DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to a computer readable medium. The applicant’s specification does not limit the computer readable medium to only “non-transitory” examples of the computer readable medium. Therefore, the examiner is interpreting the computer readable medium as encompassing transitory signals in addition to non-transitory embodiments. Claim 20 is thus rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 for including transitory signals within its scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1-20 (specifically, claims 1-6, 8-13, 16, and 18-20) recite parameters xπ, c, d1, d2, a, b, x, y, x1, x2, k, m, l, a(x), b(x), f(x), x1, y1, x2, y2, x3, y3, x4, and y4 which are not properly defined in the claims, and it is unclear as to what exactly these parameters are, what they represent, how they are used to generate the GCP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Levitan et al US 20210278521 (hereinafter Levitan).
Regarding claim 1, Levitan discloses a device sensing method (see [0026], [0045]), comprising:
sending a sensing signal, wherein the sensing signal is generated based on a Golay complementary pair (GCP) with a length of N, and N is greater than or equal to 32 (see [0045], [0047]);
receiving an echo signal of the sensing signal (see [0045]); and
performing processing based on the echo signal (1118, 1120, see [0067], [0071]-[0072]), wherein when N is equal to 128, parameters used to generate the GCP are any one of the following groups (not invoked because N is greater than 32 (and the examiner is not unaware of what these parameters are), see [0045], [0047]):
Regarding claim 14, Levitan discloses a device sensing method, comprising:
sending a sensing signal, wherein the sensing signal is generated based on a Golay complementary pair (GCP) with a length of N, and N is greater than or equal to 32 (see [0045], [0047]);
receiving an echo signal of the sensing signal (see [0045]); and
performing processing based on the echo signal (1118, 1120, see [0067], [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 1, Levitan further discloses wherein the sensing signal is a single-carrier signal or a multi-carrier signal ([0029], [0074]).
Regarding claim 18, Levitan discloses a communication apparatus (see fig. 11), comprising a processor (see fig. 11) configured to execute instructions, to perform operations:
sending a sensing signal, wherein the sensing signal is generated based on a Golay complementary pair (GCP) with a length of N, and N is greater than or equal to 32 (see [0045], [0047]);
receiving an echo signal of the sensing signal (see [0045]); and
performing processing based on the echo signal (1118, 1120, see [0067], [0071]-[0072]), wherein when N is equal to 128, parameters used to generate the GCP are any one of the following groups (not invoked because N is greater than 32 (and the examiner is not unaware of what these parameters are), see [0045], [0047]):
Regarding claim 19, Levitan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing instructions, and when the instructions are executed by one or more processors (see fig. 11, [0078]-[0079]), the method according to claim 1 is implemented (see [0045], [0047], [0067], [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 20, Levitan discloses a computer program product stored in a computer readable medium (see fig. 11, [0071]-[0079]), wherein when the computer program product is executed by one or more processors, the method according to claim 1 is performed (see [0045], [0047], [0067], [0071]-[0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levitan et al US 20210278521 (hereinafter Levitan) in view of Chen US 20200177297 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Levitan discloses the claimed invention except wherein the GCP is generated through generalized Boolean function mapping. In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses generating a GCP using generalized Boolean function mapping (see abstract, [0015]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chen with Levitan by using generalized Boolean function to generate a Golay complementary set, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of efficiently generating GCP with long lengths.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levitan et al US 20210278521 (hereinafter Levitan) in view of Choi et al US 20210003690 (hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 1, Levitan discloses the claimed invention except wherein N is equal to 64 or 128. In the same field of endeavor, Choi discloses a sensing signal is generated based on a Golay complementary pair (GCP) with a length of N, wherein N is equal to 64 or 128 (see [0086]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Choi with Levitan by generating a GCP with a sequence length of 128 at a radar, as taught by Choi, for the benefit of overcoming signal attenuation and thus detecting objects at a farther distance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
R. Sivaswamy (IEEE transactions on Information Theory) discloses multiphase complementary codes.
Weathers et al US 4,513,288 discloses A group-complementary codes provide sets of binary word groups which have the combined properties of optimized aperiodic autocorrelation and optimized cross-correlation between word sets. The optimized aperiodic autocorrelation property allows the implementation of pulse compression processing in sensor systems to achieve zero value temporal or range sidelobes within the principal interpulse period without resorting to weighting techniques for sidelobe reduction.
Farnane et al (2020 10th Internation Symposium on Signal, Image, Video and Communications (ISIVC)) analysis of the radar ambiguity function for a new Golay sets shaping.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648