Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
“a landing gear,”
“a storage system,”
“a robotic arm housing,” and
“a counterweight housing.”
The structural cooperative relationships between “a landing gear,” “a storage system,” “a robotic arm housing,” and “a counterweight housing” are not clearly understood as to how each structural element is related to other structural element(s). Therefore, other depending claims are confusing and not clearly understood since the applicant fails to clearly define the structural cooperative relationships between “a landing gear,” “a storage system,” “a robotic arm housing,” and/or “a counterweight housing.”
For instance, the depending claim 13 further recites “the actuator is also coupled to the counterweight housing, whereby the actuator is configured to move the counterweight housing backwards when the robotic arm moves forwards.” The recitation of “the actuator is also coupled to the counterweight housing” is confusing and not clearly understood since claim 1 fails to clearly define the structural cooperative relationship between “a counterweight housing” and other element(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-17 and 19, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravanat (US 2022/0174932) in view of Gil et al. (US 2019/0161190).
RE claims 11 and 12, Ravanat (US 2022/0174932) discloses a mechanism for an unmanned aerial vehicle, the unmanned aerial vehicle comprising a body (see 32, 27, 33, 35 of Fig. 1 and paragraph [0055])) and at least four rotors (see para [0056-0064]) and Fig. 1) coupled to the body, the body comprising an upper side and a lower side opposite the upper side, the rotor configured to generate lift in an upward direction (see para [0006-0013]), the mechanism configured to mount to the lower side of the body, the mechanism comprising: a robotic arm housing (39); a counterweight housing (38 of Figs. 1, 9B, and 9C) (see para [0018], 0019], and [0055]); a robotic arm (61) (see Exhibit A) movably mounted to the robotic arm housing (39) (See Fig. 7A), the robotic arm (61) movable between a retracted position (see para [0077] of Fig. 7B) wherein the robotic arm is folded within the robotic arm housing and an extended position wherein the robotic arm is unfolded (see para [0076] of Fig. 7A) and a distal end of the robotic arm is spaced apart from the robotic arm housing in front of the robotic arm housing; an actuator coupled to the robotic arm to move the robotic arm between the retracted position and the extended position; and an end effector (62, 62) (see para [0076-0077]) coupled to the distal end of the robotic arm, the end effector comprising a gripper with a pair of opposing compressible elements for gripping an object between the pair of compressible elements wherein the robotic arm is configured to move from the retracted position to the extended position such that the distal end of the robotic arm moves along a single straight line (see Figs. 7Aand 7B).
Exhibit A
Ravanat’s UAV (US 2022/0174932), as best understood, does not specifically show a landing gear and a storage system.
However, Figs. 4 and 5 of Gil et al. (US 2019/0161190) teach a UAV (100) having a landing gear (116) including skids (see para [0135]) and a parcel carrying mechanism and a housing (210) (see para [0137]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a landing gear and a parcel carrier mechanism and a storage system on the body of Ravanat (US 2022/0174932) as taught by Gil et al. (US 2019/0161190) to provide as a safe landing and stability and also to employ as an object or item to retrieve and hold it to a user.
RE claims 13 and 16, Ravanat’s UAV (US 2022/0174932) shows the actuator (70) is also coupled to the counterweight housing, whereby the actuator is configured to move the counterweight housing (38) backwards when the robotic arm moves forwards (see para [0055]).
RE claims 14-16, Figs. 1, 7A, 7B, 9B, and 9C of Ravanat’s UAV (US 2022/0174932) disclose the actuator (66) (See Fig. 7A) is coupled to the robotic arm (61) via an actuation mechanism wherein the actuation mechanism comprises frame assembly (84, 41, 65) which can be considered as a scotch yoke, wherein the actuator is also coupled to the counterweight housing (38) via the scotch yoke, whereby the actuator is configured to move the counterweight housing in a direction opposite the robotic arm (see para [0055]) when the robotic arm moves between the retracted position and the extended position.
RE claim 17, Fig. 7A of Ravanat’s UAV (US 2022/0174932) teaches a push rod (67), the compliant gripper (62, 62) configured to move from an open position to a closed position in response to pressure on the push rod.
RE claim 19, Figs. 7A and 7B of Ravanat’s UAV (US 2022/0174932) show the robotic arm comprises a linkage, and wherein each link in the linkage (61, 61) comprises an internal open web between the links.
Claim 18, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravanat (US 2022/0174932) and Gil et al. (US 2019/0161190) and further in view of Miyamoto (7,125,059).
Ravanat’s UAV (US 2022/0174932), as presented above, shows grippers (62, 62) powered by an electric motor (66), but does not specifically show a rack and pinion. However, Miyamoto (7,125,059) teaches gripping jaws (21, 21) powered by a rack and pinion (see Col. 7, lines 7-31). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a rack and pinion on the actuator and grippers of Ravanat (US 2022/0174932) as taught by Miyamoto (7,125,059) to provide as a smooth gripping process to a user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deemyad; Taher ‘280 and Chundi; Venkata Rama Subba Rao ‘080 show a UAV equipped with scissor grippers.
Orol; Daniel ‘159 disclsoes a UAV and a gripper with a counterweight.
Other drones or UAV as cited in PTO-892 display a gripper.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654