Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lenzie (pat# 9,170,294).
As to claim 1, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3
comprising: a power cable having wires (electrical conductors connected to electrical
components (184,164,124,126,170.185,128,176) ; a power connector (100) having a connector
body (120) holding power terminals (144,146,148) terminated to ends of the corresponding
power wires forming power lines for the power cable assembly, the power terminals including
mating ends configured to be mated with mating terminals (110,112,114) of a mating connector
(102), the power connector including a power health monitoring assembly, the power health
monitoring assembly (124,126,128) including indicators operably coupled to each of the power
terminals (144,146,148), the indicators generating visible light and providing a visual indication.
It is noted that Lenzie does not explicitly mention about a power health of the corresponding
power line visible from an exterior of the power connector. (100). However, it would have been
obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill
in the art to recognize that when the power connector (100) is plugged into the mating connector
(102), if there are some currents or voltage passing through the power terminals (144,146,148),
then these indicators will be illuminated. Therefore, the conductivities are considered as "a
power health of the corresponding power line. It is noted that the limitations of “configured to electrically connect a power source to a device for supplying operating power to the device” and “forming a power circuit for powering the device” as recited in claim 1 are considered as intended uses and these limitations are not given any patentable weights.
As to claim 2, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claim 1, wherein the power health monitoring assembly (124,126,128) provides a
different visual indication of an amount of voltage or current from each of the power terminal
(144,146,148) flowing through the assembly (124,126,28) indicative of the power health of
each of the power lines individually.
As to claim 3, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claim 1, it appears that multiple indicators (124,126,128) are associated with each
power terminal (144,146,148) to provide visual indication of different status for each power line.
As to claim 4, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claim 1, it appears that the power health is based on a voltage of the corresponding
power line.
As to claim 5, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claim 1, it appears that the power health is based on a voltage of the corresponding
power line.
As to claim 6, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claims 1 and 5, it appears that the visual indication is in a first state when the
voltage of the power line is above a threshold voltage of the corresponding power line and
wherein the visual indication is in a second state when the voltage of the power line is below the
threshold voltage of the corresponding power line (See column 5, lines 28-67 to column 7, lines
1-67).
As to claim 7, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claim 1, it appears that the power health is also based on an amperage of the
corresponding power line (See column 5, lines 28-67 to column 7, lines 1-67).
As to claim 8, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claim 1 but lenzie does not explicitly mentioned that the indicators include LEDs.
However, It would have been well-known in the art that LEDs are used as indicators. It would
have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use LEDs as indicators in the device of
Lenzie since these LEDs produce bright illuminations for visually recognizing.
As to claim 9, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claim 1 but lenzie does not explicitly mentioned about the connector body (120)
includes indication windows for the visual indication of each of the power lines. However, it
would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that each of the
indicators (124,126,128) occupies an exposed space on the connector body (120) and these
exposed spaces would be windows for the visual indication of each of the power lines.
As to claim 10, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claim 1. It appears that the visual indication is visible 360° around the connector
body.
As to claim 11, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claim 1 but Lenzie does not explicitly mention about the power health monitoring
assembly includes a circuit board assembly and conductors between the circuit board assembly and the corresponding power terminals, the indicators being coupled to the circuit board assembly and electrically connected to the corresponding conductors. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a circuit board assembly and conductors between the circuit board assembly and the corresponding power terminals (144,146,148) for the purpose of firmly supporting the indicators in the connector body (120) and for coupling the indicators to the circuit board assembly and electrically connected to the corresponding conductors.
As to claim 16, Lenzie discloses a power connector (100) as shown in figures 2-3 a connector body (120) having a mating end configured to be mated with a mating connector (102), the connector body (120) including an outer surface, the connector body (102) including terminal channels; power terminals (144,146,148) received in the terminal channels, the power terminals including terminating ends and mating ends (exposed ends) opposite the terminating ends (unexposed ends), the mating ends ( configured to be mated with mating terminals (110,112,114) of the mating connector (102), the power terminals forming discrete power lines through the power connector; a power health monitoring assembly (124,126,128) held by the connector body (120), the power health monitoring assembly (124,126,128) including indicators (lamps) operably coupled to each of the power terminals (144,146,148), light from the indicators being visible at the outer surface of the connector body to provide a visual indication. It is noted that Lenzie does not explicitly mention about a power health of the corresponding power line visible from an exterior of the power connector. (100). However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to recognize that when the power connector (100) is plugged into the mating connector (102),
if there are some currents or voltage passing through the power terminals (144,146,148), then these indicators will be illuminated. Therefore, the conductivities are considered as "a power health of the corresponding power line. It is noted that the limitation of “configured to electrically connect a power source to a device for supplying operating power to the device” and “used to supply operating power to the device” as recited in claim 16 are not given any patentable weights.
As to claim 17, Lenzie discloses a power connector (100) as mentioned in claim 16, wherein the power health monitoring assembly (124,126,128) provides a different visual indication of the power health of each of the power lines individually.
As to claim 18, Lenzie discloses a power connector (100) as mentioned in claim 16, wherein multiple indicators (124,126,128) are associated with each power terminal (144,146,148) to provide visual indication of different status for each power line.
As to claim 19, Lenzie discloses power cable assembly comprising: a power cable having wires (electrical conductors connected to electrical components (184,164,124,126,170.185,128,176), a power connector (100) having a connector body (120) holding power terminals (144,146,148) terminated to ends of the corresponding power wires forming power lines for the power cable assembly, the power terminals including mating ends (exposed ends of terminals (144,146,148)) configured to be mated with mating terminals (110,112,114) of a mating connector (102), the power connector including a power health monitoring assembly (124,126,128) providing a visual indication of a power health of each of the power lines. It is noted that limitations of “configured to electrically connect a power source to a device for supplying operating power to the device”, “forming a power circuit for powering the device” and “used to supply operating power to the device” as recited in claim as recited in claim 19 are not given any patentable weights.
As to claim 20, Lenzie discloses power cable assembly as mentioned in claim 19, wherein the power health monitoring assembly (124,126,128) provides a different visual indication of the power health of each of the power lines individually.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenzie (pat# 9,170,294) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Buckner et al (Pat#8,222,868).
As to claim 12, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as shown in figures 2-3 as
mentioned in claim 1 but Lenzie does not mention about the visual indication of the power health
includes a first color at a first power health range and a second color at a second power health
range.
Buckner et al teach that it would have been well-known to use different color LEDs
(136,138,140,142) for visual indications of different testing status.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide different color
LEDs as taught by Buckner et al to the of Lenzie for the purpose of easily recognizing the
different test status quickly.
As to claim 13, Lenzie in view of Buckner et al disclose a power cable assembly as
mentioned in claim 12, wherein different color LEDs (136,138,140,142) includes a third color
for indicating at a third power health range..
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenzie (pat#
9,170,294) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ostrovsky et al (Pat# 9,759,758).
As to claim 14, Lenzie discloses a power cable assembly as mentioned in claim 1 but
Lenzie does not teach a plurality of light pipes, each light pipe being optically coupled to the
corresponding indicator to receive and transmit the light from the indicator to an exterior of the
light pipe.
Ostrovsky et al teach it would have been well known to use light pipe for direct lights
from LEDs toward a user.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of
light pipes as taught by Ostrovsky et al to the LEDS in the device of Lenzie for the purpose of optically coupled each light pipe to the corresponding indicator to receive and transmit the light from the indicator to an exterior of the light pipe. As to claim 15, Lenzie in view of Ostrovsky et al a power cable assembly as mentioned in claim 14 but does not teach the power health monitoring assembly includes separating panels between the light pipes to optically separate the light pipes from each other. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide separating panels between the light pipes for the purpose of optically separate the light pipes from each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argued that the device of Lenzie is not “configured to electrically connect a power source to a device for supplying operating power to the device” and “forming a power circuit for powering the device” and “used to supply operating power to the device”
It appears that those limitations are considered as intended uses and the intended uses are not given any patentable weights. Therefore, the prior arts still meet the limitations of claims 1-20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dickinson et al (Pat# 11,034,260) disclose System Monitoring Power Connector And Cable Health.
Huang (Pat# 8,441,151) discloses Power Supply With Arc Flash Protection Mechanism And Data-processing System Employing Same.
Leininger et al (pat# 8,010,811) disclose Power Controller Coupling Assemblies And Methods.
/VINH P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858