CTNF 18/768,433 CTNF 92490 With Kevin’s assistance DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 1, 9-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (US 20240015848 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches a method (efficient SL carrier activation/configuration in SL CA of Fig. 10A), comprising: establishing, by a first user equipment (UE), a sidelink connection with a second UE (If the SL UE (1001) is interested in SL Unicast (UC) communication with the SL UE (1003), a PC5-RRC connection establishment procedure is performed between the SL UE (1001) and the SL UE (1003) in 1021, [0146]); determining, by the first UE, to operate in a carrier aggregation mode, for communication via the sidelink connection (The SL UE (1001) can activate or deactivate all or some of SL CA carriers among the SL CA carriers configured in 1021 by SL CA carrier activation or SL CA carrier deactivation control information (1023), [0147]); and operating, by the first UE, the sidelink connection according to a set of predefined parameters per component carrier (CC)( SL resource pool #0 in SL-carrier #0 (with index #0), SL resource pool #1 in SL-carrier #1 (with index #1), and SL resource pool #2 in SL-carrier #2 (with index #2) are configured and/or activated for SL CA, [0100]), responsive to determining to operate in the carrier aggregation mode (Then the SL UE (1001) can transmit control and/or data in SL CA carrier #0, SL CA carrier #1 and SL CA carrier #2 and the UE (1003) can receive them in SL CA carrier #0, SL CA carrier #1 and SL CA carrier #2, [0148]; the SL UE #1 configures multiple SL-carriers and SL resource pools for SL CA operation with the SL UE #2 by using SL-RRC reconfiguration procedure, [0099]; the SL UE #1 generates RP and/or RSWL based on the SL logical slot that forms SL resource pool #0 in SL-carrier #0 where inter-UE coordination REQ is sent, [0114]). Regarding claim 9, Jeong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first UE comprises at least one of a first UE of a first pedestrian or a first vehicle, and the second UE comprises at least one of a second UE of a second pedestrian or a second vehicle (Two or multiple vehicles can transmit and receive data/control over direct link/interface between vehicles, [0070], Fig. 6). Regarding claim 10, Jeong teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, a signal indicating to operate in the carrier aggregation mode (SL UE #1 who configured for SL transmission and intends to transmit data/control over SL so the UE sends inter-UE coordination request, [0099]). Regarding claim 11, Jeong teaches a first user equipment (UE)(UE of Fig. 3 executing method of Fig. 10A), comprising: a wireless transceiver (transceiver 305); and one or more processors (processor 340) configured to: establish, via the wireless transceiver, a sidelink connection with a second UE (If the SL UE (1001) is interested in SL Unicast (UC) communication with the SL UE (1003), a PC5-RRC connection establishment procedure is performed between the SL UE (1001) and the SL UE (1003) in 1021, [0146]); determine to operate in a carrier aggregation mode, for communication via the sidelink connection (The SL UE (1001) can activate or deactivate all or some of SL CA carriers among the SL CA carriers configured in 1021 by SL CA carrier activation or SL CA carrier deactivation control information (1023), [0147]); and operate the sidelink connection according to a set of predefined parameters (SL resource pool #0 in SL-carrier #0 (with index #0), SL resource pool #1 in SL-carrier #1 (with index #1), and SL resource pool #2 in SL-carrier #2 (with index #2) are configured and/or activated for SL CA, [0100]) per component carrier (CC), responsive to determining to operate in the carrier aggregation mode (Then the SL UE (1001) can transmit control and/or data in SL CA carrier #0, SL CA carrier #1 and SL CA carrier #2 and the UE (1003) can receive them in SL CA carrier #0, SL CA carrier #1 and SL CA carrier #2, [0148]; the SL UE #1 configures multiple SL-carriers and SL resource pools for SL CA operation with the SL UE #2 by using SL-RRC reconfiguration procedure, [0099]; the SL UE #1 generates RP and/or RSWL based on the SL logical slot that forms SL resource pool #0 in SL-carrier #0 where inter-UE coordination REQ is sent, [0114]). Regarding claim 19, Jeong teaches the first UE of claim 11, wherein the first UE comprises at least one of a first UE of a first pedestrian or a first vehicle, and the second UE comprises at least one of a second UE of a second pedestrian or a second vehicle (Two or multiple vehicles can transmit and receive data/control over direct link/interface between vehicles, [0070], Fig. 6). Regarding claim 20, Jeong teaches a first user equipment (UE)(UE of Fig. 3 executing method of Fig. 10A), comprising: a wireless transceiver (Transceiver 310); and one or more processors (processor 340) configured to: establish, via the wireless transceiver, a sidelink connection with a second UE (If the SL UE (1001) is interested in SL Unicast (UC) communication with the SL UE (1003), a PC5-RRC connection establishment procedure is performed between the SL UE (1001) and the SL UE (1003) in 1021, [0146]); receive, from the second UE, an indication to operate in a carrier aggregation mode, for communication via the sidelink connection (The SL UE (1001) can activate or deactivate all or some of SL CA carriers among the SL CA carriers configured in 1021 by SL CA carrier activation or SL CA carrier deactivation control information (1023), [0147]); and operate the sidelink connection according to a set of predefined parameters per component carrier (CC)( SL resource pool #0 in SL-carrier #0 (with index #0), SL resource pool #1 in SL-carrier #1 (with index #1), and SL resource pool #2 in SL-carrier #2 (with index #2) are configured and/or activated for SL CA, [0100]), responsive to determining to operate in the carrier aggregation mode (Then the SL UE (1001) can transmit control and/or data in SL CA carrier #0, SL CA carrier #1 and SL CA carrier #2 and the UE (1003) can receive them in SL CA carrier #0, SL CA carrier #1 and SL CA carrier #2, [0148]; the SL UE #1 configures multiple SL-carriers and SL resource pools for SL CA operation with the SL UE #2 by using SL-RRC reconfiguration procedure, [0099]; the SL UE #1 generates RP and/or RSWL based on the SL logical slot that forms SL resource pool #0 in SL-carrier #0 where inter-UE coordination REQ is sent, [0114]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-8 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Rodriguez et al. (US 20240039678 A1) . Regarding claim 2, Jeong teaches the method of claim 1. However, Jeong does not teach wherein the set of predefined parameters comprise a selected sub-carrier spacing (SCS) value selected from a plurality of SCS values. In an analogous art, Rodriguez teaches wherein the set of predefined parameters comprise a selected sub-carrier spacing (SCS) value selected from a plurality of SCS values (FIG. 3B illustrates a table 310 for UE channel bandwidths for each operating band (frequency band). The table 310 indicates valid or supported combinations of UE channel bandwidths, SCS, and frequency band, [0075]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 3, Jeong teaches the method of claim 2. Rodriguez further teaches wherein operating the sidelink connection comprises modifying a size of a resource block (RB) size according to the SCS value (the table 320 indicates a maximum quantity of resource block that are possible for transmission or reception for a given combination of channel bandwidth and SCS, Rodriguez [0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 4, Jeong teaches the method of claim 2. Rodriguez further teaches wherein operating the sidelink connection comprises selecting a maximum transmission bandwidth according to the SCS value (The table 320 includes a maximum transmission bandwidth configuration N.sub.RB for each UE channel bandwidth and subcarrier spacing, Rodriguez [0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 5, Jeong teaches the method of claim 4. Rodriguez further teaches wherein the maximum transmission bandwidth is selected according to the SCS value and a channel bandwidth corresponding to the sidelink connection (The table 320 includes a maximum transmission bandwidth configuration N.sub.RB for each UE channel bandwidth and subcarrier spacing, Rodriguez [0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 6, Jeong teaches the method of claim 2. Rodriguez further teaches wherein operating the sidelink connection comprises selecting a minimum guardband, according to the SCS value (UE transmission bandwidth configuration information element (IE) is indicated by the higher layer parameter carrierBandwidth and will fulfill the minimum UE guardband requirement (and the resulting maximum transmission bandwidth configuration) for a particular combination of SCS and channel bandwidth, Rodriguez [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 7, Jeong teaches the method of claim 6. Rodriguez further teaches wherein the minimum guardband is selected according to the SCS value and a channel bandwidth corresponding to the sidelink connection (UE transmission bandwidth configuration information element (IE) is indicated by the higher layer parameter carrierBandwidth and will fulfill the minimum UE guardband requirement (and the resulting maximum transmission bandwidth configuration) for a particular combination of SCS and channel bandwidth, Rodriguez [0079]; The channel bandwidths may also apply to sidelink, Rodriguez [0075]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 8, Jeong teaches the method of claim 1. However, Jeong does not teach wherein the set of predefined parameters comprise a reference measurement channel configuration corresponding to an adjacent channel selectivity (ACS) configuration. In an analogous art, Rodriguez teaches wherein the set of predefined parameters comprise a reference measurement channel configuration corresponding to an adjacent channel selectivity (ACS) configuration (a first adjacent channel leakage ratio (ALCR) condition associated with the first type of frequency band is different from a second ALCR condition associated with the second type of frequency band [0209]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 12, Jeong teaches the first UE of claim 11. However, Jeong does not teach wherein the set of predefined parameters comprise a selected sub-carrier spacing (SCS) value selected from a plurality of SCS values. In an analogous art, Rodriguez teaches wherein the set of predefined parameters comprise a selected sub-carrier spacing (SCS) value selected from a plurality of SCS values (FIG. 3B illustrates a table 310 for UE channel bandwidths for each operating band (frequency band). The table 310 indicates valid or supported combinations of UE channel bandwidths, SCS, and frequency band, [0075]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 13, Jeong teaches the first UE of claim 12. Rodriguez further teaches wherein operating the sidelink connection comprises modifying a size of a resource block (RB) size according to the SCS value (the table 320 indicates a maximum quantity of resource block that are possible for transmission or reception for a given combination of channel bandwidth and SCS, Rodriguez 0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 14, Jeong teaches the first UE of claim 12. Rodriguez further teaches wherein operating the sidelink connection comprises selecting a maximum transmission bandwidth according to the SCS value (The table 320 includes a maximum transmission bandwidth configuration N.sub.RB for each UE channel bandwidth and subcarrier spacing, Rodriguez [0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 15, Jeong teaches the first UE of claim 14. . Rodriguez further teaches wherein the maximum transmission bandwidth is selected according to the SCS value and a channel bandwidth corresponding to the sidelink connection (The table 320 includes a maximum transmission bandwidth configuration N.sub.RB for each UE channel bandwidth and subcarrier spacing, Rodriguez [0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 16, Jeong teaches the first UE of claim 12. Rodriguez further teaches wherein operating the sidelink connection comprises selecting a minimum guardband, according to the SCS value (UE transmission bandwidth configuration information element (IE) is indicated by the higher layer parameter carrierBandwidth and will fulfill the minimum UE guardband requirement (and the resulting maximum transmission bandwidth configuration) for a particular combination of SCS and channel bandwidth, Rodriguez [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 17, Jeong teaches the first UE of claim 16. Rodriguez further teaches wherein the minimum guardband is selected according to the SCS value and a channel bandwidth corresponding to the sidelink connection (UE transmission bandwidth configuration information element (IE) is indicated by the higher layer parameter carrierBandwidth and will fulfill the minimum UE guardband requirement (and the resulting maximum transmission bandwidth configuration) for a particular combination of SCS and channel bandwidth, [0079]; The channel bandwidths may also apply to sidelink, Rodriguez [0075]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001]. Regarding claim 18, Jeong teaches the first UE of claim 11. However, Jeong does not teach wherein the set of predefined parameters comprise a reference measurement channel configuration corresponding to an adjacent channel selectivity (ACS) configuration. In an analogous art, Rodriguez teaches wherein the set of predefined parameters comprise a reference measurement channel configuration corresponding to an adjacent channel selectivity (ACS) configuration (a first adjacent channel leakage ratio (ALCR) condition associated with the first type of frequency band is different from a second ALCR condition associated with the second type of frequency band [0209]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink CA of Jeong with the channel configuration of Rodriguez to provide a methods and a system to enable and provide improved communications, including increased and more flexible resource allocation for improved spectrum utilization as suggested, Rodriguez [0001] . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsai et al. (US 20240179737 A1): Methods, systems, and devices may assist in channelization and LBT for NR unlicensed band. This may apply to NR-U from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz and above. In an example, a method may include configuring listen before talk (LBT) bandwidth (BW) and channel occupation time (COT) sharing schemes when co-exist other radio access technology's (RAT'S) channel BW for NR-U from 52.6 to 71 GHz and above; and when LBT or a resource block (RB) set BW is set to equal to each component carrier (CC) BW Nor transmission BW, performing LBT for each CC, primary cell (PCell), primary secondary cell (PSCell), or a scheduling secondary cell (SCell) can co-schedule LBT results for other CC . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS whose telephone number is (571)270-0671. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Appiah can be reached at 571-272-7904. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641 /CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 2 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 3 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 4 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 5 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 6 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 7 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 8 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 9 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 10 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 11 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 12 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/768,433 Page 13 Art Unit: 2641