DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/767,959 filed on 07/09/2024.
Claims 1 – 11 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “different energies” as used in claims 1 and 10 is unclear and vague because current specification doesn’t clarify much what type of different energies will be stored in the storage. It is unclear to give public notice to what an applicant regards as the invention. The specification does not explicitly define such term/limitation. Examiner requesting to clarify claim language or amending the specification as needed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being by Mizuno et al. (US 2021/0265816 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mizuno discloses: a constant current emission circuit [see abstract: A laser emitting device has a constant current source], wherein the constant current emission circuit comprises:
a constant current power adjustable module [see para: 0017; The drive circuit 42 adjusts activation and inhibition of a power supply operation of the charging capacitor 30 to the laser diode 44], comprising
an energy storage element, wherein an input end of the constant current power adjustable module is connected to an emission power supply of output power supply voltage, for receiving the output power supply voltage to charge the energy storage element [see para: 0026; FIG. 3 is a timing chart showing the light emission operation of the laser emitters 40_1, 40_2, . . . , and 40_n in the laser emitting device 10 according to the exemplary embodiment shown in FIG. 1. FIG. 4 is a timing chart showing a light emission operation of the laser emitters 40R_1, 40R_2, . . . , and 40R_n in the laser emitting device 10R according to the comparative example shown in FIG. 2. See para: 0027; In an emission operation period of each of the laser emitters 40R_1, 40R_2, . . . , and 40R_n in the laser emitting device 10R according to the comparative example shown in FIG. 2, the charging capacitor 48 is charged by supplying a constant voltage Vs supplied from a constant voltage source 20R during a charging period determined by a charging signal Schg transmitted from the control part 50R to the charge circuit 46. In this charging operation, the terminal voltage Vc of the charging capacitor 48 varies to produce the constant voltage Vs according to response characteristics determined by a capacitance C of the charging capacitor 48 and an output impedance of the charge circuit 46, etc. A charging current Ich having an impulse state is generated as a terminal current Ic of the charging capacitor 48. The charging capacitor 48 is charged to have the constant voltage Vs by the charging current Ich having an impulse state during the charging period], the constant current power adjustable module is configured to provide a constant current to the energy storage element [see para: 0015; The constant current source (CCS) 20 has two functions, i.e. a constant voltage source and a constant current source. The constant current source 20 operates as a constant current source which supply the constant charging current Ich to the laser emitters 40_1, 40_2, . . . , and 40_n until a terminal voltage Vc of the charging capacitor 30 becomes not more than a constant voltage] and adjust energy stored in the energy storage element [see para: 0016; The function as the constant voltage source regulates this constant voltage as a threshold voltage. When the terminal voltage Vc of the charging capacitor 30 has such a constant voltage, the constant current source 20 operates as the constant voltage source when the terminal voltage Vc of the charging capacitor 30 reaches the constant voltage, and the constant charging current Ich becomes zero]; and
a constant voltage emission module, comprising a laser [see abstract; A laser emitting device has a constant current source, a single charging capacitor, and one or more laser emitters],
wherein the laser is connected to the energy storage element, and the laser is configured to emit a laser beam when the energy storage element discharges energy, and different energies stored in the energy storage element correspond to different laser emission powers [see para: 0030; In the laser emitting device 10R according to the comparative example shown in FIG. 4, repetition of charging and discharging of the charging capacitor 48 occurs during the emission operation period of each of the laser emitters 40R_1, 40R_2, . . . , and 40R_n in each of the laser emitters 40R_1, 40R_2, . . . , and 40R_n emits laser light in order].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 – 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno et al. (US 2021/0265816 A1) in view of Suzuki (US 2014/0077714 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Mizuno discloses: “wherein the constant current power adjustable module further comprises:
a first control circuit, one end of the first control circuit is connected to the emission power supply, and the other end of the first control circuit is connected to the energy storage element [see para: 0013; FIG. 1 is a view showing a schematic structure of the laser emitting device 10 according to the exemplary embodiment of the disclosure. As shown in FIG. 1, the laser emitting device 10 according to the exemplary embodiment has a charging capacitor 30, a plurality of laser emitters 40_1, 40_2, . . . , and 40_n (where n is a positive integer), and a control part 50. In the exemplary embodiment having an improved structure, a constant current source (CCS) 20 supplies a constant charging current Ich to the charging capacitor 30 so as to charge the charging capacitor 30 using the constant charging current Ich. The laser emitters 40_1, 40_2, . . . , and 40_n are arranged electrically in parallel with the charging capacitor 30]; and
a second control circuit, one end of the second control circuit is connected to a second end of the energy storage element, and the other end of the second control circuit is grounded [see para: 0013; FIG. 1, Examiner notes that this is common in the art or a design choice for having second control circuit which is connected to a second end of the storage element],
Mizuno does not explicitly disclose: “wherein when the energy storage element is charged, the first control circuit and the second control circuit are both turned on and a turn-on time of the first control circuit and the second control circuit is controllable, so that the energy storage element is charged by the emission power supply through the first control circuit and the energy stored in the energy storage element is controlled, and a current flowing through the first control circuit and flowing into the energy storage element is a constant current, and when the energy storage element discharges energy, at least the first control circuit is turned off”.
However, Suzuki, from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: “wherein when the energy storage element is charged, the first control circuit and the second control circuit are both turned on and a turn-on time of the first control circuit and the second control circuit is controllable, so that the energy storage element is charged by the emission power supply through the first control circuit and the energy stored in the energy storage element is controlled, and a current flowing through the first control circuit and flowing into the energy storage element is a constant current, and when the energy storage element discharges energy, at least the first control circuit is turned off [see para: 0133; In the present embodiment, however, the switching power supply circuit 13 and the switching power supply ontroller 13 e continue operating after the period P1 is over (i.e., after the light-emitting element 2 is turned off). This can compensate for the deficiency in the voltage Vout2 of the light emitting element 2 as described above, even if the voltage Vout2 of the light-emitting element 2 decreases during the period P1. Specifically, during a period P5 from the time when the circuit of the light-emitting element 2 is opened by the first switching element 16 (i.e., at the time of falling of the timing signal A and at the end of the period P1) to the time when the switching power supply circuit 13 and the switching power supply controller 13 e stop operating (i.e., at the time of falling of the timing signal D), an electric charge is charged into an output capacitor 15 and a parasitic capacitor in the wiring from the output of the switching power supply circuit 13 to the light-emitting element 2, resulting in a gradual increase in the voltage Vout2 of the light-emitting element 2].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Laser emitting device disclosed by Mizuno to add the teachings of Suzuki as above, in order to provide a means for improving constant-current power adjustable module between the emission power supply and an energy storage element, so the storage element is charged with controlled current rather than an uncontrolled surge, there will be multiple control circuit connected to the storage element controlled at the same time or individually by the controller [Suzuki see para: 0133].
Regarding claim 3, Mizuno and Suzuki disclose all the limitation of claim 1 and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Mizuno does not explicitly disclose: “wherein the first control circuit comprises:
a first high-side switch, wherein a drain of the first high-side switch is connected to the emission power supply, a source of the first high-side switch is connected to a first end of the energy storage element, and a controlled end of the first high-side switch is configured to receive a power supply control signal”.
However, Suzuki, from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: “wherein the first control circuit comprises:
a first high-side switch, wherein a drain of the first high-side switch is connected to the emission power supply, a source of the first high-side switch is connected to a first end of the energy storage element, and a controlled end of the first high-side switch is configured to receive a power supply control signal [see para: 0057; The timing signal B is a periodic pulse signal. When the timing signal B is at a low level, the second switching element 14 a is off and the selection switch 14 is in the first selection state, namely, in the state where the light-emitting element 2 is electrically connected to the inductor 13 c. When the timing signal B is at a high level, the second switching element 14 a is on and the selection switch 14 is in the second selection state, namely, in the state where the light-emitting element 2 is electrically disconnected from the inductor 13 c. The period during which the timing signal B is at a high level is hereinafter referred to as a period P4. And see para: 0058; 0059].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Laser emitting device disclosed by Mizuno to add the teachings of Suzuki as above, in order to provide a means for improving constant-current power adjustable module between the emission power supply and an energy storage element, so the storage element is charged with controlled current rather than an uncontrolled surge, a drain and high side switch can be connected to the storage element to control drainage of current or power supply [Suzuki see para: 0057].
Regarding claims 4, “wherein the first control circuit comprises: a first switch connected in series between the emission power supply and a first end of the energy storage element” is only a matter of design choice because it only requires based on the inventive specification electrical components will be connected in a specific order.
Regarding claim 5, Mizuno and Suzuki disclose all the limitation of claim 2 and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Mizuno does not explicitly disclose: “wherein the second control circuit comprises:
a first low-side switch, wherein a drain of the first low-side switch is connected to the second end of the energy storage element, and a controlled end of the first low-side switch is configured to receive an energy storage control signal; and
a second low-side switch, wherein a drain of the second low-side switch is grounded, a source of the second low-side switch is connected to a source of the first low-side switch, and a controlled end of the second low-side switch is configured to receive the energy storage control signal”.
However, Suzuki, from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: “wherein the second control circuit comprises:
a first low-side switch, wherein a drain of the first low-side switch is connected to the second end of the energy storage element, and a controlled end of the first low-side switch is configured to receive an energy storage control signal [see para: 0045; The selection switch 14 switches between a first selection state where the second switching element 14 a is off and a second selection state where the second switching element 14 a on. When the selection switch 14 is in the first selection state, the selection switch 14 electrically connects the light-emitting element 2 and the output capacitor 15 to the inductor 13 c (i.e., the output of the switching power supply circuit 13) through the later-described rectifier element 14 b in the selection switch 14, and electrically disconnects the ground 17 from the inductor 13 c. When the selection switch 14 is in the second selection state, the selection switch 14 electrically disconnects the light-emitting element 2 and the output capacitor 15 from the inductor 13 c due to the rectifying action of the rectifier element 14 b, and electrically connects the inductor 13 c to the ground 17]; and
a second low-side switch, wherein a drain of the second low-side switch is grounded, a source of the second low-side switch is connected to a source of the first low-side switch, and a controlled end of the second low-side switch is configured to receive the energy storage control signal [see para: 0047; The selection switch 14 includes the second switching element 14 a and the rectifier element (or backflow prevention diode) 14 b. The second switching element 14 a is an N-channel field-effect transistor. The second switching element 14 a has a drain connected to the inductor 13 c through the resistor 19, a source connected to the ground 17 and a gate connected to the controller 12. The anode of the rectifier element 14 b is connected to the drain of the second switching element 14 a. The anode of the rectifier element 14 b is connected to the inductor 13 c through the resistor 19. The cathode of the rectifier element 14 b is connected to the anode of the light-emitting element 2. And see para: 0048; 0049].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Laser emitting device disclosed by Mizuno to add the teachings of Suzuki as above, in order to provide a means for improving constant-current power adjustable module between the emission power supply and an energy storage element, so the storage element is charged with controlled current rather than an uncontrolled surge, a drain and a low side and high side switch can be connected to the storage element to control drainage of current or power supply [Suzuki see para: 0045 and 0047].
Regarding claims 6, “wherein the second control circuit comprises: a first diode, wherein an anode of the first diode is connected to the second end of the energy storage element, and a cathode of the first diode is grounded” is only a matter of design choice because it only requires mere selection of connecting positive or negative terminal of the diode, in this case cathode and anode, which will be connected to the electrical components at a specific order.
Regarding claim 7, Mizuno and Suzuki disclose all the limitation of claim 2 and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Mizuno discloses: “wherein the laser comprises:
a laser diode, wherein an anode of the laser diode is grounded, and a cathode of the laser diode is connected to an anode of the first diode and the second end of the energy storage element [see para: 0018; In each of the laser emitters 40_1, 40_2, . . . , and 40_n in the laser emitting device 10 according to the exemplary embodiment shown in FIG. 1, an anode side of the laser diode 44 is connected to an output terminal of the drive circuit 42. However, the concept of the present disclosure does not limit this structure. It is acceptable for the anode side of the laser diode 44 to be connected to the charging capacitor 30, and for a cathode side of the laser diode 44 to be connected to the drive circuit 42].
Regarding claim 8, Mizuno and Suzuki disclose all the limitation of claim 2 and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Mizuno does not explicitly disclose: “wherein the second control circuit comprises:
a second switch connected in series between the second end of the energy storage element and a grounding end”.
However, Suzuki, from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: “wherein the second control circuit comprises:
a second switch connected in series between the second end of the energy storage element and a grounding end [see para: 0010; a second switching element disposed between the inductor and a reference potential portion, the boost switching power supply circuit repeatedly turning on and off the second switching element to repeatedly turn on and off an input current flowing through the inductor and to repeatedly accumulate and release energy in and from the inductor so as to convert input power to output power].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Laser emitting device disclosed by Mizuno to add the teachings of Suzuki as above, in order to provide a means for improving constant-current power adjustable module between the emission power supply and an energy storage element, so the storage element is charged with controlled current rather than an uncontrolled surge, a second switch can be connected in series between the second end of the energy storage element as per design requirement [Suzuki see para: 0010].
Regarding claim 9, Mizuno and Suzuki disclose all the limitation of claim 1 and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Mizuno does not explicitly disclose: “wherein the constant voltage emission module further comprises:
an emission control switch, wherein a source of the emission control switch is connected to the laser, a drain of the emission control switch is connected to a first end of the energy storage element, and a controlled end of the emission control switch is configured to receive an emission control signal, and a cathode of the laser is connected to a second end of the energy storage element,
wherein when the energy storage element is charged, the emission control switch is turned off, and when the energy storage element discharges energy, the emission control switch is turned on”.
However, Suzuki, from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: “wherein the constant voltage emission module further comprises:
an emission control switch, wherein a source of the emission control switch is connected to the laser, a drain of the emission control switch is connected to a first end of the energy storage element, and a controlled end of the emission control switch is configured to receive an emission control signal, and a cathode of the laser is connected to a second end of the energy storage element [see para: 0047; The selection switch 14 includes the second switching element 14 a and the rectifier element (or backflow prevention diode) 14 b. The second switching element 14 a is an N-channel field-effect transistor. The second switching element 14 a has a drain connected to the inductor 13 c through the resistor 19, a source connected to the ground 17 and a gate connected to the controller 12. The anode of the rectifier element 14 b is connected to the drain of the second switching element 14 a. The anode of the rectifier element 14 b is connected to the inductor 13 c through the resistor 19. The cathode of the rectifier element 14 b is connected to the anode of the light-emitting element 2],
wherein when the energy storage element is charged, the emission control switch is turned off, and when the energy storage element discharges energy, the emission control switch is turned on [see para: 0053; Accordingly, the chopper switching element 13 a is turned on and off to convert the input voltage Vin and the input current Iin to the output voltage Vout1 and the output current Iout1, respectively, when the second input (i.e., a timing signal B) of the OR gate 18, described later, is at a low level. During the period P2, on the other hand, the switching power supply circuit 13 and the switching power supply controller 13 e are stopped, and the output signal C from the switching power supply controller 13 e remains constant at a low level without oscillating. Accordingly, the chopper switching element 13 a remains in the off-state].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Laser emitting device disclosed by Mizuno to add the teachings of Suzuki as above, in order to provide a means for improving constant-current power adjustable module between the emission power supply and an energy storage element, so the storage element is charged with controlled current rather than an uncontrolled surge, emission control switch and a laser will be connected to storage element at a specific order so that emission control switch can be controlled based on charged or discharged [Suzuki see para: 0047; 0053].
Regarding claims 11, Mizuno and Suzuki disclose all the limitation of claim 10 and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Mizuno does not explicitly disclose: “further comprising: a laser array, which is composed of M*N lasers, wherein M and N respectively are a number of rows and a number of columns of the lasers in the laser array, M and N are both positive integers, and at least one of M and N is greater than or equal to 2”.
However, Suzuki, from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: “further comprising: a laser array, which is composed of M*N lasers, wherein M and N respectively are a number of rows and a number of columns of the lasers in the laser array, M and N are both positive integers, and at least one of M and N is greater than or equal to 2 [see para: 0154; The excitation light sources 42 a are two-dimensionally arrayed. Each of the excitation light sources 42 a is a laser diode to emit an excitation laser beam. The wavelength band of the excitation laser beam emitted from each excitation light source 42 a is the blue light band or the ultraviolet band, but is not limited thereto]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Laser emitting device disclosed by Mizuno to add the teachings of Suzuki as above, in order to provide a means for improving constant-current power adjustable module between the emission power supply and an energy storage element, so the storage element is charged with controlled current rather than an uncontrolled surge, two dimensional laser array can used to determine or calculate distance and speed of target objects [Suzuki see para: 0154].
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno et al. (US 2021/0265816 A1) in view of Suzuki (US 2014/0077714 A1) further in view of Du (CN 219456506 U).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected under the same art and evidentiary limitations as determined for the method of claim 1.
Mizuno and Suzuki does not explicitly disclose: “a laser receiving circuit, connected to the controller and configured to receive an echo light formed by a laser beam emitted by the constant current emission circuit”.
However, Du, from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: “a laser receiving circuit, connected to the controller and configured to receive an echo light formed by a laser beam emitted by the constant current emission circuit [see page: 6; lines: 5; The receiving device 3 provided in the fifth embodiment can adjust the gain of the short-range detection and the long-range detection so that the gain of the receiving device (including the bias voltage of the photosensor 31 and the gain coefficient of the variable gain amplification circuit 32) and the detection distance of the lidar system to which the receiving device 3 is applied are in positive correlation, that is, the receiving device in the fifth embodiment is a dual-gain adjustable receiving device in which the gains of the photosensor 31 and the variable gain amplification circuit at the rear end are both adjustable. After the photoelectric sensor 31 receives the echo light signal, the gain of the receiving device is adjusted according to the detection distance required by the laser radar system applying the receiving device 3, wherein the bias voltage of the photoelectric sensor 31 and the gain coefficient of the variable gain amplifying circuit 2 are in a sign correlation with the detection distance, so that the superposition saturation of the echo light signal and the stray light signal in a short distance can be avoided, the echo can be detected]
Therefore, It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system by Mizuno to add the teachings of Suzuki as above, to further incorporate the teachings of Du to provide a means for improving constant-current power adjustable module between the emission power supply and an energy storage element, so the storage element is charged with controlled current rather than an uncontrolled surge, a laser receiver connected to the controller to receive an echo light formed by a laser beam [Du see page: 6; para: 5].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakajima et al (US 2011/0311260 A1).
/MASUM BILLAH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486