Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 is directed to the composition of a reformed gas and claim 1, from which claim 6 depends, is directed to a catalyst composition. Therefore, claim 6 does not further limit the claimed catalyst composition. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0188887 to Kobayashi et al. (hereinafter “Kobayashi”).
NOTE: Claim 1 recites “A catalyst for purifying carbon monoxide contained in a reformed gas, comprising …” The intended use of the claim in the preamble is not given a patentable weight and instead the claim is examined strictly as a catalyst composition.
With respect to claims 1 and 2, Kobayashi discloses a three-way catalyst (TWC) comprising:
a substrate comprising alumina-silica-magnesia ([0051]);
alumina doped with a transition metal on the substrate ([[006], [[0021]); and
a platinum group metal component such as Ru ([0007], [0041], [0066]).
Kobayashi further discloses the catalyst composition is supported/deposited directly on the substrate ([0055]).
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Kobayashi discloses transition metal includes Ti, Ni, or a combination thereof ([0021]) in an amount in the range of 0.1 to 10 wt% ([0023]).
With respect to claim 5, Kobayashi discloses Ru in an amount up to 20wt% ([0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0188887 to Kobayashi et al. (hereinafter “Kobayashi”).
The teachings of Kobayashi are as discussed above.
With respect to claim 7, Kobayashi does not disclose wherein the catalyst purifies carbon monoxide contained in the reformed gas at 80 to 180oC.
It is considered that because Kobayashi discloses a catalyst composition that structurally reads upon that instantly claimed, the skilled artisan would reasonably expect the catalyst to suitably and effectively function as a catalyst for purifying carbon monoxide contained in reformed gas at 80 to 180oC, absent the showing of convincing evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772