DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Applicant’s amendment to the specification has overcome the objection set forth in the previous Office Action and has therefore been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1 and 20 has changed the interpretation of the claims and no longer invokes 35 USC 112(f).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-16 of the remarks, filed 9/18/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 19, and 20 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously cited but unapplied art necessitated by the current amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 12, 14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ogawa (WO 2019188429) in view of Ogawa (JP 2019-175201), as cited in the IDS dated 8/23/24, reference will be made to the translations furnished by the applicant.
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Ogawa discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which stores a program thereon, wherein the program causes a computer to function, an assistance control method, and an assistance control device comprising at least one processor, wherein:
at least one processor is configured to:
obtain position information of a first movable body detected from an image captured by a capturing device (see paras 39-40, 42-43, 45-46, and 48, a plurality of cameras 60 and LIDAR 62 capture images of moving objects and obtain position information);
perform a recognition process by comparing the position information of the first movable body with each position information of the second movable bodies to determine whether a degree of coincidence of the position information of the first movable body with each position information of the second movable bodies is higher than a predetermined value, and recognizing, as a single movable body, a combination of the first movable body and the second movable bodies, when the degree of coincidence of the position information is determined to be higher than the predetermined value (see paras 5, 17, 53-54, and 65, motion management system 50 uses information obtained from the cameras 60 and LIDAR 62 to track objects in motion and determine if a first moving object is the identical to a second moving object, an integration processing unit 124 determines two moving objects are identical based on location and time, threshold values are used in the determination process); and
perform control for traffic assistance for a movable body based on position information of the single movable body obtained by applying the recognition process to the position information of the first movable body and the position information of the second movable bodies (see paras 27, 63-65, 76, and 81, warning notification unit 128 sends traffic assistance information to a moving object to help avoid a collision based on the information obtained by the motion management system 50);
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to limit position information, among the position information of the first movable body and the position information of the second movable bodies, to which the recognition process is to be applied, to position information within a predetermined range which is set based on a position of the capturing device as a reference (see paras 49 and 65, the plurality of cameras 60 of the motion management system 50 each capture an image of a predetermined imaging range).
Ogawa ‘429 does not disclose expressly obtain position information of second movable bodies measured by each of the second movable bodies, wherein the second movable bodies are different from the first movable body.
Ogawa ‘201 discloses obtain position information of second movable bodies measured by each of the second movable bodies, wherein the second movable bodies are different from the first movable body (see paras 23, 49, 53, 55-60, and 63-66, each vehicle has a tracking unit 120 that obtains vehicle information, such as position, speed, and direction of movement, and sends this information to sharing server 66, an aggregation unit 112 is then used to determine all the objects moving in a certain area of the prime vehicle).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the obtaining of position information of a moving body measure by itself, as described by Ogawa ‘201, with the system of Ogawa ‘429.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to more accurately track moving objects thereby preventing accidents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ogawa ‘201 with Ogawa ‘429 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1, 19, and 20.
Regarding claim 2, Ogawa ‘429 further discloses wherein the predetermined range is a predetermined and fixed range including a position where the capturing device is installed (see paras 49 and 65, the plurality of cameras 60 of the motion management system 50 each capture an image of a predetermined imaging range).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Ogawa 429 further discloses compare a position indicated by the position information of the first movable body to a position indicated by the position information of the second movable bodies for each combination of the first movable body and the second movable bodies and recognize, as a single movable body, a combination of movable bodies having a degree of coincidence of positions which is higher than a predetermined value (see paras 5, 17, 53-54, and 65, motion management system 50 uses information obtained from the cameras 60 and LIDAR 62 to track objects in motion and determine if a first moving object is the identical to a second moving object, an integration processing unit 124 determines two moving objects are identical based on location and time, threshold values are used in the determination process).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Ogawa ‘429 further discloses recognize, as a single movable body, a combination of movable bodies having the degree of coincidence of positions which is higher than a predetermined value for a predetermined time (see paras 53-54, motion management system 50 uses information obtained from the cameras 60 and LIDAR 62 to track objects in motion and determine if a first moving object is the identical to a second moving object, an integration processing unit 124 determines two moving objects are identical based on location and time, threshold values are used in the determination process to determine a degree of coincidence).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Ogawa ‘429 further discloses compare a moving direction identified from a history of the position information of the first movable body to a moving direction identified from a history of the position information of the second movable bodies for each combination of the first movable body and the second movable bodies and recognize, as a single movable body, a combination of movable bodies having a degree of coincidence of positions which is higher than a predetermined value and a degree of coincidence of moving directions which is higher than a predetermined value (see paras 5, 17, 50-54, and 65, motion management system 50 uses information obtained from the cameras 60 and LIDAR 62 to track objects in motion and determine if a first moving object is the identical to a second moving object, server 66 stores history information related to the obtained objects, an integration processing unit 124 determines two moving objects are identical based on location and time, threshold values are used in the determination process).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Ogawa ‘429 further discloses recognize, as a single movable body, a combination of movable bodies having a degree of coincidence of positions which is higher than a predetermined value for a predetermined time and a degree of coincidence of moving directions which is higher than a predetermined value for a predetermined time (see paras 53-54, motion management system 50 uses information obtained from the cameras 60 and LIDAR 62 to track objects in motion and determine if a first moving object is the identical to a second moving object, an integration processing unit 124 determines two moving objects are identical based on location and time, threshold values are used in the determination process to determine a degree of coincidence).
Regarding claim 10, Ogawa ‘429 further discloses control for transmitting an alarm to at least one movable body among movable bodies which will possibly approach each other if it is determined that there are the movable bodies which will approach each other within a predetermined time based on position information of the movable bodies obtained by applying the recognition process to the position information of the first movable body and the position information of the second movable bodies (see paras 27, 63-65, 76, and 81, warning notification unit 128 sends traffic assistance information to a moving object to help avoid a collision based on the information obtained by the motion management system 50).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ogawa ‘429 and Ogawa ‘201 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kondo et al. (US 2020/0241131), cited in the IDS dated 8/23/24.
Ogawa ‘429 and Ogawa ‘201 do not disclose expressly predict a position of the movable bodies that have gone out from within a capturing range of the capturing device to outside of the capturing range; and determine whether there are the movable bodies which will approach each other within a predetermined time based on the position of the movable body which is predicted and a position indicated by position information of another movable body.
Kondo discloses predict a position of the movable bodies that have gone out from within a capturing range of the capturing device to outside of the capturing range; and determine whether there are the movable bodies which will approach each other within a predetermined time based on the position of the movable body which is predicted and a position indicated by position information of another movable body (see Fig. 14, abstract, and paras 42, 57-58, and 90, The object detection apparatus derives recognition information indicating a state of a target object, and predicts a state of the target object at a next second observation timing, based on the recognition information derived at a first observation timing, the control apparatus 2 predicts the travelling direction of the target object based on a speed vector of the target object).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the position prediction of moving objects, as described by Kondo, with the system of Ogawa ‘429 and Ogawa ‘201.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to avoid the collision of moving objects with each other or other moving or stationary objects.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kondo with Ogawa ‘429 and Ogawa ‘201 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, 9, 13, 15, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK R MILIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681