DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph [0047], line 3, “SUS” should read --stainless use steel (SUS)--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibutani et al. (US 20180241026 A1), hereinafter “Shibutani”, in view of Hamano et al. (JP 200013220 A), hereinafter “Hamano”, as cited in the IDS dated 6/30/2026, wherein an English machine translation of Hamano is cited.
Regarding claim 1, Shibutani teaches a secondary battery (corresponding to the claimed battery) (Shibutani, [0026], lines 1-6) comprising:
A laminated electrode body (corresponding to the claimed electrode body) (Shibutani, [0026], lines 1-6)
An exterior member (corresponding to the claimed laminate outer encasement) (Shibutani, [0054], lines 9-17)
The exterior member comprising a fused layer (corresponding to the claimed battery includes a first buffer member) (Shibutani, [0104], lines 1-15)
Annotated Fig. 6A from Shibutani below shows the laminated electrode body 20 covered by the exterior member 300 (corresponding to the claimed laminate outer encasement that covers the electrode body) (Shibutani, [0102], lines 1-2; Fig. 5). Annotated Fig. 6A from Shibutani below also denotes a first surface of the electrode body 20, and a second surface of the electrode body that faces the first surface in a thickness direction (corresponding to the claimed electrode body includes a first surface and a second surface that faces the first surface in a thickness direction) (Shibutani, [0102], lines 1-2).
Shibutani also teaches that the exterior member 300 is a laminated film, comprising the fused layer on the bottom of the laminated film (Shibutani, [0104], lines 1-15). Shibutani further teaches that the fused layers face each other through the laminated electrode body 20 (corresponding to the claimed first buffer member between the first surface and the laminate outer encasement that faces the first surface in the thickness direction) (Shibutani, [0104], lines 1-15; See annotated Fig. 6A above).
Shibutani does not teach the fused layer containing a polyurea resin. However, Hamano teaches a lithium ion secondary battery comprising a resin film between an electrode body and an outer packaging bag (Hamano, [0014], lines 1-3), wherein the resin film may comprise a polyurea-based resin (corresponding to the claimed first buffer member containing a polyurea resin) (Hamano, [0025], lines 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Hamano's polyurea based resin film for the fused layer material of Shibutani in order to obtain a liquid resin at room temperature for easy application to the outer portion of the electrode body (Hamano, [0025], lines 1-3 & 6-8).
Regarding claim 2, annotated Fig. 6A from Shibutani above shows the exterior member 300 comprising a lower portion in the Y-direction. As stated in the rejection of claim 1 above, Shibutani teaches the exterior member 300 comprising fused layers that face each other through the laminated electrode body 20 (Shibutani, [0104], lines 1-15). Therefore, Shibutani’s lower portion of the exterior member 300 also comprises a fused layer (corresponding to the claimed second buffer member between the second surface and the laminate outer encasement that faces the second surface in the thickness direction) (See annotated Fig. 6A above).
Shibutani does not teach the fused layer containing a polyurea resin. As stated in the rejection of claim 1, Hamano teaches the resin film may comprise a polyurea-based resin (corresponding to the claimed second buffer member containing a polyurea resin) (Hamano, [0025], lines 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Hamano's polyurea based resin film for the fused layer material of Shibutani in order to obtain a liquid resin at room temperature for easy application to the outer portion of the electrode body (Hamano, [0025], lines 1-3 & 6-8).
Regarding claim 3, annotated Fig. 6 from Shibutani above shows the exterior member 300 comprising a fused layer facing towards a side surface of the electrode body 20 in the Z-direction (corresponding to the claimed third buffer member disposed on a side surface of the electrode body) (Shibutani, [0104], lines 1-15). Shibutani does not teach the fused layer containing a polyurea resin. As stated in the rejection of claim 1, Hamano teaches the resin film may comprise a polyurea-based resin (corresponding to the claimed third buffer member containing a polyurea resin) (Hamano, [0025], lines 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Hamano's polyurea based resin film for the fused layer material of Shibutani in order to obtain a liquid resin at room temperature for easy application to the outer portion of the electrode body (Hamano, [0025], lines 1-3 & 6-8).
Further regarding claim 3, Shibutani teaches fusing the circumferential edge portions of the fused layer (corresponding to the claimed first buffer member, the second buffer member, and the third buffer member are integrated together) (Shibutani, [0104], lines 7-12).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Shibutani teaches the electrode body 20 comprising:
A positive electrode member 22 comprising a positive electrode active material layer 22B (corresponding to the claimed electrode body includes a cathode active material layer) (Shibutani, [0067], lines 7-10)
a negative electrode member 24 comprising a negative electrode active material layer 24B (corresponding to the claimed anode active material layer) (Shibutani, [0067], lines 12-14)
the positive electrode member 22 and the negative electrode member 24 laminated through an electrolyte layer 28 (Shibutani, [0102], lines 1-8)
Fig. 6B from Shibutani further shows the electrolyte layer 28 disposed between the positive electrode active material layer 22B and the negative electrode active material layer 24B (corresponding to the claimed electrolyte layer disposed between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer).
Further regarding claim 4, Shibutani also teaches that the negative electrode active material layer may comprise silicon (corresponding to the claimed anode active material layer contains a Si active material as an anode active material) (Shibutani, [0173], lines 1-6).
Further regarding claim 5, the instant specification provides a gel electrolyte as an example of the solid electrolyte (Instant specification, [0038], lines 1-2). Shibutani teaches that the electrolyte layer solution may be gel-like or of solid form (corresponding to the claimed electrolyte layer is a solid electrolyte layer containing a solid electrolyte) (Shibutani, [0120], lines 1-10).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/746,483, hereinafter “the ‘483 application. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding the instant claim 1, claim 2 of the ‘483 application teaches a battery comprising:
An electrode body (corresponding to the claimed electrode body including a first surface and a second surface that faces the first surface in a thickness direction)
A laminate outer encasement that covers the electrode body (corresponding to the claimed laminate outer encasement that covers the electrode body)
A resin member that is interposed between the electrode body and the laminate outer encasement, covering an entire face of the electrode body, and also containing a polyurea resin (corresponding to the claimed first buffer member containing a polyurea resin between the first surface and the laminate outer encasement that faces the first surface in the thickness direction).
Regarding the instant claim 5, claim 6 of the ‘483 application teaches the electrode body includes a cathode active material layer, an anode active material layer, and an electrolyte layer disposed between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer; and the electrolyte layer is a solid electrolyte layer containing a solid electrolyte
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/746,483, hereinafter “the ‘483 application” in view of Shibutani (US 20180241026 A1).
Regarding the instant claim 4, claim 6 of the ‘483 application teaches the electrode body including a cathode active material layer, an anode active material layer, and an electrolyte layer disposed between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer. The ‘483 application does not teach the anode active material layer containing a silicon active material as an anode active material. Shibutani teaches that the negative electrode active material layer may comprise silicon (corresponding to the claimed anode active material layer contains a Si active material as an anode active material) (Shibutani, [0173], lines 1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add Shibutani's silicon active material to the anode active material of the ‘483 application in order to occlude or release lithium for higher energy density (Shibutani, [0163], lines 4-12).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/R.M.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734