DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (US 2023/0114450).
Regarding Claim 1, Xue teaches a method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
generating, by the first UE, sidelink control information (SCI) including information requesting a channel state information (CSI) report for an unlicensed band ([0066] At action 602, a UE 115c may transmit a resource reservation for CSI-RS(s) to UE 115d. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the resource reservation in sidelink control information (SCI) (e.g., SCI-1, SCI-2). The resource reservation may reserve future time and/or frequency resources for the CSI-RS(s). The UE 115c and the UE 115d may communicate to each other using sidelink communications in an unlicensed frequency band (e.g., an FR2 band, an FR2x band, a frequency band in the range of about 60 GHz to about 71 GHz, or other unlicensed frequency band). The UE 115c may transmit the CSI-RS(s) to the UE 115d in order to determine the state of one or more communication channels between the UE 115c and the UE 115d; [0067] At action 604, the UE 115c may transmit a request for a CSI report to UE 115d. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the CSI report request aperiodically or periodically. In some instances, the UE 115c may transmit the CSI report request in the same time period that the UE 115c transmits the resource reservation for the CSI-RS(s) at action 602. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the request for the CSI report in sidelink control information (SCI) (e.g., SCI-1, SCI-2). In some aspects, the UE 115c may transmit a request for a plurality of CSI reports to the UE 115d. In some aspects, the UE 115c may transmit a request to the UE 115d to periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the request to the UE 115d to periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c using layer 3 signaling (e.g., PC5-RRC signaling). In some aspects, the CSI report request transmitted by the UE 115c may include an indicator (e.g., an index) indicating the configuration for communicating the CSI report in the MAC-CE);
transmitting, by the first UE, the SCI to a second UE ([0067] At action 604, the UE 115c may transmit a request for a CSI report to UE 115d. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the CSI report request aperiodically or periodically. In some instances, the UE 115c may transmit the CSI report request in the same time period that the UE 115c transmits the resource reservation for the CSI-RS(s) at action 602. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the request for the CSI report in sidelink control information (SCI) (e.g., SCI-1, SCI-2). In some aspects, the UE 115c may transmit a request for a plurality of CSI reports to the UE 115d. In some aspects, the UE 115c may transmit a request to the UE 115d to periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the request to the UE 115d to periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c using layer 3 signaling (e.g., PC5-RRC signaling). In some aspects, the CSI report request transmitted by the UE 115c may include an indicator (e.g., an index) indicating the configuration for communicating the CSI report in the MAC-CE); and
receiving, by the first UE, the CSI report requested by the SCI from the second UE ([0073] At action 616, the UE 115d may transmit the CSI report to the UE 115c. The UE 115d may perform the CSI measurements on the received CSI-RS(s), generate the CSI report, and transmit the CSI report to the first UE within a time span defined by a timer. In some aspects, the UE 115d may periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the request to the UE 115d to periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c using layer 3 signaling (e.g., PC5-RRC signaling).
Regarding Claim 6, Xue teaches a method of a second user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a first UE, sidelink control information (SCI) including information requesting a channel state information (CSI) report for an unlicensed band ([0066] At action 602, a UE 115c may transmit a resource reservation for CSI-RS(s) to UE 115d. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the resource reservation in sidelink control information (SCI) (e.g., SCI-1, SCI-2). The resource reservation may reserve future time and/or frequency resources for the CSI-RS(s). The UE 115c and the UE 115d may communicate to each other using sidelink communications in an unlicensed frequency band (e.g., an FR2 band, an FR2x band, a frequency band in the range of about 60 GHz to about 71 GHz, or other unlicensed frequency band). The UE 115c may transmit the CSI-RS(s) to the UE 115d in order to determine the state of one or more communication channels between the UE 115c and the UE 115d; [0067] At action 604, the UE 115c may transmit a request for a CSI report to UE 115d. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the CSI report request aperiodically or periodically. In some instances, the UE 115c may transmit the CSI report request in the same time period that the UE 115c transmits the resource reservation for the CSI-RS(s) at action 602. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the request for the CSI report in sidelink control information (SCI) (e.g., SCI-1, SCI-2). In some aspects, the UE 115c may transmit a request for a plurality of CSI reports to the UE 115d. In some aspects, the UE 115c may transmit a request to the UE 115d to periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the request to the UE 115d to periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c using layer 3 signaling (e.g., PC5-RRC signaling). In some aspects, the CSI report request transmitted by the UE 115c may include an indicator (e.g., an index) indicating the configuration for communicating the CSI report in the MAC-CE);
performing, by the second UE, measurement on a CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) in the unlicensed band based on the requesting of the SCI ([0073] At action 616, the UE 115d may transmit the CSI report to the UE 115c. The UE 115d may perform the CSI measurements on the received CSI-RS(s), generate the CSI report, and transmit the CSI report to the first UE within a time span defined by a timer. In some aspects, the UE 115d may periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the request to the UE 115d to periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c using layer 3 signaling (e.g., PC5-RRC signaling);
generating, by the second UE, the CSI report including a result of the measurement ([0073] At action 616, the UE 115d may transmit the CSI report to the UE 115c. The UE 115d may perform the CSI measurements on the received CSI-RS(s), generate the CSI report, and transmit the CSI report to the first UE within a time span defined by a timer. In some aspects, the UE 115d may periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the request to the UE 115d to periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c using layer 3 signaling (e.g., PC5-RRC signaling); and
transmitting, by the second UE, the CSI report to the first UE ([0073] At action 616, the UE 115d may transmit the CSI report to the UE 115c. The UE 115d may perform the CSI measurements on the received CSI-RS(s), generate the CSI report, and transmit the CSI report to the first UE within a time span defined by a timer. In some aspects, the UE 115d may periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c. In this regard, the UE 115c may transmit the request to the UE 115d to periodically transmit the CSI report(s) to the UE 115c using layer 3 signaling (e.g., PC5-RRC signaling).
Regarding Claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. in view of Stefanatos et al. (US 2024/0008085) and Chen et al. (US 2025/0240814).
Regarding Claim 2, Xue does not teach initiating a channel occupancy time (COT) in the unlicensed band, wherein at least one of a transmission operation of the SCI or a reception operation of the CSI report is performed within the COT, and the COT is configured based on parameter(s) signaled by a base station.
In an analogous art, Stefanatos teaches initiating a channel occupancy time (COT) in the unlicensed band ([0045] the term “initiating UE” can refer to a user equipment device initiating or acquiring a channel occupancy time (COT) in a shared radio frequency band (e.g., in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum) for sidelink communication; [0089] FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B show a schematic illustrating a spatial range of a COT initiated by a COT-initiating UE and timing diagrams illustrating a sidelink communication scheme in unlicensed bands),
wherein at least one of a transmission operation of the SCI or a reception operation of the CSI report is performed within the COT ([0055] In some instances, the COT-initiating UE may transmit, after initiating the COT, a transmission within the COT and the transmission may include location data of the COT-initiating UE. For example, the COT-initiating UE may transmit a PSCCH after initiating the COT and the SCI in the PSCCH may include the location data of the COT-initiating UE. As another example, the COT-initiating UE may transmit a PSCCH or a PSSCH after initiating the COT, and the SCI-1 in the PSCCH or the SCI-2 in the PSSCH, respectively, may include the location data of the COT-initiating UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Stefanatos’s method with Xue’s method so that it can allow a UE tracking COT activity seeking to share and utilize a portion of the COT to infer or determine whether a PSFCH transmission corresponds to or is a part of the COT, which in turn allows the UE to refrain from blindly or unnecessarily assuming that the COT has been released, improving the efficiency of sidelink communications. Further, sidelink COT sharing in unlicensed bands is improved because UEs can access portions of COTs which may otherwise be released because of regulations imposing at least near continual transmissions within the COTs for the COTs to remain active and not be considered released (Stefanatos [0060]).
The combination of Xue and Stefanatos does not teach the COT is configured based on parameter(s) signaled by a base station.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches the COT is configured based on parameter(s) signaled by a base station ([0132] the UE may indicate the set of resources using a received preconfigured table. Base station 545 may configure table 550 for sharing parameters to UEs 555 using control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). An initiating UE (e.g., UE 555-a) may indicate a COT sharing resource index 560 (e.g., resource 575 and resource 580) to other sidelink UEs 555 via SCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Chen’s method with Xue’s method so that UEs in unlicensed spectrums communicating using sidelink communication links may reduce transmission conflicts with other transmissions from other UEs (Chen [0067]).
Regarding Claim 7, Xue does not teach receiving, from a base station, configuration information of a channel occupancy time (COT) for the unlicensed band; and identifying the COT initiated by the first UE based on the configuration information, wherein at least one of a reception operation of the SCI or a transmission operation of the CSI report is performed within the COT.
In an analogous art, Stefanatos teaches identifying the COT initiated by the first UE based on the configuration information ([0045] the term “initiating UE” can refer to a user equipment device initiating or acquiring a channel occupancy time (COT) in a shared radio frequency band (e.g., in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum) for sidelink communication; [0089] FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B show a schematic illustrating a spatial range of a COT initiated by a COT-initiating UE and timing diagrams illustrating a sidelink communication scheme in unlicensed bands),
wherein at least one of a reception operation of the SCI or a transmission operation of the CSI report is performed within the COT ([0055] In some instances, the COT-initiating UE may transmit, after initiating the COT, a transmission within the COT and the transmission may include location data of the COT-initiating UE. For example, the COT-initiating UE may transmit a PSCCH after initiating the COT and the SCI in the PSCCH may include the location data of the COT-initiating UE. As another example, the COT-initiating UE may transmit a PSCCH or a PSSCH after initiating the COT, and the SCI-1 in the PSCCH or the SCI-2 in the PSSCH, respectively, may include the location data of the COT-initiating UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Stefanatos’s method with Xue’s method so that it can allow a UE tracking COT activity seeking to share and utilize a portion of the COT to infer or determine whether a PSFCH transmission corresponds to or is a part of the COT, which in turn allows the UE to refrain from blindly or unnecessarily assuming that the COT has been released, improving the efficiency of sidelink communications. Further, sidelink COT sharing in unlicensed bands is improved because UEs can access portions of COTs which may otherwise be released because of regulations imposing at least near continual transmissions within the COTs for the COTs to remain active and not be considered released (Stefanatos [0060]).
The combination of Xue and Stefanatos does not teach receiving, from a base station, configuration information of a channel occupancy time (COT) for the unlicensed band.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches receiving, from a base station, configuration information of a channel occupancy time (COT) for the unlicensed band ([0132] the UE may indicate the set of resources using a received preconfigured table. Base station 545 may configure table 550 for sharing parameters to UEs 555 using control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). An initiating UE (e.g., UE 555-a) may indicate a COT sharing resource index 560 (e.g., resource 575 and resource 580) to other sidelink UEs 555 via SCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Chen’s method with Xue’s method so that UEs in unlicensed spectrums communicating using sidelink communication links may reduce transmission conflicts with other transmissions from other UEs (Chen [0067]).
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 2.
Claims 3, 5, 8, 10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. in view of Hong (US 2024/0057106).
Regarding Claim 3, Xue teaches a transmission period of the CSI report within the unlicensed band ([0119] The second UE may stay in receive mode for at least the time span defined by the timer to receive the CSI report. The first UE may perform the CSI measurements on the received CSI-RS(s), generate the CSI report, and transmit the CSI report to the second UE within the time span defined by the timer; [0112] The first UE and the second UE may communicate to each other using sidelink communications in an unlicensed frequency band).
However, Xue does not teach transmitting, to the second UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink message including information indicating a transmission period of the CSI report, wherein the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message is transmitted before transmission of the SCI, and a reception operation for the CSI report is performed within the transmission period.
In an analogous art, Hong teaches transmitting, to the second UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink message including information indicating a transmission period of the CSI report ([0200] The sidelink CSI reporting procedure is used to provide sidelink channel status information to the counterpart UE. For convenience of description, a case in which a sidelink transmission UE receives a CSI report from a sidelink reception UE is described. The transmission UE may indicate the delay time range (sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report) for the sidelink CSI report to the reception UE through the RRC reconfiguration message (RRCReconfigurationSidelink). For example, the delay time range may be configured within 3 to 160 slots. If the reception UE receives the CSI request, the reception UE may measure the sidelink CSI within the configured delay time range and transmit the measurement result (sidelink CSI report) to the transmission UE that sent the CSI request. If the transmission UE transmits a CSI request to the reception UE through SCI, the transmission UE may expect to receive CSI reporting from the reception UE within the above-described delay time range),
wherein the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message is transmitted before transmission of the SCI, and a reception operation for the CSI report is performed within the transmission period ([0200] The sidelink CSI reporting procedure is used to provide sidelink channel status information to the counterpart UE. For convenience of description, a case in which a sidelink transmission UE receives a CSI report from a sidelink reception UE is described. The transmission UE may indicate the delay time range (sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report) for the sidelink CSI report to the reception UE through the RRC reconfiguration message (RRCReconfigurationSidelink). For example, the delay time range may be configured within 3 to 160 slots. If the reception UE receives the CSI request, the reception UE may measure the sidelink CSI within the configured delay time range and transmit the measurement result (sidelink CSI report) to the transmission UE that sent the CSI request. If the transmission UE transmits a CSI request to the reception UE through SCI, the transmission UE may expect to receive CSI reporting from the reception UE within the above-described delay time range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Hong’s method with Xue’s method so that sidelink communication may be controlled using a DRX operation (Hong [0013]). Moreover, the latency for the CSI report can controlled by using the latency bound parameter, and a more efficient sidelink communication can be achieved.
Regarding Claim 5, Xue teaches the SCI is transmitted in at least one of a licensed band or the unlicensed band ([0051] the first UE may transmit the CSI-RS reservation 350 in sidelink control information (SCI) 334 (e.g., SCI-1, SCI-2) as indicated by arrow 352. The CSI-RS reservation 350 may reserve future time and/or frequency resources for the CSI-RSs 342(0) . . . 342(3). The first UE and the second UE may communicate to each other using sidelink communications in an unlicensed frequency band).
However, Xue does not teach the SCI has an SCI format 2.
In an analogous art, Hong teaches the SCI has an SCI format 2 ([0122] The second stage SCI is divided into SCI format 2-A and SCI format 2-B; [0123] SCI format 2-A may include at least one of the following information; [0124] HARQ process number/ID, New data indicator, Redundancy version, Source ID, Destination ID, HARQ feedback enable/disable indicator, Cast type indicator, CSI request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Hong’s method with Xue’s method so that CSI request information can be efficiently and correctly sent to the receiving UE, and the CSI report can be successfully triggered.
Regarding Claim 8, Xue teach a transmission period of the CSI report within the unlicensed band ([0119] The second UE may stay in receive mode for at least the time span defined by the timer to receive the CSI report. The first UE may perform the CSI measurements on the received CSI-RS(s), generate the CSI report, and transmit the CSI report to the second UE within the time span defined by the timer; [0112] The first UE and the second UE may communicate to each other using sidelink communications in an unlicensed frequency band).
However, Xue does not teach receiving, from the first UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink message including information indicating a transmission period of the CSI report, wherein the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message is received before reception of the SCI, and a transmission operation for the CSI report is performed within the transmission period.
In an analogous art, Hong teaches receiving, from the first UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration sidelink message including information indicating a transmission period of the CSI report ([0200] The sidelink CSI reporting procedure is used to provide sidelink channel status information to the counterpart UE. For convenience of description, a case in which a sidelink transmission UE receives a CSI report from a sidelink reception UE is described. The transmission UE may indicate the delay time range (sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report) for the sidelink CSI report to the reception UE through the RRC reconfiguration message (RRCReconfigurationSidelink). For example, the delay time range may be configured within 3 to 160 slots. If the reception UE receives the CSI request, the reception UE may measure the sidelink CSI within the configured delay time range and transmit the measurement result (sidelink CSI report) to the transmission UE that sent the CSI request. If the transmission UE transmits a CSI request to the reception UE through SCI, the transmission UE may expect to receive CSI reporting from the reception UE within the above-described delay time range),
wherein the RRC reconfiguration sidelink message is received before reception of the SCI, and a transmission operation for the CSI report is performed within the transmission period ([0200] The sidelink CSI reporting procedure is used to provide sidelink channel status information to the counterpart UE. For convenience of description, a case in which a sidelink transmission UE receives a CSI report from a sidelink reception UE is described. The transmission UE may indicate the delay time range (sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report) for the sidelink CSI report to the reception UE through the RRC reconfiguration message (RRCReconfigurationSidelink). For example, the delay time range may be configured within 3 to 160 slots. If the reception UE receives the CSI request, the reception UE may measure the sidelink CSI within the configured delay time range and transmit the measurement result (sidelink CSI report) to the transmission UE that sent the CSI request. If the transmission UE transmits a CSI request to the reception UE through SCI, the transmission UE may expect to receive CSI reporting from the reception UE within the above-described delay time range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Hong’s method with Xue’s method so that sidelink communication may be controlled using a DRX operation (Hong [0013]). Moreover, the latency for the CSI report can controlled by using the latency bound parameter, and a more efficient sidelink communication can be achieved.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 5.
Claims 4, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0009560).
Regarding Claim 4, Xue does not teach the SCI further includes information indicating band(s) in which the CSI report is transmitted, and the CSI report is received in at least one of a licensed band or the unlicensed band indicated by the SCI.
In an analogous art, Li teaches the SCI further includes information indicating band(s) in which the CSI report is transmitted, and the CSI report is received in at least one of a licensed band or the unlicensed band indicated by the SCI ([0073] the carrier i for transmitting CSI report may be configured (or pre-configured). For example, for inter-band SL CA, an FR1 carrier may be configured to carry the CSI report for FR1 and FR2 carrier aggregation (in order to increase reliability). Similarly, a licensed carrier may be configured to carry the CSI report for CA involving licensed and unlicensed carriers. In some cases, the carrier i may be semi-statically selected and activated, for example, by a base station via Uu interface or by a special UE (e.g., an RSU or a lead UE or a scheduling UE), a CSI triggering UE, or CSI reporting UE via PC5 interface. In some cases, the carrier i may be dynamically selected and indicated in SCI 2, for example, by a scheduling UE, a CSI triggering UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Li’s method with Xue’s method so that it can cross-carrier CSI reporting mechanisms that may help to ensure reliable and timely CSI feedback based on channel status. This enhanced CSI reporting may be important to help meet more stringent reliability and latency requirements for supporting advanced V2X services (Li [0059]).
Regarding Claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ganesan et al. (US 2023/0269769) teaches method of channel occupancy time sharing.
Cheng et al. (US 2026/0122673) teaches methods of COT sharing in sidelink unlicensed communication systems.
Deng et al. (US 2025/0142595) teaches methods for sidelink unlicensed channel access.
Guo et al. (US 2024/0414744) teaches network-assisted sidelink communication over unlicensed spectrum.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413