DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/768,059 filed on July 10, 2024. Claims 1-14 are subject to examination.
Title Objection
The title of the application is objected to under 37 CFR 1.153 because it does not designate the particular article, and as well as not corresponding to the claim inventions. The title of the instant application shall be technically more accurate and descriptive. An appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites the limitation "the base station”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the limitation to read: "a base station”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MEYLAN; Arnaud et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20210385825, hereinafter, “Meylan”).
Regarding claim 1, Meylan teaches:
A terminal device wirelessly communicating with a base station, the terminal device comprising (Meylan: [0046] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example 300 of low-latency scheduling request configuration, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, example 300 includes a BS 110 and a UE 120 (e.g., that includes a modem 305 and a host 310). Figs. 2, 3):
a controller (Meylan: modem 305. Fig. 3) configured to predict a first time at which first data to be transmitted to the base station will occur (Meylan: [0048] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 354, 356, and 358, during processing of the TCP data, UE 120 may initiate a grant request ... modem 305 preemptively (e.g., predictively, based at least in part on a prediction of a receipt of a future TCP feedback message [i.e., first data]) transmits the PUCCH scheduling request (e.g., before a TCP feedback message generated by host 310 is available to modem 305) [i.e., first time] ... Figs. 2, 3); and
a communication device (Meylan: modem 305. Fig. 3) configured to transmit a scheduling request to the base station at a second time before the first data actually occurs, based on the first time, the scheduling request requesting allocation of a communication resource (Meylan: [0048] ... For example, concurrent with host 310 processing the TCP data or a data layer moving data from host 310 to modem 305 [i.e., second time], modem 305 may transmit a PUCCH scheduling request [step 358] to TCP endpoint 312 … [0054] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 360 and 362, UE 120 may receive a grant of uplink resources and may generate a feedback message to transmit using the uplink resources. For example, based at least in part on preemptively transmitting the scheduling request, modem 305 may receive a PDCCH including an uplink grant from TCP endpoint 312 before receiving an indication to transmit a TCP acknowledgement from host 310 ... Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 2, Meylan discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Meylan further teaches:
wherein
the physical layer signal (Meylan: [0035] At base station 110 … A transmit (TX) multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) processor 230 may perform spatial processing (e.g., precoding) on the data symbols, the control symbols, the overhead symbols, and/or the reference symbols, if applicable, and may provide T output symbol streams to T modulators (MODs) 232a through 232t. Each modulator 232 may process a respective output symbol stream (e.g., for OFDM and/or the like) to obtain an output sample stream … Fig. 2) corresponds to at least one of slots that are contiguous in a time domain (Meylan: [0043] In some communications systems, communication resources may be allocated at a mini-slot granularity [a slot type] to enable reduced latency relative to full-slot granularity allocations. In such a communication system, a UE or a BS may transmit information using one or more symbols …),
the slots include at least one slot of a first type that is allocated for transmitting the scheduling request (Meylan: [0048] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 354, 356, and 358, during processing of the TCP data, UE 120 may initiate a grant request ... Fig. 3),
the controller is configured to (Meylan: [0040] Controller/processor 240 of base station 110 … and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may perform one or more techniques associated with low-latency scheduling request configuration, as described in more detail elsewhere herein. Fig. 2):
estimate a first duration from transmitting the scheduling request by using a slot of the first type until receiving a signal by the terminal device, the signal including control information indicative of the communication resource that is allocated in accordance with the scheduling request (Meylan: [0050] In some aspects, UE 120 may determine a virtual data arrival time and may transmit the PUCCH scheduling request based at least in part on the virtual data arrival time. For example, UE 120 may determine a first amount of time between passing TCP data from modem 305 to host 310 and passing a TCP feedback message from host 310 to modem 305. Additionally, or alternatively, UE 120 may determine a second amount of time between transmitting a scheduling request to TCP endpoint 312 to request resources and receiving a response including an uplink grant of resources. In this case, based at least in part on the first amount of time and/or the second amount of time, UE 120 may determine a virtual data arrival time at which to preemptively transmit the scheduling request such that the uplink transmission opportunity (e.g., a PUSCH transmission opportunity) associated with a grant occurs shortly after arrival of TCP ACK 362 in modem 305. Fig. 3); and
identify a slot of the first type that is later than a third time that is obtained by subtracting the first duration from the first time (Meylan: [0051] In some aspects, UE 120 may determine the first amount of time, the second amount of time, and/or the like based at least in part on stored information regarding previous timings. For example, UE 120 may store information identifying the first amount of time for a set of previously received TCP data messages and may determine the first amount of time for a TCP data message based at least in part on an average for the first amount of time, a minimum for the first amount of time, a maximum for the first amount of time, and/or the like. Similarly, UE 120 may track the second amount of time on a per public land mobile network (PLMN) basis (e.g., per location, per tracking area cell, per cell identifier, per time of day, and/or the like), and may determine whether to preemptively transmit a scheduling request (or a time at which to preemptively transmit a scheduling request) based at least in part on tracking the second amount of time on a per PLMN basis ... [0043] … communication resources may be allocated at a mini-slot granularity to enable reduced latency relative to full-slot granularity allocations. In such a communication system, a UE or a BS may transmit information using one or more symbols… Fig. 3); and
the combining unit is configured to generate the composite signal by combining the control signal with the physical layer signal that corresponds to the identified slot of the first type Meylan: [0054] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 360 and 362, UE 120 may receive a grant of uplink resources [generated by TCP Endpoint 312 (i.e., base station 110) … the composite signal] and may generate a feedback message to transmit using the uplink resources. For example, based at least in part on preemptively transmitting the scheduling request, modem 305 may receive a PDCCH including an uplink grant from TCP endpoint 312 before receiving an indication to transmit a TCP acknowledgement from host 310 ... Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 6, Meylan discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Meylan further teaches:
receive control information indicative of a first communication resource allocated by the base station in accordance with the transmitted scheduling request (Meylan: [0054] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 360 and 362, UE 120 may receive a grant of uplink resources and may generate a feedback message to transmit using the uplink resources. For example, based at least in part on preemptively transmitting the scheduling request, modem 305 may receive a PDCCH including an uplink grant from TCP endpoint 312 before receiving an indication to transmit a TCP acknowledgement from host 310 ... Fig. 3); and
transmit the first data to the base station by using the first communication resource (Meylan: [0055] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 364, UE 120 may transmit a TCP feedback message to TCP endpoint 312. For example, UE 120 (e.g., modem 305) may transmit a TCP acknowledgement to TCP endpoint 312 using PUSCH resources allocated in an uplink grant received from TCP endpoint 312 ... Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Meylan teaches:
A processing device arranged in an interface between a first layer and a second layer that are included in a base station which wirelessly communicates with a terminal device, the processing device comprising (Meylan: [0046] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example 300 of low-latency scheduling request configuration, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, example 300 includes a BS 110 and a UE 120 (e.g., that includes a modem 305 and a host 310) … [0025] … the BSs may be interconnected to one another and/or to one or more other BSs or network nodes (not shown) in the wireless network 100 through various types of backhaul interfaces such as a direct physical connection … and/or the like using any suitable transport network … [0039] At base station 110, the uplink signals from UE 120 and other UEs may be received by antennas 234, processed by demodulators 232 [first layer], detected by a MIMO detector 236 if applicable, and further processed by a receive processor 238 [second layer] to obtain decoded data and control information sent by UE 120. Receive processor 238 may provide the decoded data to a data sink 239 and the decoded control information to controller/processor 240. Base station 110 may include communication unit 244 and communicate to network controller 130 via communication unit 244. In some aspects, the base station 110 includes a transceiver. The transceiver may include any combination of antenna(s) 234, modulators and/or demodulators 232 [first layer], MIMO detector 236, receive processor 238, transmit processor 220, and/or TX MIMO processor 230 [second layer] ... Figs. 2, 3):
a controller (Meylan: [0040] Controller/processor 240 of base station 110 … and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may perform one or more techniques associated with low-latency scheduling request configuration, as described in more detail elsewhere herein. Fig. 2) configured to predict a first time at which first data to be transmitted to the base station will occur in the terminal device (Meylan: [0048] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 354, 356, and 358, during processing of the TCP data, UE 120 may initiate a grant request ... modem 305 preemptively (e.g., predictively, based at least in part on a prediction of a receipt of a future TCP feedback message [i.e., first data]) transmits the PUCCH scheduling request (e.g., before a TCP feedback message generated by host 310 is available to modem 305) [i.e., first time] ... Figs. 2, 3); and
a combining unit configured to (Meylan: [0035] At base station 110 … A transmit (TX) multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) processor 230 may perform spatial processing (e.g., precoding) on the data symbols, the control symbols, the overhead symbols, and/or the reference symbols, if applicable, and may provide T output symbol streams to T modulators (MODs) 232a through 232t. Each modulator 232 may process a respective output symbol stream (e.g., for OFDM and/or the like) to obtain an output sample stream … Fig. 2):
generate, based on the first time, a composite signal at a second time before the first data actually occurs by combining a control signal with a physical layer signal, the control signal including a scheduling request that requests allocation of a communication resource (Meylan: [0048] ... For example, concurrent with host 310 processing the TCP data or a data layer moving data from host 310 to modem 305 [i.e., second time], modem 305 may transmit a PUCCH scheduling request [step 358] to TCP endpoint 312 … [0054] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 360 and 362, UE 120 may receive a grant of uplink resources [generated by TCP Endpoint 312 (i.e., base station 110) … the composite signal] and may generate a feedback message to transmit using the uplink resources. For example, based at least in part on preemptively transmitting the scheduling request, modem 305 may receive a PDCCH including an uplink grant from TCP endpoint 312 before receiving an indication to transmit a TCP acknowledgement from host 310 ... Figs. 2, 3), the physical layer signal being transmitted from the first layer to the second layer (Meylan: [0039] At base station 110, the uplink signals from UE 120 and other UEs may be received by antennas 234, processed by demodulators 232 [first layer], detected by a MIMO detector 236 if applicable, and further processed by a receive processor 238 [second layer] to obtain decoded data and control information sent by UE 120. Receive processor 238 may provide the decoded data to a data sink 239 and the decoded control information to controller/processor 240. Base station 110 may include communication unit 244 and communicate to network controller 130 via communication unit 244. In some aspects, the base station 110 includes a transceiver. The transceiver may include any combination of antenna(s) 234, modulators and/or demodulators 232 [first layer], MIMO detector 236, receive processor 238, transmit processor 220, and/or TX MIMO processor 230 [second layer] ... Figs. 2, 3); and
transmit the composite signal to the second layer (Meylan: [0035] At base station 110 … A transmit (TX) multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) processor 230 may perform spatial processing (e.g., precoding) on the data symbols, the control symbols, the overhead symbols, and/or the reference symbols, if applicable, and may provide T output symbol streams to T modulators (MODs) 232a through 232t. Each modulator 232 may process a respective output symbol stream (e.g., for OFDM and/or the like) to obtain an output sample stream … [0054] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 360 and 362, UE 120 may receive a grant of uplink resources [generated by TCP Endpoint 312 (i.e., base station 110) … composite signal] and may generate a feedback message to transmit using the uplink resources ... Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 8, Meylan discloses on the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
Meylan further teaches:
wherein
the physical layer signal (Meylan: [0035] At base station 110 … A transmit (TX) multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) processor 230 may perform spatial processing (e.g., precoding) on the data symbols, the control symbols, the overhead symbols, and/or the reference symbols, if applicable, and may provide T output symbol streams to T modulators (MODs) 232a through 232t. Each modulator 232 may process a respective output symbol stream (e.g., for OFDM and/or the like) to obtain an output sample stream … Fig. 2) corresponds to at least one of slots that are contiguous in a time domain (Meylan: [0043] In some communications systems, communication resources may be allocated at a mini-slot granularity [a slot type] to enable reduced latency relative to full-slot granularity allocations. In such a communication system, a UE or a BS may transmit information using one or more symbols …),
the slots include at least one slot of a first type that is allocated for transmitting the scheduling request (Meylan: [0048] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 354, 356, and 358, during processing of the TCP data, UE 120 may initiate a grant request ... Fig. 3),
the controller is configured to (Meylan: [0040] Controller/processor 240 of base station 110 … and/or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may perform one or more techniques associated with low-latency scheduling request configuration, as described in more detail elsewhere herein. Fig. 2):
estimate a first duration from transmitting the scheduling request by using a slot of the first type until receiving a signal by the terminal device, the signal including control information indicative of the communication resource that is allocated in accordance with the scheduling request (Meylan: [0050] In some aspects, UE 120 may determine a virtual data arrival time and may transmit the PUCCH scheduling request based at least in part on the virtual data arrival time. For example, UE 120 may determine a first amount of time between passing TCP data from modem 305 to host 310 and passing a TCP feedback message from host 310 to modem 305. Additionally, or alternatively, UE 120 may determine a second amount of time between transmitting a scheduling request to TCP endpoint 312 to request resources and receiving a response including an uplink grant of resources. In this case, based at least in part on the first amount of time and/or the second amount of time, UE 120 may determine a virtual data arrival time at which to preemptively transmit the scheduling request such that the uplink transmission opportunity (e.g., a PUSCH transmission opportunity) associated with a grant occurs shortly after arrival of TCP ACK 362 in modem 305. Fig. 3); and
identify a slot of the first type that is later than a third time that is obtained by subtracting the first duration from the first time (Meylan: [0051] In some aspects, UE 120 may determine the first amount of time, the second amount of time, and/or the like based at least in part on stored information regarding previous timings. For example, UE 120 may store information identifying the first amount of time for a set of previously received TCP data messages and may determine the first amount of time for a TCP data message based at least in part on an average for the first amount of time, a minimum for the first amount of time, a maximum for the first amount of time, and/or the like. Similarly, UE 120 may track the second amount of time on a per public land mobile network (PLMN) basis (e.g., per location, per tracking area cell, per cell identifier, per time of day, and/or the like), and may determine whether to preemptively transmit a scheduling request (or a time at which to preemptively transmit a scheduling request) based at least in part on tracking the second amount of time on a per PLMN basis ... [0043] … communication resources may be allocated at a mini-slot granularity to enable reduced latency relative to full-slot granularity allocations. In such a communication system, a UE or a BS may transmit information using one or more symbols… Fig. 3); and
the combining unit is configured to generate the composite signal by combining the control signal with the physical layer signal that corresponds to the identified slot of the first type Meylan: [0054] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 360 and 362, UE 120 may receive a grant of uplink resources [generated by TCP Endpoint 312 (i.e., base station 110) … the composite signal] and may generate a feedback message to transmit using the uplink resources. For example, based at least in part on preemptively transmitting the scheduling request, modem 305 may receive a PDCCH including an uplink grant from TCP endpoint 312 before receiving an indication to transmit a TCP acknowledgement from host 310 ... Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Meylan discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 7 as outlined above.
Meylan further teaches:
wherein
the controller is configured to predict the first time by using at least one of
an amount and a receiving time of downlink data received from the base station in a past (Meylan: [0049] In some aspects, UE 120 may enable predictive (preemptive) scheduling request transmission based at least in part on an aspect of the TCP data. For example, as described in more detail below, UE 120 may enable predictive scheduling for a particular priority class of TCP data, a quality of service (QoS) requirement for the TCP data, and/or the like … [0051] In some aspects, UE 120 may determine the first amount of time, the second amount of time, and/or the like based at least in part on stored information regarding previous timings. For example, UE 120 may store information identifying the first amount of time for a set of previously received TCP data messages and may determine the first amount of time for a TCP data message based at least in part on an average for the first amount of time, a minimum for the first amount of time, a maximum for the first amount of time, and/or the like ... Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Meylan discloses on the features with respect to claims 2 and 8 as outlined above.
Meylan further teaches:
wherein
the controller is configured to determine the second time by using the first time and using at least one of an amount and a receiving time of downlink data received from the base station in the past (Meylan: [0049] In some aspects, UE 120 may enable predictive (preemptive) scheduling request transmission based at least in part on an aspect of the TCP data. For example, as described in more detail below, UE 120 may enable predictive scheduling for a particular priority class of TCP data, a quality of service (QoS) requirement for the TCP data, and/or the like … [0051] In some aspects, UE 120 may determine the first amount of time, the second amount of time, and/or the like based at least in part on stored information regarding previous timings. For example, UE 120 may store information identifying the first amount of time for a set of previously received TCP data messages and may determine the first amount of time for a TCP data message based at least in part on an average for the first amount of time, a minimum for the first amount of time, a maximum for the first amount of time, and/or the like ... Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Meylan discloses on the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
Meylan further teaches:
wherein
the second layer is configured to transmit a signal that includes first control information to the first layer, the first control information being indicative of a first communication resource allocated in accordance with the scheduling request in the composite signal (Meylan: [0054] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 360 and 362, UE 120 may receive a grant of uplink resources [i.e., first communication resource allocated … the composite signal] and may generate a feedback message to transmit using the uplink resources. For example, based at least in part on preemptively transmitting the scheduling request, modem 305 may receive a PDCCH including an uplink grant from TCP endpoint 312 before receiving an indication to transmit a TCP acknowledgement from host 310 ... Fig. 3), and
the first layer is configured to transmit a signal that includes the first control information to the terminal device (Meylan: [0054] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 360 and 362, UE 120 may receive a grant of uplink resources and may generate a feedback message to transmit using the uplink resources ... Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Meylan discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Meylan further teaches:
wherein the first layer is configured to receive, from the terminal device, a signal that includes the first data transmitted by using the first communication resource (Meylan: [0055] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 364, UE 120 may transmit a TCP feedback message to TCP endpoint 312. For example, UE 120 (e.g., modem 305) may transmit a TCP acknowledgement to TCP endpoint 312 using PUSCH resources allocated in an uplink grant received from TCP endpoint 312 ... Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Meylan teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer program which is executable by a computer, the computer program comprising instructions capable of causing the computer to execute functions of (Meylan: [0046] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example 300 of low-latency scheduling request configuration, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, example 300 includes a BS 110 and a UE 120 (e.g., that includes a modem 305 and a host 310) … [0040] ... Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120, respectively. In some aspects, memory 242 and/or memory 282 may comprise a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions for wireless communication ... Figs. 2, 3):
predicting a first time at which first data to be transmitted to the base station will occur (Meylan: [0048] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 354, 356, and 358, during processing of the TCP data, UE 120 may initiate a grant request ... modem 305 preemptively (e.g., predictively, based at least in part on a prediction of a receipt of a future TCP feedback message [i.e., first data]) transmits the PUCCH scheduling request (e.g., before a TCP feedback message generated by host 310 is available to modem 305) [i.e., first time] ... Figs. 2, 3); and
transmitting a scheduling request to the base station at a second time before the first data actually occurs, based on the first time, the scheduling request requesting allocation of a communication resource (Meylan: [0048] ... For example, concurrent with host 310 processing the TCP data or a data layer moving data from host 310 to modem 305 [i.e., second time], modem 305 may transmit a PUCCH scheduling request [step 358] to TCP endpoint 312 … [0054] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference numbers 360 and 362, UE 120 may receive a grant of uplink resources and may generate a feedback message to transmit using the uplink resources. For example, based at least in part on preemptively transmitting the scheduling request, modem 305 may receive a PDCCH including an uplink grant from TCP endpoint 312 before receiving an indication to transmit a TCP acknowledgement from host 310 ... Figs. 2, 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meylan in view of PARK; Hyun Seo et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, zzz, hereinafter, “Park”).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Meylan discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 7 as outlined above.
Meylan does not explicitly teach:
wherein
the controller is configured to predict the first time by machine learning using time-series data of at least one of
slice information,
an amount and a receiving time of downlink data received from the base station in a past,
an amount and a transmitting time of uplink data transmitted to the base station in the past,
a channel quality indicator (CQI),
quality of experience (QoE),
quality of service (QoS),
reference signal received power (RSRP),
reference signal received quality (RSRQ),
an error rate,
a received signal strength indicator (RSSI),
a route map,
a radio wave map, and
a used frequency that correspond to the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein
the controller is configured to predict the first time by machine learning using time-series data (Park: [0085] Meanwhile, a traffic prediction technology of a terminal may predict traffic of the terminal by executing an artificial intelligence (AI) algorithm and/or a machine learning algorithm. To this end, the traffic prediction technology of the terminal may factor in model training [i.e., model training involves time-series data] or model inference as an option.) of at least one of
an amount and a receiving time of downlink data received from the base station in a past (Meylan: [0049] In some aspects, UE 120 may enable predictive (preemptive) scheduling request transmission based at least in part on an aspect of the TCP data. For example, as described in more detail below, UE 120 may enable predictive scheduling for a particular priority class of TCP data, a quality of service (QoS) requirement for the TCP data, and/or the like … [0051] In some aspects, UE 120 may determine the first amount of time, the second amount of time, and/or the like based at least in part on stored information regarding previous timings. For example, UE 120 may store information identifying the first amount of time for a set of previously received TCP data messages and may determine the first amount of time for a TCP data message based at least in part on an average for the first amount of time, a minimum for the first amount of time, a maximum for the first amount of time, and/or the like ... Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Meylan to include the features as taught by Park above in order to reduce transmission delay. (Park, ¶ [0002]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416