DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The application is a CIP of US applications 17564565, 17215315, 16783615 and 16175067. However none of parent applicant application discloses the feature of “registering the 3D imagery onto the display/feed's coordinates system, frame by frame while keeping temporal consistency between frames; and rendering the 3D imagery onto the video feed based on the video feed coordinates registered.” in the independent claims 1 and 12.
In addition none of parent applicant application discloses the feature of “align the 3D object data with the video feed based on the identified corresponding points, wherein alignment by soft tissue points is used when the patient's mouth is closed, and alignment by hard tissue points is used when the patient's mouth is open; and display the aligned 3D objects in the XR environment.” In independent claim 25.
Therefore the priority of the claims 1-21, 23-25 are considered as the current filing date 2024-07-10 for examination purpose.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “module” in claims 12-21, 23-24.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected as it recites the abbreviation CBCT without providing its full meaning upon first use. Applicant is required to amend the claim to define the term, eg., cone beam computed tomography (CBCT).
In addition claims 23-25 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 (f) as being incorrectly numbered resulting from missing claim 22. The claim numbers require corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8, 11-21, 23-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the points" in “comparing them to the points detected on the 3D image”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as the base claim 1 does not recite any “points”.
Furthermore Claim 8 recites the limitation “the points" and “the 3D objects” in “comparing them to the points detected on the 3D objects”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim, as the base claim 1 does not recite any “points” or “3D objects”.
In addition the limitations “comparing them to the points detected on the 3D image” and “comparing them to the points detected on the 3D objects” respectively in claims 7-8 appear incomplete for omitting essential essential steps or structural relationship, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted step/relationship are: Detecting points … on the 3D image/objects (with clear definition of “the points”).
In addition Claim 11 recites “converting the mesh from the volumetric image and the mesh/points from the surface scan to a point cloud”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations “the mesh” in “the mesh from the volumetric image”, and “the points” in “the mesh/points” as the base claim 1 does not recite a mesh from the volumetric image”, or points from the surface scan. Claim 1 recites “the volumetric image comprises a three-dimensional voxel array” and “the surface scan comprises a polygonal mesh or point cloud”. It is also not clear if the points in “the mesh/points” intended to refer to the point cloud from the surface scan. Then converting the point cloud into point cloud would not make sense either.
For examination purposes, it is interpreted as “converting the volumetric image and the mesh from the surface scan to a point cloud”.
Claims 8 and 18 recite “such as teeth”. In addition, claims 12 (and 13-21, 23-24 depending thereon) and 25 recite “such as facial landmarks”. The phrase "such as" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are intended to be limiting or merely exemplary as part of the invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For Examination purposes, the examiner considers the limitations after “such as” ie., “teeth” and “facial landmarks”, as part of the invention for compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-18, 20-21, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casas (US 20160191887 A1), and further in view of Saphier et al (US 20210321872 A1) and Shin et al (US 20200380274 A1).
RE claim 1, Casas teaches A method for aligning three-dimensional (3D) imagery of a patients in an extended reality (XR) system (Figs 1-2, abstract, [0006]), said method comprising the steps of:
receiving a 3D image comprising at least one of a volumetric image, surface scan, or a photograph with depth information of the patient, wherein the volumetric image comprises a three-dimensional voxel array representing an anatomical structure, and the surface scan comprises a polygonal mesh or point cloud representing the same anatomical structure, and a photo represents the same anatomical structure with associated depth values for each pixel (Figs 1-3, [0030]-[0031], [0076], [0078]);
receiving at least one of a real-time display or video feed from XR goggles, or a prerecorded video (display/feed), wherein the display/feed provides real-time or prerecorded imagery of the patient's anatomical structure (Figs 1-3, [0031], [0014]);
registering the 3D imagery onto the display/feed's coordinates system frame by frame, while keeping temporal consistency; and rendering the 3D imagery onto the video feed based on the video feed coordinates registered (Figs 1-3, [0006], [0009]- [0012], [0016]-[0017], [0032],[0035]-[0038], [0124], [0127] wherein real time tracking, pose update, and blending indicates keeping temporal consistency).
Casas is silent RE: patient's oral cavity and the temporal consistency between frames.
However Saphier teaches receiving intraoral scanning of an oral cavity of the patient in abstract, [0213] for capturing 3D dental structures for dental evaluation and treatment. In addition Shin teaches keeping temporal consistency across frames in [0044] using correlation response values, for learning correlation filters in object tracking in typical AR applications, which is readily available or can equally be applied to provide the seamless blended video stream in real-time, enhancing user experience
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Casas a system and method of receiving intraoral scanning of an oral cavity of the patient for dental evaluation and treatment, as suggested by Saphier, and further ensure temporal consistency across frames as suggested by Shin in order provide the seamless blended video stream in real-time extending the method and system to dentistry and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 2, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin teaches wherein receiving the 3D image from a volumetric image involves capturing multiple CBCT images and reconstructing them into a three-dimensional voxel array that represents the patient's anatomical structure (Casas [0030], [0073]-[0075] wherein the 3D data set is rendered/reconstructed as the 3D volumetric image represented with a grid of voxels (volume elements). Furthermore Saphier Fig 2A, [0213], [0471], [0521]).
RE claim 3, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin teaches wherein receiving the 3D image from a surface scan involves intra-oral scanning the anatomical structure to produce a detailed polygonal mesh or point cloud that accurately reflects the surface contours (Casas [0076], [0083]. Furthermore Saphier Fig 2A, [0225], [0342], [0521]).
RE claim 4, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin teaches, wherein receiving a video feed from the XR goggles includes streaming real-time video data from the goggles' cameras to a processing unit that integrates the registered feed of the 3D image (Casas [0171]).
RE claim 5, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin teaches, wherein receiving a video feed from a prerecorded video includes accessing and processing stored video files that were captured during prior clinical sessions or procedures (Casas [0171]).
RE claim 6, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin teaches wherein the registering and rendering of the 3D imagery onto the video feed comprises using machine learning algorithms to automatically identify and label anatomical landmarks on the volumetric image and surface scan (Casas [0130], [0167]. Furthermore Saphier Figs 2A, 3, [0271]).
RE claim 7, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin teaches, wherein the registering and rendering of the 3D imagery onto the video feed comprises applying facial recognition algorithms to identify soft tissue landmarks and comparing them to the points detected on the 3D image (Casas [0130], [0089], [0092], [0108]. Furthermore Saphier Figs 2A, 3, [0233], [0258]- [0259] identifying facial/dental landmarks).
RE claim 8, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin teaches, wherein the registering and rendering of the 3D imagery onto the video feed comprises applying dental recognition algorithms to identify hard tissue landmarks, such as teeth, and comparing them to the points detected on the 3D objects (Casas [0130], [0089], [0092], [0108]. Furthermore Saphier Figs 2A, 3, [0233], [0258]- [0259], [0271] identifying facial/dental landmarks).
RE claim 9, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin is silent RE, wherein the registering and rendering of the 3D imagery onto the video feed comprises applying a fully convolutional U-Net-like architecture, to obtain a probability distribution over the location of every point of interest; selecting a location of maximum probability as a detection of a landmark; and then filtering said detections by a probability threshold.
However Saphier teaches applying a fully convolutional U-Net-like architecture to identify dental landmarks in [0369], to obtain a probability distribution over the location of every point of interest ; selecting a location of maximum probability as a detection of a landmark; and then filtering said detections by a probability threshold ([0576], [0580], [0647], [0255], [0258]-[0259], [0295]-[0296], [0347]) to effectively perform the dental landmark detecting with high quality and accuracy utilizing the fully convolutional U-Net-like architecture.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin a system and method of wherein the registering and rendering of the 3D imagery onto the video feed comprises applying a fully convolutional U-Net-like architecture, to obtain a probability distribution over the location of every point of interest ; selecting a location of maximum probability as a detection of a landmark; and then filtering said detections by a probability threshold, as suggested by Saphier, to effectively perform the dental landmark detecting with high quality and accuracy utilizing the fully convolutional U-Net-like architecture and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 12, Casas teaches A system for aligning 3D images in an extended reality (XR) environment, said system comprising: a processor; a memory element coupled to the processor (Figs 1-2, 6, abstract, [0006], [0183], [0185]);
a first module configured to receive 3D images from a volumetric image or surface scan, wherein the volumetric image comprises a three-dimensional voxel array representing an anatomical structure, and the surface scan comprises a polygonal mesh or point cloud of the same anatomical structure (Figs 1-3, [0030]-[0031], [0076], [0078]);
a second module configured to detect a set of points on said 3D image, wherein the detection includes identifying distinct anatomical landmarks on the volumetric image or surface scan, such as landmarks for soft tissue or landmarks for hard tissue, and assigning each identified point a unique identifier ([0130], [0089], [0092], [0108]);
a third module configured to receive a video feed from XR goggles or a prerecorded video, wherein the video feed provides real-time or prerecorded imagery of the patient's anatomical structure (Figs 1-3, [0031], [0014]);
a fourth module configured to register the 3D imagery onto the video feed's coordinates system, frame by frame while keeping temporal consistency; and a fifth module configured to render the 3D imagery onto the video feed based on the video feed coordinates registered (Figs 1-3, [0006], [0009]- [0012], [0016]-[0017], [0032],[0035]-[0038], [0124], [0127] wherein real time tracking, pose update, and blending indicates keeping temporal consistency).
Casas is silent RE: facial landmarks or tooth landmarks and the temporal consistency between frames.
However Saphier teaches detecting facial landmarks or tooth landmarks in Figs 2A, 3, [0233], [0258]- [0259], [0271] to assist in dental evaluation and treatment planning. In addition Shin teaches keeping temporal consistency across frames in [0044] using correlation response values, for learning correlation filters in object tracking in typical AR applications, which is readily available or can equally be applied to provide the seamless blended video stream in real-time, enhancing user experience
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Casas a system and method of detecting facial landmarks or tooth landmarks for dental evaluation and treatment, as suggested by Saphier, and further ensure temporal consistency across frames as suggested by Shin in order provide the seamless blended video stream in real-time extending the method and system to dentistry and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claims 13-18, 23-24 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 2-3, 6, 9, 7-8, 4-5 respectively and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
RE claim 20, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin teaches further comprising a user interface module configured to allow a clinician to manually select and mark anatomical landmarks on the volumetric image or surface scan (Casas [0087], in addition Saphier [0508]).
RE claim 21, Casas teaches further comprising a user interface module configured to allow a clinician to interact with the rendered video feed by hand or voice gesture to make annotations ([0076], [0084]).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin, and further in view of Meyer et al (US 20210090272 A1).
RE claim 10, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin is silent RE, wherein the registering and rendering of the 3D imagery onto the video feed comprises detecting corresponding points applying a weighted point-set alignment approach that gives different weights to soft tissue and hard tissue points.
However Meyer teaches in Figs 7-8, [0045], [0072] for error free registration separating soft tissue from hard tissue based on the contribution weight.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin a system and method of wherein the registering and rendering of the 3D imagery onto the video feed comprises detecting corresponding points applying a weighted point-set alignment approach that gives different weights to soft tissue and hard tissue points, as suggested by Meyer, to obtain error free registration and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claim 19 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 10 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin, and further in view of Anssari et al (US 20210322136 A1).
RE claim 11, Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin teaches further comprising converting
Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin is silent RE, converting the mesh/points from the surface scan to a point cloud. However Anssari teaches in [0075], [0098] to obtain the same data representation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Casas as modified by Saphier and Shin a system and method of and converting the mesh/points from the surface scan to a point cloud, as suggested by Anssari, to perform the point based registration between the 3D images and surface scans and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casas in view of Saphier.
RE claim 25, Casas teaches A system for aligning and displaying three-dimensional (3D) objects in an extended reality (XR) environment, said system comprising: a processor; a memory element coupled to the processor, wherein the memory element includes instructions (Figs 1-2, 6, abstract, [0006], [0183], [0185]) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
receive 3D object data from volumetric imagers and surface scanners; obtain a video feed from an XR device or from prerecorded content (Figs 1-3, [0030]-[0031], [0076], [0078]);
identify corresponding points between the 3D object data and the video feed, wherein the points are on at least one of soft tissue or on hard tissue ([0130], [0089], [0092], [0108]);
align the 3D object data with the video feed based on the identified corresponding points, and display the aligned 3D objects in the XR environment (Figs 1-3, [0006], [0009]- [0012], [0016]-[0017], [0032],[0035]-[0038], [0124], [0127] wherein real time tracking, pose update, and blending indicates keeping temporal consistency).
Casas is silent RE: soft tissue such as standard facial landmarks, or on hard tissue, such as teeth; wherein alignment by soft tissue points is used when the patient's mouth is closed, and alignment by hard tissue points is used when the patient's mouth is open.
However Saphier teaches in Figs 2A, 3, [0217], [0233], [0258]- [0259], [0226], [0271] etc identifying facial and dental landmarks to assist in dental evaluation and treatment planning, wherein soft tissue points and hard tissue points are visible when the moth is closed and open. This can be equally used in the alignment and displaying accordingly, as readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Casas a system and method of detecting standard facial landmarks, or on hard tissue, such as teeth; wherein alignment by soft tissue points is used when the patient's mouth is closed, and alignment by hard tissue points is used when the patient's mouth is open, for dental evaluation and treatment, as set forth above applying Saphier, in order to extend the method and system to dentistry and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See attached 892)
/Sultana M Zalalee/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614