DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of “wherein the attachment line comprises a ring connecting the first member with the second member” in claim 15 and “wherein the attachment line comprises a coil that connects the first member and the second member” in claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonutti (US Pub No. 2003/0032975).
Regarding claim 1, Bonutti discloses (Figures 1-5) an arthroscopic retractor (10) that is fully capable in being used as an introducer sheath system including: a handle (proximal portion of 10 as shown in Figures 1-2) comprising a translation mechanism (16); and a sheath (12, 14) comprising: a first member (12) extending longitudinally along a length of the sheath, a proximal portion of the first member coupled to the handle (Figures 1-2) (Paragraph 0064); and a second member (14) extending longitudinally along a length of the sheath, a proximal portion (46) of the second member coupled to the translation mechanism (Paragraph 0065) such that rotation of the translation mechanism moves the second member in an axial direction (Paragraph 0069); wherein the first member and the second member are coupled such that activation of the translation mechanism causes the second member to move axially with respect to the first member (Paragraph 0069), thereby changing a diameter of the sheath from a first diameter (Figure 1) to a second diameter (Figure 2), wherein the second diameter is different from the first diameter (Figures 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drasler (US Pub No. 2009/0240202) in view of Johnson (US Pub No. 2009/0312748).
Regarding claim 1, Drasler discloses (Figures 1-4B) an introducer sheath system (Figures 2A-2B) including: a handle (70) comprising a translation mechanism (85); and a sheath (20) comprising: a first member (40) extending longitudinally along a length of the sheath, a proximal portion of the first member coupled to the handle (Figures 2A-2B); and a second member (75) extending longitudinally along a length of the sheath (Figures 2A-2B), a proximal portion of the second member coupled to the translation mechanism (Paragraph 0041) such that movement of the translation mechanism moves the second member in an axial direction (Paragraph 0041); wherein the first member and the second member are coupled such that activation of the translation mechanism causes the second member to move axially with respect to the first member (Paragraph 0041), thereby changing a diameter of the sheath from a first diameter (Figure 2A) to a second diameter (Figure 2B), wherein the second diameter is different from the first diameter (Figures 2A-2B).
Drasler fails to disclose the proximal portion of the second member coupled to the translation mechanism such that rotation of the translation mechanism moves the second member in the axial direction.
Johnson, in the analogous art of medical devices for causing a rod to translate axially, teaches (Figures 1-3) a rotational detachment mechanism (10) that includes a handle (12) that includes a translation mechanism (48) and wherein rotation of the translation mechanism moves a control member (26) in an axial direction (Figures 1 and 3) (Paragraphs 0037-0039). Since both Drasler and Johnson are concerned with activation of a translation mechanism on the handle to cause movement of a member in an axial direction that is attached to the translation mechanism, then it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the translation mechanism of Drasler that slides with the translation mechanism of Johnson that is rotated, in order to achieve a predictable result of causing movement of a member in an axial direction that is attached to the translation mechanism (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, Drasler modified by Johnson further discloses wherein the first member is coupled to the second member with an attachment line (Drasler, 80) (Paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 14, Drasler modified by Johnson further discloses wherein axial movement of the second member in a direction decreases tension on the attachment line such that a spacing between the second member and first member is reduced, changing a radial location of second member with respect to the first member and reducing the diameter of the sheath (Drasler, Paragraph 0041) (Figures 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 17, Drasler modified by Johnson further discloses wherein the attachment line attaches to the first member and the second member at a series of connection points (Drasler, Figures 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 18, Drasler modified by Johnson further discloses further comprising an outer cover (see annotated figure below for Drasler) extending around the sheath, where the first member is coupled to the outer cover.
Regarding claim 19, Drasler modified by Johnson further discloses a set of elongate first members (Drasler, 40), wherein each first member of the set of elongate first members comprises a proximal portion that is fixedly attached to the handle (Drasler, Figures 2A-2B); further including a set of elongate second members (Drasler, 75) and comingled with the set of elongate first members (Drasler, Figures 2A-2B), wherein each second member of the set of elongate second members comprises a proximal portion that is attached to the translation mechanism (Drasler, Paragraph 0036); wherein the set of elongate first members and the set of elongate second members are coupled such that activation of the translation mechanism causes the set of elongate second members to move axially with respect to the set of elongate first members, thereby changing the diameter of the sheath from the first diameter to the second diameter (Drasler, Figures 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 20, Drasler modified by Johnson further discloses wherein each first member of the set of elongate first members is positioned adjacent to a second member of the set of elongate second members in a circumferential direction around the sheath (Drasler, Figures 2A-2B).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drasler (US Pub No. 2009/0240202) in view of Johnson (US Pub No. 2009/0312748) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kunis (US Pub No. 2007/0083194).
Regarding claim 15, Drasler modified by Johnson discloses the invention above except for wherein the attachment line comprises a ring connecting the first member with the second member.
Kunis, in the analogous art of medical catheters with an attachment line, teaches (Figures 15a-15c) an attachment line comprising a ring (194) for connecting two elements together (Paragraph 0110). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Drasler modified by Johnson to have the attachment line to comprise a ring connecting the first member with the second member as taught by Kunis, in order to provide a better attachment mechanism to fixedly attach two elements together (Kunis, Paragraph 0110).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11, 13 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in the dependent claims:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the combination of features as claimed. In particular, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the translation mechanism further includes: a rotating nut threadably engaged with the handle and axially movable along the handle upon rotation, where rotation of the rotating nut moves the second member in an axial direction; and a sliding ring rotatably coupled to the rotating nut, wherein the rotating nut is positioned proximally of the sliding ring and engages the sliding ring to translate axially along the handle (claim 2), wherein axial movement of the second member in a direction increases tension on the attachment line such that a spacing between the second member and first member is reduced, changing a radial location of second member with respect to the first member and reducing the diameter of the sheath (claim 13) and wherein the attachment line comprises a coil that connects the first member and the second member (claim 16).
Conclusion
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771