8DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to communication submitted on 07/10/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, and extra post solution without integrating it into a practical application Claims 1-9 are ineligible. The claim(s) recite(s) “A computer-implemented method for detecting an entity of an elevator system based on data in a representation generated from measurement data gathered over a travel of an elevator car; generating the representation in a frequency domain descriptive of a vibration experienced by the elevator car during the travel of the elevator car, determining if the representation comprises a number of portions corresponding to reference data, the reference data defining a number of vibrational fingerprints generable by a number of entities of the elevator system; and setting, in accordance with a determination, a detection result to express one of the following: i) an entity corresponding to a vibrational fingerprint of the reference data is present in the elevator system; and , ii) an entity corresponding to a vibrational fingerprint of the reference data is absent in the elevator system”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because these data gathering is an extra post solution without integrating it into a practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea (organizing human activity and mental processes) without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17 the claim(s) recite(s) “generating the representation in a frequency domain descriptive of a vibration experienced by the elevator car during the travel of the elevator car, determining if the representation comprises a number of portions corresponding to reference data, the reference data defining a number of vibrational fingerprints generable by a number of entities of the elevator system; and setting, in accordance with a determination, a detection result to express one of the following: i) an entity corresponding to a vibrational fingerprint of the reference data is present in the elevator system; and , ii) an entity corresponding to a vibrational fingerprint of the reference data is absent in the elevator system”.”. The acquire of the data information as to remove elevator car specific artefacts from the obtained radar data based on predefined elevator car specific data could be performed by mental processes and is merely organizing human activity. However, these limitations constitute mental processes, which are recognized judicial exceptions. See Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208 (2014); MPEP 2106.04.
The claim further recites additional elements, such as “computer-implemented method” and “a representation generated from measurement data gathered” … “representation comprises a number of portions corresponding to reference data, the reference data defining a number of vibrational fingerprints generable by a number of entities of the elevator system”, however, these additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because:
The “computer-implemented method” is recited at a high level of generality and serves as a generic computing device for implementing the abstract idea. The “computer-implemented method” is a well-known device for collecting image data, therefore, it is no more than using well-known generic hardware as a tool to collect data. The courts have held that utilizing well-known and conventional tool to perform abstract tasks do not supply “significantly more”. These all are all mental steps as evident from the disclosure. The grouping of "mathematical concepts" in the 2019 PEG is not limited to formulas or equations, and in fact specifically includes "mathematical calculations" as an exemplary of a mathematical concept. 2019 PEG Section I, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52. Thus, limitation recites a concept that falls into the "mathematical concept"
Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F. 3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (improvement to computer architecture); Diehr, 450 U.S. 175 (1981) (transformation); MPEP 2106.05.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
For purposes of office action, these limitations will be interpreted as a processing units such a controller, computer or the like, capable of generate elevator data representing the frequency of vibration, oscillation or undesired noises to further determine if there is present of these frequencies withing the elevator system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 recite “detecting an entity of an elevator system... the reference data defining a number of vibrational fingerprints generable by a number of entities of the elevator system…”, however, it is unclear and vague what in fact is this entity. The specs is extremely ambiguous by providing non positive concrete meaning of these entities, such for example The reference data defines a number of vibrational fingerprints each of which are representations descriptive of a vibration generable by an entity of an elevator system. In other words, the vibrational fingerprints may be understood as accurate representation of a vibration of a certain entity, such as a component, of an elevator system…. Correspondingly the size of the range may be defined in the same manner and depending on the entity it may very narrow, or even a certain frequency, whereas it may also be broad with respect to another entity… and so forth, leading the person skilled in the art to guess what these entities are and how are related to the result of any of : an entity corresponding to a vibrational fingerprint of the reference data is present in the elevator system; or ii) an entity corresponding to a vibrational fingerprint of the reference data is absent in the elevator system.
For purposes of office action, these limitations will be interpreted as measuring or calculating any elevator system data related to possible vibration, oscillation, noise or undesired harmonic spectrum or frequencies withing the system.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by FUJITA et al. (WO 2006019167 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 8, FUJITA shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses a computer-implemented method and its corresponding apparatus for detecting an entity (i.e "abnormal condition part'') of an elevator system (disclosed on Full Description) based on data in a representation generated from measurement data gathered over a travel of an elevator car (see Description, i.e. The vibration acceleration sensor 1 detects an amplitude value of sensible vibration at the time of operating a car (not shown) of the elevator or an amplitude value of vibration of a traction machine (not shown) which serves as a power unit of the elevator.), the method comprising:
generating (i.e. via 8) the representation in a frequency domain ("wavelet spectrum data", see Fig. 4) descriptive of a vibration experienced by the elevator car during the travel of the elevator car,
determining (i.e. via 9) if the representation comprises a number of portions corresponding to reference data, the reference data (see Figs. 3, 5) defining a number of vibrational fingerprints generable by a number of entities (Figs. 3, 5; entities in last column) of the elevator system , and
setting, in accordance with a determination (i.e. via 9), a detection result to express one of the following: i) an entity corresponding to a vibrational fingerprint of the reference data is present in the elevator system, ii) an entity corresponding to a vibrational fingerprint of the reference data is absent in the elevator system, (see Description, i.e. implicit as determine existence of an abnormal condition, i.e. troubleshooting unit 9 determines whether a component representing abnormal vibration or abnormal noise of the elevator is included in the wavelet spectrum data generated by the wavelet conversion unit 8. The component representing the abnormal vibration or abnormal noise is an amplitude value exceeding a predetermined permissible reference value, of the amplitude values of vibration or noise represented by the wavelet spectrum data. .. i.e. that the abnormal condition has occurred in various kinds of devices of the elevator, the troubleshooting unit 9 determines a part where the abnormal condition has occurred. The abnormal condition occurrence part is, for example, a part which causes the vibration or noise making passengers feel anxious or uncomfortable. There may be one or plural abnormal condition occurrence parts).
In regards to claims 2 and 10, FUJITA shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the number of vibrational fingerprints of the reference data are formed in at least one of the following manner: by simulating an operation of a number of elevator systems, systems; and by identifying the number of vibrational fingerprints of the reference data from representations in a frequency domain generated from history data collected from a number of elevator systems (see Figs. 2-5 and Description, Table showing contents of abnormal condition part database stored in the diagnostic database unit 11 in the elevator troubleshooting apparatus).
In regards to claims 3 and 11, FUJITA shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the determining (via 9) if the representation comprises the number of portions corresponding to the reference data is performed on a basis of a frequency range and amplitude values of frequencies in the frequency range (see Figs. 2-5 and Description, i.e. The first information indicates information about combination of the times and frequencies where the permissible reference value of the amplitude value of vibration and noise exists, of combination of the times on the time coordinates and the frequencies on the frequency coordinates, in the wavelet spectrum data. The second information indicates information about a part (for example, traction machine) which is presumed to be the abnormal condition occurrence part in a case where the amplitude value with the combined time and frequency is higher than the permissible reference value. The permissible reference value indicates a lower limit value of the amplitude value at which the abnormal condition is considered to occur in various kinds of devices of the elevator….the troubleshooting unit 9 may have a function of determining whether an amplitude value which is higher than the standard value (second permissible reference value) smaller than the above explained permissible reference value is included in the amplitude values represented in the wavelet spectrum data, as a result of detecting the amplitude values by the characteristic amount determination unit 14).
In regards to claims 5 and 13, FUJITA shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the measurement data is received from at least one sensor configured to measure vibration experienced by the elevator car (see Description, i.e. the elevator troubleshooting apparatus comprises a vibration acceleration sensor 1, a noise sensor 2, a filter 3, an amplifier 4, an A/D converter 5, a data storing unit 6 and a date and time input unit 7… The troubleshooting unit 9 determines whether a component representing abnormal vibration or abnormal noise of the elevator is included in the wavelet spectrum data generated by the wavelet conversion unit 8).
In regards to claims 6 and 14, FUJITA shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the representation in the frequency domain is generated in a form of spectrogram (see Description, i.e. The component representing the abnormal vibration or abnormal noise is an amplitude value exceeding a predetermined permissible reference value, of the amplitude values of vibration or noise represented by the wavelet spectrum data. The permissible reference value is, for example, an amplitude value of the vibration or noise which makes passengers feel anxious or uncomfortable).
In regards to claims 7 and 15, FUJITA shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses generating data record associating the entity detected to be present in the elevator system with data indicative of a position of the respective entity, entity; and storing the data record to data storage (see Description, i.e. a function acquired from the frequency analysis based on the Fourier transform by the troubleshooting apparatus is a one-dimensional function of only frequency coordinates. In other words, this function does not consider a position of a car in an elevator shaft… the wavelet conversion unit 8 conducts wavelet conversion of vibration and noise data output from the data storing unit 6 in the following formula (2), and thereby generates wavelet spectrum data wt (a, b) that consist of the frequency coordinates and the position coordinates… The wavelet conversion unit 8 conducts wavelet conversion for the input data and thereby generates wavelet spectrum data which consists of a function of frequencies and positions. The wavelet conversion unit 8 here generates the wavelet spectrum data including the frequency coordinates and positional coordinates which are coordinates of a distance between a position corresponding to the landing hall on the bottom floor of the elevator and a current position of the car. FIG. 5 is a table showing contents of abnormal condition part database stored in the diagnostic database unit in the elevator troubleshooting apparatus according to the second embodiment of the present invention. The diagnostic database unit 11 inputs the information from the basic information input unit 10. The diagnostic database unit 11 stores the abnormal condition part database (FIG. 5) on the basis of the kind of the input information).
In regards to claim 17, FUJITA shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the apparatus is implemented with one or more computing devices and computer readable program code configured to cause performing of the method according to claim 1 when the computer readable program code is run on one or more computing apparatuses; and a system comprising an elevator system and a computing system communicatively connected to each other, wherein the computing system comprises the apparatus according to claim 9 (implicit as Figs. 1-2, i.e. database unit, display, data storage, etc.).
In regards to claim 20, FUJITA shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the elevator system (110) comprises at least one sensor configured to generate measurement data descriptive of a vibration of an elevator car experienced during a travel of the elevator car (see Description, i.e. (i.e. shown in FIG. 1, the elevator troubleshooting apparatus according to the first embodiment of the present invention comprises a vibration acceleration sensor 1, a noise sensor 2, a filter 3, an amplifier 4, an A/D converter 5, a data storing unit 6 and a date and time input unit 7.The vibration acceleration sensor 1 detects an amplitude value of sensible vibration at the time of operating a car (not shown) of the elevator or an amplitude value of vibration of a traction machine (not shown) which serves as a power unit of the elevator. The vibration acceleration sensor 1 outputs an analog signal including information of the detected value.The noise sensor 2 detects a value of noise at the time of rise and fall of the car. The noise sensor 2 outputs an analog signal including information of the detected value. The filter 3 inputs the analog signal from the vibration acceleration sensor 1 or the noise sensor 2. The filter 3 allows only a determined frequency band component of the input signal to pass therethrough. The amplifier 4 amplifies an input signal from the filter 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJITA et al. (WO 2006019167 A1) in view of KIM (KR 20180086628 A).
In regards to claims 4 and 12, FUJITA implicitly shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the generation of the representation in the frequency domain (i.e. via 8) is performed based on the measurement data descriptive of a travel of an elevator car (120) at a constant speed (see Description, i.e. The wavelet conversion unit 8 conducts wavelet conversion for the input data and thereby generates wavelet spectrum data which consists of a function of frequencies and positions. The wavelet conversion unit 8 here generates the wavelet spectrum data including the frequency coordinates and positional coordinates which are coordinates of a distance between a position corresponding to the landing hall on the bottom floor of the elevator and a current position of the car.. . The abnormal condition part determination unit 31 determines the abnormal condition part on the basis of the wavelet spectrum data corresponding to velocity coordinates and frequency coordinates. The wavelet conversion unit 8 conducts wavelet conversion for the input data and thereby generates wavelet spectrum data which consists of a function of velocities and positions. The wavelet conversion unit 8 here generates the wavelet spectrum data including the frequency coordinates and velocity coordinates which are coordinates of ascent/descent velocities of the car of the elevator.
FUJITA does not explicitly disclose (emphasis added) wherein the generation of the representation in the frequency domain is performed based on the measurement data descriptive of a travel of an elevator car at a constant speed.
However, KIM further discloses a method for remote diagnosis of an elevator by analyzing a current and a speed of a motor using a real-time frequency analysis method. The method includes a step of performing a fast Fourier transform on a current and an electric motor rotation speed in vector control of a motor to detect a vibration frequency component, So that it is possible to monitor the failure of the elevator traction machine in real time, wherein the generation of the representation in the frequency domain is performed based on the measurement data descriptive of a travel of an elevator car at a constant speed (see Description, i.e. In the vector control, speed detection 34 and current detection 32 are required. In the elevator system, the electric motor 100 is controlled to perform acceleration, constant speed and deceleration operations… At this time, if the motor is driven at a constant speed, the speed is constant and the current of each phase of the three-phase motor is applied at a constant frequency… When the abnormal vibration frequency information is detected in the frequency analysis process, the DSP 40 controls the corresponding information to be transmitted to the remote maintenance system 50 through the control processor).
Hence, given the teaching of KIM, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of FUJITA in order to represent in the frequency domain based on the measurement data descriptive of a travel of an elevator car at a constant speed , so If the detected vibration frequency is related to the structure of the electric motor and the number of actuators, it is possible to accurately identify the cause of the fault, which is caused by the failure of the part of the traction machine, consequently improving the system accuracy and reliability.
10. Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJITA et al. (WO 2006019167 A1) in view of REN et al. (CN 112001314 A).
In regards to claim 8 and 16, FUJITA does not explicitly disclose wherein at least the determining if the representation comprises the number of portions corresponding to reference data is performed with a machine-learning model, the machine-learning model being trained with the reference data to perform the determining.
However, REN further discloses an early fault detection method of variable speed elevator, using CPP method to estimate the instantaneous rotating speed of variable speed elevator, sampling the vibration signal with equal angle, eliminating the influence of speed on the fault related vibration signal, calculating the optimal model parameter, self-adaptively extracting the weak fault impact characteristic from the vibration signal; wherein at least the determining if the representation comprises the number of portions corresponding to reference data is performed with a machine-learning model, the machine-learning model being trained with the reference data to perform the determining (see Description, i.e. pre-processing the vibration signal. considering that the hoisting machine working process has variable speed characteristic; the hoisting machine vibration signal collected on site has strong non-linear and non-stationarity; using the CPP and order ratio analysis technology introduced by 1.1 to re-sample the vibration signal; eliminating the non-stable problem caused by the vibration signal caused by the rotating speed. (2) data de-noising and characteristic extraction. The IMOMEDA method of the first part of the embodiment of the original vibration signal to filter processing, enhancing the periodic impact component. re-sampling the vibration signal extracting multi-order statistic and extracting IMOMEDA filter vibration signal instantaneous amplitude and instantaneous frequency entropy and Hilbert spectrum based on Teager operator, generating the training sample and test sample data. in the sample feature set, the Hilbert spectrum is frequency domain characteristic; the rest is time domain statistical characteristic; the essential attribute of the fault can be revealed from a plurality of view angles, improving early fault characteristic signal extracting capability. (3) the residual error is connected with the DCNN model training… and training the DCNN model according to the error reverse propagation algorithm. (4) classifying the test sample according to the established residual connected with the DCNN model; determining the state of the elevator. the frequency domain characteristic of the test sample (the Hilbert spectrum of IMOMEDA filter signal) as the DCNN model input, the test sample in the time domain statistic characteristic and the 1 layer of the layer output together as the 2 layer convolutional layer input, through the model calculation to obtain the formula (22) classification output. according to the output result of formula (22), determining the category of the test sample by the following formula).
Hence, given the teaching of REN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of FUJITA in order to employ learning model technology as to be executable to initialize detection of parameter, to extract the time domain statistical characteristic of the filter signal to be detected; obtaining the time domain statistical characteristic of the vibration signal to be detected, consequently improving the system accuracy and reliability
Related Prior Arts
11. The following related prior arts made of record are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art and may be applied alone or in combination for rejection of the claims.
Roberts (US 20170247226 A1) discloses an elevator system (100) includes an elevator drive system (101) including a tension member (103) supporting an elevator car (106) under tension and a monitoring system (102). The monitoring system includes a vibration sensor (111) for detecting vibration of at least one of the tension member and the elevator car and an analysis unit (112) for determining a level of wear and life of the tension member based on the vibration of the tension member detected by the vibration sensor.
Conclusion
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/Primary Examiner Engineer, Art Unit 2837