DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: sensing means in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (KR 20100037393) in view of Samil (KR 101113070).
As to claim 1, Shin discloses a diversion point water delivery control system comprising:
a headgate assembly with a first gate 120 configured to interface a first generally open
channeled waterway;
a headgate box 132 with a second gate 142 configured to interface a second generally open channeled waterway.
Shin does not disclose a powered actuator connected to and configured to move the first gate; sensing means adjacent to the headgate box for measuring water levels adjacent to the headgate box; and a powered control unit connected to the powered actuator and sensing means, the powered control unit having a computer with memory with one or more modules to operate the system.
Samil discloses a water gate type assembly comprising a power actuator (implicit, since the system of Samil automatically and remotely is configured to control opening and closing of a gate), sensing means 110 and a control unit 200. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a power actuator, sensing means, and a control unit as disclosed by Samil, since doing so provides the expected benefit of automating a water gate.
As to claim 2, Samil further discloses the one or more modules
including a module 210 with instructions to automatically adjust the position of the first gate to maintain a predetermined water flow to the first generally open channeled waterway from the second generally open channeled waterway despite water level fluctuation in the second generally open channeled waterway. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide modules as disclosed by Samil, since doing so provides the expected benefit of automating a water gate.
As to claim 3, Samil further discloses the powered control unit further having a transceiver 240 for receiving and sending one or more of user instructions, water level data, water flow data, and system status to an off-site location that is in communication with the system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a transceiver as disclosed by Samil, since doing so provides the expected benefit of communicating with an automated a water gate system.
As to claim 4, Samil further discloses wherein the off-site location is one or more of: a base station for amplifying transmissions to and from the system, network, cloud, mobile phone, laptop, and desktop computer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a off-site location as disclosed by Samil, since doing so provides the expected benefit of remotely communicating with an automated a water gate system.
As to claim 8, Shin discloses wherein the headgate box 132 and headgate assembly are preconfigured to be installed as a single unit at a water diversion point.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-19 are allowed.
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 5, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest wherein the sensing means is comprised of: a first sensor attached to a first side of the headgate box and configured to measure a first water level outside the headgate box; and a second sensor attached to a second side of the headgate box opposite the first sensor and configured to measure a second water level inside the headgate box.
As to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest a diversion point water delivery control system wherein
a headgate box configured to generally surround the first gate and first aperture and form a volume adjacent thereto, the headgate box having a second gate configured to open and close a second aperture located on the headgate box that connects to a second generally open channeled waterway;
a first sensor attached to a first side of the headgate box and configured to measure a first water level outside the headgate box;
a second sensor attached to a second side of the headgate box opposite the first sensor and configured to measure a second water level inside the headgate box.
As to claim 16, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest a diversion point water delivery control system wherein
a headgate box configured to generally surround the first gate and first aperture and form a volume adjacent thereto, the headgate box having a second gate configured to open and close a second aperture located on the headgate box that connects to a second generally open channeled waterway;
a first sensor attached to a side of the headgate box and configured to measure a first
water level outside the headgate box;
a second sensor attached to a side of the headgate box opposite the first sensor and
configured to measure a second water level inside the headgate box.
Conclusion
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678