, the instant claim is met by the rejection of claim 9.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denoual in view of Hannuksela (US 2020/0260063 A)
Regarding claim 17, Denoual discloses all limitation of claim 1,
Denoual does not explicitly disclose wherein processing a given sample depending on another sample comprises repairing a damage or partially lost byte range of the media file;
Hannuksela teaches wherein processing a given sample depending on another sample comprises repairing a damage or partially lost byte range of the media file (Fig. 8b, para. 77).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention to modify Denoual to Hannuksela in order to correct the errors in sample as such presenting a better quality video content.
Conclusion
/CAI Y CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425