Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 01/15/2025, 07/28/2025 and 06/04/2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Applicant provide ZHANG et al. (US 2024/0014996 Al, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses, a method for setting subband full duplex (SBFD) resource, applied to a user equipment (UE) (see e.g., “techniques and apparatuses for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) resource configuration”, [0001] and/or Fig. 7, signaling between UE and Network node), comprising:
receiving, by the UE, a first configuration from a network device, wherein the first configuration indicates a plurality of transmission directions for a time period (see e.g., “the network node may output the first configuration for transmission (e.g., by an RU) to the UE. The first configuration may be associated with a TDD pattern…the first configuration may include a UE-dedicated configuration. The first configuration may configure the set of resources to an uplink format, a downlink format, or a flexible format. For example, a full bandwidth of the set of resources may be configured to one of the uplink format, the downlink format, or the flexible format. The set of resources may include one or more time resources, such as one or more slots, one or more symbols, or a combination thereof.”, Fig. 7, [0096]);
receiving, by the UE, a second configuration from the network device, wherein the second configuration indicates at least one SBFD resource within the time period (see e.g., “the network node may output a second configuration configuring one or more resources, of the set of resources, to an SBFD format. The second configuration may configure the one or more resources (e.g., one or more slots, one or more symbols, or a combination thereof) to the SBFD format based at least in part on the one or more resources satisfying a condition. The condition may define one or more rules for reconfiguring a resource or a sub-band of a resource from a first format (or sub-band) to a second format (or sub-band)… Particular examples of the condition are provided in connection with reference numbers 730, 740…”, Fig. 7, [0097]) ; and
performing, by the UE, a communication operation with the network device according to the first configuration and the second configuration (see e.g., “the UE and the network node may perform the downlink transmission or the uplink transmission. For example, the UE may transmit, and the network node may receive, the uplink transmission. As another example, the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, the downlink transmission”, Fig. 7, [0107 and/or “a legacy UE may be allowed to receive a downlink transmission in an SBFD resource, with SBFD operation at the network node, in a downlink sub-band only. Thus, the network node can implement SBFD communication in an SBFD resource for legacy UEs performing one-directional communication, which improves resource utilization at the network node and compatibility with legacy UEs”, [0106]).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang discloses, user equipment (see e.g., Fig. 7, UE and/or Fig. 11, UE 1100), comprising:
a transceiver (see e.g., Fig. 11, Reception/Transmission components 1102 and 1104); and
a processor (see e.g., Fig. 11, communication manger 140), coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform:
controlling the transceiver to receive a first configuration from a network device, wherein the first configuration indicates a plurality of transmission directions for a time period (e.g., by an RU) to the UE. The first configuration may be associated with a TDD pattern…the first configuration may include a UE-dedicated configuration. The first configuration may configure the set of resources to an uplink format, a downlink format, or a flexible format. For example, a full bandwidth of the set of resources may be configured to one of the uplink format, the downlink format, or the flexible format. The set of resources may include one or more time resources, such as one or more slots, one or more symbols, or a combination thereof.”, Fig. 7, [0096]);
controlling the transceiver to receive a second configuration from the network device, wherein the second configuration indicates at least one SBFD resource within the time period (see e.g., “the network node may output a second configuration configuring one or more resources, of the set of resources, to an SBFD format. The second configuration may configure the one or more resources (e.g., one or more slots, one or more symbols, or a combination thereof) to the SBFD format based at least in part on the one or more resources satisfying a condition. The condition may define one or more rules for reconfiguring a resource or a sub-band of a resource from a first format (or sub-band) to a second format (or sub-band)… Particular examples of the condition are provided in connection with reference numbers 730, 740…”, Fig. 7, [0097]) ; and
performing a communication operation with the network device according to the first configuration and the second configuration (see e.g., “the UE and the network node may perform the downlink transmission or the uplink transmission. For example, the UE may transmit, and the network node may receive, the uplink transmission. As another example, the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, the downlink transmission”, Fig. 7, [0107 and/or “a legacy UE may be allowed to receive a downlink transmission in an SBFD resource, with SBFD operation at the network node, in a downlink sub-band only. Thus, the network node can implement SBFD communication in an SBFD resource for legacy UEs performing one-directional communication, which improves resource utilization at the network node and compatibility with legacy UEs”, [0106]).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang discloses, a method for setting subband full duplex (SBFD) resource , applied to a network device (see e.g., “techniques and apparatuses for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) resource configuration”, [0001] and/or Fig. 7, signaling between UE and Network node and/or Fig. 10, network device 1000), comprising:
transmitting, by the network device, a first configuration to a user equipment (UE), wherein the first configuration indicates a plurality of transmission directions for a time period (e.g., by an RU) to the UE. The first configuration may be associated with a TDD pattern…the first configuration may include a UE-dedicated configuration. The first configuration may configure the set of resources to an uplink format, a downlink format, or a flexible format. For example, a full bandwidth of the set of resources may be configured to one of the uplink format, the downlink format, or the flexible format. The set of resources may include one or more time resources, such as one or more slots, one or more symbols, or a combination thereof.”, Fig. 7, [0096]);
transmitting, by the network device, a second configuration to the UE, wherein the second configuration indicates at least one SBFD resource within the time period (see e.g., “the network node may output a second configuration configuring one or more resources, of the set of resources, to an SBFD format. The second configuration may configure the one or more resources (e.g., one or more slots, one or more symbols, or a combination thereof) to the SBFD format based at least in part on the one or more resources satisfying a condition. The condition may define one or more rules for reconfiguring a resource or a sub-band of a resource from a first format (or sub-band) to a second format (or sub-band)… Particular examples of the condition are provided in connection with reference numbers 730, 740…”, Fig. 7, [0097]) ; and
performing, by the network device, a communication operation with the UE according to the first configuration and the second configuration (see e.g., “the UE and the network node may perform the downlink transmission or the uplink transmission. For example, the UE may transmit, and the network node may receive, the uplink transmission. As another example, the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, the downlink transmission”, Fig. 7, [0107 and/or “a legacy UE may be allowed to receive a downlink transmission in an SBFD resource, with SBFD operation at the network node, in a downlink sub-band only. Thus, the network node can implement SBFD communication in an SBFD resource for legacy UEs performing one-directional communication, which improves resource utilization at the network node and compatibility with legacy UEs”, [0106]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Applicant provide NPL, ETRI (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #111, R1-2211559, November 14th-18th, 2022, hereinafter ETRI).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the first configuration indicates a first periodicity of the time period, and a second periodicity of the at least one SBFD resource configured by the second configuration is identical to the first periodicity.
In the same field of endeavor, ETRI discloses, wherein the first configuration indicates a first periodicity of the time period, and a second periodicity of the at least one SBFD resource configured by the second configuration is identical to the first periodicity (see e.g., “indicating a single RB set corresponding to the UL subband frequency location is sufficient. For the time domain allocation, one or more SBFD durations consisting of a set of slots and/or symbols can be indicated. The periodicity of the SBFD durations can simply be the same as the periodicity of the slot format configuration, or can be separately configured if that separation is considered beneficial”, sec. 2.1, page 2, lines 27-29, page 3, lines 1-2 and/or “multiple SBFD subbands with different D-U directions can be configured on a given time instance from a UE perspective as well as from the network perspective”, sec. 2.1, page 2, lines 15-16 and/or “…different D-U directions can be configured on a given time instance from a UE perspective”, sec. 2.1, page 2, lines 17-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Zhang with ETRI, in order to meet 3GPP standards, by SBFD durations consisting of a set of slots and/or symbols can be indicated (please see ETRI, sec. 2.1, page 3, line 29).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 2, the prior arts fail to teach, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pattern and a subcarrier spacing, the first pattern indicates a beginning part, a middle part, and an end part of the time period;
wherein the beginning part of the time period indicated by the first pattern comprises at least one downlink resource, the middle part of the time period indicated by the first pattern comprises at least one flexible resource, and the end part of the time period indicated by the first pattern comprises at least one uplink resource;
wherein the second configuration comprises an SBFD setting, wherein the SBFD setting is used to perform at least one of following operations:
overwriting the at least one downlink resource indicated by the first pattern to a first SBFD resource; and
overwriting the at least one flexible resource indicated by the first pattern to a second SBFD resource.
As to claim 10, the prior arts fail to teach, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pattern, a second pattern, and a subcarrier spacing, the first pattern indicates a beginning part, a middle part, and an end part of a first time duration, the second pattern indicates a beginning part, a middle part, and an end part of a second time duration;
wherein the beginning part of the first time duration indicated by the first pattern comprises at least one first downlink resource, the middle part of the first time duration indicated by the first pattern comprises at least one first flexible resource, and the end part of the first time duration indicated by the first pattern comprises at least one first uplink resource;
wherein the beginning part of the second time duration indicated by the second pattern comprises at least one second downlink resource, the middle part of the second time duration indicated by the second pattern comprises at least one second flexible resource, and the end part of the second time duration indicated by the second pattern comprises at least one second uplink resource;
wherein an end time of the first time duration is aligned with a start time of the second time duration, and the time period is equal to a sum of the first time duration and the second time duration;
wherein the second configuration comprises an SBFD setting, and the SBFD setting is applied to the first pattern or the second pattern, wherein the SBFD setting is used to perform:
overwriting the at least one first downlink resource indicated by the first pattern to a first SBFD resource and overwriting the at least one first flexible resource indicated by the first pattern to a second SBFD resource;
or overwriting the at least one second downlink resource indicated by the second pattern to the first SBFD resource and overwriting the at least one second flexible resource indicated by the second pattern to the second SBFD resource;
wherein the first SBFD resource and the second SBFD resource correspond to a reference time duration among the first time duration and the second time duration.
As to claim 18, the prior arts fail to teach, wherein the first configuration comprises a first pattern, a second pattern, and a subcarrier spacing, the first pattern indicates a beginning part, a middle part, and an end part of a first time duration, the second pattern indicates a beginning part, a middle part, and an end part of a second time duration;
wherein the beginning part of the first time duration indicated by the first pattern comprises at least one first downlink resource, the middle part of the first time duration indicated by the first pattern comprises at least one first flexible resource, and the end part of the first time duration indicated by the first pattern comprises at least one first uplink resource;
wherein the beginning part of the second time duration indicated by the second pattern comprises at least one second downlink resource, the middle part of the second time duration indicated by the second pattern comprises at least one second flexible resource, and the end part of the second time duration indicated by the second pattern comprises at least one second uplink resource;
wherein an end time of the first time duration is aligned with a start time of the second time duration, and the time period is equal to a sum of the first time duration and the second time duration;
wherein the second configuration comprises a first SBFD setting and a second SBFD setting, the first SBFD setting is applied to the first pattern, the second SBFD setting is applied to the second pattern, wherein the first SBFD setting is used to perform overwriting the at least one first downlink resource indicated by the first pattern to a first SBFD resource and overwriting the at least one first flexible resource indicated by the first pattern to a second SBFD resource; and
wherein the second SBFD setting is used to perform overwriting the at least one second downlink resource indicated by the second pattern to a third SBFD resource and overwriting the at least one second flexible resource indicated by the second pattern to a fourth SBFD resource.
Claims 3-5, 7-9, 11-17 and 19-26 also objected as being dependent on objected claims 2, 10 and 18.
Conclusion
/FARID SEYEDVOSOGHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2645