DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claims 1 and 9, the term “approximately” is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of operating temperature of the method is therefore rendered indefinite because of the use of the undefined term "approximately."
Claims 2-6 and 8-9 are rejected via their dependency on claims 1 and 7 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al. (US Patent Application No. US 20180134581 A1) in view of Helal et al. (US Patent No. 11,124,530 B1).
With regard to claim 1, Wells et al. teaches a method of removing a chemical species from a liquid stream via contacting the liquid stream with a zirconium-based MOF (e.g. NU-1000, UiO-66) at 40°C and adsorbing the chemical species (Abstract; [0067]). Wells et al. teaches that the zirconium MOFs have significant thermal stability, up to >500°C [0039]. Wells et al. does not teach that the temperature of the liquid stream/the operating condition is approximately 45°C or greater. However, Helal et al. teaches a method of detecting copper or chromate ions in a fluid stream by contacting the stream with a zirconium-based MOF and adsorbing the ions (Abstract; Col. 15 lines 56-67). Helal et al. further teaches that the Zr-MOF can effectively capture copper or chromium oxy-anions (Col. 17, lines 27-56) at temperatures above 45°C (effective range between 10-80°C, Col. 22, line 64 – Col. 23, line 6) and the preferable range is 35-55°C. From the teachings of Helal et al., a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the UiO-66 MOFs utilized by Wells et al. have a larger workable range than the single tested treatment temperature. Therefore, between the taught temperature of Wells et al., the suggested workable temperatures of Helal et al., and the general understanding that solvent temperature has a relationship to adsorption kinetics, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the temperature at which the liquid to be treated is contacted with the zirconium-based MOF to be approximately 45°C or greater through routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would furthermore have found it obvious to select the instantly claimed temperatures through process optimization, since it has been held that there the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215.
With regard to claim 2, Wells et al. teaches that the pre-determined species to be removed from a liquid stream by the method may be an oxy-anion (Abstract).
With regard to claim 3, Wells et al. teaches that the pre-determined species to be removed from a liquid stream by the method may be a sulfate ion [0051], [0069] and Table S5 shows feasibility of sulfur adsorption by Zr-based MOF NU-1000.
With regard to claim 4, Wells et al. teaches that the liquid treated in the method may be a liquid stream used in a nuclear reactor system (Abstract).
With regard to claim 5, Wells et al. further teaches that the tested Zr-MOFs are operable at temperatures typical for processing of condensate cooling waters in electrical power plants [0009], that the MOFs discussed may be appropriate as demineralizing filters in nuclear power plants as ion exchange resins [0039], which are found in the primary coolant cleanup loop. Wells et al. specifically teaches that that the material and thus method may be used to treat the liquid from a primary coolant loop in a nuclear power plant [0070].
With regard to claim 7 and 9, Wells et al. teaches a method of removing a chemical species from a liquid stream via contacting the liquid stream with a zirconium-based MOF (e.g. NU-1000, UiO-66) and adsorbing the chemical species (Abstract). Wells et al. further teaches that the method may be used to remove antimony oxy-anions from the primary coolant loop of a nuclear power plant [0070]. Wells et al. does not teach that the method is conducted at approximately 45°C or higher, instead only disclosing testing done at 40°C. However,
With regard to claim 8, Wells et al. teaches that the pre-determined species to be removed from a liquid stream by the method may be a sulfate ion [0051], [0069] and Table S5 shows feasibility of sulfur adsorption by Zr-based MOF NU-1000.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al. in view of Helal et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Holbrook et al. (US Patent Application No. US-2022019927A1) as evidenced by Dunbar et al. (Energy Convers. Mgmt. 1995, 36(3), pp. pp. 149-159).
With regard to claim 6, Wells et al. does not teach a method that is conducted at approximately 150°C. However, Wells et al. teaches that the method can be used to remove ions from a nuclear reactor primary coolant loop [0070].
However, Holbrook et al. teaches that current cleanup loops for the primary coolant loop of a nuclear reactor operate at or below 128°F (53°C) in order to not cause degradation of the commercial ion exchange gels used to remove ions [0003]. In pressurized water reactors, the low operating temperature of the cleanup loop requires that the primary coolant loop is cooled from >300°C to ~50°C for processing and then reheated by heat exchangers, and it is known that the large temperature deficit between the primary coolant temperature and the cleanup loop temperature results in heat loss/thermal inefficiency in the reactor, as evidenced by calculations by Dunbar et al. (pp. 154, Eqn. 10 & lines 17-25). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious when using the material taught by Wells et al., which maintains all structural features at temperatures up to 150°C (see Fig. 6 of Planas, N. et al. incorporated by reference to Wells et al.), over commercial ion exchange resins in a nuclear reactor system to then increase the temperature at which the method is conducted in a primary coolant loop of a nuclear reactor to 150°C in order to improve overall thermal efficiency of the reactor while maintaining the integrity of the adsorbent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Drout et al. Efficient extraction of inorganic selenium from water by a Zr metal–organic framework: investigation of volumetric uptake capacity and binding motifs. CrystEngChem 2018, 20(40), pp. 6140-6145.
/MORDECAI M LEAVITT/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742