DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 depends on claim 1 and recites the broad recitation of a genus of diphosphine, and the claim also recites a species of “1,3-bis(diphenylphosphino)propane” as recited in claim 1, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1 and recites a genus of “diphosphine”, while claim 1 recites a species “1,3-bis(diphenylphosphino)propane. As such, claim 2 is improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snaith et al. (US 2016/0380125) or Chen et al. (“Global Control of CH3NH3PbI3 Formation with Multifunctional Ionic Liquid for Perovskite Hybrid Photovoltaics”), in view of Mikoshiba et al. (US Patent 6,384,321).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4 and 11,
Snaith et al. discloses a solar cell comprising:
a front contact (FTO, fig. 1a) comprising a first electrically conductive material (FTO);
a first semiconductor layer (see compact TiO2 and mesoporous Al2O3, fig. 1a);
a second semiconductor layer (CH3NH3PbX3 and capping layer CH3NH3PbX3) comprising absorber layer comprising a metal perovskite;
a photovoltaic heterojunction (see the junction between two different materials of mesoporous Al2O3 and CH3NH3PbX3) on the front contact (FTO) and between the first semiconductor layer (Compact TiO2) and a second semiconductor layer (capping CH3NH3PbX3, see fig. 1a);
a hydrophobic molecule (or non-polar passivating agent molecule, [0125-0200]) bonded to the metal halide perovskite ([0108]), wherein the hydrophobic molecule coordinates with the lead or tin in the metal halide perovskite ([0040], [0117-0118], [0162], [0368]);
a back contact (Ag, fig. 1a) comprising a second electrically conductive material (Ag) on the absorber layer (CH3NH3PbX3, see fig. 1a); and
a hole transport layer (see hole transporter, fig. 1a) disposed between the absorber layer (CH3NH3PbX3) and the back contact (Ag, fig. 1a).
Snaith et al. discloses the passivating agent comprising non-polar organic molecules – or hydrophobic molecules (see [0011], [0043], [0124], [0200]) such as diaryl alkyl phosphine, triphenylphosphine, trimethylphosphine or tricyclohexylphosphine (see [0195]). Snaith et al. also teaches the passivating agents can bind to and screen the electrostatic charge from the under-coordinated halide ions and de defect sites to resolve the issue of recombination resulting in a disadvantageous charge density, and inhibit fast and efficient charge extraction under working conditions (see [0013]).
Chen et al. discloses a perovskite solar cell comprising:
a front contact (FTO, see Fabrications of PSCs in the Supporting Information) comprising a first electrically conductive material (FTO);
a first semiconductor layer (TiO2 layers, see Fabrication of PSCs in the Supporting Information);
a second semiconductor layer (MAPbI3 by reacting PbI2 and CH3NH3I, see abstract and Fabrication of PSCs in the Supporting Information) comprising absorber layer comprising a metal perovskite (or MAPbI3);
a photovoltaic heterojunction (see the junction between two different materials of TiO2 and MAPbI3) on the front contact (FTO) and between the first semiconductor layer (TiO2) and a second semiconductor layer (MAPbI3);
a hydrophobic molecule (or 1-butyl-3-methylimidazolium, or BMI), wherein the hydrophobic molecule coordinates with the lead in the metal halide perovskite (see abstract);
a back contact (Au electrode, see Fabrication of PSCs in the Supporting Information) comprising a second electrically conductive material (Au) on the absorber layer (MAPbI3, see Fabrication of PSCs in the Supporting Information); and
a hole transport layer (see HTM such as spiro-OMeTAD in Supporting Information) disposed between the absorber layer (MAPbI3) and the back contact (Au electrode, see Fabrication of PSCs in Supporting Information).
Chen et al. teaches using ionic liquid with the hydrophobic molecule to coordinate with the lead in the perovskite (see the title and abstract of Chen et al.).
Snaith et al. discloses the passivation agent with hydrophobic molecule interact with an ion in the metal halide perovskite to form a chemical bond, and selected from a halogen bond donor compound and an organic compound comprising at least one heteroatom with a lone pair (see [0125-0127] of Snaith et al.).
Snaith et al. does not explicitly disclose using 1,3-bis(diphenylphosphino)propane for the diaryl alkyl phosphine, nor do Chen et al. teaches using the ionic liquid with hydrophobic molecule comprising 1,3-bis(diphenylphosphino)propane.
Mikoshiba et al. discloses an electrolyte comprising 1,3-bis(diphenylphosphino)propane (see claims 3 and 14) that is capable of interact with halogen-containing, or an ion in the metal halide perovskite (see claims 3 and 14, also see claims 1 and 11). It is noted that electrolyte is ionic liquid (see [0017] of evidentiary reference to Iwasaki, US 2008/0286643).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell of Snaith et al. or Chen et al. by using 1,3-bis(diphenylphosphino)propane taught by Mikoshiba et al. as the diaryl alkyl phosphine passivating agent interact with an ion in the metal halide perovskite in the solar cell of Snaith et al. or as the ionic liquid in the solar cell of Chen et al., because such modification would involve nothing more than use of known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The Courts have held that the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, modified Snaith et al. or modified Chen et al. discloses a solar cell as in claims 4 and 11 above, and teaches the hole transport layer comprises (see spiro-OMETAD, [0051-0054], [0263-0264], [0319] of Snaith et al., or spiro-OMETAD in Fabrication of PSCs in Supporting Information of Chen et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Snaith et al. (US 2016/0380125) or modified Chen et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, in view of Snaith ‘517 (WO 2013/171517).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 16, modified Snaith et al. or modified Chen et al. discloses a solar cell as in claims 1 and 11 above, wherein Snaith et al. suggests using any perovskite disclosed in WO 2013/171517 (see [0203]).
Modified Snaith et al. or modified Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose using the perovskite comprises FAPbI3 as claimed in claim 6 and 13, or perovskite ABX3 with A being formamidine (FA) as claimed in claim 16.
Snaith ‘517 (or WO 2013/171517) discloses the perovskite comprising (H2N=CH-NH2)PbI3 (see page 18). (H2N=CH-NH2)PbI3 is FAPbI3, or FAPbI3 is the short-hand writing of (H2N=CH-NH2)PbI3 .
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell of modified Snaith et al. or modified Chen et al. by using FAPbI3, or perovskite ABX3 with A being FA, as taught by Snaith ‘517, because Snaith et al. explicitly suggests doing so and such modification would involve nothing more than use of known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The Courts have held that the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 11-13, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Lin and Snaith do not anticipate the claimed invention, nor
Applicant argues Snaith in view of Aspira Scientific or Terai do not teach the claimed invention, because Aspira Scientific is air sensitive and one skilled would be concerned about handling the molecules and teaching dppp is equivalent material to triphenylphosphine and trimethylphosphine is insufficient equivalent material to passivate the perovskite.
However, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. See the rejection above.
Conclusion
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726