DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “processing device(s)” in claims 10 and 18.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-3 and 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,062,176 B2 (herein referred to as Gupta). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per claim 17 of Gupta (claim 17 is a combination of subject matter of claim 17 and 10).
Gupta discloses A method comprising: determining a plurality of modifications to a digital image made to generate a modified digital image (claim 10 – col. 37, lines 18-21);
determining non-contiguous modified pixel regions in the modified digital image that define boundaries of the plurality of modifications, and, generating edited region indicators comprising shapes corresponding to shapes of the non-contiguous modified pixel regions (claim 10 – col. 37, lines 22-30; claim 17 – col. 39, lines 4-8); and
providing, in a graphical user interface, visual indications of the plurality of modifications between the digital image and the modified digital image (claim 10 – col. 37, lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 2, Gupta discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein determining the non-contiguous modified pixel regions in the modified digital image comprises determining a non-contiguous modified pixel region consisting of pixels in the modified digital image that are modified compared to corresponding pixels in the digital image (claim 10, lines 18-28, 41-44).
Regarding claim 3, Gupta discloses the method as recited in claim 2, further comprising: generating one or more change records indicating one or more modified pixels associated with a given modification in response to determining that the given modification was made to the digital image; wherein determining the non-contiguous modified region is based on the one or more modified pixels indicated in the one or more change records (claim 10 – col. 37, lines 11-13 and lines 22-28).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per citations made (with respect to claims 10 and 17 in Gupta) in the rejection of claim 1 of the instant invention.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per citations made (with respect to claim 10 in Gupta) in the rejection of claim 12 of the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-3, 5, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clediere, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0044558 A1, and further in view of Katukam et al., 2015, “Image Comparison Methods & Tools: A Review” (pp. 35-42).
Regarding claim 1, Clediere discloses a method comprising: determining a plurality of modifications to a digital image made to generate a modified digital image (para 0017 – the modified pixels (203) are compared with the input pixels 201; where 203 is considered here as modified digital image, and input pixels 201 as digital image; para 0018 - The pixel-comparator (204) identifies those pixels that have been changed by the correction process (202). This can be achieved by taking the difference between pixel values, typically luminance value differences, though any convenient measure that is affected by the correction process (202) can be used);
determining non-contiguous modified pixel regions in the modified digital image that define boundaries of the plurality of modifications (para 0016 – the process of the invention analyzes each region separately and so the corrected pixels must be allocated to discrete regions. Thus in FIG. 1, all the pixels within the outline (1) have been designated with the letter A or a; and all the pixels within the outline (2) have been designated with the letter B or b. In the preferred embodiment, only the peripheral pixels are used in the analysis, i.e. those pixels having a vertical or horizontal neighbor lying outside the region. These are the pixels designated with upper case letters (A or B) in FIG. 1. Thus, the region within the outline (1) is evaluated by analysis of the pixels A; and the region within the outline (2) is evaluated by analysis of the pixels B – where the outline(s) is/are region indicator that represents shape of the regions; para 0023 – Once all the pixels of the image have been assessed, the test at step (32) ends the process and all separate, discrete regions will have their constituent pixels allocated to respective, unique region numbers; para 0024 – pixels at the periphery of the regions are identified); and
Claim 1 further recites “generating edited region indicators comprising shapes corresponding to shapes of the non-contiguous modified pixel regions and providing, in a graphical user interface, visual indications of the plurality of modifications between the digital image and the modified digital image”. As cited in Clediere, Clediere teaches identifying the modification along with the discrete modified regions and further identifies the periphery of the discrete regions, and as technically known periphery defines the shape of the regions as also shown in figure 1. Clediere, however, does not explicitly teach generating edited region indicators comprising shapes corresponding to shapes of the non-contiguous modified pixel regions and providing, in a graphical user interface, visual indications of the plurality of modifications between the digital image and the modified digital image. However, Katukam teaches (page 40 – right column- Section II. TOOLS – to compare the difference between images. We can use tool like –
1. ImageMagick: ImageMagick is a free and open-source software suite for displaying, converting, and editing raster image and vector image files…does include - for Unix-like operating systems - a basic native X Window GUI (called IM Display) for rendering and manipulating images and API libraries for many programming languages. The difference is highlighted in red color.
2. Perceptual Diff: Perceptual Diff is an open source command line image comparison tool…Use image1 and image2 as the images you want to compare. The default options for the output file will only show a black background with the difference highlighted in blue.
3. Image comparer: It is an easier to use graphical user interface-based program to compare between images…go the Differences tab to see the highlighted location of the differences).
Katukam as cited teaches highlighting location of the differences, which is nothing but generating edited region indicators corresponding to the identified manipulated/different regions, and further displays it using GUI, providing visual indications of the modifications. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Katukam’s teachings in the invention of Clediere. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Katukam’s teachings in the invention of Clediere, because both references are directed to the same field of endeavor of finding the similarity between the images and further identifying differences/modifications, and Katukam’s teachings adds the benefit of displaying the changes on the GUI for the user to view the visual changes/modifications using indicators/highlighter that define the shape of modification, defined by Clediere.
Regarding claim 2, the combined invention of Clediere and Katukam discloses “The method as recited in claim 1, wherein determining the non-contiguous modified pixel regions in the modified digital image comprises determining a non-contiguous modified pixel region consisting of pixels in the modified digital image that are modified compared to corresponding pixels in the digital image” (see the citations made in the rejection of claim 1 with respect to Clediere – the modification is with respect to corresponding pixels in the input image pixels).
Regarding claim 3, the combined invention of Clediere and Katukam discloses the method as recited in claim 2, further comprising: generating one or more change records indicating one or more modified pixels associated with a given modification in response to determining that the given modification was made to the digital image; wherein determining the non-contiguous modified region is based on the one or more modified pixels indicated in the one or more change records (see Clediere para 0017– the modified pixels are compared to the corresponding pixels of the input pixels, which means the modification has been recorded and saved and then compared.
Regarding claim 5, the combined invention of Clediere and Katukam discloses “The method as recited in claim 2, wherein: the pixels in the modified digital image that are modified compared to corresponding pixels in the digital image were modified in response to a modification operation; and the non-contiguous modified region in the modified digital image comprises all pixels modified in response to the modification operation.” (see Clediere – “in response to a modification operation” here implies a controlled on-demand process, which Clediere discloses in paras 0006, 0015-0016 and 0040 – desired correction process; further see Katukam – GUI (called IM Display) for rendering and manipulating images and API libraries for many programming languages. The difference is highlighted in red color – the highlighted result is in response to the modification operation).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per citations made in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per citations made in the rejection of claim 2.
10. Claims 4, 6-9 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. Claim 10-17 are allowed. None of the closest prior arts of the record as cited teaches “generating one or more subdivisions of the edited region indicator by dividing the edited region indicator into differentiated sections based on objects detected within the non-contiguous modified region; and providing one or more visual indications of the modifications between the digital image and the modified version of the digital image by positioning the edited region indicator comprising the differentiated sections based on objects in the modified version of the digital image” in combination with other limitations of claim 10. Therefore, claim 10 is allowed. All other claims depending on claim 10 are allowable at least by dependency on claim 10.
/Manav Seth/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
June 27, 2026