DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeshi Kaneda (US 20200341708 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kaneda discloses a printer configured to perform printing (¶ [22]) based on a print job received from an external device (¶ [25] print data from mobile device), in accordance with a plurality of setting values associated with the received print job (¶ [7]), wherein
the printer is configured to:
notify the external device of resolution information in response to a first request from the external device (¶ [48]), the resolution information being information to resolve a combination of setting values not to be associated with each other at a same time, the resolution information being information in which a specific setting value is set for a predetermined setting item (¶ [49]), the specific setting value indicating that the printer replaces the specific setting value with another setting value (¶ [49-50]);
select one setting value in accordance with a situation of the printer from a plurality of setting values with which the specific setting value is replaceable (¶ [50]), in a case where the printer has notified the external device of the resolution information in response to the first request from the external device and then the printer receives a print job associated with the specific setting value from the external device (¶ [50]); and
perform the printing based on the print job in accordance with the one setting value that has been selected (¶ [65]).
Regarding claim 2, Kaneda discloses the printer according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein
the specific setting value includes a first specific setting value corresponding to a first setting item and a second specific setting value corresponding to a second setting item (¶ [29]),
the first specific setting value is replaceable with one of a plurality of first setting values and the second specific setting value is replaceable with one of a plurality of second setting values (¶ [94-96]), and
in a case where the printer has notified the external device of the resolution information in response to the first request from the external device and then the printer receives the print job associated with at least one of the first specific setting value and the second specific setting value from the external device (see rejection of claim 1), the printer is configured to:
select one setting value in accordance with the situation of the printer from the plurality of first setting values with which the first specific setting value is replaceable, in a case where the received print job is associated with the first specific setting value (¶ [94-96]);
select one setting value in accordance with the situation of the printer from the plurality of second setting values with which the second specific setting value is replaceable, in a case where the received print job is associated with the second specific setting value (¶ [94-96]); and
perform the printing based on the print job in accordance with the one setting value which has been selected (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kaneda discloses the printer according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the combination of the setting values not to be associated with each other at the same time includes a first combination and a second combination (¶ [31]), and in response to the first request from the external device, the printer is configured to:
notify the external device of the resolution information in which the first setting item has the first specific setting value, as the resolution information for the first combination (¶ [67-68]); and
notify the external device of the resolution information in which the second setting item has the second specific setting value, as the resolution information for the second combination (¶ [74] post-setting may be notified/changed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshi Kaneda (US 20200341708 A1) in view of Michael Sweet et al (PWG “IPP: Job and Printer Extensions”; 2012).
Regarding claim 4, Kaneda discloses the printer according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3).
Kaneda fails to explicitly disclose wherein in a case where the printer receives a "job-resolvers-supported" command as the first request from the external device in accordance with an Internal Printing Protocol standard, the printer is configured to notify the external device of the resolution information.
Sweet et al, in the same field of endeavor of resolving print attribute conflicts by substituting a setting value (Pg. 11 /Sect. 1.3/ Para. 3 “Clients submit a Validate-Document or Validate-Job request with Template attributes that will be used in the actual document or job creation request. If conflicts are present in the supplied Template attributes, the Printer returns a "preferred-attributes" collection attribute indicating which substitute values will be used to resolve those conflicts”), teaches wherein in a case where the printer receives a "job-resolvers-supported" command as the first request from the external device in accordance with an Internal Printing Protocol standard, the printer is configured to notify the external device of the resolution information (Pg. 35/Sect: 5.6.8/Para. 2 and Pg. 35/Sect. 5.6.11/Para. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the printer as disclosed by Kaneda configured to notify an external device of resolution information in response to a first request from the external device, the resolution information being information to resolve a combination of setting values not to be associated with each other at a same time to utilize the teachings of Sweet et al which teaches in a case where the printer receives a "job-resolvers-supported" command as the first request from the external device in accordance with an Internal Printing Protocol standard, the printer is configured to notify the external device of the resolution information to provide appropriate collections that allow a client options for resolving setting conflicts.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneda in view of Yoshiko Sueshige (US 20120224207 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kaneda discloses the printer according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3).
Kaneda fails to explicitly disclose the combination of the setting values not to be associated with each other at the same time includes a first specific combination in which a size unsuitable for a specific sheet discharge tray is set for a sheet size and the specific sheet discharge tray is set for a sheet discharge tray, and in response to the first request from the external device, the printer is configured to notify the external device of the resolution information in which the predetermined setting item is the sheet discharge tray and one of the plurality of first setting values is set for the sheet discharge tray as the specific setting value, as the resolution information resolving the first specific combination.
Sueshige, in the same field of endeavor of a printing system capable of determining if print setting values cause inconsistencies and resolving inconsistencies by changing one of the setting items (Abstract), teaches the combination of the setting values not to be associated with each other at the same time includes a first specific combination in which a size unsuitable for a specific sheet discharge tray is set for a sheet size and the specific sheet discharge tray is set for a sheet discharge tray (¶ [75]), and in response to the first request from the external device, the printer is configured to notify the external device of the resolution information in which the predetermined setting item is the sheet discharge tray and one of the plurality of first setting values is set for the sheet discharge tray as the specific setting value, as the resolution information resolving the first specific combination (¶ [77]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the printer as disclosed by Kaneda configured to notify an external device of resolution information in response to a first request from the external device, the resolution information being information to resolve a combination of setting values not to be associated with each other at a same time to utilize the teachings of Sueshige which teaches the combination of the setting values not to be associated with each other at the same time includes a first specific combination in which a size unsuitable for a specific sheet discharge tray is set for a sheet size and the specific sheet discharge tray is set for a sheet discharge tray, and in response to the first request from the external device, the printer is configured to notify the external device of the resolution information in which the predetermined setting item is the sheet discharge tray and one of the plurality of first setting values is set for the sheet discharge tray as the specific setting value, as the resolution information resolving the first specific combination to prevent generation of print setting information that is predicted to be inconvenient to the user or requires the printer to execute an impossible operation.
Conclusion
/JAMARES Q WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
September 17, 2026