DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2024, 04/25/2025 and 05/01/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12-13, 18-21 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al. (2025/0330232), Cariou hereinafter, in view of RAGHAVAN et al. (2021/0351816, same assignee but published more than a year earlier than the EFD of the instant application), RAGHAVAN hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 18, Cariou teaches a method (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0227-¶0228/¶0302) for wireless communication (Fig.1-3) by a first wireless communication device (Fig.1, 140), and a first wireless communication device (Fig.1, 140), comprising: a processing system (Fig. 1, 154) that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry (Fig. 1, 184) that stores (Fig. 1, 185) code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, via a first link in a first radio frequency spectrum band, a beam search trigger for a second link in a second radio frequency spectrum band (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0227 - FIG. 4 may be performed between an AP device, e.g., including a sub-10 Ghz AP and an mmWave AP; and a non-AP device, e.g., including a sub-10 Ghz non-AP STA and an mmWave non-AP STA. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to control, trigger, and/or cause device 102 (FIG. 1) to perform a role of, one or more operations of, and/or one or more functionalities of, the AP device including the sub-10 Ghz AP and the mmWave AP; and/or controller 154 (FIG. 1) may be configured to control, trigger, and/or cause device 140 (FIG. 1) to perform a role of, one or more operations of, and/or one or more functionalities of, the non-AP device including the sub-10 Ghz non-AP STA and the mmWave non-AP STA. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0228 - the AP device and the non-AP device may have a link established in a sub-7 GHz band, and may intend to establish a 60 GHz link as well. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0302 - at block 602, the method may include transmitting from an mmWave STA a preamble of a packet via a plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA over a mmWave wireless communication channel. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control device 102 (FIG. 1) to transmit the preamble 501 (FIG. 5) of the packet 500 (FIG. 5) via the plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA over the mmWave wireless communication channel.); receive, over the second link via a plurality of receive radio frequency chains of the first wireless communication device, a plurality of training signals from a plurality of transmit radio frequency chains of a second wireless communication device in accordance with the beam search trigger (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0274 - as shown in FIG. 5, the packet 500 may include a MIMO TRN field 508 after the preamble 501. Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0276 - as shown in FIG. 5, a MIMO TRN subfield 512 of the plurality of MIMO TRN subfields 510 may include a plurality of TRN sequences 513, which may be simultaneously transmitted via the plurality of antennas of the STA, respectively. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0303 - at block 604, the method may include transmitting a MIMO TRN field of the packet over the mmWave wireless communication channel. For example, the MIMO TRN field may be after the preamble, and may include a sequence of a plurality of MIMO TRN subfields transmitted via the plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA. For example, a MIMO TRN subfield of the plurality of MIMO TRN subfields may include a plurality of TRN sequences, for example, simultaneously transmitted via the plurality of antennas, respectively. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control device 102 (FIG. 1) to transmit the MIMO TRN field 508 (FIG. 5) of the packet 500 (FIG. 5) over the mmWave wireless communication channel,);
Yet, Cariou does not expressly teach select a radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream of a set of spatial streams in accordance with the plurality of training signals, wherein each radio frequency chain pair comprises a receive radio frequency chain of the plurality of receive radio frequency chains and a transmit radio frequency chain of the plurality of transmit radio frequency chains; and select a beamforming direction for each spatial stream of the set of spatial streams in accordance with the plurality of training signals.
However, in the analogous art, RAGHAVAN explicitly discloses select a radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream of a set of spatial streams in accordance with the plurality of training signals, wherein each radio frequency chain pair comprises a receive radio frequency chain of the plurality of receive radio frequency chains and a transmit radio frequency chain of the plurality of transmit radio frequency chains (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0081 - a UE configured to communicate in mmW frequency bands may have an RF chain configuration with two receive chains and two transmit chains (2Rx/2Tx), four receive chains and two transmit chains (4Rx/2Tx), four receive chains and four transmit chains (4Rx/4Tx), eight receive chains and eight transmit chains (8Rx/8Tx). Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0082 - for a UE with multiple RF chains, the RF chains can be operated in an intra-band spatial MIMO mode to transmit and/or receive mmW signals (e.g., at 28 GHz or another frequency) over different clusters <also, see ¶0109> in a wireless channel, in an inter-band carrier aggregation mode to transmit and/or receive mmW signals (e.g., at 28 GHz and 38 GHz, at 28 GHz and 60 GHz, and/or the like) over the same or different clusters <also, see ¶0109> in the wireless channel, an intra-band polarization MIMO mode, and/or the like. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0096 - UE may obtain one or more measurements to quantify information related to multipath richness (or sparseness) of a wireless channel for different frequency bands. For example, during a beam training process <also, see ¶0109>, the base station may transmit a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) beams, channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) beams, and/or the like for different frequency bands in respective beam sweeps over a coverage area associated with the base station. The UE may determine a quantity of SSB or CSI-RS beams that satisfy a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for each frequency band (e.g., band-specific RSRP thresholds configured by the base station), and the respective quantities of SSB or CSI-RS beams that satisfy the RSRP threshold may provide a measure of the multipath richness (or sparseness) of the channel environment for the different frequency bands in terms of a number of good clusters <also, see ¶0109> that are observed at the UE for each frequency band. In this way, the UE and/or the base station may select a preferred MIMO mode based at least in part on the number of good clusters in each frequency band (e.g., the number of SSB or CSI-RS beams in each frequency band that satisfy the RSRP threshold). ….the intra-band spatial MIMO mode may generally offer better rates at a lower frequency band in cases where there is a richer channel with a large number of clusters allowing inter-module usage of multiple good clusters, whereas inter-band carrier aggregation may offer better rates when there is a sparse channel with a small number of clusters. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0098 - UE and/or the base station may select the preferred MIMO mode according to respective cell loadings in the different frequency bands. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0101 - As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, information indicating the preferred MIMO mode in which to operate the one or more antenna modules of the UE or information granting the UE's request to operate in the preferred MIMO mode selected by the UE. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0109 - the first number of clusters, paths, or multipath components and the second number of clusters, paths, or multipath components are determined based at least in part on SSB beams or CSI-RS beams transmitted by the base station during a beam training process. Also, see claims 1-4, & 6-7.); and select a beamforming direction for each spatial stream of the set of spatial streams in accordance with the plurality of training signals (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0101 - As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, information indicating the preferred MIMO mode in which to operate the one or more antenna modules of the UE or information granting the UE's request to operate in the preferred MIMO mode selected by the UE. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0109 - the first number of clusters, paths, or multipath components and the second number of clusters, paths, or multipath components are determined based at least in part on SSB beams or CSI-RS beams transmitted by the base station during a beam training process. Also, see claims 1-4, & 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel to include RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a UE <User Equipment> or a base station in determining and coordinating a preferred mode (i.e., optimal MIMO mode, e.g., intra-band spatial MIMO or inter-band carrier aggregation) in which the UE is to operate antenna module(s) of the UE in order to balance tradeoffs among different modes supported by the UE, improves performance (e.g., data rates and/or reliability) for the UE, in turns, improves spectrum usage and/or load balancing for the UE and the base stations operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0087, RAGHAVAN)
Re. Claims 2 and 19, Cariou and RAGHAVAN teach claims 1 and 18.
Cariou further teaches the first plurality of training signals and the second plurality of training signals received over each beamforming direction of a plurality of beamforming directions in accordance with the beam search trigger (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0148 - device 102 and/or device 140 may be configured to perform one or more, e.g., part of, the phases of the beamforming training procedure over the sub-10 GHz link, and/or one or more, e.g., part of, the phases of the beamforming training procedure over the 60 GHz channel. Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0227 - FIG. 4 may be performed between an AP device, e.g., including a sub-10 Ghz AP and an mmWave AP; and a non-AP device, e.g., including a sub-10 Ghz non-AP STA and an mmWave non-AP STA. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to control, trigger, and/or cause device 102 (FIG. 1) to perform a role of, one or more operations of, and/or one or more functionalities of, the AP device including the sub-10 Ghz AP and the mmWave AP; and/or controller 154 (FIG. 1) may be configured to control, trigger, and/or cause device 140 (FIG. 1) to perform a role of, one or more operations of, and/or one or more functionalities of, the non-AP device including the sub-10 Ghz non-AP STA and the mmWave non-AP STA. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0228 - the AP device and the non-AP device may have a link established in a sub-7 GHz band, and may intend to establish a 60 GHz link as well. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0302 - at block 602, the method may include transmitting from an mmWave STA a preamble of a packet via a plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA over a mmWave wireless communication channel. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control device 102 (FIG. 1) to transmit the preamble 501 (FIG. 5) of the packet 500 (FIG. 5) via the plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA over the mmWave wireless communication channel); the first plurality of training signals and the second plurality of training signals received over each beamforming direction of the plurality of beamforming directions in accordance with the beam search trigger (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0148 - device 102 and/or device 140 may be configured to perform one or more, e.g., part of, the phases of the beamforming training procedure over the sub-10 GHz link, and/or one or more, e.g., part of, the phases of the beamforming training procedure over the 60 GHz channel. Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0274 - as shown in FIG. 5, the packet 500 may include a MIMO TRN field 508 after the preamble 501. Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0276 - as shown in FIG. 5, a MIMO TRN subfield 512 of the plurality of MIMO TRN subfields 510 may include a plurality of TRN sequences 513, which may be simultaneously transmitted via the plurality of antennas of the STA, respectively. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0303 - at block 604, the method may include transmitting a MIMO TRN field of the packet over the mmWave wireless communication channel. For example, the MIMO TRN field may be after the preamble, and may include a sequence of a plurality of MIMO TRN subfields transmitted via the plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA. For example, a MIMO TRN subfield of the plurality of MIMO TRN subfields may include a plurality of TRN sequences, for example, simultaneously transmitted via the plurality of antennas, respectively. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control device 102 (FIG. 1) to transmit the MIMO TRN field 508 (FIG. 5) of the packet 500 (FIG. 5) over the mmWave wireless communication channel).
Yet, Cariou does not expressly teach wherein, to receive the plurality of training signals, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, over the second link via a first receive radio frequency chain of the plurality of receive radio frequency chains, a first plurality of training signals from a first transmit radio frequency chain with a first polarization and, simultaneous to the first plurality of training signals, a second plurality of training signals from a second transmit radio frequency chain with a second polarization different from the first polarization, the first receive radio frequency chain having the first polarization, and receive, over the second link via a second receive radio frequency chain of the plurality of receive radio frequency chains, the first plurality of training signals from the first transmit radio frequency chain with the first polarization and, simultaneous to the first plurality of training signals, the second plurality of training signals from the second transmit radio frequency chain with the second polarization, the second receive radio frequency chain having the second polarization,
However, in the analogous art, RAGHAVAN explicitly discloses wherein, to receive the plurality of training signals, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, over the second link via a first receive radio frequency chain of the plurality of receive radio frequency chains, a first plurality of training signals from a first transmit radio frequency chain with a first polarization and, simultaneous to the first plurality of training signals, a second plurality of training signals from a second transmit radio frequency chain with a second polarization different from the first polarization, the first receive radio frequency chain having the first polarization (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0081 - a UE configured to communicate in mmW frequency bands may have an RF chain configuration with two receive chains and two transmit chains (2Rx/2Tx), four receive chains and two transmit chains (4Rx/2Tx), four receive chains and four transmit chains (4Rx/4Tx), eight receive chains and eight transmit chains (8Rx/8Tx). Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0082 - for a UE with multiple RF chains, the RF chains can be operated in an intra-band spatial MIMO mode to transmit and/or receive mmW signals (e.g., at 28 GHz or another frequency) over different clusters in a wireless channel, in an inter-band carrier aggregation mode to transmit and/or receive mmW signals (e.g., at 28 GHz and 38 GHz, at 28 GHz and 60 GHz, and/or the like) over the same or different clusters in the wireless channel, an intra-band polarization MIMO mode, and/or the like. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0105 - process 700 may include receiving, from the base station, information indicating a MIMO mode in which to operate one or more antenna modules of the UE based at least in part on the information related to the multipath richness of the channel environment, the antenna module capabilities associated with the UE, and respective cell loadings in the first frequency band and the second frequency band (block 720). For example, the UE may receive from the base station, information indicating a MIMO mode in which to operate one or more antenna modules of the UE based at least in part on the information related to the multipath richness of the channel environment, the antenna module capabilities associated with the UE, and respective cell loadings in the first frequency band and the second frequency band,), and receive, over the second link via a second receive radio frequency chain of the plurality of receive radio frequency chains, the first plurality of training signals from the first transmit radio frequency chain with the first polarization and, simultaneous to the first plurality of training signals, the second plurality of training signals from the second transmit radio frequency chain with the second polarization, the second receive radio frequency chain having the second polarization (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0081 - a UE configured to communicate in mmW frequency bands may have an RF chain configuration with two receive chains and two transmit chains (2Rx/2Tx), four receive chains and two transmit chains (4Rx/2Tx), four receive chains and four transmit chains (4Rx/4Tx), eight receive chains and eight transmit chains (8Rx/8Tx). Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0082 - for a UE with multiple RF chains, the RF chains can be operated in an intra-band spatial MIMO mode to transmit and/or receive mmW signals (e.g., at 28 GHz or another frequency) over different clusters in a wireless channel, in an inter-band carrier aggregation mode to transmit and/or receive mmW signals (e.g., at 28 GHz and 38 GHz, at 28 GHz and 60 GHz, and/or the like) over the same or different clusters in the wireless channel, an intra-band polarization MIMO mode, and/or the like. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0105 - process 700 may include receiving, from the base station, information indicating a MIMO mode in which to operate one or more antenna modules of the UE based at least in part on the information related to the multipath richness of the channel environment, the antenna module capabilities associated with the UE, and respective cell loadings in the first frequency band and the second frequency band (block 720). For example, the UE may receive from the base station, information indicating a MIMO mode in which to operate one or more antenna modules of the UE based at least in part on the information related to the multipath richness of the channel environment, the antenna module capabilities associated with the UE, and respective cell loadings in the first frequency band and the second frequency band,),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel to include RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a UE <User Equipment> or a base station in determining and coordinating a preferred mode (i.e., optimal MIMO mode, e.g., intra-band spatial MIMO or inter-band carrier aggregation) in which the UE is to operate antenna module(s) of the UE in order to balance tradeoffs among different modes supported by the UE, improves performance (e.g., data rates and/or reliability) for the UE, in turns, improves spectrum usage and/or load balancing for the UE and the base stations operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0087, RAGHAVAN)
Re. Claims 3 and 20, Cariou and RAGHAVAN teach claims 2 and 19.
Yet, Cariou does not expressly teach wherein, to select the radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a first radio frequency chain pair for a first spatial stream and a second radio frequency chain pair for a second spatial stream in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals and the second plurality of training signals.
However, in the analogous art, RAGHAVAN explicitly discloses wherein, to select the radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a first radio frequency chain pair for a first spatial stream and a second radio frequency chain pair for a second spatial stream in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals and the second plurality of training signals (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0101 - As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, information indicating the preferred MIMO mode in which to operate the one or more antenna modules of the UE or information granting the UE's request to operate in the preferred MIMO mode selected by the UE. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0109 - the first number of clusters, paths, or multipath components and the second number of clusters, paths, or multipath components are determined based at least in part on SSB beams or CSI-RS beams transmitted by the base station during a beam training process. Also, see claims 1-4, & 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel to include RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a UE <User Equipment> or a base station in determining and coordinating a preferred mode (i.e., optimal MIMO mode, e.g., intra-band spatial MIMO or inter-band carrier aggregation) in which the UE is to operate antenna module(s) of the UE in order to balance tradeoffs among different modes supported by the UE, improves performance (e.g., data rates and/or reliability) for the UE, in turns, improves spectrum usage and/or load balancing for the UE and the base stations operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0087, RAGHAVAN)
Re. Claims 4 and 21, Cariou and RAGHAVAN teach claims 2 and 19.
Yet, Cariou does not expressly teach wherein, to select the beamforming direction for each spatial stream, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a first beamforming direction from the plurality of beamforming directions for a first spatial stream and a second beamforming direction from the plurality of beamforming directions for a second spatial stream in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals via a first radio frequency chain pair and the second plurality of training signals via a second radio frequency chain pair.
However, in the analogous art, RAGHAVAN explicitly discloses wherein, to select the beamforming direction for each spatial stream, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a first beamforming direction from the plurality of beamforming directions for a first spatial stream and a second beamforming direction from the plurality of beamforming directions for a second spatial stream in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals via a first radio frequency chain pair and the second plurality of training signals via a second radio frequency chain pair.(Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0101 - As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, information indicating the preferred MIMO mode in which to operate the one or more antenna modules of the UE or information granting the UE's request to operate in the preferred MIMO mode selected by the UE. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0109 - the first number of clusters, paths, or multipath components and the second number of clusters, paths, or multipath components are determined based at least in part on SSB beams or CSI-RS beams transmitted by the base station during a beam training process. Also, see claims 1-4, & 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel to include RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a UE <User Equipment> or a base station in determining and coordinating a preferred mode (i.e., optimal MIMO mode, e.g., intra-band spatial MIMO or inter-band carrier aggregation) in which the UE is to operate antenna module(s) of the UE in order to balance tradeoffs among different modes supported by the UE, improves performance (e.g., data rates and/or reliability) for the UE, in turns, improves spectrum usage and/or load balancing for the UE and the base stations operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0087, RAGHAVAN)
Re. Claims 7 and 24, Cariou and RAGHAVAN teach claims 1 and 18.
Cariou further teaches wherein, to receive the plurality of training signals, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, over the second link via a first receive radio frequency chain of the plurality of receive radio frequency chains, a first plurality of training signals from a first transmit radio frequency chain and a second plurality of training signals from a second transmit radio frequency chain in accordance with the beam search trigger(Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0227 - FIG. 4 may be performed between an AP device, e.g., including a sub-10 Ghz AP and an mmWave AP; and a non-AP device, e.g., including a sub-10 Ghz non-AP STA and an mmWave non-AP STA. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to control, trigger, and/or cause device 102 (FIG. 1) to perform a role of, one or more operations of, and/or one or more functionalities of, the AP device including the sub-10 Ghz AP and the mmWave AP; and/or controller 154 (FIG. 1) may be configured to control, trigger, and/or cause device 140 (FIG. 1) to perform a role of, one or more operations of, and/or one or more functionalities of, the non-AP device including the sub-10 Ghz non-AP STA and the mmWave non-AP STA. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0228 - the AP device and the non-AP device may have a link established in a sub-7 GHz band, and may intend to establish a 60 GHz link as well. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0302 - at block 602, the method may include transmitting from an mmWave STA a preamble of a packet via a plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA over a mmWave wireless communication channel. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control device 102 (FIG. 1) to transmit the preamble 501 (FIG. 5) of the packet 500 (FIG. 5) via the plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA over the mmWave wireless communication channel.), and receive, over the second link via a second receive radio frequency chain of the plurality of receive radio frequency chains, the first plurality of training signals from the first transmit radio frequency chain and the second plurality of training signals from the second transmit radio frequency chain in accordance with the beam search trigger (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0274 - as shown in FIG. 5, the packet 500 may include a MIMO TRN field 508 after the preamble 501. Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0276 - as shown in FIG. 5, a MIMO TRN subfield 512 of the plurality of MIMO TRN subfields 510 may include a plurality of TRN sequences 513, which may be simultaneously transmitted via the plurality of antennas of the STA, respectively. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0303 - at block 604, the method may include transmitting a MIMO TRN field of the packet over the mmWave wireless communication channel. For example, the MIMO TRN field may be after the preamble, and may include a sequence of a plurality of MIMO TRN subfields transmitted via the plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA. For example, a MIMO TRN subfield of the plurality of MIMO TRN subfields may include a plurality of TRN sequences, for example, simultaneously transmitted via the plurality of antennas, respectively. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control device 102 (FIG. 1) to transmit the MIMO TRN field 508 (FIG. 5) of the packet 500 (FIG. 5) over the mmWave wireless communication channel),
Yet, Cariou does not expressly teach the first plurality of training signals transmitted over a first subset of beamforming directions and the second plurality of training signals transmitted over a second subset of beamforming directions that is non-overlapping with the first subset of beamforming directions; and the first plurality of training signals transmitted over the first subset of beamforming directions and the second plurality of training signals transmitted over the second subset of beamforming directions.
However, in the analogous art, RAGHAVAN explicitly discloses the first plurality of training signals transmitted over a first subset of beamforming directions and the second plurality of training signals transmitted over a second subset of beamforming directions that is non-overlapping with the first subset of beamforming directions (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0101 - As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, information indicating the preferred MIMO mode in which to operate the one or more antenna modules of the UE or information granting the UE's request to operate in the preferred MIMO mode selected by the UE. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0109 - the first number of clusters, paths, or multipath components and the second number of clusters, paths, or multipath components are determined based at least in part on SSB beams or CSI-RS beams transmitted by the base station during a beam training process. Also, see claims 1-4, & 6-7); and the first plurality of training signals transmitted over the first subset of beamforming directions and the second plurality of training signals transmitted over the second subset of beamforming directions (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0101 - As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, information indicating the preferred MIMO mode in which to operate the one or more antenna modules of the UE or information granting the UE's request to operate in the preferred MIMO mode selected by the UE. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0109 - the first number of clusters, paths, or multipath components and the second number of clusters, paths, or multipath components are determined based at least in part on SSB beams or CSI-RS beams transmitted by the base station during a beam training process. Also, see claims 1-4, & 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel to include RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a UE <User Equipment> or a base station in determining and coordinating a preferred mode (i.e., optimal MIMO mode, e.g., intra-band spatial MIMO or inter-band carrier aggregation) in which the UE is to operate antenna module(s) of the UE in order to balance tradeoffs among different modes supported by the UE, improves performance (e.g., data rates and/or reliability) for the UE, in turns, improves spectrum usage and/or load balancing for the UE and the base stations operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0087, RAGHAVAN)
Re. Claims 8 and 25, Cariou and RAGHAVAN teach claims 7 and 24.
Yet, Cariou does not expressly teach wherein, to select the radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a first radio frequency chain pair for a first spatial stream and a second radio frequency chain pair for a second spatial stream in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals and the second plurality of training signals.
However, in the analogous art, RAGHAVAN explicitly discloses wherein, to select the radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a first radio frequency chain pair for a first spatial stream and a second radio frequency chain pair for a second spatial stream in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals and the second plurality of training signals. (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0101 - As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, information indicating the preferred MIMO mode in which to operate the one or more antenna modules of the UE or information granting the UE's request to operate in the preferred MIMO mode selected by the UE. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0109 - the first number of clusters, paths, or multipath components and the second number of clusters, paths, or multipath components are determined based at least in part on SSB beams or CSI-RS beams transmitted by the base station during a beam training process. Also, see claims 1-4, & 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel to include RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a UE <User Equipment> or a base station in determining and coordinating a preferred mode (i.e., optimal MIMO mode, e.g., intra-band spatial MIMO or inter-band carrier aggregation) in which the UE is to operate antenna module(s) of the UE in order to balance tradeoffs among different modes supported by the UE, improves performance (e.g., data rates and/or reliability) for the UE, in turns, improves spectrum usage and/or load balancing for the UE and the base stations operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0087, RAGHAVAN)
Re. Claims 9 and 26, Cariou and RAGHAVAN teach claims 7 and 24.
Yet, Cariou does not expressly teach wherein, to select the beamforming direction for each spatial stream, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a first beamforming direction from the first subset of beamforming directions or the second subset of beamforming directions for a first spatial stream and a second beamforming direction from the first subset of beamforming directions or the second subset of beamforming directions for a second spatial stream in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals via a first radio frequency chain pair and the second plurality of training signals via a second radio frequency chain pair.
However, in the analogous art, RAGHAVAN explicitly discloses wherein, to select the beamforming direction for each spatial stream, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a first beamforming direction from the first subset of beamforming directions or the second subset of beamforming directions for a first spatial stream and a second beamforming direction from the first subset of beamforming directions or the second subset of beamforming directions for a second spatial stream in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals via a first radio frequency chain pair and the second plurality of training signals via a second radio frequency chain pair. (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0101 - As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, information indicating the preferred MIMO mode in which to operate the one or more antenna modules of the UE or information granting the UE's request to operate in the preferred MIMO mode selected by the UE. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0109 - the first number of clusters, paths, or multipath components and the second number of clusters, paths, or multipath components are determined based at least in part on SSB beams or CSI-RS beams transmitted by the base station during a beam training process. Also, see claims 1-4, & 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel to include RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a UE <User Equipment> or a base station in determining and coordinating a preferred mode (i.e., optimal MIMO mode, e.g., intra-band spatial MIMO or inter-band carrier aggregation) in which the UE is to operate antenna module(s) of the UE in order to balance tradeoffs among different modes supported by the UE, improves performance (e.g., data rates and/or reliability) for the UE, in turns, improves spectrum usage and/or load balancing for the UE and the base stations operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0087, RAGHAVAN)
Re. Claims 10 and 27, Cariou and RAGHAVAN teach claims 7 and 24.
Yet, Cariou does not expressly teach wherein the first plurality of training signals are polarized according to a first polarization, and the second plurality of training signals are polarized according to a second polarization.
However, in the analogous art, RAGHAVAN explicitly discloses wherein the first plurality of training signals are polarized according to a first polarization, and the second plurality of training signals are polarized according to a second polarization. (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0101 - As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, information indicating the preferred MIMO mode in which to operate the one or more antenna modules of the UE or information granting the UE's request to operate in the preferred MIMO mode selected by the UE. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0109 - the first number of clusters, paths, or multipath components and the second number of clusters, paths, or multipath components are determined based at least in part on SSB beams or CSI-RS beams transmitted by the base station during a beam training process. Also, see claims 1-4, & 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel to include RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a UE <User Equipment> or a base station in determining and coordinating a preferred mode (i.e., optimal MIMO mode, e.g., intra-band spatial MIMO or inter-band carrier aggregation) in which the UE is to operate antenna module(s) of the UE in order to balance tradeoffs among different modes supported by the UE, improves performance (e.g., data rates and/or reliability) for the UE, in turns, improves spectrum usage and/or load balancing for the UE and the base stations operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0087, RAGHAVAN)
Claims 12 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou, in view of RAGHAVAN, further in view of HAUSTEIN et al. (2021/0109145), HAUSTEIN hereinafter.
Re. Claim 12 and 29, Cariou and RAGHAVAN teach claims 1 and 18.
Yet, Cariou and RAGHAVAN do not expressly teach wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit, via the first link or the second link, a feedback message indicating the radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream and the beamforming direction for each spatial stream.
However, in the analogous art, HAUSTEIN explicitly discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit, via the first link or the second link, a feedback message indicating the radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream and the beamforming direction for each spatial stream. (Fig. 1-14b & ¶0122 - the measurement environment may be configured to signal a trigger signal to the apparatus to initiate the feedback of receive beam measurement result(s) … associated with unique beam identifiers. Such measurement results may comprise, amongst other things, a received power/RSRP/RSSI or any metric related to received power or received magnitude and phase of a received signal. Such a trigger signal may be at least a part of a respective training signal used during training of the apparatus or measurement. Fig. 1-14b & ¶0414: ¶0423 - An apparatus (14; 20), wherein the apparatus is configured to feedback, receive beam measurement result(s) associated with unique beam identifiers comprising a plurality of measurement results and parameters, but at least one of: a unique beam setting identifier; a Received Signal strength Indicator (RSSI);…a beam direction, like an angle of arrival. Fig. 1-14b & ¶0424 - An apparatus (14; 20), wherein the apparatus is configured to receive a trigger signal from a measurement environment and is further configured to initiate the feedback of receive beam measurement result(s) associated with unique beam identifiers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel and RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system to include HAUSTEIN’s invention of a system and a method for multi-beam switching/scanning and an enumeration/identification of beams/beam patterns in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for testing an apparatus with a predefined one or more beam patterns to be formed by the apparatus or device under test and to measure the formed beam pattern so as to allow evaluation of the behavior of the apparatus, in turns, significantly reduced time for measurements and thus to enhance the measurements of the apparatus operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, HAUSTEIN)
Claims 13 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou, in view of RAGHAVAN, further in view of NILSSON et al. (2019/0238201), NILSSON hereinafter.
Re. Claim 13 and 30, Cariou and RAGHAVAN teach claims 1 and 18.
Yet, Cariou and RAGHAVAN do not expressly teach wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: measure a received power for all combinations of radio frequency chain pairs between the plurality of receive radio frequency chains and the plurality of transmit radio frequency chains, wherein the selected radio frequency chain pairs have a highest combined received power of all combinations of radio frequency chain pairs having a same quantity of radio frequency chain pairs as the selected radio frequency chain pairs.
However, in the analogous art, NILSSON explicitly discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: measure a received power for all combinations of radio frequency chain pairs between the plurality of receive radio frequency chains and the plurality of transmit radio frequency chains, wherein the selected radio frequency chain pairs have a highest combined received power of all combinations of radio frequency chain pairs having a same quantity of radio frequency chain pairs as the selected radio frequency chain pairs. (Fig.1-7 & ¶0012 - receiving, during a transmission beam sweep and using first receive beams of mutually different polarizations, a reference signal. The reference signal has been transmitted by another radio transceiver device during the transmission beam sweep in a set of transmit beams. The reference signal is received in order for the radio transceiver device to determine which transmit beam in the set of transmit beams that has highest received power. The method comprises determining, based on which transmit beam in the set of transmit beams that has highest received power, a set of second receive beams. The set of second receive beams is to be used by the radio transceiver device during a reception beam sweep. See steps s102a & s104 in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel and RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system to include NILSSON’s invention of a system and a method for beam training in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for finding the best TX <transmitting> beam and the best RX <receiving> beams according to beam training procedure which is less time consuming along with a low signaling overhead, resulting an improved beam training procedure. (¶0002-¶0011, NILSSON)
Claims 14, 16, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou, in view of HAUSTEIN.
Re. claims 14 and 31, Cariou teaches a method (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0227-¶0228/¶0302) for wireless communication (Fig.1-3) by a first wireless communication device (Fig. 1, 102), and a first wireless communication device (Fig. 1, 102), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry (Fig. 1, 124) and memory circuitry (Fig. 1, 194) that stores (Fig.1, 195) code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit, via a first link in a first radio frequency spectrum band, a beam search trigger for a second link in a second radio frequency spectrum band (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0227 - FIG. 4 may be performed between an AP device, e.g., including a sub-10 Ghz AP and an mmWave AP; and a non-AP device, e.g., including a sub-10 Ghz non-AP STA and an mmWave non-AP STA. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to control, trigger, and/or cause device 102 (FIG. 1) to perform a role of, one or more operations of, and/or one or more functionalities of, the AP device including the sub-10 Ghz AP and the mmWave AP; and/or controller 154 (FIG. 1) may be configured to control, trigger, and/or cause device 140 (FIG. 1) to perform a role of, one or more operations of, and/or one or more functionalities of, the non-AP device including the sub-10 Ghz non-AP STA and the mmWave non-AP STA. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0228 - the AP device and the non-AP device may have a link established in a sub-7 GHz band, and may intend to establish a 60 GHz link as well. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0302 - at block 602, the method may include transmitting from an mmWave STA a preamble of a packet via a plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA over a mmWave wireless communication channel. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control device 102 (FIG. 1) to transmit the preamble 501 (FIG. 5) of the packet 500 (FIG. 5) via the plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA over the mmWave wireless communication channel.); transmit, over the second link via a plurality of transmit radio frequency chains of the first wireless communication device, a plurality of training signals to a plurality of receive radio frequency chains of a second wireless communication device in accordance with the beam search trigger (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0274 - as shown in FIG. 5, the packet 500 may include a MIMO TRN field 508 after the preamble 501. Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0276 - as shown in FIG. 5, a MIMO TRN subfield 512 of the plurality of MIMO TRN subfields 510 may include a plurality of TRN sequences 513, which may be simultaneously transmitted via the plurality of antennas of the STA, respectively. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0303 - at block 604, the method may include transmitting a MIMO TRN field of the packet over the mmWave wireless communication channel. For example, the MIMO TRN field may be after the preamble, and may include a sequence of a plurality of MIMO TRN subfields transmitted via the plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA. For example, a MIMO TRN subfield of the plurality of MIMO TRN subfields may include a plurality of TRN sequences, for example, simultaneously transmitted via the plurality of antennas, respectively. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control device 102 (FIG. 1) to transmit the MIMO TRN field 508 (FIG. 5) of the packet 500 (FIG. 5) over the mmWave wireless communication channel);
Yet, Cariou does not expressly teach receive a feedback message indicating a radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream of a set of spatial streams and a beamforming direction for each spatial stream of the set of spatial streams.
However, in the analogous art, HAUSTEIN explicitly discloses receive a feedback message indicating a radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream of a set of spatial streams and a beamforming direction for each spatial stream of the set of spatial streams. (Fig. 1-14b & ¶0122 - the measurement environment may be configured to signal a trigger signal to the apparatus to initiate the feedback of receive beam measurement result(s) … associated with unique beam identifiers. Such measurement results may comprise, amongst other things, a received power/RSRP/RSSI or any metric related to received power or received magnitude and phase of a received signal. Such a trigger signal may be at least a part of a respective training signal used during training of the apparatus or measurement. Fig. 1-14b & ¶0414: ¶0423 - An apparatus (14; 20), wherein the apparatus is configured to feedback, receive beam measurement result(s) associated with unique beam identifiers comprising a plurality of measurement results and parameters, but at least one of: a unique beam setting identifier; a Received Signal strength Indicator (RSSI);…a beam direction, like an angle of arrival. Fig. 1-14b & ¶0424 - An apparatus (14; 20), wherein the apparatus is configured to receive a trigger signal from a measurement environment and is further configured to initiate the feedback of receive beam measurement result(s) associated with unique beam identifiers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel to include HAUSTEIN’s invention of a system and a method for multi-beam switching/scanning and an enumeration/identification of beams/beam patterns in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for testing an apparatus with a predefined one or more beam patterns to be formed by the apparatus or device under test and to measure the formed beam pattern so as to allow evaluation of the behavior of the apparatus, in turns, significantly reduced time for measurements and thus to enhance the measurements of the apparatus operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, HAUSTEIN)
Re. Claims 16 and 33, Cariou and HAUSTEIN teach claims 14 and 31.
Cariou further teaches wherein, to transmit the plurality of training signals, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit a first plurality of training signals over a first subset of beamforming directions via a first transmit radio frequency chain in accordance with the beam search trigger (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0227 - FIG. 4 may be performed between an AP device, e.g., including a sub-10 Ghz AP and an mmWave AP; and a non-AP device, e.g., including a sub-10 Ghz non-AP STA and an mmWave non-AP STA. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to control, trigger, and/or cause device 102 (FIG. 1) to perform a role of, one or more operations of, and/or one or more functionalities of, the AP device including the sub-10 Ghz AP and the mmWave AP; and/or controller 154 (FIG. 1) may be configured to control, trigger, and/or cause device 140 (FIG. 1) to perform a role of, one or more operations of, and/or one or more functionalities of, the non-AP device including the sub-10 Ghz non-AP STA and the mmWave non-AP STA. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0228 - the AP device and the non-AP device may have a link established in a sub-7 GHz band, and may intend to establish a 60 GHz link as well. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0302 - at block 602, the method may include transmitting from an mmWave STA a preamble of a packet via a plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA over a mmWave wireless communication channel. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control device 102 (FIG. 1) to transmit the preamble 501 (FIG. 5) of the packet 500 (FIG. 5) via the plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA over the mmWave wireless communication channel.); and transmit a second plurality of training signals over a second subset of beamforming directions that is non-overlapping with the first subset of beamforming directions via a second transmit radio frequency chain in accordance with the beam search trigger (Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0274 - as shown in FIG. 5, the packet 500 may include a MIMO TRN field 508 after the preamble 501. Fig.1-3/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0276 - as shown in FIG. 5, a MIMO TRN subfield 512 of the plurality of MIMO TRN subfields 510 may include a plurality of TRN sequences 513, which may be simultaneously transmitted via the plurality of antennas of the STA, respectively. Fig.1/Fig. 4-6 & ¶0303 - at block 604, the method may include transmitting a MIMO TRN field of the packet over the mmWave wireless communication channel. For example, the MIMO TRN field may be after the preamble, and may include a sequence of a plurality of MIMO TRN subfields transmitted via the plurality of antennas of the mmWave STA. For example, a MIMO TRN subfield of the plurality of MIMO TRN subfields may include a plurality of TRN sequences, for example, simultaneously transmitted via the plurality of antennas, respectively. For example, controller 124 (FIG. 1) may be configured to cause, trigger, and/or control device 102 (FIG. 1) to transmit the MIMO TRN field 508 (FIG. 5) of the packet 500 (FIG. 5) over the mmWave wireless communication channel).
Claims 15 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou, in view of HAUSTEIN, further in view of RAGHAVAN.
Re. Claims 15 and 32, Cariou and HAUSTEIN teach claims 14 and 31.
Yet, Cariou and HAUSTEIN do not expressly teach wherein, to transmit the plurality of training signals, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit a first plurality of training signals over a plurality of beamforming directions via a first transmit radio frequency chain with a first polarization in accordance with the beam search trigger; and transmit a second plurality of training signals over the plurality of beamforming directions via a second transmit radio frequency chain with a second polarization in accordance with the beam search trigger.
However, in the analogous art, RAGHAVAN explicitly discloses wherein, to transmit the plurality of training signals, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit a first plurality of training signals over a plurality of beamforming directions via a first transmit radio frequency chain with a first polarization in accordance with the beam search trigger (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0081 - a UE configured to communicate in mmW frequency bands may have an RF chain configuration with two receive chains and two transmit chains (2Rx/2Tx), four receive chains and two transmit chains (4Rx/2Tx), four receive chains and four transmit chains (4Rx/4Tx), eight receive chains and eight transmit chains (8Rx/8Tx). Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0082 - for a UE with multiple RF chains, the RF chains can be operated in an intra-band spatial MIMO mode to transmit and/or receive mmW signals (e.g., at 28 GHz or another frequency) over different clusters in a wireless channel, in an inter-band carrier aggregation mode to transmit and/or receive mmW signals (e.g., at 28 GHz and 38 GHz, at 28 GHz and 60 GHz, and/or the like) over the same or different clusters in the wireless channel, an intra-band polarization MIMO mode, and/or the like. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0105 - process 700 may include receiving, from the base station, information indicating a MIMO mode in which to operate one or more antenna modules of the UE based at least in part on the information related to the multipath richness of the channel environment, the antenna module capabilities associated with the UE, and respective cell loadings in the first frequency band and the second frequency band (block 720). For example, the UE may receive from the base station, information indicating a MIMO mode in which to operate one or more antenna modules of the UE based at least in part on the information related to the multipath richness of the channel environment, the antenna module capabilities associated with the UE, and respective cell loadings in the first frequency band and the second frequency band); and transmit a second plurality of training signals over the plurality of beamforming directions via a second transmit radio frequency chain with a second polarization in accordance with the beam search trigger (Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0081 - a UE configured to communicate in mmW frequency bands may have an RF chain configuration with two receive chains and two transmit chains (2Rx/2Tx), four receive chains and two transmit chains (4Rx/2Tx), four receive chains and four transmit chains (4Rx/4Tx), eight receive chains and eight transmit chains (8Rx/8Tx). Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0082 - for a UE with multiple RF chains, the RF chains can be operated in an intra-band spatial MIMO mode to transmit and/or receive mmW signals (e.g., at 28 GHz or another frequency) over different clusters in a wireless channel, in an inter-band carrier aggregation mode to transmit and/or receive mmW signals (e.g., at 28 GHz and 38 GHz, at 28 GHz and 60 GHz, and/or the like) over the same or different clusters in the wireless channel, an intra-band polarization MIMO mode, and/or the like. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0083 - In cases where a UE has two RF chains, the two RF chains may be operated in a polarization MIMO mode, where H-pole and V-pole antenna modules (e.g., antenna arrays with multiple antenna elements) are connected by an RF chain. For example, the H-pole antenna module may receive a signal from a base station, which is also dual polarized, and the H-pole and V-pole antenna modules may each point in a similar direction such that a data rate may be essentially doubled due to the dual polarization. However, as an antenna configuration of a UE is implemented with a higher rank or a higher number of RF chains (e.g., four or more RF chains), there may be various tradeoffs among different modes designed to gainfully utilize the higher number of RF chains. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0084 - base station may transmit two layers toward each cluster (e.g., using polarization MIMO), and the UE may be able to decode the four layers using two different antenna modules. Accordingly, in the intra-band spatial MIMO mode, polarization MIMO techniques may be used with a higher rank in order to transmit and/or receive signals in a single frequency band using different antenna modules to form beams that are pointing in different directions. Fig. 5A-5B/Fig.6-8 & ¶0105 - process 700 may include receiving, from the base station, information indicating a MIMO mode in which to operate one or more antenna modules of the UE based at least in part on the information related to the multipath richness of the channel environment, the antenna module capabilities associated with the UE, and respective cell loadings in the first frequency band and the second frequency band (block 720). For example, the UE may receive from the base station, information indicating a MIMO mode in which to operate one or more antenna modules of the UE based at least in part on the information related to the multipath richness of the channel environment, the antenna module capabilities associated with the UE, and respective cell loadings in the first frequency band and the second frequency band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cariou’s invention of a system and a method for communicating a packet including a multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) training (TRN) field over a millimeterWave (mmWave) wireless communication channel and HAUSTEIN’s invention of a system and a method for multi-beam switching/scanning and an enumeration/identification of beams/beam patterns in a wireless communication system to include RAGHAVAN’s invention of a system and a method for switching between intra-band multiple input multiple output (MIMO) and inter-band carrier aggregation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a UE <User Equipment> or a base station in determining and coordinating a preferred mode (i.e., optimal MIMO mode, e.g., intra-band spatial MIMO or inter-band carrier aggregation) in which the UE is to operate antenna module(s) of the UE in order to balance tradeoffs among different modes supported by the UE, improves performance (e.g., data rates and/or reliability) for the UE, in turns, improves spectrum usage and/or load balancing for the UE and the base stations operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0087, RAGHAVAN)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 11, 17, 22-23, 28 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5- wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: measure a first received power for a first radio frequency chain pair comprising the first transmit radio frequency chain and the first receive radio frequency chain, a second received power for a second radio frequency chain pair comprising the second transmit radio frequency chain and the second receive radio frequency chain, a third received power for a third radio frequency chain pair comprising the first transmit radio frequency chain and the second receive radio frequency chain, and a fourth received power for a fourth radio frequency chain pair comprising the second transmit radio frequency chain and the first receive radio frequency chain in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals and the second plurality of training signals.
Claim 6 – depends on claim 5.
Claim 11 - wherein, to receive the plurality of training signals, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: receive, over the second link via a first receive radio frequency chain, a first plurality of training signals over a plurality of beamforming directions in accordance with the beam search trigger, and, wherein to select the radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a first beamforming direction from the plurality of beamforming directions for a first beam of a first spatial stream in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals; and receive, over the second link via a second receive radio frequency chain, a second plurality of training signals over the plurality of beamforming directions excluding a subset of beamforming directions within a beam width of the first beam in accordance with the beam search trigger; and, wherein to select the radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a second beamforming direction from the plurality of beamforming directions for a second beam of a second spatial stream in accordance with receiving the second plurality of training signals.
Claim 17 - wherein, to transmit the plurality of training signals, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit, via a first transmit radio frequency chain, a first plurality of training signals over a plurality of beamforming directions in accordance with the beam search trigger, wherein the feedback message indicates a first beam direction for a first spatial stream, the first beam direction associated with a first beam having a first beam width; and transmit, via a second transmit radio frequency chain, a second plurality of training signals over the plurality of beamforming directions excluding a subset of beamforming directions within the first beam width of the first beam in accordance with the beam search trigger and the feedback message.
Claim 22 - measuring a first received power for a first radio frequency chain pair comprising the first transmit radio frequency chain and the first receive radio frequency chain, a second received power for a second radio frequency chain pair comprising the second transmit radio frequency chain and the second receive radio frequency chain, a third received power for a third radio frequency chain pair comprising the first transmit radio frequency chain and the second receive radio frequency chain, and a fourth received power for a fourth radio frequency chain pair comprising the second transmit radio frequency chain and the first receive radio frequency chain in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals and the second plurality of training signals.
Claim 23 – depends on claim 22.
Claim 28 - wherein receiving the plurality of training signals comprises: receiving, over the second link via a first receive radio frequency chain, a first plurality of training signals over a plurality of beamforming directions in accordance with the beam search trigger, and wherein selecting the radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream comprises: selecting a first beamforming direction from the plurality of beamforming directions for a first beam of a first spatial stream in accordance with receiving the first plurality of training signals; and receiving, over the second link via a second receive radio frequency chain, a second plurality of training signals over the plurality of beamforming directions excluding a subset of beamforming directions within a beam width of the first beam in accordance with the beam search trigger; and wherein selecting the radio frequency chain pair for each spatial stream comprises: selecting a second beamforming direction from the plurality of beamforming directions for a second beam of a second spatial stream in accordance with receiving the second plurality of training signals.
Claim 34 - wherein transmitting the plurality of training signals comprises: transmitting, via a first transmit radio frequency chain, a first plurality of training signals over a plurality of beamforming directions in accordance with the beam search trigger, wherein the feedback message indicates a first beam direction for a first spatial stream, the first beam direction associated with a first beam having a first beam width; and transmitting, via a second transmit radio frequency chain, a second plurality of training signals over the plurality of beamforming directions excluding a subset of beamforming directions within the first beam width of the first beam in accordance with the beam search trigger and the feedback message.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
IEEE 802.11-23/190671; Title: Channel Information Feedback for Smooth Beamforming – Follow Up; Authors: Eunsung et. al., November, 2023. See slides 2-16.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467