DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on July 9, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on July 9, 2024, April 9, 2025, June 11, 2025 and on July 2, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Fig. 6, For the reference numeral labels 600, 610 and 620, no description is provided in the disclosure.
Fig. 7, Contrary to the ¶s[0245] and [246] of the disclosure, the reference numeral 700 does not correspond to a “wireless communication method.” Fig. 7 is missing the method step labels 710 and 720 referenced in the above paragraphs of the description.
Fig. 8 is missing the label 800 referenced in the ¶s[0247] and [248] of the disclosure, and does not appear to be drawn to a “method.”
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraphs [0016]-[0019] and [0245]-[0251] of the disclosure, the references to and descriptions of the drawings appear inaccurate. In particular:
1) While ¶s[0016] and [0017] each refers to a “method,” the drawings for Figs. 7
and 8 do not appear to be drawn to methods;
2) Contrary to the statements in ¶s[0018]-[0019], no drawings for Figs. 9 and 10 are provided;
3) While ¶s[0245]-[0246] are referring to a method 700, method steps 710 and 720, Fig. 7 does not appear to be drawn to a method. No descriptions for the reference numeral labels 710a-710d, 705a, 705b and 725 of Fig. 7 are provided;
4) While ¶s[0247]-[0248] are referring to a method 800, method steps 810 and 820, Fig. 8 does not appear to be drawn to a method. No descriptions for the reference numeral labels 805 and 815 of Fig.8 are provided; and
5) For ¶s[0249]-[0251], the references to Figs. 9 and 10 appear should be changed to Figs. 7 and 8, respectively, including substitutions of all corresponding reference numerals for the described features.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated 3GPPTS38.331V161
Regarding claim 1, 3GPPTS38.331V16 discloses a method of wireless communication (See, Page 21, §1 Scope, “protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN”), comprising:
Receiving (See, Figures 5.8.5.1-1 (Page 212) showing a UE receiving “SIB12 acquisition,” and “RRCREconfiguration”), by a first user device (a “UE” the above Figure), a first configuration wherein the first configuration is a synchronization configuration2 (See, Page 215, “sl-ConfigDedicatedNR within RRCReconfiguration message” or “sl-ConfigCommonNR within SIB12”), wherein the synchronization configuration includes at least one of a synchronization priority (The “sl-SyncPriority,” which may be included in each of sl-FreqConfig (Page 789) and sl-FreqConfigCommon (Page 790), which may be in turn included in the sl-ConfigDedicatedNR and sl-ConfigCommonNR, respectively (See, Pages 272-274, 784 and 785 for the nested relationships of sl-ConfigDedicatedNR; and Pages 348, 789-790 for the nested relationship for the sl-ConfigCommonNR. See, also Page 789 and page 216 for the indication of priority by the sl-SyncPriority.), a network controlled synchronization transmission indication (See, Page 785, “networkControlledSyncTx,” “Value on indicates the UE to transmit synchronization information while value off indicates the UE to not transmit such information.” As shown in Page 785, this field may be included in the sl-ConfigDedicatedNR), or a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold (See, Pages 212 and 213, syncTxThreshIC or syncTxThreshOoC, “the RSRP measurement [the PSBCH-RSRP measurement ]…is below the value of syncTxThreshIC [syncTxThreshOoC]”), and wherein the synchronization configuration is received from Uu radio resource control (RRC) or system information block (SIB) message (See, Fig. 5.8.5.1-1, showing a UE receiving “SIB12” and “RRCReconfiguration” directly from the “Network.” See, also Applicant’s disclosure at ¶s[0078]-[0083]); and
applying, by the first user device, the first configuration (See, e.g., Page 215, §5.8.6.2, first 4 lines, “ The UE shall: 1> if …sl-SyncPriority is configured for the concerned frequency and set to gnbEnb, i.e., applying the sl-SyncPriority).
Regarding claim 2, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further discloses that the first user device selects a cell as a synchronization reference source in a case that a frequency for sidelink communication is included in a Uu message and the synchronization priority is set to gNBeNB (See, Page 215, §5.8.6.2, first 4 lines, “The UE shall: 1> if the frequency used for NR sidelink communication is included in sl-FreqInfoToAddModList in sl-ConfigDedicatedNR within RRCReconfiguration message or included in sl-ConfigCommonNR within SIB12, and sl-SyncPriority is configured for the concerned frequency and set to gnbEnb: 2> select a cell as the synchronization reference source,” Emphasis Added).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further discloses that the first user device selects a cell as a synchronization reference source in a case that a frequency for sidelink communication is included in a PC5 message3 and the synchronization priority is set to gNBeNB (See, Page 215, §5.8.6.2, first 4 lines, “The UE shall: 1> if the frequency used for NR sidelink communication is included in sl-FreqInfoToAddModList in sl-ConfigDedicatedNR within RRCReconfiguration message or included in sl-ConfigCommonNR within SIB12, and sl-SyncPriority is configured for the concerned frequency and set to gnbEnb: 2> select a cell as the synchronization reference source,” Emphasis Added), and the first user device considers the first user device in an in-coverage (IC) state (See, Page 212, §5.8.5.2, first two “1>” conditional statements, “1> if in coverage….has selected GNSS or the cell as synchronization reference,” and “1> if out of coverage….has selected GNSS or the cell as synchronization reference…” Accordingly, 3GPPTS38.331V16 discloses when the UE is in coverage (or out of coverage), the UE shall select a cell as the synchronization reference source as long as the above other conditions are met).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further discloses that the first user device is configured to transmit a synchronization signal in a case that the first user device considers the first user device is in an in-coverage (IC) state (See, Page 212, §5.8.5.2, first 5 lines, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall….if in coverage on the frequency used for NR sidelink communication,” and the first occurrence of “3>”, “transmit SSB…including the transmission of SLSS..,” Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 6, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further discloses that the first user device is configured to transmit a synchronization signal in a case that the first user device considers the first user device is out-of-coverage (OOC) (See, Pages 212, §5.8.5.2, first line, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall;” the second occurrence of “1>,” “if out of coverage on the frequency used for NR sidelink communication;” and the first occurrence of “3>,”“transmit SSB…including the transmission of SLSS..”).
Regarding claim 7, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further discloses that the first user device is configured to transmit a synchronization signal in a case that the first user device considers the first user device is out-of-coverage (OOC) and at least one of conditions is met, and wherein the conditions include the network controlled synchronization transmission indication is configured and set to an activated state (See, Pages 212, §5.8.5.2, first line, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall;” the second occurrence of “1>,” “if out of coverage on the frequency used for NR sidelink communication,…; the first occurrence of “2>,” “if networkControlledSyncTx is configured and set to on;” and the first occurrence of “3>,”“transmit SSB…including the transmission of SLSS,” Emphasis Added).
Regarding claim 8, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further discloses that the Uu message includes the Uu RRC message that is received from gNB or network or cell directly without a relay user device (See, Page 212, Figure 5.8.5.1-1, “RRCReconfiguration” received directly from the “Network.”).
Regarding claim 10, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further discloses that the first user device considers the first user device is in an in-coverage (IC) state in a case that an IC condition is met or an out-of-coverage (OOC) condition is not met (See, Pages 212, §5.8.5.2, first line, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall;” the first occurrence of “1>,” “if in coverage on the frequency used for NR sidelink communication, as defined in TS 38.304 [20].” See, the definition provided in the TS 38.304 (3GPPTS38.304V164), reproduced below5. According to the definition provided, the UE is considered to be in IC state when the IC condition is met, i.e., when at least one cell that meets the S Criterion is detected. Note, also that the two states, i.e., IC and OoC states are defined to be mutually exclusive with respect to each other. Thus, when the UE is considered IC, the condition for OoC, i.e., no cell that meets the S Criterion being detected, would not be met.).
Regarding claim 11, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further discloses that wherein the first user device considers the first user device is in an out-of-coverage (OOC) state in a case that an IC condition is not met or an OOC condition is met (See, Pages 212, §5.8.5.2, first line, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall;” the first occurrence of “1>,” “if in coverage on the frequency used for NR sidelink communication, as defined in TS 38.304 [20];” and the second occurrence of “1>,” “if out of coverage on the frequency used for NR sidelink communication,…” Because the two states, i.e., IC and OoC states are defined to be mutually exclusive with respect to each other, when the UE is considered OoC, the condition for IC, i.e., at least one cell that meets the S Criterion being detected, would not be met.).
Regarding claim 12, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further discloses that the IC condition is at least one frequency is IC (See, Pages 212, §5.8.5.2, first line, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall;” the first occurrence of “1>,” “if in coverage on the frequency used for NR sidelink communication, as defined in TS 38.304 [20].” As discussed above in connection to claim 10, the “in coverage” as defined in the 3GPPTS38.331V16 requires that at least “the frequency which UE is configured to perform NR sidelink communication” is in IC with a cell, i.e., the cell meets the S Criterion.)
Regarding claim 13, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further discloses that wherein the OOC condition is no frequency is in the IC state6, and the first user device is configured to synchronize with a cell (See, Page 215, §5.8.6.2, first 4 lines, “The UE shall: 1> if the frequency used for NR sidelink communication is included in sl-FreqInfoToAddModList in sl-ConfigDedicatedNR within RRCReconfiguration message or included in sl-ConfigCommonNR within SIB12, and sl-SyncPriority is configured for the concerned frequency and set to gnbEnb: 2> select a cell as the synchronization reference source”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over 3GPPTS38.331V16 in view of Cheng et al. (US Patent Publication No. US2022/0361076).
Regarding claim 5, 3GPPTS38.331V16 teaches a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above, and further teaches that the first user device is configured to transmit a synchronization signal in a case that an RSRP of a relay user device is lower than a configured threshold (See, Pages 212, §5.8.5.2, first line, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall,” last line “1> else:;” Page 213, the first occurrence of “2>,” …if syncTxThreshOoC is included in SidelinkPreconfigNR; and the UE is not directly synchronized to GNSS, and the PSBCH-RSRP measurement result of the selected SyncRef UE is below the value of syncTxThreshOoC;” and the first occurrence of “3>,”“transmit SSB…including the transmission of SLSS..,”).
3GPPTS38.331V16, however, fails to explicitly teach that the first user device considers the first user device is in-coverage (IC).
Cheng et al teaches a method for wireless communication between a remote UE and a relay UE via PC5 interface (See, Fig. 4) wherein the first user device (the Remote UE 401) considers the first user device is in-coverage (IC) (See, Figs. 1 and 4; ¶[0030] “A UE can become a Remote UE if its measured Uu signal is sufficiently bad (e.g., <=threshHighRemote). For in-coverage remote UE, because it is still in coverage of base station, remote UE 401 can measure Uu-RSRP, and can compare Uu-RSRP with PC5-RSRP directly or indirectly.” The UE 401, depending on the result of the comparison between Uu-RSRP and PC5-RSRP (i.e., the RSRP of the relay UE 402), may choose to become a remote UE for sidelink communication with the relay UE 402. Accordingly, Cheng et al. teaches an in-coverage UE making a decision based on the RSRP measurement of a relay UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by 3GPPTS38.331V16 to incorporate the above teaching of Cheng et al. in order to allow a better service, throughput or latency by providing an opportunity to select a base station and/or relay UE with better signal strength or service (See, e.g., Cheng et al. ¶s[0021]).
Regarding claim 14, 3GPPTS38.331V16 teaches an apparatus of wireless communication (a “UE” in any of Figures 5.8.5.1-1 and 5.8.5.1-2) configured to
receive (See, Figures 5.8.5.1-1 (Page 212) showing a UE receiving “SIB12 acquisition,” and “RRCREconfiguration”), by a first user device (the UE above), a first configuration, wherein the first configuration is a synchronization configuration (See, Page 215, “sl-ConfigDedicatedNR within RRCReconfiguration message” or “sl-ConfigCommonNR within SIB12”), wherein the synchronization configuration includes at least one of a synchronization priority (The “sl-SyncPriority,” which may be included in each of sl-FreqConfig (Page 789) and sl-FreqConfigCommon (Page 790), which may be in turn included in the sl-ConfigDedicatedNR and sl-ConfigCommonNR, respectively (See, Pages 272-274, 784 and 785 for the nested relationships of sl-ConfigDedicatedNR; and Pages 348, 789-790 for the nested relationship for the sl-ConfigCommonNR. See, also Page 789 and page 216 for the indication of priority by the sl-SyncPriority.), a network controlled synchronization transmission indication (See, Page 785, “networkControlledSyncTx,” “Value on indicates the UE to transmit synchronization information while value off indicates the UE to not transmit such information.” As shown in Page 785, this field may be included in the sl-ConfigDedicatedNR), or a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold(See, Pages 212 and 213, syncTxThreshIC or syncTxThreshOoC, “the RSRP measurement [the PSBCH-RSRP measurement ]…is below the value of syncTxThreshIC [syncTxThreshOoC]”), and wherein the synchronization configuration is received from Uu RRC or SIB message (See, Fig. 5.8.5.1-1, showing a UE receiving “SIB12” and “RRCReconfiguration” directly from the “Network.” See, also Applicant’s disclosure at ¶s[0078]-[0083]); and
apply, by the first user device, the first configuration (See, e.g., Page 215, §5.8.6.2, first 4 lines, “ The UE shall: 1> if …sl-SyncPriority is configured for the concerned frequency and set to gnbEnb, i.e., applying the sl-SyncPriority).
3GPPTS38.331V16, however, fails to explicitly teach an apparatus comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to implement a method that causes the apparatus to perform the above recited functional steps.
Cheng et al. teaches an apparatus comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to implement a method that causes the apparatus to perform functional steps (See, Cheng et al. Fig. 2, #s 201 and 203; and ¶[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the above teachings of 3GPPTS38.331V16 to incorporate the UE structure taught by Cheng et al. when implementing a UE in order for such UE to be compliant with the 5G NR standards (See, Cheng et al. ¶[0002]).
Regarding claim 15, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further teaches that the first user device selects a cell as a synchronization reference source in a case that a frequency for sidelink communication is included in a Uu message and the synchronization priority is set to gNBeNB (See, Page 215, §5.8.6.2, first 4 lines, “The UE shall: 1> if the frequency used for NR sidelink communication is included in sl-FreqInfoToAddModList in sl-ConfigDedicatedNR within RRCReconfiguration message or included in sl-ConfigCommonNR within SIB12, and sl-SyncPriority is configured for the concerned frequency and set to gnbEnb: 2> select a cell as the synchronization reference source,” Emphasis Added).
Regarding claim 16, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further teaches that the first user device selects a cell as a synchronization reference source in a case that a frequency for sidelink communication is included in a PC5 message and the synchronization priority is set to gNBeNB (See, Page 215, §5.8.6.2, first 4 lines, “The UE shall: 1> if the frequency used for NR sidelink communication is included in sl-FreqInfoToAddModList in sl-ConfigDedicatedNR within RRCReconfiguration message or included in sl-ConfigCommonNR within SIB12, and sl-SyncPriority is configured for the concerned frequency and set to gnbEnb: 2> select a cell as the synchronization reference source,” Emphasis Added), and the first user device considers the first user device in an in-coverage (IC) state (See, Page 212, §5.8.5.2, first two “1>” conditional statements, “1> if in coverage….has selected GNSS or the cell as synchronization reference,” and “1> if out of coverage….has selected GNSS or the cell as synchronization reference…” Accordingly, 3GPPTS38.331V16 discloses when the UE is in coverage (or out of coverage), the UE shall select a cell as the synchronization reference source as long as the above other conditions are met).
Regarding claim 17, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further teaches that the first user device is configured to transmit a synchronization signal in a case that the first user device considers the first user device is in an in-coverage (IC) state (See, Page 212, §5.8.5.2, first 5 lines, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall….if in coverage on the frequency used for NR sidelink communication,” and the first occurrence of “3>”, “transmit SSB…including the transmission of SLSS..,” Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 18, 3GPPTS38.331V16 teaches an apparatus of wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 14 as discussed above, and further teaches that the first user device is configured to transmit a synchronization signal in a case that an RSRP of a relay user device is lower than a configured threshold (See, Pages 212, §5.8.5.2, first line, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall,” last line “1> else:;” Page 213, the first occurrence of “2>,” …if syncTxThreshOoC is included in SidelinkPreconfigNR; and the UE is not directly synchronized to GNSS, and the PSBCH-RSRP measurement result of the selected SyncRef UE is below the value of syncTxThreshOoC;” and the first occurrence of “3>,”“transmit SSB…including the transmission of SLSS..,”).
3GPPTS38.331V16, however, fails to explicitly teach that the first user device considers the first user device is in-coverage (IC).
Cheng et al teaches an apparatus for wireless communication between a remote UE and a relay UE via PC5 interface (See, Fig. 2) wherein the first user device (Fig. 4, the Remote UE 401) considers the first user device is in-coverage (IC) (See, Figs. 1 and 4; ¶[0030] “A UE can become a Remote UE if its measured Uu signal is sufficiently bad (e.g., <=threshHighRemote). For in-coverage remote UE, because it is still in coverage of base station, remote UE 401 can measure Uu-RSRP, and can compare Uu-RSRP with PC5-RSRP directly or indirectly.” The UE 401, depending on the result of the comparison between Uu-RSRP and PC5-RSRP (i.e., the RSRP of the relay UE 402), may choose to become a remote UE for sidelink communication with the relay UE 402. Accordingly, Cheng et al. teaches an in-coverage UE making a decision based on the RSRP measurement of a relay UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus taught by 3GPPTS38.331V16 to incorporate the above teaching of Cheng et al. in order to allow a better service, throughput or latency by providing an opportunity to select a base station and/or relay UE with better signal strength or service (See, e.g., Cheng et al. ¶s[0021]).
Regarding claim 19, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further teaches that the first user device is configured to transmit a synchronization signal in a case that the first user device considers the first user device is out-of-coverage (OOC) (See, Pages 212, §5.8.5.2, first line, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall;” the second occurrence of “1>,” “if out of coverage on the frequency used for NR sidelink communication,…; and the first occurrence of “3>,”“transmit SSB…including the transmission of SLSS..”).
Regarding claim 20, 3GPPTS38.331V16 further teaches that the first user device is configured to transmit a synchronization signal in a case that the first user device considers the first user device is out-of-coverage (OOC) and at least one of conditions is met, and wherein the conditions include the network controlled synchronization transmission indication is configured and set to an activated state (See, Pages 212, §5.8.5.2, first line, “A UE capable of NR sidelink communication and SLSS/PSBCH transmission shall;” the second occurrence of “1>,” “if out of coverage on the frequency used for NR sidelink communication,…; the first occurrence of “2>,” “if networkControlledSyncTx is configured and set to on;” and the first occurrence of “3>,”“transmit SSB…including the transmission of SLSS,” Emphasis Added).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over 3GPPTS38.331V16 view of Cheng et al -1 (US Patent Publication No. US 2024/0015637).
Regarding claim 9, 3GPPTS38.331V16 teaches a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 3 as discussed above, but fails to explicitly teach that the PC5 message includes the SIB message that is not received from a gNB or network or cell directly.
Cheng et al -1 teaches a sidelink wireless communication method (See, Figs. 2 and 6) in which a PC5 message includes the SIB message that is not received from a gNB or network or cell directly (See, Figs. 2, #655 and ¶[0143]; ¶[0106], “for a dedicated SIB update, such as SIB12, the UE 115-a may transmit the updated SIB to the UE 115-b with a dedicated PC5-RRC message”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by 3GPPTS38.331V16 to incorporate the above teaching of Cheng et al-1. in order to achieve higher data rates, increased throughput, and greater spectral efficiency by providing greater connectivity, greater coverage, and shorter relay connection establishment (See, e.g., Cheng et al. ¶s[0051]).
Conclusion
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 March 30, 2026
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 3GPP TS 38.331 V16.6.0 (2021-09) Technical Specification “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol specification (Release 16);” published by 3GPP Organizational Partners, September 2021, Pp. 1-955.
2 This claim recitation, “a first configuration wherein the first configuration is a synchronization configuration,” is given its plain and broadest reasonable interpretation, that is, the first configuration and the synchronization configuration have the same meaning.
3 This claim limitation “PC5 message” is construed to encompass the examples of such message provided in Applicant’s own disclosure. Accordingly, the “frequency…included in a PC5 message” is construed to include the frequency included in the RRC message and/or specified in SIB12. See, Applicant’s disclosure ¶s[0084]-[0089]:
“[0084] In this example, a PC5 message is at least one of the following: [0085] 6. Uu RRC message that is received from PC5 interface. [0086] 7. Uu RRC message that is not received from gNB directly. [0087] 8. SIB message that is received from PC5 interface. [0088] 9. SIB message that is not received from a gNB or network or cell directly (e.g., obtains the SIB with a relay UE). [0089] 10. PC5 RRC or MAC or PHY signaling.”
4 3GPP TS 38.304 V16.6.0 (2021-09) Technical Specification “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; User Equipment (UE) procedures in Idle mode and RRC Inactive state (Release 16);” published by 3GPP Organizational Partners, September 2021, Pp. 1-39.
5 See, 3GPPTS38.304V16, at Page 36, third paragraph, “If the UE detects at least one cell on the frequency which UE is configured to perform NR sidelink communication on fulfilling the S criterion in accordance with clause 8.2.1, it shall consider itself to be in-coverage for NR sidelink communication on that frequency. If the UE cannot detect any cell on that frequency meeting the S criterion, it shall consider itself to be out-of-coverage for NR sidelink communication on that frequency,” Emphasis added.
6 Despite the modified or narrowed OoC condition, i.e., that there “no frequency [that] is in the IC state,” because each of the claims 3 and 10 (from which this claim 13 depend) so recite, the first user device is still in the IC state. Accordingly, as discussed in connection to claim 10, there is at least one frequency, i.e., the Sl frequency being used is in IC state, not satisfying this modified requirement for the OoC condition. Accordingly, as discussed in connection with claim 3 above, and as those other conditions recited in claim 3 has not changed, the first user device shall select a cell as the synchronization reference source.