DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kato (US20220320664A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kato recites a battery module, comprised of a plurality of battery cells (paragraph [0037]), that are made up of electrode bodies covered in an exterior laminate film (paragraph [0021]), housed in a casing (paragraph [0046]). This casing has a pair of short wall portions that extend along the lamination direction of the battery cells (Figure 1, element 112, paragraphs [0047]-[0048]) and a pair of long side wall portions that connect the short side walls (Figure 1, elements 111, 121, paragraphs [0049]-[0050]) that designed to suppress deformation of the battery module when vibrations are transmitted into it (paragraphs [0053]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 2, Kato teaches all the elements of the battery module of claim 1 and teaches that the short wall portions are a linear shape (Figure 1, element 112, paragraphs [0047], [0051]) and the long wall portions are shaped to give their center portions are convex inward in the longitudinal direction due to the recesses present in the long wall (Figure 1, elements 111a, 121a, paragraphs [0049]- [0050], paragraphs [0055]- [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Kato teaches the elements of the battery module in claim 2 and describes that the more “sandwiched” by the convex portions of the long walls of the battery module is in an initial state or an unloaded state, the greater the resistance against vibrations, and thus deformation, and the better transport of gas formation during charging. Meaning, for optimal results, the convex portions of the long wall would be touching the electrode stack (paragraph [0056]). It is also shown in Figure 1 that the convex portions 111a and 121a are touching the electrode stacks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US20220320664A1) in view of Hara (US20220294021A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kato teaches the elements of battery module of claim 1 but fails to teach that central convex portions of the long wall are thicker than the other portions.
Hara teaches a secondary battery comprised of a battery case made of a pair of short side walls and a pair of long side walls that houses a plurality of wound electrode bodies (paragraph [0066], Figure 6, element 200). That housing also has a protruding member coming out of the center of the long side wall and directly comes in contact with the electrode body (paragraph [0066], Figure 6, element 13).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the teachings Kato with Hara to obtain a battery case wherein the long side wall portions are formed such that center portions in the longitudinal direction thereof are thicker than other portion as “with such a configuration, the heat transfer efficiency to the central region of each electrode body 20 can be selectively increased”, thus improving the resistance against thermal expansion (paragraph [0066]).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US20220320664A1) in view of Cho (US20230038489A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Kato teaches the battery module of claim 1 but fails to teach the change in thickness at the connection portions of the long side wall portions and the short side wall portions.
Cho teaches a battery pack meant to house a plurality of battery cells where the place where the short side walls meet the long side wall form a corner that is thicker than the walls (Figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the teachings Kato with Cho to obtain a battery case with corners that are thicker where the short side wall and long side walls meet than other portions of the side walls in order to protect the battery cells from external impact (paragraph [0056]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Voigt (DE102020107303A1) teaches a housing for a battery cell, where the housing has a central portion in the side wall that is concave inwardly.
Nusier (US20160233464A1) teaches a battery case enclosed in elongated shock absorbing ribs.
Toshiki (JP2016126872A) teaches a battery jar end of a control valve type storage battery having a thick wall portion having a central part projecting farther inward of the battery jar than both sides.
Jeong (US20210265685A1) teaches a battery module with a frame member having curved surface parts covering both side surfaces of a battery cell stack.
/M.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726