DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9-10, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Radichel et al. (US 2019/0341752 A1).
Claims 1 and 19-20: Radichel et al. discloses an air moving system (112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 118 of Figure 1; paragraph [0062]) for a stringing apparatus (100 of Figure 1), the air moving system that includes an energy bank (116 of Figure 3; paragraph [0062] describes the line blower system 112 as including the compressor 114, the line blower 118, and the power source 116; paragraph [0071] describes the power source as being an electrical power source; paragraph [0159] describes the power source as being a battery); an electric air moving device (114,116,118 of Figure 2) is powered by the energy bank (paragraph [0071] describes that that power source 116 power the line conveying apparatus 114 that, as previously discussed includes the compressor 114 and blower 116) and configured to output a supply of air to cause a cable to move along a duct (paragraph [0140] describes that the line blower system 112 which, as described previously, includes the compressor 114, the power source 116, and the blower 118 is used to advance the transmission line through the duct D to install the transmission line 110 in the duct) and at least one controller (120,160 of Figure 2; paragraph [0159] describes that the controller controls the operation of the compressor 114) configured to: determine a speed of the cable moving along the duct (paragraph [0113]-[0115] describe a line counter that measures the speed of the transmission line during operation and relays the speed to the controller 160; 366,377 of Figure 19; paragraph [0173] and paragraph [0177] describe that 366,377 are features of the blower head that monitor the speed of the transmission line during operation); and control the output of the supply of air of the electric air moving device to control the speed of the cable based at least in part on the determined speed of the cable (paragraph [118] describes that the controller 160 outputs instructions to the line conveying apparatus 140 to increase or decrease the speed of the system; paragraph [0201] describes the controller 160 providing setting adjustments including transmission line speed and reel feed speed; paragraphs [0084]-[0085]; paragraph [0072] describes the blower as the means to move the transmission line through the duct, in order to increase the speed the controller must control the output of the supply air of the electric moving device).
Claim 2: Radichel et al. further discloses that electric air moving device is rotary vane or rotary screw type pump (paragraph [0147]).
Claim 9: Radichel et al. further discloses an air reservoir (274 of Figure 15), the air reservoir configured to store a volume of compressed air (paragraph [0154]).
Claim 10: Radichel et al. further discloses that the at least one controller is further configured to: determine whether the speed of the cable is less than a predetermine line speed (as addressed in regard to claim 1 the controller 120,160 is capable of determining the line speed and outputting a signal to increase the line speed); and in response to determining that the speed of the cable is less than the predetermine line speed, output a control signal to open a control valve (278 of Figure 15) to release at least a portion of the volume of compressed air from the air reservoir (paragraph [0154]-[0158] by increasing the pressure supplied from the tank by the regulator the speed of the line would be increased).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radichel et al. (US 2019/0341752 A1), ‘752
Claim 11: Radichel et al. fails to explicitly disclose that the control valve is configured to be manually opened or closed.
However, as addressed above Radichel et al. discloses opening and closing the valve mechanically or automatically.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try opening and closing the control valve manually because it is prima facie to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(E)).
In the instant case the finite number of identified, predictable solutions, would be to open and close the control valve manually, mechanically, or automatically. Further there would be a reasonable expectation of success in opening and closing the control valve manually because this is an old and well-known way of opening and closing valves.
Claim 17: Radichel et al. discloses an energy bank (116 of Figure 2; paragraph [0062], [0069] describes the power source as being an electrical power source; paragraph [00163] describes the power source as being a battery); a driveline (108 of Figure 1, [0062]) configured to receive or to deliver a cable (paragraph [0105]-[0110] describes the cable being delivered by the driveline that is powered by an electric motor 154); an electric air moving device (114,115,118 of Figure 2) powered by and energy bank (as addressed above in regard to claim 1) and configured to output a supply of air (paragraph [0071]); and at least one controller (120,160, 370 of Figure 2) configured to: determine a speed of a cable being delivered from the driveline (as addressed above in regard to claim 1); and control the output of the supply of air of the electric air moving device to control the speed of the cable based at least in part on the determined speed of the cable (as addressed above in regard to claim 1).
While ‘752 discloses a portion of the limitations recited in claim 17, ‘752 fails to explicitly disclose that the driveline is powered by the energy bank.
However, ‘752 further discloses that the driveline is powered by an electric motor 154, and further provides an energy bank that is utilized to power electric devices of the air moving system.
Therefore it would have been obvious to on of ordinary skill in the art to modify the air moving system of ‘752 such that the electric motor of the driveline was powered by the energy bank that powered other portions of the air moving system because it is only and well known in the art to power electric motors using energy banks such as batteries and utilizing the existing energy bank of ‘752 would be a convenient means for powering the driveline.
Claim 18: Radichel et al. fails to explicitly disclose the electric air moving device is configured to output (1) a first air supply having a high flow rate and low pressure, and (2) a second air supply having a low flow rate and high pressure.
However, Radichel et al. discloses a system that provides detailed data and recommended flow rate and blowing pressure, and further recommends the type of blower to be used (paragraphs [0232]-[0234] and [0263]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a blower that is configured to output an air supply of a desired flow rate and pressure based on the recommendation of a system such as that of Radichel et al.
Further, provided with the system of Radichel et al., capable of determining a necessary flow rate, pressure, and making recommendations of suitable blowers to achieve the necessary flow rates and pressures, one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of choosing or configuring an electric air device that would output a first air supply having a high flow rate and low pressure, and (2) a second air supply having a low flow rate and high pressure.
This choosing or configuring of the electric air device would be accomplished through routine experimentation using the system of Radichel et al. It has long been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 3-5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radichel et al. (US 2019/0341752 A1) in view of Radichel et al. (US 2022/0393444 A1).
Claim 3: As addressed above Radichel et al. ‘752 discloses a first air moving device. While Radichel ‘752 discloses this portion of claim 3,’752 fails to disclose that the air moving system further comprises a second electric air moving device.
However, Radichel et al. ‘444 teaches that it is known in the art to provide multiple air moving devices (118a,114a,118b,114b,118c,114c of Figure 3) to an air moving system for a stringing apparatus (100 of Figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the air moving device of ‘752 in order to provide a second air moving device as taught by ‘444 because it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Further this modification would have been advantageous because it would allow the air moving system to string the cable into additional duct systems (paragraph [0125], ‘444).
Claim 4: Radichel et al. ‘752 further discloses that the at least one controller is further configured to: determine whether the determined speed of the cable is less than a predetermined line speed; and in response to determining that the speed of the cable is less than the predetermined line speed, control the output of the supply of air of the first electric air moving device and the second electric air moving device to increase the speed of the cable (paragraph [0084]-[0085]).
Claim 5: Radichel et al. ‘444 further teaches that the at least one controller is further configured to: output instructions to operate the first electric air moving device and the second electric air moving device in at least a first mode, wherein the first mode comprises operating and wherein the first mode comprises operating the first electric air moving device and the second electric air moving device in a series configuration (as depicted in Figure 3; paragraph [0102]).
While ‘444 discloses a portion of the limitations recited in claim 5, neither ‘444 nor ‘752 discloses or reasonably suggest a second operating mode wherein the first electric air moving device and the second electric air moving device operate in a parallel configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try operating the first and second air moving device in a parallel configuration because it is prima facie to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(E)).
In the instant case the identified predictable solution would be to operate the first and second air devices alone, in series, or in parallel. Further there would be a reasonable expectation of success in operating the first and second air devices in parallel as they are known to be successfully operated alone or in series as taught by ‘752 and ‘444. The examiner notes that ‘444 teaches a controller that is capable of universally controlling multiple air moving devices simultaneously.
Further this modification would merely require the duplication of the air moving system of ‘444.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art duplicate the air moving device of ‘444 in order to provide an air moving system that included a first and second air moving device operating in parallel because it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 16: Radichel et al. ‘752 discloses a pressure sensor that detects a pressure value, the pressure value indicative of a pressure in a duct (paragraph [0069]-[0070], the portions of 115 through which the air flow during the analyzing of the air by 115); but fails to disclose that in response to determining that the pressure value is greater than a maximum pressure value, outputting a control signal to decrease the output of the supply of air of the electric air moving device.
However, Radichel et al. ‘444 teaches that it is known in the art to provide a pressure sensor in a duct that determines a pressure value, the pressure value indicative of a pressure in a duct (paragraph [0090], the portions of 115 through which the air flow during the analyzing of the air by 115); and in response to determining that the pressure value is greater than a maximum pressure value, output a control signal to adjust the output of the supply of air of the electric air moving device (paragraph [0090] discusses adjusting the determined air pressure using a local, global controller, or a control unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the pressure sensor of ‘752 such that it was configured to output a control signal to controller as taught by ‘444 because this modification would improve the control of the pressure in the duct as it would be automatically adjusted.
Claims 7-8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radichel et al. (US 2019/0341752 A1) in view of Bassinger (US 3,689,199).
Claim 7: Radichel et al. fails to disclose an air multiplier, the air multiplier configured to increase a flow rate of air delivered by the electric air moving device.
However, Bassinger teaches that there are known in the art air multipliers that are configured to increase of flow rate of air delivered by an air moving device (Col. 6, Lines 43-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the air multiplier of Bassinger with the air moving system of Radichel et al. in order to provide a means of increasing the air flow from the compressor as needed.
Further, this modification would have been obvious to and well within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to make because it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements by known methods in order to achieve predictable results (MPEP 2143(B)).
In the instant case the predictable solution would be that the air multiplier of Bassinger would be placed in line with the compressor of Radichel et al. in order to provide additional air to the air system of Radichel et al. as needed.
Claim 8: Bassinger further teaches that the operation of the multiplier is controlled by the air pressure being supplied by the compressor (Col. 6, Lines 43-62).
Further Radichel et al. teaches a control that is configured to determine whether the speed of the cable is less than a predetermined line speed; and in response to determining that the speed of the cable is less than the predetermined line speed (366,377 of Figure 19; paragraph [0173] and paragraph [0177]), output a control signal to increase the speed of the cable (paragraph [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the air multiplier of Bassinger with the controller of Radichel et al. in order to increase the speed of the cable as needed.
The examiner notes that Radichel et al. discloses that the controller is capable of controlling devices such as motors, pumps, and the like (paragraph [0084]).
Claim 12: Radichel et al. as modified above Bassinger renders obvious an air moving system including an air multiplier, wherein the air multiplier configured to increase a flow rate of air delivered by the electric air moving device.
Further Radichel et al. discloses that the at least one controller is configured to determine whether the cable has remained stationary for a predetermined length of time (paragraph [0173], the slip discussed in this paragraph is interpreted as describing the cable becoming stationary for some period of time), and in response to determining that the cable has remained stationary for the predetermined length of time, output a control signal to decrease the output of the supply of air of the electric air moving device (paragraph [0173]).
Neither Radichel et al. or Bassinger disclose or reasonably suggest outputting a control signal to increase the output of the supply air of the electrical air moving device.
However, as addressed above the system of Radichel et al./Bassinger is capable of outputting a control signal to increase the output of the supply air of the electrical air moving device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try increasing the output of the supply air of the electrical moving device in order to correct the stationary condition of the cable because it is prima facie to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(E)).
In the instant case the identified predictable solutions would be to increase or decrease the output of supply air. Further there would be a reasonable expectation of success in increasing the output air in order to correct the stationary condition of the cable because the cable is moved by the output of air.
Claim 13: Neither Radichel et al. nor Bassinger explicitly disclose or teach that in response to determining that the cable has remained stationary for the predetermined length of time, outputting a control signal to activate the air multiplier.
As modified above the air device system of Radichel et al. includes the air multiplier of Bassinger. This air multiplier is controlled by the controller of Radichel et al. and further the air multiplier is designed to increase the air output of a system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to active the air multiplier of Radichel et al./Bassinger using the controller of Radichel et al. in order to increase the air output of the air moving system of Radichel et al. as desired by the user.
Claim 14: Radichel et al. further discloses that the at least one controller is further configured to: determine whether the speed of the cable is less than a predetermine line speed (paragraph [0084]-[0085]); and in response to determining that the speed of the cable is less than the predetermine line speed, output a control signal to open a control valve (278 of Figure 15) to release at least a portion of the volume of compressed air from the air reservoir (paragraph [0154]-[0158]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regard to claims 1, 17, 19, and 20, applicant contends that Radichel ‘752 fails to disclose a controller that controls the output of the supply air “to control the speed of the cable based at least part on the determined speed of the cable”. The examiner disagrees. ‘752 discloses that the cable 110 is moved through a duct D using a blower 118. The blower pushes the cable through the duct using a flow of pressurized air [0072]. In order to control the speed of the cable the amount or pressure of the air flow provided by the compressor and blower would have to be modified. Further ‘752 discloses that the controller 120 is capable of modifying the speed of the cable [0118]. In support of this ‘752 discloses that the air moving system 100 includes sensors/counters [0086],[0113] that measure the speed and length of the cable and shares the speed of the cable back to local controllers 160 that communicate with the controller 120 [0118]. Therefore the device of ‘752 determines the speed of the cable using sensors/counters, transmits the determined speed to the local controller 160, which communicates the speed to the controller 120, the controller as necessary then sends speed adjustment messages back to the local controller, and the local controller adjusts the speed of the cable increasing the pressure or amount of air provided by the compressor and blower. Since the movement of the cable through the duct is caused by the air flow provided by the compressor and blower, adjusting the output of the supply air of the compressor and blower, for example the air pressure or air amount, would be the means by which the speed of the cable would be adjusted.
Considering the slip example, ‘752 discloses detecting slip [0177] using sensors and the slip being indicated by the speed of the cable. Further, ‘752 corrects this issue of slip by modifying the air pressure. Therefore, in order to correct a detected slip/speed issue, ‘752 adjusts/controls the output supply of air by modifying the air pressure.
Applicant contends that Radichel ‘752 does not disclose an electric air moving device “powered by” an energy bank. The examiner disagrees. ‘752 explicitly discloses a power source 116, [0062], [0069], and the power source powering the apparatus 104. The apparatus 104 of ‘752 includes an electric air moving device, compressor 114 and blower 118, which is powered by the power source 116, [0071]. ‘752 describes the power source 116 as including an electrical power source such as a generator 292, [0162], mains power, and a battery [0163]. ‘752 describes the line conveying apparatus 104 being power by electricity and the electricity being supplied by a battery [0163] which is considered an energy bank.
In regard to applicants’ arguments concerning the driveline being powered by the energy bank, applicant’s amendment require a new ground for rejection. The new ground for rejection is presented above.
In regard to claim 10, applicant contends that the air regulator of ‘752 is not a valve, and that the controller does not control the air regulator to release air from the tank in order to increase the speed of the cable. The examiner disagrees. A pressure regular is considered a valve in the art. A pressure regulator modifies and restricts the flow of air so it is a valve. Further paragraph [0156] of ‘752 explicitly states that the controller 160 adjusts the desired air pressure delivered to the output 180. Therefore, ‘752 discloses a valve that is controlled by the controller which detects the speed of the cable and increases the speed of the cable as necessary by raising the air pressure and delivering additional air from the tank to the air moving system.
In regard to applicants’ contention that Justice, Radicel ‘444, and Bassinger fail to cure the deficiency of ‘752 to provide a controller configured to control the output of the supply air of the electric air device to control the speed of the cable based at least in part on the determined speed of the cable, the argument is moot. As addressed above in regard to claim 1, ‘752 does provide this feature.
In regard to claim 18, applicant contends that selecting or sizing a blower to meet one recommended operating point is not a device configured to output (1) a first air supply having a high flow rate and low pressure, and (2) a second air supply having a flow rate and high pressure. The examiner agrees that selecting and sizing is not a device, but maintains that the disclosure of ‘752 renders obvious such a device. The device of ‘752 is capable of supplying air at a high flow rate and low pressure and capable of supplying air at low flow rate and high pressure. Further as addressed above ‘752 provides a planning system that would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to determine if a high flow rate and low pressure were needed or if a low flow rate and high pressure were needed. Therefore, the device is provided by ‘752, and ‘752 discloses a means for determining the necessary flow rate and pressure.
In regard to claim 16, applicant contends that the air pressure that is analyzed by the compressor module 115 is not indicative of the air pressure within the duct because the analysis is done upstream of the duct. The examiner disagrees. The air pressure that is analyzed by the compressor module is at the pressure supplied to the duct. The air blower acts to move the compressed air into the duct, however the pressure within leaving the compressor and within the duct would be the same air. Therefore, the air pressure determined by the compressor module would be indicative of the air pressure within the duct. Further if the air pressure analyzed by the compressor module was not in some way indicative of the air pressure within the duct then how would the system determine or control the air pressure in the duct in order to ensure proper operation of the system?
In regard to claims 7 and 12, applicant contends that the air intensifier of Bassinger is not an air multiplier and only increases air pressure and not air flow rate. The examiner disagrees. Air intensifiers are also referred to as air multipliers within the art. Both of these terms refer to pneumatic pressure boosters that increase the pressure of incoming air or gas beyond its inlet pressure. The air intensifier of Bassinger functions to increase the air pressure supplied to a tool and thereby increases the air flow rate to the tool. This increased air pressure delivers more air to the tool and allows the tool to operate at higher speeds which necessarily requires increased air flow rate (Col. 1, Lines 16-31 of Bassinger).
In regard to claims 12 and 13, applicant contends that the slip described by ‘752 is different from the cable remaining stationary. The examiner disagrees. The device of ‘752 is configured to detect if the cable is not moving at a desired rate, and the slip described would include the cable remaining stationary. The device of ‘752 is not only configured to detect the cable slipping and/or remaining stationary, but also is configured to correct such a condition by taking remedial action including modifying the air pressure such that the cable begins to move after remaining stationary and/or slipping.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON L VAUGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725