Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the Applicant argues that the inner core present in Shiono fails to teach or suggest a single non-magnetic nonferrous block. At least paragraph 80 the inner core is described as non-magnetic with, in at least figure 5, a central hole provided along the centerline. For at least those reasons the amended claim 1 is rejected. Further, with respect to Applicant’s arguments about Fujii’s dovetail configuration lacking motivation to combine with the shaft present in Shiono the Examiner is of the position that interlocking the rotor of Shiono with the dovetail grooves of Fujii would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to increase the rotor rigidity and in turn reduces damages associated with Nosie and unwanted vibrations. The rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiono et al (US 20210203200 A1) in view of Fujii et al (US 20170317543 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Shiono teaches a rotor, comprising: an inner core comprising a central axial hole (fig. 9, axis defined by shaft 5); a plurality of permanent magnets (fig. 5, magnets 40); a plastic body (fig. 5, molded resin 50, the Examiner is interpreting the resin as a type of plastic); and a plurality of outer iron cores (fig. 5, rotor core 25); wherein: a plurality of radial grooves are formed between every two adjacent outer iron cores (fig. 6, slits 28), and the plurality of permanent magnets are correspondingly disposed in the plurality of radial grooves (paragraph 110 “the slits 28 where the magnets 40 are to be inserted may be secured between the divided cores 32 of each core unit 25A, 25B, and 25C.”), respectively; the inner core the inner core is a single non-magnetic nonferrous metal block (paragraph 80 “Furthermore, the rotary shaft 5 may be formed by a non-magnetic body such as an aluminum sintered material or a SUS304, or be formed by iron and so on that are magnetic body.”) and further comprises a circumferential outer wall comprising a plurality of dovetail grooves spaced apart (fig. 11 and paragraph 133 “in the embodiments described above, a case that the shape of the protrusions 32a and the grooves 50a are dovetail shape is described”); each of the plurality of outer iron cores comprises an inner end comprising a dovetail protrusion (fig. 11, protrusion 32a); the plurality of outer iron cores are disposed around the circumferential outer wall of the inner core (fig. 10-11, divided cores 32 are placed around void portion 21), and dovetail protrusions of the plurality of outer iron cores are embedded in the plurality of dovetail grooves, respectively (fig. 11 and paragraph 133 “in the embodiments described above, a case that the shape of the protrusions 32a and the grooves 50a are dovetail shape is described”); and the plastic body integrates the inner core, the plurality of outer iron cores and the plurality of permanent magnets into a whole body (paragraph 80 “a molded resin (a non-magnetic body) 50 that is filled and solidified between the rotary shaft 5 and the rotor core 25 to couple the rotary shaft 5 and the rotor core 25”),, and a part of the plastic body is embedded in the gap (paragraph 101 “The molded resin (non-magnetic body) 50 that is a non-magnetic body is filled between the rotor core 25 and the rotary shaft 5”).
Shiono does not teach “a gap is formed between a front end of each of the dovetail protrusions and a bottom end of each of the plurality of dovetail grooves.”
Fujii teaches a gap is formed between a front end of each of the dovetail protrusions and a bottom end of each of the plurality of dovetail grooves (figs. 3-5 and paragraph 100 “in the second embodiment, the gap S is also formed between the lower base 34a of the dovetail groove section 34 formed in the rotary shaft 21 and the lower base 36a of the dovetail protrusion 36 formed at the rotor core 22.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the rotor of Shiono with the dovetail grooves of Fujii in order to more securely lock the rotor pieces together, thereby increasing the rotor rigidity and in turn reduces damages associated with Nosie and unwanted vibrations.
With respect to claim 3, Shiono in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Shiono further teaches a material for the inner core is aluminum alloy, or austenitic stainless steel, or copper material (paragraph 80 “Furthermore, the rotary shaft 5 may be formed by a non-magnetic body such as an aluminum sintered material or a SUS304, or be formed by iron and so on that are magnetic body.”).
With respect to claim 4 Shiono in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Shiono further teaches a distance between the front end of each of the dovetail protrusions and the bottom end of each of the plurality of dovetail grooves is L1 (see figure 10B marked below); a distance between an outer circumferential wall of the plastic body and an outer circumferential wall of the plurality of outer iron cores is L2 (see figure 10B marked below); and L1>2.5xL2 (see at least figure 10B. Shiono discloses the claimed invention except for the specific value L1>2.5xL2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select this range of values for the rotor geometry in order to better shape the rotor, thereby increasing the roundness of the rotor which in turn prevents additional noise and edge rubbing of the rotor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Here, the value of the ratio would have been found after iterating on the motor geometry in order to improve the magnetic flux shape.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the rotor of Shiono with the dovetail grooves of Fujii in order to more securely lock the rotor pieces together, thereby increasing the rotor rigidity and in turn reduces damages associated with Nosie and unwanted vibrations.
With respect to claim 5, Shiono teaches a distance between the outer circumferential wall of the plurality of outer iron cores and a center of the central axial hole is C (See figure 10B marked above), and C = r x cos(10-15), wherein r represents a radius of the rotor (see at least figure 10B. Shiono discloses the claimed invention except for the specific value C = r x cos(10-15). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select this range of values for the rotor geometry in order to reduce the torque pulsation and suppress the noise within the rotor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Here, the value of the ratio would have been found after iterating on the motor geometry in order to improve the magnetic flux shape.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to combine the rotor of Shiono with the dovetail grooves of Fujii in order to more securely lock the rotor pieces together, thereby increasing the rotor rigidity and in turn reduces damages associated with Nosie and unwanted vibrations.
With respect to claim 6, Shiono in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Shiono further teaches an axial length D1 of the plurality of permanent magnets is larger than an axial length D2 of the plurality of outer iron cores (fig. 3, magnets 40 protrude axially).
With respect to claim 7, Shiono in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Shiono further teaches the dovetail protrusion comprises a neck connected to the front end (fig. 11, point of divided core at circumferential end surfaces 28a), and the neck is narrower than the front end (see figure 11, necks are narrower than head at 50a); and the plurality of dovetail grooves comprises a narrow opening and a wide inside (see figure 11, dovetails at groove 50a have narrow opening and wide insides), and the dovetail protrusion is embedded in the dovetail groove via the narrow opening (see figure 11, dovetail is embedded in grooves).
With respect to claim 8, Shiono in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Shiono further teaches each of the plurality of outer iron cores comprises a through hole (figs. 6-10, concave-convex portions 35); during injection molding, a part of the plastic body is embedded in the through hole (paragraph 128 “In addition, the radial protrusion portions 51, 52 of the molded resin 50 are provided to cover a portion of the concave-convex portions 35 that link the side core plates 30 and the divided cores 32”).
With respect to claim 9, Shiono in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Shiono further teaches each of the plurality of outer iron cores further comprises a location hole (fig. 6, concave portions 35b).
With respect to claim 10, Shiono in view of Fujii teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Shiono further teaches motor, comprising a rotation shaft (fig. 2, shaft 5), a rotor of claim 1 (fig. 2, rotor 4), a stator assembly (fig. 1, stator 3), and a housing (fig. 1, stator housing 2).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834