DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/24/2026. As directed by the amendment: Claims 1-11 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-11 are presently under consideration in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to Claim Objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection and rejection of the claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Stuart et al. (US 20080154251)(Hereinafter Stuart) in view of Chan et al. (US 20080015556)(Hereinafter Chan).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the distance" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-11 are rejected for being dependent on rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Stuart et al. (US 20080154251)(Hereinafter Stuart) in view of Chan et al. (US 20080015556)(Hereinafter Chan).
Regarding claim 1, Stuart teaches An applicator for delivering a laser beam to mammalian skin (Abstract “A typical treatment system for use with tip embodiments includes an optical energy source, such as, for example, a laser.”), the applicator comprising:
a removably connected tip ([0013] “Embodiments of the present invention feature a removable tip apparatus for use with a medical light energy treatment system that includes a handpiece.”) comprising:
at least one optical element selected from the group consisting of a lens, a beam splitter, and a KTP crystal ([0044] “The optical path of sensor 180 between the target area and the converging lens 186 may include an optically transparent window 155.”); and
an identifier ([0063] “In the example of FIG. 5, a magnetic connector 524 is shown. Magnets may be placed on one or both sides of the interface between tip 504 and handpiece 502.”); and
a skin contact (Fig. 5 (526 and 528) [0030] “configuration of the exit window or aperture for the treatment handpiece (e.g., contact or non-contact windows, window or aperture shape)”);
an identification detector adapted to detect the identifier upon connection of the tip to the applicator ([0048] “Controller 200 can be programmed to sample in real-time variations in the handpiece positional parameters, tip usage, tip sensor [tip sensors are magnetic sensors] readings”); and
a positioning system adapted to position the at least one optical element along a path of the laser beam ([0043] “Actuator 145 [positioning system] may be a piezoelectric, galvanometer, rotating element, etc., and operates to adjust the position of deflector 146 to a position corresponding to the desired treatment intensity and pattern. Actuator 145 may be controlled in real-time by controller 200 to modify the light beam so that the microscopic treatment is delivered from handpiece 140 in a uniform or non-uniform pattern across target area 150.”).
However, Stuart does not teach wherein the positioning system is further adapted to alter the distance of the at least one optical element as desired along the laser path relative to the skin contact. Chan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a treatment device for supplying a laser treatment (Abstract), and further teaches the positioning system is further adapted to alter the distance of the at least one optical element as desired along the laser path relative to the skin contact ([0069] “the beam may be adjusted to be more of a "flat top" shape at the skin surface to distribute the beam intensity over a larger area when deeper penetration is desired. If such a beam is then brought to a focus at the desired depth, then the heating at the desired depth can be maximized.” [0070] “The adjustable lens group 123 can be designed and assembled using techniques commonly employed for optical zoom lenses. For example, by appropriately adjusting the distance between two or more optical elements, the characteristics of the optical beam 130 can be adjusted.” Fig. 1A see adjusted distance between 101, 102, and 103 in relation to window skin contact 126.) to vary the treatment pattern as desired ([0069]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Stuart, with the positioning system is further adapted to alter the distance of the at least one optical element as desired along the laser path relative to the skin contact of Chan, because such a modification would allow to vary the treatment pattern as desired.
Regarding claim 2, Stuart teaches wherein the identifier is at least one magnet and the identification detector is a magnetic sensor ([0063] “In the example of FIG. 5, a magnetic connector 524 is shown. Magnets may be placed on one or both sides of the interface between tip 504 and handpiece 502.” [0048] “Controller 200 can be programmed to sample in real-time variations in the handpiece positional parameters, tip usage, tip sensor [tip sensors are magnetic sensors] readings”).
Regarding claim 3, Stuart teaches wherein the removably connected tip is connected to the applicator by magnet ([0063] “In the example of FIG. 5, a magnetic connector 524 is shown. Magnets may be placed on one or both sides of the interface between tip 504 and handpiece 502.”).
Regarding claim 6, Stuart teaches wherein a system control program uses tip identification to:
set system operation parameter values for a default treatment defined for the tip identifier;
position the at least one optical element to a working distance for treatment;
notify the user which treatment has been selected, and
offer a user choice to approve a selected treatment or to switch to another treatment that is possible with the tip (The limitations are intended use. Because Stuart teaches a motor rotation of the optical element, the device of Stuart would be capable of cooperating and completing steps a-d. Examiner further notes that the user-controlled system (and the system control program) is not actively claimed. Furthermore, a processor and/or memory is not used for this program.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Stuart et al. (US 20080154251)(Hereinafter Stuart) in view of Chan et al. (US 20080015556)(Hereinafter Chan), Norton et al. (US 20230398634)(Hereinafter Norton), and Karni et al. (US 20170281273)(Hereinafter Karni2).
Regarding claim 4, Stuart and Chan teach the invention of claim 1. Stuart in view of Chan do not teach wherein the positioning system comprises: a. a motor (32) and associated encoder (38); b. a controller (36) configured to receive motor rotation data from the encoder and to control the motor; c. a drive shaft (44) geared at one end to the motor (32) and adapted at the other end to mate with a rod (50) in the tip; d. the rod geared to a rotatable cam channel (40); and e. a cam follower (42) on the optical element, extending through the cam channel and into an axial fixed channel (52); whereby rotation of the motor is translated into linear movement of the optical element. Norton, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a laser ablation tool with a laser source producing a beam for ablation (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the positioning system comprises:
a motor and associated encoder ([0031] “These motors and stators are solely present to control the motion/rotation of the prisms and additionally an encoder may be used to increase the accuracy of control of the motion of the prisms.”);
a controller configured to receive motor rotation data from the encoder and to … the motor ([0015] “The encoders are coupled to a controller that is coupled to the output of the laser so that the beam is only outputted at certain positions of the two respective Risley prisms.”);
a drive shaft geared at one end to the motor and adapted at another end to mate with a rod in the tip ([0034] “The drive shafts may also have a gear system to increase or decrease the speed of rotation. The driveshaft may couple to the prisms directly or via a gear drive. This driveshaft may be located parallel to the cavity containing the Risley prisms. For example, the drive shafts may pass down the borescope conduit and lie parallel to the laser fibre.”);
the rod geared to a rotatable cam channel ([0034] “the drive shafts may pass down the borescope conduit [cam channel] and lie parallel to the laser fibre.”); and
a cam follower on the at least one optical element, extending through the cam channel and into an axial fixed channel ([0034] “the motor may be located outside of the ablation head and move the mirrors [cam follower] through the use of a drive shaft…The driveshaft may couple to the prisms directly [axial fixed channel] or via a gear drive. This driveshaft may be located parallel to the cavity containing the Risley prisms.”);
whereby rotation of the motor is translated into linear movement of the at least one optical element (The limitation is intended use. Because Norton teaches a motor rotation of the optical element, the device of Norton would be capable of translating linearly.) to control a region of ablation ([0033]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Stuart in view of Chan, with the positioning system comprises: a. a motor (32) and associated encoder (38); b. a controller (36) configured to receive motor rotation data from the encoder and to control the motor; c. a drive shaft (44) geared at one end to the motor (32) and adapted at the other end to mate with a rod (50) in the tip; d. the rod geared to a rotatable cam channel (40); and e. a cam follower (42) on the optical element, extending through the cam channel and into an axial fixed channel (52); whereby rotation of the motor is translated into linear movement of the optical element of Norton, because such a modification would allow to control a region of ablation.
However, Stuart in view of Chan and Norton does not teach the controlling of the motor based on the motion. Karni2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a laser treatment applicator (Abstract), and further teaches a controller for controlling the motor based on motion ([0030] “a motor rotates the sleeve, sensors measure at least one of the linear and rotational position of the deflector, and a controller processes the sensor data to operate the laser or the motor.”) to optimize motor usage ([0030]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Stuart in view of Norton and Chan, with the controlling of the motor based on the motion of Karni2, because such a modification would allow to optimize motor usage.
Regarding claim 5, Stuart teaches further adapted to home the at least one optical element and to verify freedom of travel of the optical element, by
fully retracting the at least one optical element to a home position; then
running the at least one optical element out to a defined end point; then
running the at least one optical element back to the home position (The limitations are intended use. Because Norton teaches a motor rotation of the optical element, the device of Stuart in view of Norton would be capable of completing steps a-c. Examiner further notes that the claim fails to recite structure that is configured to do the associated functions.).
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Stuart et al. (US 20080154251)(Hereinafter Stuart) in view of Chan et al. (US 20080015556)(Hereinafter Chan), Karni et al. (US 20140005644)(Hereinafter Karni), and Yamazaki (US 12207867)(Hereinafter Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 7, Stuart and Chan teach the invention of claim 1. Stuart in view of Chan do not teach a. a removably connected roller contact (70), comprising: i. a roller (76) adapted to be rolled across the tissue in a linear direction of travel (64); ii. a rotation wheel (78) geared to the roller, comprising magnets arranged around its perimeter; and iii. a support (72) extending perpendicular and parallel to the roller and having a support contact surface (74) coplanar with the bottom of the roller, wherein the support is adapted to support the applicator on the skin and to support maintaining the applicator a defined angle of incidence coplanar with the direction of travel; and b. a magnetic rotation sensor (80) adapted to trigger the laser when the rotation wheel rotates a defined distance. Karni, in the same field of endeavor, teaches laser therapy device directing the produced short-duration pulse of light at a skin surface (Abstract), and further teaches further comprising:
a removably connected roller contact ([0173] “roller 22 including contact surface 24 is configured to be user-replaceable.”), comprising:
a roller adapted to be rolled across tissue in a linear direction of travel ([0173] “roller 22 including contact surface 24 is configured to be user-replaceable.”);
a rotation wheel geared to the roller, the rotation wheel comprising … arranged around a perimeter of the rotation wheel ([0173] “As seen in FIGS. 1E and 1F, roller 22 is reversibly mounted on axle 38 [rotation wheel].”); and
a support extending perpendicular and parallel to the roller and having a support contact surface coplanar with a bottom of the roller, wherein the support is adapted to support the applicator on skin and to support maintaining the applicator a defined angle of incidence coplanar with the direction of travel ([0174] “Axle 38 is rotatably mounted near the distal end of spacer arm 20 [support] through bearing 44. Fixedly secured to axle 38 is perforated disk 46 (FIGS. 1H and 1I), a 0.3 mm thick stainless steel disk having 48 perforations 48 arranged near the periphery thereof.” [0176] “as contact surface 24 is made up of two spaced-apart surfaces 24a and 24b, contact surface 24 assists in preventing tilting (in a plane perpendicular to the prescribed direction) of light director aperture 18 relative to the skin surface.”); and
a … rotation sensor adapted to trigger a laser when the rotation wheel rotates a defined distance ([0204] “a distance measurer 36 [rotation sensor, “optoelectronic sensor 72” of [0199]] of device 72, and a dummy spacer arm 76 to which distal end is attached a 4 mm radius dummy wheel 78. Device 72 is configured so that the view to where the light beams impinge on a skin surface is unobscured by device 72 and that device 72 does not come in physical contact with where the light beams impinge on the skin surface.” [0206] “the seven individual light beams impinge on skin surface 58 perpendicularly as seven illuminated points (200 micrometer diameter) spaced from one another (1 mm center-to-center) along a line between first location 84 and second location 86 of skin surface 58.”) to measure the distance traveled ([0175]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Stuart in view of Chan, with the a. a removably connected roller contact (70), comprising: i. a roller (76) adapted to be rolled across the tissue in a linear direction of travel (64); ii. a rotation wheel (78) geared to the roller, comprising magnets arranged around its perimeter; and iii. a support (72) extending perpendicular and parallel to the roller and having a support contact surface (74) coplanar with the bottom of the roller, wherein the support is adapted to support the applicator on the skin and to support maintaining the applicator a defined angle of incidence coplanar with the direction of travel; and b. a magnetic rotation sensor (80) adapted to trigger the laser when the rotation wheel rotates a defined distance of Karni, because such a modification would allow to measure the distance traveled.
However, Stuart in view of Karni does not teach magnets on the perimeter of the of the wheel and using a magnetic rotation sensor for measuring distance. Yamazaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an irradiation device including rollers for irradiating the skin (Abstract), and further teaches magnets on the perimeter of the of the wheel and using a magnetic rotation sensor for measuring distance (Col. 7 lines 10-20.) to control the light emission (Col. 7 lines 21-25). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Stuart in view of Karni and Chan, with the magnets on the perimeter of the of the wheel and using a magnetic rotation sensor for measuring distance of Yamazaki, because such a modification would allow to control a region of ablation.
Regarding claim 8, Stuart and Chan teach the invention of claim 1. Stuart in view of Chan do not teach operable to be rolled along the skin, firing the laser at predefined distance intervals onto an area of skin (66) passing beneath an area bounded on one side by the roller, and on the back and other side by the support. Karni, in the same field of endeavor, teaches laser therapy device directing the produced short-duration pulse of light at a skin surface (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the roller contact is operable to be rolled along the skin, firing the laser at predefined distance intervals onto an area of skin passing beneath an area bounded on one side by the roller, and on the back and other side by the support ([0073] “as the device is moved in a prescribed direction relative to the skin surface, the light source is repeatedly triggered to produce a pulse of light at prescribed distance intervals.” The claim limitation is intended use, and capable to be done by the roller of Karni.) to measure the distance traveled ([0175]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Stuart in view of Karni and Chan, with the operable to be rolled along the skin, firing the laser at predefined distance intervals onto an area of skin (66) passing beneath an area bounded on one side by the roller, and on the back and other side by the support of Karni, because such a modification would allow to measure the distance traveled.
Regarding claims 9-11, Stuart and Chan teach the invention of claim 1. Stuart in view of Chan do not teach wherein the angle of incidence is between 10 degrees and 40 degrees, 15 degrees and 25 degrees, and 19 degrees and 21 degrees. Karni, in the same field of endeavor, teaches laser therapy device directing the produced short-duration pulse of light at a skin surface (Abstract), and further teaches wherein the angle of incidence is between 10 degrees and 40 degrees, 15 degrees and 25 degrees, and 19 degrees and 21 degrees ([0212] “a device is configured for preferably directing a plurality of individual light beams to impinge on a skin surface at a preferred angle between about 5.degree. and about 60.degree., in some embodiments of between about 25.degree. and about 50.degree., from perpendicular to a skin surface.”) to optimize the preferred angle ([0212]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Stuart in view of Karni and Chan, with the wherein the angle of incidence is between 10 degrees and 40 degrees, 15 degrees and 25 degrees, and 19 degrees and 21 degrees of Karni, because such a modification would allow to optimize the preferred angle.
Although Karni teaches the angle of incidence between 5-60 degrees, Karni does not explicitly teach the specific angles claimed. Since the angles can be preferred by the user, each angle can be selected to optimize the laser application. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have angle of incidence is between 10 degrees and 40 degrees, 15 degrees and 25 degrees, and 19 degrees and 21 degrees, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOUSSA HADDAD/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Jennifer Pitrak McDonald/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796