DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-9 are currently pending and are the subject of this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bich Ho et al (J Immunother Cancer 8:e001367, 12 pages, published 11/13/2020) in view of Hanks et al (US 2021/0077582).
Claim 1 is drawn to a method of treating pancreatic cancer (more specifically, pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (claim 2)) comprising the step of:
administering to a subject suffering from pancreatic cancer an effective amount of dapansutrile, or a pharmaceutically acceptable solvate thereof;
wherein, as recited by claims 7-8, the method further comprises administering gemcitabine to the subject.
Bich Ho et al – recognizing that “[p]ancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (PDAC) is among the most dreadful of malignancies with an extremely poor diagnosis” and, “[t]hus, novel effective treatments for advanced patients with PDAC should be developed to improve their prognosis” (Page 1, Column 2) – teach that “gemcitabine hydrochloride (GEM), which is one of the most standard chemotherapeutic drug treatments, in combination with anti-programmed cell death 1 (anti-PD-1) antibody (Ab) treatment... induced a prominent anticancer immune response” and “prolonged survival in the murine model of PDAC liver metastasis” (Page 1, Column 2 to Page 2, Column 1).
As such, Bich Ho et al teach a method of pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma comprising administering anti-PD-1 antibody along with gemcitabine. However, Bich Ho et al do not teach administration of dapansutrile.
Yet, Hanks et al teach “a method of increasing the efficacy of anti-PD-1... antibody immunotherapy comprising... administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an NLRP3 inhibitor together with an... anti-PD-1 antibody... such that the cancer is treated in the subject” (Paragraph 0013), wherein the cancer is “any cancer... including, but not limited to... pancreatic cancer” (Paragraph 0042) and the NLRP3 inhibitor is dapansutrile (Page 61, Compound 66). And, as further taught by Hanks et al, “[i]n another embodiment, the method further comprises administering another anti-cancer therapy [which]... may include... chemotherapy” (Paragraph 0050).
Accordingly, in view of Hanks et al, it would have been prima facie obvious to further administer dapansutrile in the method of Bich Ho et al (comprising the administration of anti-PD-1 antibody and gemcitabine) for the treatment of pancreatic cancer. It would have been obvious to do so in an effort to further increase “the efficacy of the anti-PD-1... antibody immunotherapy” administered according to the method of Bich Ho et al, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 3-4 are drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein dapansutrile is administered by systemic administration (claim 3), more specifically by oral administration (claim 4).
As taught by Hanks et al, “[p]harmaceutical compositions may take a form suitable for virtually any mode of administration, including, for example... oral” (Paragraph 0058).
As such, claims 3-4 are also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 5 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the method reduces tumor volume or tumor weight.
As indicated in Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2005), a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited” (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003)).
As such, claim 5 is also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 6 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the patient is not administered with cytokine induced killer.
Neither Bich Ho et al nor Hanks et al teach administering cytokine induced killer.
As such, claim 6 is also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 9 is drawn to the method of claim 8, wherein gemcitabine is administered intravenously.
Bich Ho et al teach administration of “50 mg/kg GEM (G0367; TCI, Tokyo, Japan) by tail vein injection” (Page 2, Column 1).
As such, claim 9 is also rejected as prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CRAIG D RICCI whose telephone number is (571) 270-5864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Thursday, and every other Friday, 7:30 am - 5:00 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/CRAIG D RICCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611