DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed: 06-15-2026
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/15/2026. These drawings are acceptable .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerkull (US Publication) 20180310107 A1 in view of Gustafsson (US Publication) 20180035219 A1, in further view of Solum (US Publication) 20190268680
Regarding claim 1, Westerskull teaches An earbud device (Fig 8 (800), para 65), comprising: a top cover (Fig 8 [801]), wherein a printed circuit board, a battery, and a bone conduction transducer are housed within the top cover (In para 42, the hearing aid device 101 may, in general, also include a microphone, electronics, battery and volume control which are not shown in the drawings), wherein the bone conduction transducer (Fig 8 [801]) sends vibrations to an inner ear of a user through bones in the user's skull (In para 42, the coupling force that keeps the hearing aid device [101] and the interconnection unit [104] together and allows sound vibrations to the transmitted from the vibrator [102] to the interconnection unit [104] and then further on to a user. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that vibration are being used to stimulate the hearing organ that is part coupled to the recipient’s skull [para 46]);
the top cover is secured to a male bottom cover, wherein the male cover comprises a conduction opening (In Fig 1, the hearing aid vibrator [102] is connected to a housing connector [103] of the hearing device [101] (para 42); which is coupled to the interface connector [105] of the skin interface [104] (para 430). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art within the coupling compartments there is a opening to all vibrations to travel through the vibrator to skin interface to the recipient’s skull. See the Fig A below. Sound vibration is being transferred through the hearing device (101, 801), see para 53. Note: Fig 8 is inherent of Fig 1 with the different is placement of male and female components) and;
Fig A: A - conduction opening (male bottom cover), B - opening (female top cover)
the male bottom cover is removably engaged with a female bottom cover (Fig 8 [804], both the male and female cover have a connection point through a connector that can easily remove, see para 65), wherein: of the female bottom cover;
and tape (Fig 3A & 8 [109/809], skin adhesive, para 54, 55) is removably secured to the bottom surface of the female bottom cover (In Fig 3A, the skin adhesive is a double sided adhesive sheet adapted to be applied to the skin and allow oxygen to penetrate therethrough, see para 55. In para 43, the skin adhesive [106] can be removably connected to the skin on the user’s head (best shown Fig 2). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the tap is secured to the bottom side of the skin interface [104].).
Westerskull does not explicitly teach an outer surface of the bottom is a flat continuous surface; and the vibrations from the bone conduction transducer pass through the outer surface female cover
Gustafsson discloses an outer surface of the bottom is a flat continuous surface (In Fig 2B, the driving plate [244] is attached to the user’s skin using a adhesive element [241], see para 39. A person of ordinary skill in the art the driving plate, based on Fig 2B, would recognize the driving plate has a flat continuous surface as it worn on the user’s head, where in other embodiments, Fig 2C, an alternative mounting method uses a band to secure the device to the recipient’s head [see para 40]); and the vibrations from the bone conduction transducer pass through the outer surface female cover (In para 19, the sound processor generates control signals which cause the seismic mass actuator to generate mechanical motion of one or more components and, accordingly, impart vibration to the recipient’s skull bone. In para 20, the bone conduction device [100] includes a coupling mass [140] configured to attach the bone conduction device to the recipient. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that vibrations would be transmitted through the bottom cover as it is directly coupled to the recipient’s head);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of an outer surface of the bottom is a flat continuous surface; and the vibrations from the bone conduction transducer pass through the outer surface female cover as taught by Gustafsson in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been to be held against the skin of a recipient to deliver the vibration from the actuator to the recipient. In para 9, in Gustafsson.
Westerskull does not explicitly teach bottom at least one charging contact point
Solum discloses bottom at least one charging contact point (Fig 6 B, C [652]. The device is separated into three parts where each contact point to their respective part could be used differently. See para128. The contacts mirror the contacts (552, 554), in figure 5, as attachment options for the device and serve a multirole function as an electrical and other physical connection. See para 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of an outer surface of the bottom is a flat continuous surface; and the vibrations from the bone conduction transducer pass through the outer surface female cover as taught by Solum in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve usability, enable its installation in to portable case or a tether with multiple orientation. In para 129, in Solum
Regarding claim 2, Westerkull discloses wherein the tape (Fig 8 (809) has an outer adhesive (Fig 8 [809], the adhesive side make contact with the user’s skin) on an outer surface of the tape (The adhesive is a double-sided adhesive sheet. The female bottom cover is the same adhesive sheet. Figure 1 and 8 have similar physical characteristics, with the exception being their connector designs, the adhesive in both figures is the same.
Regarding claim 3, Westerkull disclose wherein the earbud device (Fig 8 [800]) is secured to a user by placing the outer adhesive (Fig 8 [809]) of the outer surface of the tape (Fig 8 (809) onto a user’s skin (the skin interface uses an adhesive surface to connect to user’s skin and polymer sheet to polymer sheet to allow removability. See para 55, 65).
Regarding claim 4, Westerkull disclose wherein the printed circuit board is secured to the battery, and the battery is secured to the bone conduction transducer (Fig 8, within the hearing aid device [801], the battery and circuitry is connected and housed in the hearing device, but not explicitly shown within the drawing. See para 47, 65).
Claims 6-7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerkull (US Publication) 20180310107 A1 in view of Gustafsson (US Publication) 20180035219 A1, in further view of Solum (US Publication) 20190268680, in further view of Lee US 2022/0295187 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Westerkull teaches the presence of the lower portion (Fig 8 [804]) of the earbud device (the lower portion, which comprises of the female bottom cover is responsible to anchoring to the user’s skin).
Westerkull does not explicitly teach the earbud device in accordance to claim 1, where a storage case is present.
Lee modifies further comprising a storage case (Fig 15 [81]) for at least one lower portion (As shown in the figure, the case has a dual role of both retaining the earbuds and recharging them if needed. Contact point (PINS) are located in the lower portion of the earbud and connect to the charging springs of the case).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement a storage case for at least one lower portion as taught by Lee in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been providing an accommodation space for the two wireless headsets. In Lee, see para 148.
Regarding claim 7, Westerkull discloses the earbud device is singular in function based on Fig 8.
Westerkull does not explicitly disclose the earbud device according to claim 1, where the device further comprises of two earbud devices.
Lee further modifies the device, further comprising two earbud devices (Fig 13 [200], 14. In the figure the two wireless earbud devices placed within the charging and Storage case).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement two earbud devices as taught by Lee in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been providing stereo system to improve the performance of listening to music, calling, and wearing headsets. In Lee, see para 81.
Regarding claim 10, Westerkull teaches An earbud device system, comprising: at least one earbud device (Fig 8 [800]) with a bone conduction transducer (Fig 8 [800]), wherein:
a male cover with a conduction opening and (In Fig 1, the hearing aid vibrator [102] is connected to a housing connector [103] of the hearing device [101] (para 42); which is coupled to the interface connector [105] of the skin interface [104] (para 430). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art within the coupling compartments there is a opening to all vibrations to travel through the vibrator to skin interface to the recipient’s skull. See the Fig A below. Sound vibration is being transferred through the hearing device (101, 801), see para 53. Note: Fig 8 is inherent of Fig 1 with the different is placement of male and female components) and; female cover (Fig 8 [804])
Fig A: A - conduction opening (male bottom cover), B - opening (female top cover)
and tape (Fig 3A & 8 [109/809], skin adhesive, para 54, 55) is removably secured to surface the female bottom cover (In Fig 3A, the skin adhesive is a double-sided adhesive sheet adapted to be applied to the skin and allow oxygen to penetrate therethrough, see para 55. In para 43, the skin adhesive [106] can be removably connected to the skin on the user’s head (best shown Fig 2). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the tap is secured to the bottom side of the skin interface [104].);
Westerskull does not explicitly teach an outer continuous
Gustafsson discloses an outer continuous (In Fig 2B, the driving plate [244] is attached to the user’s skin using a adhesive element [241], see para 39. A person of ordinary skill in the art the driving plate, based on Fig 2B, would recognize the driving plate has a flat continuous surface as it worn on the user’s head, where in other embodiments, Fig 2C, an alternative mounting method uses a band to secure the device to the recipient’s head [see para 40])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of an outer continuous as taught by Gustafsson in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been to be held against the skin of a recipient to deliver the vibration from the actuator to the recipient. In para 9, in Gustafsson.
Westerskull does not explicitly teach at least one charging contact point is removably engaged with a bottom
Solum discloses at least one charging contact point (Fig 6 B, C [652]) is removably engaged with a bottom (Fig 6B [670C], the device is separated into three parts where each contact point to their respective part could be used differently. See para 128. The contacts mirror the contacts (552, 554), in figure 5, as attachment options for the device and serve a multirole function as an electrical and other physical connection. See para 124);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of at least one charging contact point is removably engaged with a bottom as taught by Solum in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve usability, enable its installation in to portable case or a tether with multiple orientation. In para 129, in Solum
Westerskull does not explicitly teach a charging case to electrically charge an upper portion of at least one earbud device, wherein the charging case has at least one earbud charger bay and at least one charging contact pin; and a storage case, wherein the at least one female bottom cover with tape is stored within the storage case.
Lee discloses a charging case (Fig 13 [8], para 148) to electrically charge an upper portion (Fig 1 [1], para 85) of at least one earbud device (Fig 13 [200], para 200) of at least one earbud device, wherein the charging case has at least one earbud charger bay (Fig 13 [200],) and at least one charging contact pin (Fig 13 [803]);
and a storage case, wherein the at least one bottom (Fig 12 [54], para 146) with tape is stored within the storage case (The portable case acts as a charging and storage case. As shown in Fig 13 -15, the earbud headset is retained within the charging case body. Once the charging springs and pins in the charging case have direct contact with the earbud headset, a loop is formed where the headset battery may charge. See para 145. A double-sided tape could be applied to the upper and lower surfaces of the water/dust proof film to fasten the flexible printed circuit to the bottom housing. The bottom housing, which houses the headset’s charging pins, connect to the charging springs in the charging case. See para 93).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of a charging case to electrically charge an upper portion of at least one earbud device, wherein the charging case has at least one earbud charger bay and at least one charging contact pin; and a storage case, wherein the at least one female bottom cover with tape is stored within the storage case. as taught by Lee in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been simplify a structure design and increase space utilization. The charging case was configured to accommodate the wireless headset and use the case as power supply. See para 53, in Lee.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerkull (US Publication) 20180310107 A1 in view of Gustafsson (US Publication) 20180035219 A1, in further view of Solum (US Publication) 20190268680, in further view of Lee (US Publication) 2022/0295187 A1, in further view of Yanz (US Patent) 8452021 B2
Regarding claim 11, Westerskull disclose wherein the at least one earbud device (Fig 8 [800]) further comprises: a top cover, wherein a printed circuit board (Fig 8 [801]), a battery, and the bone conduction transducer are housed within the top cover (the circuit board, battery, and bone conduction transducer are not shown in the drawing but found within the hearing aid device 801, as well as other essential elements are not shown in the drawing. See para 47), the top cover is secured to the male bottom cover (Fig 8 [801]); and on the male bottom is removably engaged on the female bottom cover (Fig 8 [804]).
Westerkull does not explicitly teach the earbud device in accordance to claim 10, a male twist lock with a female twist lock.
Yanz modifies includes a male twist lock (Fig 1B [105]) with female twist lock (Fig 1B [104]), the hearing assistance device uses an attached threaded connector, and said device is engaged with the earhook using a friction fit connector, or a twist and lock connector. Though it is not shown, it would be obvious with one who skill in the art that a receiving component is within the earhook. See para 13, in Yanz)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of a male twist lock with a female twist lock as taught by Yanz in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been in order to provide a more secured connection.
Regarding claim 12, Westerskull discloses wherein: the upper portion of the at least one earbud device includes the top cover (Fig 8 [801]), and male bottom cover (Fig 8 [801]), a printed circuit board (Fig 8 [801]), a battery, and a bone conduction transducer (Fig 8 [801], the circuit board, battery, and bone conduction transducer are not shown in the drawing but found within the hearing aid device 801, as well as other essential elements are not shown in the drawing. See para 47); a lower portion of the earbud device comprises the female bottom cover (Fig 8 [804]) and the tape (Fig 8 [809]), the lower portion comprises of the female bottom and tap that makes contact with the skin.); the female bottom cover is removed from the male bottom cover (In Fig 7A, connection, and in 7B, the mating components are disconnected, as shown below. See para 63).
Westerskull does not explicitly teach where the upper portion is inserted into the charging case.
Lee teaches the upper portion (Fig 13 [200]) is inserted into the charging case (Fig 13 [81]), the charging springs (801 & 802) keen to their respective corresponding space that is in the charging case body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention as taught by Lee in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve space utilization and use to the accommodation space for the headset as a charger. See para 147, in Lee.
Regarding claim 13, Westerskull does not explicitly teach, wherein the at least one charging contact point on the male bottom cover connects at least one charging contact pin on the charging case.
Lee teaches wherein the at least one charging contact point (Fig 13 [81]) on the male bottom cover (Fig 13 [200]) connects to at least charging contact pin (Fig 13 [803]) on the charging case (As shown in Fig 13 -15, the earbud headset is retained within the charging case body. Once the charging springs and pins in the charging case have direct contact with the earbud headset, a loop is formed where the headset battery may charge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of wherein at least one charging contact point on the male bottom cover connects at least one charging contact pin on the charging case as taught by Lee in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been to simplify a structure design and increase space utilization. See para 147, in Lee.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerkull US Publication 20180310107 A1 in view of Gustafsson (US Publication) 20180035219 A1, in further view of Solum (US Publication) 20190268680, in further view of Lee US 2022/0295187 A1, in further view of Yanz (US Patent) 8452021 B2, in further view of Feng (US Publication) US 20210281942 A1
Regarding claim 14, Westerskull does not explicitly teach the comprising a slidable top for the charging case base on the charging case.
Feng teaches the system m further comprising a slidable top (Fig 5 [13]) connected to a charging case base (Fig 5 [1511]) on the charging case (Fig 5 [11]), the case cover is attached to the case via magnetic block that slides along a chute. See para 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention of a slidable top connected to a charging case base on the charging case as taught by Feng in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been when utilizing a charging case, the case cover would not detach from the case body and go missing.
Regarding claim 15, Westerskull does not explicitly teach a slidable top is magnetically secured to the charging case base.
Feng teaches the system further comprising a slidable top (Fig 5 [13]) is magnetically (Fig 5 [155], the 1st & 2nd positioning part are attracted to each other to position the lid & case body. See para 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention of a slidable top connected to a charging case base on the charging case as taught by Feng in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been when utilizing a charging case, the case cover would not detach from the case body and go missing.
Claims 16-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerkull (US Publication) 20180310107 A1 in view of Gustafsson (US Publication) 20180035219 A1, in further view of Lee (US Publication) 2022/0295187 A1
Regarding claim 16, Westerskull teaches A method of storing at least one earbud device (Fig 8 [800]), comprising: removing a lower portion (Fig 8 [804]) of the at least one earbud device from an upper portion (Fig 8 [801]) of the at least one earbud device, wherein: the lower portion and the upper portion includes a conduction opening (In Fig 1, the hearing aid vibrator [102] is connected to a housing connector [103] of the hearing device [101] (para 42); which is coupled to the interface connector [105] of the skin interface [104] (para 430). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art within the coupling compartments there is a opening to all vibrations to travel through the vibrator to skin interface to the recipient’s skull. See the Fig A below. Sound vibration is being transferred through the hearing device (101, 801), see para 53. Note: Fig 8 is inherent of Fig 1 with the different is placement of male and female components);
Fig A: A - conduction opening (male bottom cover), B - opening (female top cover)
Westerskull does not explicitly teach has a continuous surface;
Gustafsson discloses has a continuous surface (In Fig 2B, the driving plate [244] is attached to the user’s skin using a adhesive element [241], see para 39. A person of ordinary skill in the art the driving plate, based on Fig 2B, would recognize the driving plate has a flat continuous surface as it worn on the user’s head, where in other embodiments, Fig 2C, an alternative mounting method uses a band to secure the device to the recipient’s head [see para 40])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of an outer continuous as taught by Gustafsson in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been to be held against the skin of a recipient to deliver the vibration from the actuator to the recipient. In para 9, in Gustafsson.
Westerskull does not explicitly teach storing the lower portion of the at least one earbud device in a storage case; and engaging the upper portion of the at least one earbud device in a charging case.
Lee discloses storing the lower portion (Fig 12 [54]) of the at least one earbud device in a storage case (Fig. 13 [81], as shown in the figure, the case has a dual role of both retaining the earbuds and recharging them if needed. Contact point (PINS) are located in the lower portion of the earbud and connect to the charging springs of the case) and engaging the upper portion (Fig. 15 [803]) of the at least one earbud in a charging case (Fig. 13 [81], the charging pin of the head case is part of a charge loop that follows the power distributed from the case through the springs to contact pts in the lower portion of the earbuds to the battery within the device, through the charging pin into the case. See para 148, 149).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of a storing method of an earbud device method, where storing at least one earbud in a storage case. Nor engaging the upper portion in a charging case as taught by Lee in Westerskull’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve space utilization and use to the accommodation space for the headset as a charger. See para 147, in Lee.
Regarding claim 17, Westerskull discloses wherein the lower portion include the female bottom cover (Fig 8 [804]) and tape (Fig 8 [809], the lower portion of the earbud device contains the female housing connector and the double-sided sheet [para 55] that is the adhesive to the skin interface. See para 65).
Regarding claim 19, Westerkull disclose herein the tape (Fig 3 [109]) has adhesive (Fig 8 [809]) on the outer surface of the tape (The tap is a double-sided adhesive sheet what designed to attach to the skin interface. Figure 1 and 8 have similar physical characteristics, with the exception being their connector designs, the adhesive in both figures is the same. See para 55, 65).
Claims 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerkull (US Publication) 20180310107 A1 in view of Gustafsson (US Publication) 20180035219 A1, in further view of Lee (US Publication) 2022/0295187 A1, in further view of Yanz (US Patent) 8452021 B2
Regarding claim 18, Westerskull discloses where in the lower portion (Fig 8 [804]) that at least on earbud device (Fig 8 [800]) is removed from the upper portion (Fig 8 [800]) of the at least one earbud device on the upper portion on the lower portion. In fig 8, the male bottom cover comprises of the male connector and the female bottom cover retains the skin interface, see para 65).
(In Fig 7A and 7B, Westerkull discloses that there is sloping contact surface within hearing aid device that allows for a rotational clockwise motion to disconnect from skin interface, which also has a similar sloping contact. These physical features allow for a twist unlocking method. See para 63-64, in Westerkull)
Westerkull does not explicitly teach the earbud device in accordance to claim 16, using male twist lock and a female twist lock.
Yanz modifies includes using male twist lock (Fig 1B [105]) and a female twist lock (Fig 1B [104]), the hearing assistance device uses an attached threaded connector, and said device is engaged with the earhook using a friction fit connector, or a twist and lock connector. Though it is not shown, it would be obvious with one who skill in the art that a receiving component is within the earhook. See para 13, in Yanz)
The motivation would have been in order to provide a more secured connection.
Regarding claim 20, Westerskull discloses further comprising pressing the tape (Fig 8 [809]) of the at least one earbud device on the user’s skin (the skin adhesive allows the skin interface to be removably connected to a skin of the user. See para 54, 65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Accordingly, a new ground of rejection has been entered based on Westerskull in view of Gustafsson. See comments in 103 rejection section.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS A BARBOZA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692