DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “at least one first battery module and at least one second battery module…” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how each of the first and second battery modules as recited in claim 4 relate to the “at least one battery module” as recited in claim 1? Clarification within claim 4 is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0021943 (Amante et al.).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 17 and 18, Amante et al. teaches: Claim 1 - a battery assembly configured to be mounted within at least one wing (104) of at least one aircraft, including: at least one battery module (202) which includes at least one battery cell (400); at least one mounting structure (218) configured to mount the battery module (202), along a mounting side (bottom) of the battery module (202), to at least one support structure within the wing (104); wherein the battery assembly is configured to be mounted within the at least one wing (104) such that the battery assembly is mounted to the at least one support structure along the mounting side (bottom) of the battery module (202) and a second side (top) of the battery module (202) is not mounted to a support structure within the wing (104), the second side (top) being substantially opposite from the mounting side (bottom); wherein the battery assembly includes a plurality of the at least one battery module (202), wherein the plurality of battery modules (202) are mountable in series within the wing (104), wherein at least two adjacent battery modules (202) of the plurality of battery modules (202) are mechanically decoupled from each other at least along the second side (top) of the battery modules (202); wherein the battery assembly is configured such that the mounting side (bottom) extends at least one of: substantially perpendicular to a span-wise direction of the wing (104), substantially perpendicular to a front spar, and substantially perpendicular to a rear spar of the wing (104), when the battery assembly is mounted within the wing (104), (Figures 1-6C); Claim 3 - wherein the battery assembly is configured to be arranged within a wingbox of the wing (104 – the examiner notes that the wing does NOT actually appear to claimed), wherein the wingbox is at least partially defined by a front spar, a rear spar, an upper skin and a lower skin of the wing (104), (Figures 1-6C); Claim 4 - wherein the battery assembly comprises at least one first battery module (202) and at least one second battery module (202), wherein the battery assembly is configured such that the at least one first battery module (202) is mountable to one side of the support structure (left or right side of the wing (104)) and the at least one second battery module (202) is mountable to a second side of the support structure (the other of the left or right side of the wing (104)) which is substantially opposite from the first side, (Figures 1-6C); Claim 7 - wherein at least two adjacent battery modules (202) of the plurality of battery modules (202) are mechanically decoupled from each other along each side of the battery modules (202) or, along each side of the battery modules (202) except for the mounting sides, (Figures 1-6C); Claim 8 - at least one encapsulation device (covers of battery cells (400)) configured to at least partially encapsulate the battery cell(s) (400), (Figures 1-6C); Claim 9 - an intermediate thermomechanical cover (covers of battery cells (400)) placed on the atop of the battery module (202), (Figures 1-6C); Claim 17 - wherein the support structure extends parallel to the mounting structure (218) and perpendicular to the span-wise direction, (Figures 1-6C); Claim 18 - wherein the battery assembly is free of a mounting structure (218) for mounting the battery module along the second side (top) of the battery module (202), (Figures 1-6C).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 12,384,514 (Linde et al.).
Regarding Claims 1-4, 7 and 16, Linde et al. teaches: Claim 1 - a battery assembly configured to be mounted within at least one wing (102) of at least one aircraft, including: at least one battery module (5-8) which includes at least one battery cell (5-8); at least one mounting structure (adhesive which is placed between the battery modules (5-8) and the rib (30)) configured to mount the battery module (5-8), along a mounting side (side attached to rib (30)) of the battery module (5-8), to at least one support structure (30) within the wing (102); wherein the battery assembly is configured to be mounted within the at least one wing (102) such that the battery assembly is mounted to the at least one support structure (30) along the mounting side (side attached to rib (30)) of the battery module (5-8) and a second side (side not attached to rib (30)) of the battery module (5-8) is not mounted to a support structure within the wing (102), the second side (side not attached to rib (30)) being substantially opposite from the mounting side (side attached to rib (30)); wherein the battery assembly includes a plurality of the at least one battery module (5-8), wherein the plurality of battery modules (5-8) are mountable in series within the wing (102), wherein at least two adjacent battery modules (5-8) of the plurality of battery modules (5-8) are mechanically decoupled from each other at least along the second side (side not attached to rib (30)) of the battery modules (5-8); wherein the battery assembly is configured such that the mounting side (side attached to rib (30)) extends at least one of: substantially perpendicular to a span-wise direction of the wing (102), substantially perpendicular to a front spar, and substantially perpendicular to a rear spar of the wing (102), when the battery assembly is mounted within the wing (102), (Figures 1-9); Claim 2 – wherein the support structure (30) is a rib (30) arranged within the wing (102), (Figures 1-9); Claim 3 - wherein the battery assembly is configured to be arranged within a wingbox of the wing (102 – the examiner notes that the wing does NOT actually appear to claimed), wherein the wingbox is at least partially defined by a front spar, a rear spar, an upper skin and a lower skin of the wing (102), (Figures 1-9); Claim 4 - wherein the battery assembly comprises at least one first battery module (5/6) and at least one second battery module (7/8), wherein the battery assembly is configured such that the at least one first battery module (5/6) is mountable to one side of the support structure (30) and the at least one second battery module (7/8) is mountable to a second side of the support structure (30) which is substantially opposite from the first side, (Figures 1-9); Claim 7 - wherein at least two adjacent battery modules (5-8) of the plurality of battery modules (5-8) are mechanically decoupled from each other along each side of the battery modules (5-8) or, along each side of the battery modules (5-8) except for the mounting sides, (Figures 1-9); Claim 16 - wherein the support structure (30) is a rib (30) which at least partially defines a wingbox of the wing (102), and wherein the support structure extends parallel to the mounting structure and perpendicular to the wing span direction, (Figures 1-9).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 12,100,824 (Pitre et al.).
Regarding Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 11 and 19, Pitre et al. teaches: Claim 1 - a battery assembly (10) “configured to/capable of” being mounted within at least one wing (not claimed) of at least one aircraft (not claimed), including: at least one battery module (10) which includes at least one battery cell (14); at least one mounting structure (140 or 141) configured to mount the battery module (10), along a mounting side (12f) of the battery module (10), to at least one support structure within the wing (there is nothing that notes that these battery modules (10) are not capable of being mounted within a wing of an aircraft); wherein the battery assembly is configured to be mounted within the at least one wing such that the battery assembly is mounted to the at least one support structure along the mounting side (12f) of the battery module (10) and a second side of the battery module (10) is not mounted to a support structure within the wing, the second side being substantially opposite from the mounting side (12f); wherein the battery assembly includes a plurality of the at least one battery module (10), wherein the plurality of battery modules (10) are capable of being mountable in series within the wing, wherein at least two adjacent battery modules (10) of the plurality of battery modules (10) are mechanically decoupled from each other at least along the second side of the battery modules (10); wherein the battery assembly is configured such that the mounting side (12f) extends at least one of: substantially perpendicular to a span-wise direction of the wing, substantially perpendicular to a front spar, and substantially perpendicular to a rear spar of the wing, when the battery assembly is mounted within the wing, (Figures 1-5); Claim 5 – at least one thermal management system (26) configured to at least partially control a temperature of at least a portion of the battery module (10), wherein the thermal management system (26) includes at least one compartment which includes at least one channel (26c) configured to guide at least one working medium therethrough to transfer heat at least one of: to the battery module (10) andClaim 6 - wherein the compartment (26c) is configured to be at least partially integrated in the support structure (10), (Figures 1-5); Claim 8 - at least one encapsulation device (22) configured to at least partially encapsulate the battery cell(s) (14), (Figures 1-5); Claim 11 - a venting device (30), particularly comprising an over-pressure relief valve or a burst valve (30), the venting device (30) being preferably installed within a shell or tub of the battery module (10), (Figures 1-5); Claim 19 - wherein the encapsulation device (22) is at least partially made of at least one foam material (22), (Figures 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0021943 (Amante et al.) in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,199,305 (Villanueva et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Amante et al. teaches the assembly as described above, but does not teach: wherein the thermomechanical cover is provided with one or more openings located above gaps between battery cells (Claim 10). However, Villanueva et al. teaches: Claim 10 – a battery module (1110) including a thermomechanical cover (AA) provided with one or more openings (BB) located above gaps between battery cells, (Annotated Figure 12 Below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the assembly of Amante et al. to have wherein the thermomechanical cover is provided with one or more openings located above gaps between battery cells (Claim 10) as taught by Villanueva et al. for the purposes of providing additional ventilation to the thermomechanical cover of Amante et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Additionally, the examiner notes that applicant did not appear to actually present any arguments with regards to the previous use of reference: U.S. Patent No. 12,384,514 (Linde et al.). Therefore, this reference has been once again used in this office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642