DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to communication filed on 07/10/2024. Claims 1-30 are pending for examination.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 17, 20, 21, 24, 26, 29, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2015/0049704 A1) in view of Li (US 2021/0212031 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Park teaches a user equipment (UE)(receiving device 20/UE 20—Fig. 11; [0146]), comprising:
one or more memories (22-Fig. 11) storing processor-executable code ([0142]); and
one or more processors (21) coupled with the one or more memories (22) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code ([0142]) to cause the UE to:
monitor a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) search space and a second PDCCH search space for downlink control information (DCI) ([0065], BS/eNB transmits real PDCCH (DCI) on an arbitrary PDCCH candidate in a search space, and UE monitors the search space to find the PDCCH (DCI). Monitoring means attempt to decode individual PDCCH in a corresponding search space {i.e. 1st PDCCH search space and 2nd PDCCH search space—considered} according to all monitored DCI formats.) associated with a channel (PDCCH)-specific demodulation reference signal (DMRS) scrambling identifier(SCID) ([0091], TP/eNB ([0096]) signals to a UE through RRC signaling, to select a specific DM-RS sequence initial value based on legacy Scrambling Identity (SCID) information of DCI {PDCCH—[0065]}. Wherein Abstract-DM-RS associated with scrambling identifier.) (Hence the UE monitors 1st and 2nd PDCCH search space for DCI associated with channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier.);
receive downlink control information (DCI) associated with the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier (SCID) ([0091], TP signals to a UE through RRC signaling, to select a specific DM-RS sequence initial value based on legacy Scrambling Identity (SCID) information of DCI {PDCCH—[0065]}. Wherein abstract-DM-RS associated with scrambling identifier.) according to the monitoring ([0065], BS transmits real PDCCH (DCI) on an arbitrary PDCCH candidate in a search space, and UE monitors the search space to find the PDCCH (DCI).) (Hence the UE receives DCI associated with channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier.),
receive a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission in accordance with the downlink control information (DCI) ([0065], BS transmits real PDCCH (DCI) to UE; wherein [0066], the UE decodes control information/DCI transmitted through a PDCCH to read data transmitted through a PDSCH.)(Hence the UE receives a PDSCH based on the DCI.).
Park does not teach wherein the downlink control information is received in accordance with a combination of a first downlink control information candidate of the first PDCCH search space and a second downlink control information candidate of the second PDCCH search space;
However, in an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the downlink control information (DCI) is received in accordance with a combination of a first downlink control information (DCI) candidate of the first PDCCH search space and a second downlink control (DCI) information candidate of the second PDCCH search space ( [0001], base station transmits to UE, a PDCCH (e.g., including DCI) based on a search space set. A given search space set defines candidates (e.g., DCI candidates) that may carry a PDCCH within the search space set {1st PDCCH search space and 2nd PDCCH search space—[0010]}.) (Hence it is obvious, the DCI is received by UE based on a combination of 1st DCI candidate of 1st PDCCH search space and 2nd DCI candidate of 2nd PDCCH search space.); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Li and apply them on the teaching of Park to provide the method enables performing a channel estimation technique on the channel estimation data that is associated with the selected DCI candidates in an efficient manner. The method allows a base station to determine whether to perform channel estimation based on the determined scrambling sequence and/or the determined correlation sequence, thus improving performance of the device in an effective manner (Li; [0015]).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Park-Li does not teach wherein the first downlink control information candidate and the second downlink control information candidate comprise a subset of downlink control information candidates of a plurality of downlink control information candidates associated with receiving remaining minimum system information, and the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier corresponds to the subset of downlink control information candidates.
However, in an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the first downlink control information candidate and the second downlink control information candidate comprise a subset of downlink control information candidates of a plurality of downlink control information candidates ([0001], base station transmits to UE, a PDCCH (e.g., including DCI) based on a search space set. A given search space set defines candidates (e.g., DCI candidates) that may carry a PDCCH within the search space set {1st PDCCH search space and 2nd PDCCH search space—[0010]}) associated with receiving remaining minimum system information ([0125]; [0126]; obvious considered), and the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier corresponds to the subset of downlink control information candidates ([0066]; [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Li and apply them on the teaching of Park to provide the method enables performing a channel estimation technique on the channel estimation data that is associated with the selected DCI candidates in an efficient manner. The method allows a base station to determine whether to perform channel estimation based on the determined scrambling sequence and/or the determined correlation sequence, thus improving performance of the device in an effective manner (Li; [0015]).
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Park does not teach wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier corresponds to the subset of downlink control information candidates based at least in part on the downlink control information being received in accordance with the combination of the subset of downlink control information candidates.
However, in an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier corresponds to the subset of downlink control information candidates based at least in part on the downlink control information being received in accordance with the combination of the subset of downlink control information candidates ([0066]; [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Li and apply them on the teaching of Park to provide the method enables performing a channel estimation technique on the channel estimation data that is associated with the selected DCI candidates in an efficient manner. The method allows a base station to determine whether to perform channel estimation based on the determined scrambling sequence and/or the determined correlation sequence, thus improving performance of the device in an effective manner (Li; [0015]).
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Park further teaches wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier is associated with a first cell (respective TP—TP1) of the UE, and is selected from a plurality of channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifiers that excludes one or more channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifiers associated with one or more neighboring cells (TP2) of the first cell (respective TP—TP1) (see [0090] & [0091]).
Regarding claims 17 and 30, Park teaches a network entity (transmitting device 10—Fig. 11; [0146]), comprising:
one or more memories (12—Fig. 11) storing processor-executable code ([0142]); and
one or more processors (11—Fig. 11) coupled with the one or more memories (12) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code ([0142]) to cause the network entity to:
output, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) associated with a channel-specific demodulation reference signal (DMRS) scrambling identifier (SCID) ([0091], TP/eNB ([0096]) signals to a UE through RRC signaling, to select a specific DM-RS sequence initial value based on legacy Scrambling Identity (SCID) information of DCI {PDCCH—[0065]}. Wherein abstract-DM-RS associated with scrambling identifier.),
output a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission in accordance with the downlink control information (DCI) ([0065], BS transmits real PDCCH (DCI) to UE; wherein [0066], the UE decodes control information/DCI transmitted through a PDCCH to read data transmitted through a PDSCH.) (Hence the UE receives a PDSCH based on the DCI.).
Park does not teach wherein the downlink control information is output in accordance with a combination of a first downlink control information candidate of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) search space and a second downlink control information candidate of a second PDCCH search space;
However, in an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the downlink control information (DCI) is received in accordance with a combination of a first downlink control information (DCI) candidate of the first PDCCH search space and a second downlink control (DCI) information candidate of the second PDCCH search space ( [0001], base station transmits to UE, a PDCCH (e.g., including DCI) based on a search space set. A given search space set defines candidates (e.g., DCI candidates) that may carry a PDCCH within the search space set {1st PDCCH search space and 2nd PDCCH search space—[0010]}.) (Hence it is obvious, the DCI is received by UE based on a combination of 1st DCI candidate of 1st PDCCH search space and 2nd DCI candidate of 2nd PDCCH search space.); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Li and apply them on the teaching of Park to provide the method enables performing a channel estimation technique on the channel estimation data that is associated with the selected DCI candidates in an efficient manner. The method allows a base station to determine whether to perform channel estimation based on the determined scrambling sequence and/or the determined correlation sequence, thus improving performance of the device in an effective manner (Li; [0015]).
Regarding claim 26, Park does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: obtain an indication of the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier via one or more backhaul links associated with the network entity.
However, in an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
obtain an indication of the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; [0036]) via one or more backhaul links associated with the network entity ([0067]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Li and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide the method enables performing a channel estimation technique on the channel estimation data that is associated with the selected DCI candidates in an efficient manner. The method allows a base station to determine whether to perform channel estimation based on the determined scrambling sequence and/or the determined correlation sequence, thus improving performance of the device in an effective manner (Li; [0015]).
5. Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2015/0049704 A1) in view of Li (US 2021/0212031 A1), further in view of Moon (US 2020/0367242 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Park-Li does not teach wherein, to monitor the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: monitor the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space for remaining minimum system information, wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier indicates that the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space are associated with receiving the remaining minimum system information.
However, in an analogous art, Moon teaches wherein, to monitor the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
monitor the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space for remaining minimum system information (RMSI) ([0240], PDCCH DMRS sequence of control resource set {includes a plurality of search spaces/PDCCH search spaces—[0006]—i.e. 1st & 2nd PDCCH search space} configured by a RMSI.), wherein the channel(PDCCH)-specific DMRS scrambling identifier indicates that the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space are associated with receiving the remaining minimum system information(RMSI) ([0240], PDCCH DMRS sequence of control resource set{includes a plurality of search spaces/PDCCH search spaces—[0006]—i.e. 1st & 2nd PDCCH search space} configured by a RMSI is a function of the scrambling ID configured by base station.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Moon and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide transmission and reception of a downlink channel in a communication system, and techniques for transmitting and receiving reference signals used for demodulating a downlink channel (Moon; [0001]).
6. Claims 3, 9, 10, 15, 16, 19, 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2015/0049704 A1) in view of Li (US 2021/0212031 A1),
further in view of Taherzadeh (US 2022/0272691 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Park-Li does not teach wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier comprises a first type of DMRS scrambling identifier that indicates remaining minimum system information-specific PDCCH, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: monitor a third PDCCH search space for downlink control information associated with a second type of DMRS scrambling identifier that is different from the first type of DMRS scrambling identifier, wherein the second type of DMRS scrambling identifier indicates one or more PDCCHs that are different from the remaining minimum system information-specific PDCCH.
However, in an analogous art, Taherzadeh teaches wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier comprises a first type of DMRS scrambling identifier that indicates remaining minimum system information-specific PDCCH ([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID for RMSI.), and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
monitor a third PDCCH search space for downlink control information (DCI) associated with a second type of DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID not for RMSI) ( [0066], configurable IDs for PDCCH DM-RS is configured for the UE at least for the initialization of DM-RS sequence/scrambling. For each CORESET {each PDCCH search space—[0008]—i.e. 3rd} configured by the PBCH, the PCI may be used for DM-RS sequence initialization.) that is different from the first type of DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID for RMSI.) (Obvious, they are different ), wherein the second type of DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID not for RMSI) indicates one or more PDCCHs that are different from the remaining minimum system information (RMSI)-specific PDCCH ([0066]; [0008]; Since 1st PDCCH DM-RS RMSI scrambling ID and 2nd PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID {without RMSI} are different, obvious the 2nd PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID includes a PDCCH is also are different. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Taherzadeh and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide configurable IDs for PDCCH DM-RS without and with RMSI is configured for the UE at least for the initialization of DM-RS sequence/scrambling (Taherzadeh; [0066]).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Park-Li does not teach wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier comprises a remaining minimum system information PDCCH-specific DMRS scrambling identifier associated with a first cell, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: monitor a third PDCCH search space for downlink control information associated with a cell-specific DMRS scrambling identifier associated with a second cell, wherein the remaining minimum system information PDCCH-specific DMRS scrambling identifier is different in value from the cell-specific DMRS scrambling identifier.
However, in an analogous art, Taherzadeh teaches wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier comprises a remaining minimum system information(RMSI) PDCCH-specific DMRS scrambling identifier associated with a first cell([0066], If the RMSI does not provide the configurable ID for DM-RS sequence initialization, the UE may use the PCI for the DM-RS sequence initialization. Hence obvious RMSI PDCCH-DMRS scrambling ID associated with other cell than PC.), and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
monitor a third PDCCH search space for downlink control information (DCI) associated with a cell-specific DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID for PC, not for RMSI) associated with a second cell (PCI—physical cell—[0051]) ( [0066], configurable IDs for PDCCH DM-RS is configured for the UE at least for the initialization of DM-RS sequence/scrambling. For each CORESET {each PDCCH search space—[0008]—i.e. 3rd} configured by the PBCH, the PCI may be used for DM-RS sequence initialization.), wherein the remaining minimum system information (RMSI) PDCCH-specific DMRS scrambling identifier([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID with RMSI) is different in value from the cell-specific DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; obvious the ID with RMSI is different than ID without RMSI.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Taherzadeh and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide configurable IDs for PDCCH DM-RS without and with RMSI is configured for the UE at least for the initialization of DM-RS sequence/scrambling (Taherzadeh; [0066]).
Regarding claim 10, Park-Li does not teach wherein the remaining minimum system information PDCCH-specific DMRS scrambling identifier is selected from a first set of identifier values and the cell-specific DMRS scrambling identifier is selected from a second set of identifier values, and the first set of identifier values and the second set of identifier values are non-overlapping.
However, in an analogous art, Taherzadeh teaches wherein the remaining minimum system information(RMSI) PDCCH-specific DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID with RMSI) is selected from a first set of identifier values and the cell-specific DMRS scrambling identifier([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID without RMSI) is selected from a second set of identifier values([0066]; obvious), and the first set of identifier values and the second set of identifier values are non-overlapping([0066]; obvious the ID with RMSI is different than ID without RMSI. Thus non-overlapping. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Taherzadeh and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide configurable IDs for PDCCH DM-RS without and with RMSI is configured for the UE at least for the initialization of DM-RS sequence/scrambling (Taherzadeh; [0066]).
Regarding claims 15 and 28, Park-Li does not teach wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier comprises a first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier associated with the first PDCCH search space, and, to monitor the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: monitor the first PDCCH search space for downlink control information associated with the first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier and the second PDCCH search space for downlink control information associated with a second channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier, wherein the first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier is different from the second channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier based at least in part on the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space comprising a same PDCCH search space.
However, in an analogous art, Taherzadeh teaches wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier comprises a first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier associated with the first PDCCH search space, and, to monitor the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
monitor the first PDCCH search space for downlink control information associated with the first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID for RMSI) and the second PDCCH search space for downlink control information associated with a second channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID not for RMSI) ([0066], configurable IDs for PDCCH DM-RS is configured for the UE at least for the initialization of DM-RS sequence/scrambling. For each CORESET {each PDCCH search space—[0008]—i.e. 2nd} configured by the PBCH, the PCI may be used for DM-RS sequence initialization AND for each CORESET{each PDCCH search space—[0008]—i.e. 1st} configured by RMSI, the RMSI provides the UE with the configurable ID for the DM-RS sequence initialization.), wherein the first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID for RMSI) is different from the second channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID not for RMSI) (obvious different) based at least in part on the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space comprising a same PDCCH search space([0066]; each CORESET for ID with RMSI and ID without RMSI; wherein [0051], there is a PDCCH search space/CORESET.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Taherzadeh and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide configurable IDs for PDCCH DM-RS without and with RMSI is configured for the UE at least for the initialization of DM-RS sequence/scrambling (Taherzadeh; [0066]).
Regarding claim 16, Park-Li does not teach wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier comprises a first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier associated with the first PDCCH search space, and, to monitor the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: monitor the first PDCCH search space for downlink control information associated with the first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier and the second PDCCH search space for downlink control information associated with a second channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier, wherein the first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier is different from the second channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier based at least in part on the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space being associated with a same control resource set.
However, in an analogous art, Taherzadeh teaches wherein the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier comprises a first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier associated with the first PDCCH search space, and, to monitor the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
monitor the first PDCCH search space for downlink control information associated with the first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID for RMSI) and the second PDCCH search space for downlink control information associated with a second channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier ([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID not for RMSI) ([0066], configurable IDs for PDCCH DM-RS is configured for the UE at least for the initialization of DM-RS sequence/scrambling. For each CORESET {each PDCCH search space—[0008]—i.e. 2nd} configured by the PBCH, the PCI may be used for DM-RS sequence initialization AND for each CORESET{each PDCCH search space—[0008]—i.e. 1st} configured by RMSI, the RMSI provides the UE with the configurable ID for the DM-RS sequence initialization.), wherein the first channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID for RMSI) is different from the second channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier([0066]; PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID not for RMSI) (obvious different) based at least in part on the first PDCCH search space and the second PDCCH search space comprising a same PDCCH search space([0066]; each CORESET for ID with RMSI and ID without RMSI; wherein [0051], there is a PDCCH search space/CORESET.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Taherzadeh and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide configurable IDs for PDCCH DM-RS without and with RMSI is configured for the UE at least for the initialization of DM-RS sequence/scrambling (Taherzadeh; [0066]).
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2015/0049704 A1) in view of Li (US 2021/0212031 A1), further in view of Qiao (US 2025/0253917 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Park-Li does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine that the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier indicates remaining minimum system information-specific PDCCH in accordance with a correlation between a received DMRS signal sequence and a DMRS sequence associated with the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier exceeding a correlation threshold.
However, in an analogous art, Qiao teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
determine that the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier indicates remaining minimum system information (RMSI)-specific PDCCH in accordance with a correlation between a received DMRS signal ([0099]) sequence and a DMRS sequence associated with the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier exceeding(highest) a correlation threshold ([0121]; [0113]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Qiao and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to improve the reliability of data transmission and enhancing data coverage (Qiao; [0113]).
8. Claims 7, 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2015/0049704 A1) in view of Li (US 2021/0212031 A1), further in view of Ma (US 2023/0114058 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Park-Li does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a master information block comprising at least one field that indicates whether first content of the first downlink control information candidate of the first PDCCH search space is identical to second content of the second downlink control information candidate of the second PDCCH search space.
However, in an analogous art, Ma teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a master information block (MIB)([0031]) comprising at least one field that indicates whether first content (1st repetition) of the first downlink control information candidate of the first PDCCH search space (CORESET 0 1425-a ) is identical to second content(2nd repetition) of the second downlink control information candidate of the second PDCCH search space (CORESET 0 1425-b) (Fig. 14; [0156]; [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ma and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide reliability and coverage enhancement (Ma; [0155]).
Regarding claim 8, Park-Li does not teach wherein the at least one field of the master information block comprises a single bit that indicates whether the first content is identical to the second content.
However, in an analogous art, Ma teaches wherein the at least one field of the master information block (MIB) comprises a single bit (8 bit) that indicates whether the first content (1st repetition) is identical to the second content (2nd repetition) ([0156]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ma and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide reliability and coverage enhancement (Ma; [0155]).
Regarding claim 22, Park-Li does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output a master information block comprising at least one field that indicates whether first content of the first downlink control information candidate of the first PDCCH search space is identical to second content of the second downlink control information candidate of the second PDCCH search space, wherein the at least one field of the master information block comprises a single bit that indicates whether the first content is identical to the second content.
However, in an analogous art, Ma teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
output a master information block (MIB) ([0031]) comprising at least one field that indicates whether first content (1st repetition) of the first downlink control information candidate of the first PDCCH search space (CORESET 0 1425-a) is identical to second content (2nd repetition) of the second downlink control information candidate of the second PDCCH search space (CORESET 0 1425-b) (Fig. 14; [0156]; [0148]),
wherein the at least one field of the master information block (MIB) comprises a single bit (8 bit) that indicates whether the first content (1st repetition) is identical to the second content (2nd repetition) ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ma and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide reliability and coverage enhancement (Ma; [0155]).
9. Claims 12 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2015/0049704 A1) in view of Li (US 2021/0212031 A1), further in view of Kim (US 2013/0201942 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 25, Park-Li does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a cell measurement report including one or more measurements for the first cell and the one or more neighboring cells of the first cell; and receive, in accordance with the cell measurement report, an indication of the channel-specific DMRS scrambling identifier associated with the first cell.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit a cell measurement report including one or more measurements for the first cell (Cell ID X) and the one or more neighboring cells (Cell ID Y) of the first cell ( [0090], UE has sent the BS an RSRP measurement report for two cells having Cell ID X and Cell ID Y.); and
receive, in accordance with the cell measurement report, an indication of the channel (PDCCH)-specific DMRS scrambling identifier associated with the first cell ([0090], UE has sent the BS an RSRP measurement report for two cells having Cell ID X and Cell ID Y; Then the BS notifies the UE of the Cell ID X through the PDCCH, in order to determine the initial state for the DMRS scrambling {with indication—[0037]}. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kim and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide an improved data rate to a UE (Kim; [0019]).
10. Claims 13, 14 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2015/0049704 A1) in view of Li (US 2021/0212031 A1), further in view of Abedini (US 2022/0368474 A1).
Regarding claims 13, Park-Li does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: buffering, prior to combine and decode the first downlink control information candidate and the second downlink control information candidate, one or more frequency domain in-phase/quadrature (I/Q) samples that are candidates for the PDSCH scheduled by the first downlink control information candidate or the second downlink control information candidate.
However, in an analogous art, Abedini teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
buffering, prior to combine and decode the first downlink control information candidate and the second downlink control information candidate ([0094]; [0155]; The UE decodes control information; the 1st communication includes at least one{i.e. two} of an FH-PDCCH{ a control channel carrying control information—[0007]}. Hence UE decodes 1st and 2nd DCI candidates.), one or more frequency domain ([0138]) in-phase/quadrature (I/Q) samples that are candidates for the PDSCH scheduled by the first downlink control information candidate or the second downlink control information candidate([0007]; [0155]) ([0077], A relay node is a device that receives 1st communication, the 1st communication carries a set of in-phase/quadrature (I/Q) samples. The relay node decodes the 1st communication (includes PDSCH; the relay node may store or buffer the 1st communication.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Abedini and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to improve network performance and increase reliability by providing the first wireless node 505 and the second wireless node 515 with link diversity for communications(Abedini; [0128]).
Regarding claims 14 and 27, Park-Li does not teach wherein the first downlink control information candidate, the second downlink control information candidate, or both, indicate a scheduling of the one or more frequency domain I/Q samples for the PDSCH that spans a portion of a downlink bandwidth part.
However, in an analogous art, Abedini teaches wherein the first downlink control information(DCI) candidate, the second downlink control information(DCI) candidate, or both([0094]; [0155]; The UE decodes control information; the 1st communication includes at least one{i.e. two} of an FH-PDCCH{ a control channel carrying control information—[0007]}. Hence UE decodes 1st and 2nd DCI candidates.), indicate a scheduling of the one or more frequency domain I/Q samples for the PDSCH that spans a portion of a downlink bandwidth part ([0138])([0077]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Abedini and apply them on the teaching of Park-Li to provide improve network performance and increase reliability by providing the first wireless node 505 and the second wireless node 515 with link diversity for communications(Abedini; [0128]).
Conclusion
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415