DETAILED ACTION
Per Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment
Claims 1-20 are. canceled.
Claims 21-40 have been added.
Claims 21-40 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
CLAIMS 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FILSFILS et al (US 2015/0304206).
Per claim 21, FILSFILS et al teach a method, applied to a first communication apparatus, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, through a border gateway protocol (BGP) session established between a third communication apparatus and the first communication apparatus, a first BGP route advertised by a second communication apparatus [paras 0037, 0059, 0134, 0147, 0247, 0259, 0266—through a iBGP session or BGP session establishing between a first and egress border router for obtaining a BGP peering route advertised by the ingress PE router], wherein the first BGP route comprises a first routing prefix and a first next hop, the first next hop is the second communication apparatus [paras 0034-35, 0168, 0180-182—BGP route comprises an address prefix and a next hop is the ingress router], the first communication apparatus is configured with a border gateway protocol egress peer engineering (BGP EPE) function [paras 0054, 0133-135—first router configured as EPE-enabled controller function], and no BGP session is established between the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus when obtaining the first BGP route [paras 0141, 0259—no BGP session is established between first router and egress PE when BGP route is obtained, BGP session established between border routers];
allocating a first border gateway protocol peer segment identifier (BGP peer SID) based on the first BGP route [paras 0037, 0183-184, 0195-208—allocating BGP Peering Route includes BGP peering SID]; and
storing an association relationship between the first BGP peer SID and the first next hop [paras 0027, 0140, 0149-159, 0182—routing and/or forwarding information database for storing network topology associate BGP Peering SIDs to the various components of the external topology and its single nhop peer].
Claims 30 and 37 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 21 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 33, FILSFILS et al teach a method, applied to a controller, wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first border gateway protocol (BGP) peer SID, first additional information, and a first BGP route that are sent by a first communication apparatus, wherein the first BGP route is advertised by a second communication apparatus and is obtained by the first communication apparatus through a BGP session established between the first communication apparatus and a third communication apparatus [paras 0037, 0059, 0134, 0147, 0247, 0259, 0266—through a iBGP session or BGP session establishing between a first and egress border router for obtaining a BGP peering route advertised by the ingress PE router; paras 0034-35, 0144, 0168, 0180-182—BGP peering SID at the selected egress border router, BGP peering routes describe the peers and their BGP Peering SIDs, BGP route comprises an address prefix and a next hop is the ingress router], the first additional information associates the first BGP route with the first BGP peer SID [paras 0027, 0140, 0149-159, 0182—routing and/or forwarding information database for storing network topology associate BGP Peering SIDs to the various components of the external topology and its single nhop peer], no BGP session is established between the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus when receiving the first BGP route [paras 0141, 0259—no BGP session is established between first router and egress PE when BGP route is obtained, BGP session established between border routers], the first BGP route comprises a first routing prefix and a first next hop, the first next hop is the second communication apparatus [paras 0034-35, 0168, 0180-182—BGP route comprises an address prefix and a next hop is the ingress router], and the first communication apparatus is configured with a border gateway protocol egress peer engineering (BGP EPE) function [paras 0054, 0133-135—first router configured as EPE-enabled controller function];
determining, based on the first BGP route, the first additional information and the first BGP peer SID, a first SID list comprising the first BGP peer SID, wherein the first SID list indicates a first packet forwarding path reaching the first routing prefix [paras 0168-0179, 0255, 0268—determining first SID can be replaced by a list of segments, additional information and BGP Peering SID, prefix SID of an intermediate node and EPE controller, segment route segment list contained within the flow reaching address prefix]; and
sending the first SID list to a head node of the first packet forwarding path [paras 0030, 0055, 0170-179, 0277—pushing the ordered list of SID segments that define the source route of the packet, where the source of the packet dictates the path the packet will follow, ingress border router composes a list of segments to steer a flow along a selected path].
Per claim 22, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 21, wherein: the third communication apparatus is a route server, and the BGP session established between the third communication apparatus and the first communication apparatus is an external border gateway protocol (EBGP) session; or the third communication apparatus is a route reflector, and the BGP session established between the third communication apparatus and the first communication apparatus is an internal border gateway protocol (IBGP) session [paras 0027, 0035, 0134, 0147-148, 0160-161—establishing eBGP session, route reflector with iBGP session and eBGP-learned Internet routes that announce to iBGP peers maintained by border routers].
Claim 38 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 22 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 23, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 21, wherein the method further comprises: advertising the first BGP route, the first BGP peer SID, and first additional information to a controller, wherein the first additional information associates the first BGP route with the first BGP peer SID [paras 0037, 0054-69, 0147-149, 0247, 0266—advertising BGP peering Routes, BGP peering SID to a EPE controller and associating the BGP peering Routes with the selected BGP Peering SID].
Claim 39 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 23 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 24, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 23, wherein the first additional information comprises the first next hop [paras 0058, 0146-160, 0216, 0222—information semantics include original next-hop].
Claims 36 and 40 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 24 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 25, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 24, wherein: the third communication apparatus is a route server, the first BGP route further comprises a first autonomous system (AS) identifier, the first AS identifier identifies an AS to which the second communication apparatus belongs, and the first additional information comprises the first AS identifier; or the third communication apparatus is a route reflector, the first BGP route further comprises an originator identifier (Originator ID), and the first additional information comprises the originator ID [paras 0020-22, 0034-37, 0055, 0061, 0067-69, 0073-119, 0134, 0273—BG route and path within identified AS comprising route reflectors of the AS domain, border router of AS composes lists of segments to a steer flow along selected path within the AS, AS number/ID, originating source host].
Per claim 26, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 23, wherein advertising the first additional information to the controller comprises: sending a border gateway protocol link state (BGP LS) packet to the controller, wherein the BGP LS packet comprises the first additional information [paras 0063, 0069, 0133, 0135-140—BGP-LS session and route to EPE controller comprising information, BGP-LS attribute and characteristics].
Per claim 27, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 21, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a packet, wherein the packet comprises the first BGP peer SID; and forwarding the packet to the first next hop based on the association relationship between the first BGP peer SID and the first next hop [paras 0037, 0054-69, 0149-160, 0247, 0266—packet comprises BGP peer SID and forwarding to next hop based on the related and association with its single-hop peer, associating the BGP peering Routes with the selected BGP Peering SID].
Per claim 28, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 23, wherein the method further comprises: advertising connection type information to the controller, wherein the connection type information indicates a type of a connection between the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus [paras 0037, 0069, 0144-147—an egress border router advertising two types of routes over the session to the EPE controller, establish iBGP session type with EPE controller and advertising BGP peering routes].
Per claim 29, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 21, wherein the first BGP peer SID is an SRv6 SID [paras 0032-33—SRGB comprises locally relevant IPv6, Segment Routing over IPv6].
Per claim 31, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 30, wherein the method further comprises: advertising the second BGP route, the second BGP peer SID, and second additional information to a controller, wherein the second additional information associates the second BGP route with the second BGP peer SID [paras 0037, 0054-56—advertising BGP Peering Routes including BGP Peering SIDs and EPE controller associating the related peering connectivity].
Per claim 32, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 21, wherein: the first BGP peer SID is a BGP peer node SID; the first BGP peer SID is a BGP peer adjacency SID or the first BGP peer SID is a BGP peer set SID [paras 0037, 0054-55, 0142—BGP Peering SID is a PeerNode SID, PeerAdjSID, PeerGroup SID].
Per claim 34, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 33, wherein determining, based on the first BGP route, the first additional information and the first BGP peer SID, the first SID list comprising the first BGP peer SID comprises: determining, based on the first routing prefix, the first packet forwarding path reaching the first routing prefix; and determining the first SID list based on the first additional information and the first packet forwarding path [paras 0168-0179, 0255, 0268—determining first SID can be replaced by a list of segments, additional information and BGP Peering SID, prefix SID of an intermediate node and EPE controller, segment route segment list contained within the flow reaching address prefix].
Per claim 35, FILSFILS et al teach the method according to claim 33, wherein the third communication apparatus is a route server or a route reflector [paras 0035, 0134, 0273—route reflector].
Conclusion
III. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: HUANG (US 2024/0283737), DONG et al (USPN 9,900,250).
IV. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTIE D SHINGLES whose telephone number is (571)272-3888. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 10am-7pm.
/KRISTIE D SHINGLES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453