Claim Objections
Claims 31 and 32 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the transparent layer” lacks the proper antecedent basis. Claims appear to be depended on claim 30 and will be treated accordingly. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-25, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2013/114578 A1.
Regarding claim 22, WO 2013/114578 A1 discloses a solid-state photodetector (Fig. 2) comprising:
an integrated circuit (Fig. 2) comprising at least one light sensitive photodiode (6 PD) configured
to generate output signal indicative of light impinging on the light sensitive photodiode (the light level detected from “based on the light level detected by the photodetector 6” from the text summary provided below is the output signal);
at least one heating resistor (“in FIG. 4A, a resistor used as a heater electrode” from the text summary provided below) configured to heat the solid-state photodetector when an electric current passes through the at least one heating resistor (“The temperature control unit 8 includes a heater electrode (resistor) formed in the vicinity of the ring waveguide of the ring resonator type modulator 2 and a controller 9 that controls a current supplied to the heater electrode. The controller 9 controls the current supplied to the heater electrode based on the light level detected by the photodetector 6 and the photodetector 7. Alternatively, the controller 9 may control the current supplied to the heater electrode based on the light level detected by the photodetector 6. In addition, the controller 9 can control the signal generator 11 so that a predetermined drive signal is generated” from the text summary provided below; thus the electric current passing through the heating resistor heats the PD); and
a circuitry for transmitting the electric current of an electric current source to the
at least one heating resistor (“the controller 9 may control the current supplied to the heater electrode based on the light level detected by the photodetector 6. In addition, the controller 9 can control the signal generator 11 so that a predetermined drive signal is generated. For example, the controller 9 can control the signal generator 11 so that the drive signal is continuously at the H level (or continuously at the L level)” from the text summary provided below).
Text Summary from PE2E
OPTICAL TRANSMITTER AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING OPTICAL TRANSMITTER
DOCUMENT ID
WO 2013114578 A1
DATE PUBLISHED
2013-08-08
Description
The temperature control unit 8 includes a heater electrode (resistor) formed in the vicinity of the ring waveguide of the ring resonator type modulator 2 and a controller 9 that controls a current supplied to the heater electrode. The controller 9 controls the current supplied to the heater electrode based on the light level detected by the photodetector 6 and the photodetector 7. Alternatively, the controller 9 may control the current supplied to the heater electrode based on the light level detected by the photodetector 6. In addition, the controller 9 can control the signal generator 11 so that a predetermined drive signal is generated. For example, the controller 9 can control the signal generator 11 so that the drive signal is continuously at the H level (or continuously at the L level). The controller 9 is not particularly limited, and is realized by, for example, a processor and a memory.
FIG. 4 is a view of the ring resonator type modulator 2 and its periphery as viewed from above. However, in FIG. 4A, a resistor used as a heater electrode is omitted for easy understanding of the drawing.
The heater electrode 24 is formed above the waveguide core region 31. However, a clad 37 is formed between the heater electrode 24 and the waveguide core region 31. The heater electrode 24 is a resistor for flowing a current controlled by the controller 9, and is formed of titanium, for example. Furthermore, as shown in FIG. 4B, the heater electrode 24 is formed along the ring waveguide 21 (that is, the waveguide core region 31). FIG. 4B is a view of the ring resonator type modulator 2 as viewed from above, but only the ring waveguide 21 and the heater electrode 24 are drawn for easy understanding of the drawing.
Therefore, the temperature of the ring waveguide 21 can be controlled by adjusting the current flowing through the heater electrode 24. In this embodiment, the heater electrode 24 is included in the temperature control unit 8 shown in FIG.
In step S2, the controller 9 controls the temperature of the ring waveguide 21 so that the optical power of the through port is minimized. Here, the optical power of the through port is detected by the photodetector 6. The controller 9 controls the temperature of the ring waveguide 21 by adjusting the current supplied to the heater electrode 24.
FIG. 12 (a) shows a configuration of a ring resonator type modulator having double ring resonators. This ring resonator type modulator has ring waveguides 21a and 21b optically coupled to each other. The shapes of the ring waveguides 21a and 21b are the same. The input waveguide 3 is optically coupled to the ring waveguide 21a, and the output waveguide 4 is optically coupled to the ring waveguide 21b. Electrodes 22 and 23 are formed for the ring waveguides 21a and 21b. Furthermore, a heater electrode 24 is formed along the ring waveguides 21a and 21b. Then, the controller optimizes the operating state of the ring resonator type modulator according to the procedure of the flowchart shown in FIG.
FIG. 12B shows the configuration of a ring resonator type modulator having a triple ring resonator. This ring resonator type modulator has optically coupled ring waveguides 21a to 21c in a column. That is, the ring waveguide 21a is optically coupled to the ring waveguide 21b, and the ring waveguide 21b is optically coupled to the ring waveguide 21c. The ring waveguides 21a to 21c have the same shape. The input waveguide 3 is optically coupled to the ring waveguide 21a, and the output waveguide 4 is optically coupled to the ring waveguide 21c. Electrodes 22 and 23 are formed for the ring waveguides 21a to 21c. Further, a heater electrode 24 is formed along the ring waveguides 21a to 21c. Then, the controller optimizes the operating state of the ring resonator type modulator according to the procedure of the flowchart shown in FIG.
Claims
A resistor formed in the vicinity of the ring waveguide;
The optical transmitter according to claim 2, further comprising: a controller that controls a current supplied to the resistor.
The optical transmitter according to claim 3, wherein the controller controls a current supplied to the resistor based on a light level detected by the first photodetector.
The controller controls a current supplied to the resistor based on a light level detected by the first photodetector and an output level detected by the second photodetector. The optical transmitter according to claim 4.
Regarding claim 23, the prior art discloses the solid-state photodetector according to claim 22, further comprising a controller configured to control activation of the at least one heating resistor in
response to information relating to a temperature of the solid-state photodetector (controller 9).
Regarding claim 24, the prior art discloses the solid-state photodetector according to claim 22, wherein the at least one heating resistor and an electrode of the solid-state photodetector are implemented on a same metal layer of the integrated circuit (“The heater electrode 24 is a resistor for flowing a current controlled by the controller 9, and is formed of titanium” the heating resistor and the electrode is the same one made of titanium which satisfies the claimed language).
Regarding claim 25, the prior art discloses the solid-state photodetector according to claim 22, further comprising a temperature sensor implemented on the integrated circuit (“the temperature control unit 8”).
Regarding claim 33, the prior art discloses the solid-state photodetector according to claim 22, wherein the heating degrades a sensitivity of the solid-state photodetector (inherently met by the prior art, heating significantly degrades the effective sensitivity and overall performance of a solid-state photodetector).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2013/114578 A1.
WO 2013/114578 A1 discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for at least one heating resistor emits a heat power having a range between 250 and 2000 millwatts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to choose the claimed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, as being motivated to provide sufficient power.
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2013/114578 A1 in view of Rogers et al (US 2012/0165759 A1).
Regarding claim 26, WO 2013/114578 A1 discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the temperature sensor comprises at least one of a feedback resistor, a diode, or a transistor.
Rogers discloses the temperature sensor comprises at least one of a feedback resistor, a diode, or a transistor (para 43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to have the temperature sensor comprises at least one of a feedback resistor, a diode, or a transistor for the purpose of gaining high stability and gain control such as impedance matching.
Regarding claim 27, in combination, Rogers discloses the solid-state photodetector according to claim 22, wherein the at least one heating resistor is implemented on a doped area of a silicon-based layer of the integrated circuit (para 43, “silicon diode temperature sensor”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 28, claim is allowable at least for the reason that the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest wherein the solid-state photodetector comprises a plurality of sensor-pixels, each of the sensor-pixels configured to detect light from a different part of the FOV as set forth in the claimed combination;
Regarding claim 29, claim is allowable at least for the reason that the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest wherein the heating prevents accumulation of ice on the solid-state photodetector as set forth in the claimed combination; and
Regarding claims 30-32, claims are allowable at least for the reason that the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest further comprising a transparent layer coupled to the solid-state photodetector, and wherein the heating prevents accumulation of ice on the transparent layer as set forth in the claimed combination.
Claims 35-41 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 35-36, claims are allowable at least for the reason that the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest an electrooptical system comprising optics for directing light from a field-of-view (FOV) of the electrooptical system to the solid-state photodetector as set forth in the claimed combination; and
Regarding claims 37-41, claims are allowable at least for the reason that the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest a method for operating an electrooptical system, the method comprising detecting light from a field of view of the electrooptical system by the light sensitive photodiode of the electrooptical system as set forth in the claimed combination.
Conclusion
5/22/2026
/EUNCHA P CHERRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872