DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made to a claim of priority to French application FR2307488A filed on July 12th, 2023
Receipt is acknowledged of some certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on July 10th, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 15 (e.g. both claims recite “wherein the semiconductive layer comprises silicon, and wherein the fuse layer comprises silicon and germanium and has a germanium content which is greater than the semiconductive layer.” verbatim). When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1;
In line 12, the claim recites that the formed trenches extend “up to into the semiconductive layer”. It is unclear from the limitation what the applicant construes as extending “up to into” and could admit the following non-exhaustive list of interpretations: the trenches extending through the stress donor layer up to the semiconductive layer but not penetrating the semiconductive layer, the trenches extending through the stress donor layer and penetrating the semiconductive layer partially, the trenches extending through the stress donor layer and penetrating the semiconductive layer fully but not penetrating the support element, etc.
In light of the disclosure and to expedite prosecution the limitation is being read to mean that the trenches penetrate into and through the semiconductive layer.
Regarding claim 3;
The claim is rejected based on its dependency on the rejected independent claim 1 and has not cured the deficiencies therein.
Further, in line 4 the claim recites “extending over the entire dimension of the stress donor layer in the determined direction”. It is unclear what the “entire dimension” refers to in this claim as the stress donor layer has at least three spatial dimension and combinations thereof over or through which an “implanted strip” could extend.
In light of the disclosure and to expedite prosecution the limitation is being read to mean that the implanted strips must extend through the entire spacing (e.g. a length, width, or depth dimension) of the layer in the determined direction.
Regarding claims 4-5;
The claims are rejected based on the dependency on the rejected prior claim 3 and independent claim 1 and do not cure the deficiencies therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chidambarrao et al. (US20080169508A1) for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1;
Chidambarrao et al. teaches a method for producing a uniaxial stress state in a semiconductive layer (e.g. Detailed description [Col 2 lines 63-67, Col 3 lines 1-2] “The present invention relates to creating an active layer of strained semiconductor using a combination of buried and sacrificial stressors. That is, a process can strain an active semiconductor layer by transferring strain from a stressor layer buried below the active semiconductor layer and by transferring strain from a sacrificial stressor layer formed above the active semiconductor layer.”) the method comprising: providing a stack (e.g. Fig 5 ref 200, Detailed description [0025] “…SOI substrate 200 is provided…”) comprising a support (e.g. Fig. 5 ref 202, Detailed description [0025] “…bulk semiconductor region 202 of the substrate…”), the semiconductive layer (e.g. Fig 5 ref 210, Detailed description [0025] “…a silicon-on-insulator (“SOI”) layer of monocrystalline silicon 210…”), and a fuse layer inserted between the support and the semiconductive layer (e.g. Fig. 5 ref 204+206, Detailed description [0025] “…a buried oxide (“BOX”) layer 204 including a layer 206 consisting essentially of doped silicate glass.”); forming a stress donor layer on the semiconductive layer (e.g. Fig. 6 ref 212, Detailed description [0028] “a layer 212 including an internally stressed material is deposited to overlie the SOI layer 210”); defining patterns after the forming of the stress donor layer (e.g. Fig. 10 ref 210a+212 & 210b+214); forming, from the patterns, regions (e.g. Fig. 10-11 ref 210a, 210b) surrounded by trenches (e.g. Fig. 10-11 ref 220, Detailed description [0032] “…active semiconductor regions 210 a and 210 b having peripheral edges 222, 224, 226 and 228, with openings 220 (FIG. 11) adjacent to the peripheral edges.”) extending up to into the semiconductive layer; partially altering the stress donor layer (e.g. Fig. 7-9, Detailed description [0029]-[0031]), configured to modify a first stress state of the stress donor layer (e.g. the tensile stress state of the stress donor layer 212), so as to obtain a second stress state (e.g. the compressive stress state of the stress donor layer 214) mainly in a determined direction; and at least partially melting the fuse layer (e.g. Fig. 11, Detailed description [0033] “the substrate including the stressed layers 212, 214 thereon is elevated to a temperature at which the BPSG material within the BOX layer 204 softens.”), such that the stress donor layer transfers at least partially, by relaxation, the second stress state in the semiconductive layer such that the semiconductive layer has a uniaxial stress state in the determined direction (e.g. Detailed description [0034] “As the BPSG material softens, it becomes pliable. The pliability of the BPSG material permits the stresses in the overlying stressed layers 212, 214 and active semiconductor regions 210 a, 210 b to move closer to equilibrium. As a result, the tensile stress within the tensile layer 212 tends to relax, causing the underlying active semiconductor region 210 a to become a compressive stressed silicon region. In addition, the compressive stress within the compressive layer 214 also tends to relax, causing the underlying active semiconductor region 210 b to become a tensile stressed silicon region.”).
In the alternative, even if Chidambarrao et al. does not explicitly teach that the semiconductive layer’s resulting stress state after performing the taught method is uniaxial in nature, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing in view of the teachings of Chidambarrao et al. that ensuring a uniaxial stress state is produced in the semiconductive layer is imperative and would improve the performance of the resulting transistors which are fabricated from the stack (e.g. Detailed description [0018] “The performance of a field effect transistor (“FET”) benefits when a beneficial stress is applied to the active semiconductor region of the FET in the direction of the length of the FET's channel region. The performance of a p-type FET or “PFET” benefits the most when compressive stress is applied to the active semiconductor region. The performance of an n-type FET or “NFET” benefits the most when tensile stress is applied to the active semiconductor region in a direction of the length of the channel region.”).
Regarding claim 2;
Chidambarrao et al. teaches that the method further comprises: filling the trenches to form isolating trenches (e.g. Fig. 12 ref 230, Detailed description [0035] “ trench isolation regions 230 are formed…the trench isolation regions are formed by depositing a layer of oxide…”), after the at least partially melting of the fuse layer and before removing the stress donor layer.
Regarding claim 8;
Chidambarrao et al. further teaches that the stack comprises an isolating layer between the semiconductive layer and the fuse layer (e.g. Fig. 5 ref 208, Detailed description [0026] “preferably, a layer 208 of undoped silicon oxide is disposed between the BPSG layer 206 and the SOI layer 210.”).
In the alternative, even if Chidambarrao et al. does not explicitly teach that the isolating layer is required to be present in the stack during the practicing of the taught method, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing in view of the teachings of Chidambarrao et al. that including the isolating layer would improve diffusion control in the resulting device during practicing of the method (e.g. Detailed description [0026] “Such layer 208 acts to diminish the concentrations of boron and phosphorus that might result from diffusion from the BPSG layer 206 into the monocrystalline silicon layer 210 during later stages of fabrication.”).
Regarding claim 9;
Chidambarrao et al. further teaches that the stress donor layer is silicon nitride-based (e.g. Detailed description [0028] “a layer 212 of tensile stressed silicon nitride”, [0030] “…the compressive stressed layer 214 consists essentially of silicon nitride…”).
Regarding claim 11;
Chidambarrao et al. further teaches that the fuse layer is amorphous (e.g. Fig. 5 ref 206, Detailed description [0025] “a buried oxide (“BOX”) layer 204 including a layer 206 consisting essentially of doped silicate glass”).
In the alternative, even if Chidambarrao et al. does not explicitly teach that the fuse layer is amorphous in structure, it would be prima facia obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing that by forming the layer of glass (i.e. a material which is itself an amorphized silicon structure) which is doped with further impurities (e.g. Detailed description [0025] “layer 206 is doped with boron and phosphorus, such that it consists essentially of borophosphosilicate glass (“BPSG”).”) that the resulting material will necessarily maintain an amorphous character to its underlying solid strucutre.
Regarding claim 14;
Chidambarrao et al. further teaches a method for manufacturing a transistor, the method comprising: implementing the method of claim 1, the transistor comprising a channel region made in the semiconductive layer. (e.g. Fig. 3-4 ref 122, Summary of invention [0006] “a field effect transistor (“FET”) is provided which includes a channel region disposed in a stressed monocrystalline silicon-on-insulator (“SOI”) layer of a semiconductor-on-insulator (“SOI”) substrate.”, Detailed description [0017] “…channel region 122…”)
Claims 1, 10, 13, 15 , 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaines et al. (US7851325B1) in view of Cao (US20050272229A1) for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1;
Gaines et al. teaches a method for producing a uniaxial stress state in a semiconductive layer (e.g. Detailed description [Col 4 lines 13-15] “…a preferred process that uses both a buried and a sacrificial stressor layer to create a strained semiconductor active layer.”) the method comprising: providing a stack comprising a support (e.g. Fig. 1 ref 10, Detailed description [Col 4 lines 15-20] “…silicon substrate 10…”), the semiconductive layer (e.g. Fig. 1 ref 14, Detailed description [Col 4 lines 37-40] “…The active silicon layer 14…”), and a fuse layer inserted between the support and the semiconductive layer (e.g. Fig. 1 ref 12, Detailed description [Col 4 lines 15-20] “…the silicon germanium layer 12…”); forming a stress donor layer on the semiconductive layer (e.g. Fig. 2 ref 16, Detailed description [Col 4 lines 41-43] “…depositing a sacrificial stressor layer 16 on the silicon active layer 14…”); defining patterns after the forming of the stress donor layer (e.g. Fig. 3, the columns comprising ref 10+12+14+16 are construed to be the defined patterns) and forming, from the patterns, regions surrounded by trenches extending (e.g. Fig. 3 ref 18+20) up to into the semiconductive layer; partially altering the stress donor layer (e.g. Fig. 3, Detailed description [Col 5 lines 37-47] “relax at least a portion of the sacrificial silicon germanium stressor layer 16 and at least a portion of the buried silicon germanium stressor layer 12 by etching trenches separated by an appropriate interval through the sacrificial silicon germanium stressor layer 16, through the active silicon layer 14, through the buried silicon germanium layer 12 and into the substrate 10… the compressive strain in the buried and sacrificial silicon germanium layers partially relaxes, most advantageously in an elastic process…”), configured to modify a first stress state of the stress donor layer, so as to obtain a second stress state mainly in a determined direction.
Gaines et al. is silent to at least partially melting the fuse layer, such that the stress donor layer transfers at least partially, by relaxation, the second stress state in the semiconductive layer such that the semiconductive layer has a uniaxial stress state in the determined direction as claimed.
However, Cao teaches a similar stack structure in which a thermal treatment is used to partially melt a fuse layer (e.g. Fig. 1 ref 4, Detailed description [0015] “silicon-germanium layer 4 is formed over bottom Si layer 2. Bottom Si layer 2 may be a bulk silicon substrate or it may be the silicon layer of an SOI (silicon-on-insulator) substrate.”, [0018] “The sandwich structure of Si/Si1-xGex/Si is then heat treated to selectively melt the Si1-xGex as afforded by the lower melting point of silicon-germanium compared to that crystalline silicon…”) to transfer stress to a semiconductive layer (e.g. Detailed description [0020] “As a result of the heat treating operation, which may be a single and substantially continuous heat treating operation as described above, silicon-germanium layer 4 becomes relaxed…As silicon-germanium layer 4 cools and solidifies, this relaxed layer forces top Si layer 6 to expand and strain is created in top Si layer 6, which substantially continuously binds to silicon-germanium layer 4. ”).
At the effective time of filing, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught in Gaines et al. to include the heat treatment taught in Cao to further improve the relaxation of the fuse layer during process since doing so would impart further stress to the semiconductive layer with a reasonable expectation of success leading to the predictable result of a semiconductive layer with a uniaxial stress state produced via relaxation of a buried and donor stress layer respectively.
Regarding claim 10;
Cao further teaches that the melting comprises rapid thermal annealing (e.g. Detailed description [0018] “…the heat treating may be done by rapid thermal annealing, RTA.”).
Regarding claim 13;
Gaines et al. further teaches that the semiconductive layer is silicon- or silicon-germanium-based (e.g. Fig. 1 ref 14, Detailed description [Col 4 lines 37-40] “…The active silicon layer 14…”) and the fuse layer is silicon-germanium- or germanium-based (e.g. Fig. 1 ref 12, Detailed description [Col 4 lines 15-20] “…the silicon germanium layer 12…”) and has a germanium content which is greater than the semiconductive layer (i.e. since the semiconductive layer is formed of a silicon layer and the fuse layer is formed of a silicon-germanium layer the concentration of germanium in the fuse layer is necessarily greater than in the semiconductive layer).
Regarding claims 15 and 17;
Gaines et al. further teaches the semiconductive layer comprises silicon (e.g. Fig. 1 ref 14, Detailed description [Col 4 lines 37-40] “…The active silicon layer 14…”), and the fuse layer comprises silicon and germanium (e.g. Fig. 1 ref 12, Detailed description [Col 4 lines 15-20] “…the silicon germanium layer 12…”) and has a germanium content which is greater than the semiconductive layer (i.e. since the semiconductive layer is formed of a silicon layer and the fuse layer is formed of a silicon-germanium layer the concentration of germanium in the fuse layer is necessarily greater than in the semiconductive layer).
Regarding claim 19;
Cao further teaches that the melting comprises using a nanosecond laser (e.g. Detailed description [0018] “…the heat treating may be done by…laser annealing… The laser may be pulsed or a continuous wave laser…various lasers such as an XeCl or other excimer lasers may be used.”).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaines et al. (US7851325B1) in view of Cao (US20050272229A1) further in view of Clifton (US20110269281A1) for the following reasons:
Regarding claims 11 and 12;
Gaines et al. teaches the fuse layer is formed by epitaxy (e.g. Detailed description [Col 4 lines 15-20] “…forming a buried stressor layer that first deposits a blanket silicon germanium layer on a silicon substrate 10 by standard epitaxial techniques so that the silicon germanium layer 12 has a thickness of a predetermined level or smaller.”).
Gaines et al. in view of Cao is silent to the fuse layer explicitly being amorphized by implantation as claimed.
However, in the same field of endeavor Clifton teaches a method of amorphizing a buried stressor layer via implantation (e.g. Detailed description [0028] “Implantation of appropriate ions 28 through desired portions of the surface silicon layer 22 not protected by the gates 16, 18 is then performed to desired portions 30, 32 of the buried stressor layer 20 to relax portions of the buried stressor layer adjacent to the implanted portions of the buried stressor layer 20…”, [0033] “The amorphization of a part of a buried silicon germanium layer acts to reduce the stress in that part of the layer and so permit some degree of elastic relaxation of the strain in adjacent parts of the silicon germanium layer that are not amorphized.”).
At the effective time of filing, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the amorphization method taught in Clifton in the method of forming the semiconductor stack taught by Gaines et al. in view of Cao since doing so would allow the first stress state of the semiconductive layer to be tuned and selected prior to the practicing of the method taught by Gaines et al. in view of Cao with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaines et al. (US7851325B1) in view of Cao (US20050272229A1) further in view of Basker et al. (US9570298B1) for the following reasons:
Regarding claims 18;
Gaines et al. teaches the fuse layer comprises silicon and germanium (e.g. Fig. 1 ref 12, Detailed description [Col 4 lines 15-20] “…the silicon germanium layer 12…”).
Gaines et al. in view of Cao is silent to the semiconductive layer comprising silicon and germanium with the germanium content of the fuse layer being greater than the germanium content of the semiconductive layer as claimed.
However, in the same field of endeavor Basker et al. teaches a semiconductor stack (e.g. Fig. 1 ref 20) with a semiconductive layer comprising silicon and germanium (e.g. Fig. 1-3 ref 26) with a low germanium content and a fuse layer comprising silicon and germanium (e.g. 1-3 ref 24+24’) with a high germanium content (e.g. since the germanium content of the semiconductive layer is low and the germanium content of the fuse layer is high the germanium content of the fuse layer is de facto greater than the germanium content of the semiconductive layer) .
At the effective time of filing, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art to modify the initial stack in the method taught by the combination of Gaines et al. and Cao to include relative arrangement of SiGe layers taught in Basker to further control the relative stress concentrations and relaxation mechanics in the stack during subsequent processing (e.g. Detailed description [Col 3 lines 61-67, Col 4 lines 1-9] “The melting point of silicon germanium is dependent on the concentration of germanium therein. As known in the art, silicon has a melting point that substantially exceeds the melting point of germanium. In a Si1-xGex alloy, greater amounts of silicon (and less germanium) are characterized by higher melting points.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the presented 35 U.S.C. 112(b) deficiencies are satisfactorily resolved and the claims rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations were considered within the claimed specific combination, failed to anticipate or render obvious the subject matters set forth in claims 3-5.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM ROBERT MANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897