DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “second groove” in lines 3 and 6 of the claim. There is no “first groove” claimed. It is unclear if there is one or two grooves being claimed. For the purposes of examination, “second groove” will be interpreted as the only one groove claimed.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “second seal member” in line 2 of the claim and “second space” in line 3 of the claim. There is no “first seal member” or “first space” claimed. It is unclear if there is one or two seal members and spaces being claimed. For the purposes of examination, “second seal member” will be interpreted as the only one seal member claimed and “second space” will be interpreted as the only one space claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Parkhe U.S. Patent Application 2022/0270906 (hereinafter “Parkhe”).
Regarding claim 1, Parkhe teaches an electrostatic chuck (Refer to fig.1) comprising: a first base body (i.e. ceramic bottom plate 102)(fig.1); a first adhesive layer (i.e. bond layer 114)(fig.1); a second base body (i.e. ceramic top plate 108)(fig.1) stacked on the first base body (implicit) with the first adhesive layer interposed therebetween (implicit); and an electrostatic electrode (i.e. ESC electrodes 110)(fig.1) embedded in the second base body (implicit), wherein the first base body is made of aluminum oxide ceramics (refer to [0021]), and wherein the second base body is made of aluminum oxide ceramics (refer to [0021]) with a higher purity of aluminum oxide than that of the first base body (refer to [0021] and abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Parkhe teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1, comprising: a conductor (i.e. heaters 104 and 106)(fig.1) embedded in the first base body (implicit).
Regarding claim 3, Parkhe teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1, comprising: a first seal member (i.e. insulation 120)(fig.1), wherein an annular first space in which the first adhesive layer is not present is formed in a region where an outer peripheral portion of the first base body and an outer peripheral portion of the second base body face each other (implicit), and wherein the first seal member is disposed in the first space (implicit).
Regarding claim 7, Parkhe teaches a substrate fixing device comprising: a base plate (i.e. cooling base 122)(fig.1); a second adhesive layer (i.e. silicone bond 121)(fig.1); and the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1 mounted on the base plate with the second adhesive layer interposed therebetween (implicit).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muramatsu et al. U.S. Patent Application 2022/0208593 (hereinafter “Muramatsu”).
Regarding claim 1, Muramatsu teaches an electrostatic chuck (refer to electrostatic chuck 30)(fig.1) comprising: a first base body (i.e. insulation layer 34)(fig.1); a first adhesive layer (i.e. thermal diffusion layer 33)(fig.1); a second base body (i.e. base body 31)(fig.1) stacked on the first base body (implicit) with the first adhesive layer interposed therebetween (implicit); and an electrostatic electrode (i.e. electrostatic electrode 32)(fig.1) embedded in the second base body (implicit), wherein the first base body is made of aluminum oxide ceramics (refer to [0032]: “fillers such as alumina and aluminum nitride are contained in the insulation layer 34”), and wherein the second base body is made of aluminum oxide ceramics (refer to [0027]) with a higher purity of aluminum oxide than that of the first base body (refer to [0032]: the aluminum oxide is used as a filler in the first base body and therefore the first base body has a higher purity of aluminum oxide since it isn’t made out of any other materials).
Regarding claim 2, Muramatsu teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1, comprising: a conductor (i.e. heat generating body 35)(fig.1) embedded in the first base body (implicit).
Regarding claim 7, Muramatsu teaches a substrate fixing device (refer to fig.1) comprising: a base plate (i.e. base plate 10)(fig.1); a second adhesive layer (i.e. adhesive layer 20)(fig.1); and the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1 (refer to the rejection of claim 1 above)(refer also to electrostatic chuck 30)(fig.1) mounted on the base plate (implicit) with the second adhesive layer interposed therebetween (implicit).
Regarding claim 8, Muramatsu teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 7, wherein the second adhesive layer is thicker than the first adhesive layer (refer to [0030] and [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkhe as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Muramatsu.
Regarding claim 8, Parkhe teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 7; however, Parkhe does not teach wherein the second adhesive layer is thicker than the first adhesive layer. However, Muramatsu teaches wherein the second adhesive layer is thicker than the first adhesive layer (refer to [0030] and [0025]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Parkhe to include the thicknesses of the adhesive layers to provide the advantage of using multiple layers for the second adhesive layer to allow for reducing stress due to the larger difference of thermal expansion from the first base layer to the base plate (refer to Muramatsu [0025]).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkhe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hida et. al. U.S. Patent Application 2009/0243236 (hereinafter “Hida”).
Regarding claim 4, Parkhe teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1, comprising: a first seal member (i.e. insulation 120)(fig.1); however, Parkhe does not teach wherein an annular first groove recessed in a direction away from the second base body is provided on an outer peripheral portion of the first base body, wherein an annular first space in which the first adhesive layer is not present is formed in a region where the first groove and an outer peripheral portion of the second base body face each other, and wherein the first seal member is disposed in the first space. However, Hida teaches wherein an annular first groove (i.e. groove 13)(fig.4B) recessed in a direction away from the second base body (i.e. electrostatic chuck layer 3)(fig.4B) is provided on an outer peripheral portion of the first base body (implicit), wherein an annular first space (refer to groove 13)(fig.4B) in which the first adhesive layer is not present (implicit) is formed in a region where the first groove and an outer peripheral portion of the second base body face each other (implicit), and wherein the first seal member is disposed in the first space (i.e. thermally sprayed ceramic layer 6)(fig.4D). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chuck of Parkhe to include the groove of Hida to provide the advantage of increasing the strength of the seal member (refer to Hida [0018]).
Regarding claim 5, Parkhe teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1, comprising: a first seal member (i.e. insulation 120)(fig.1); however, Parkhe does not teach wherein an annular second groove recessed in a direction away from the first base body is provided on an outer peripheral portion of the second base body, wherein an annular first space in which the first adhesive layer is not present is formed in a region where the second groove and an outer peripheral portion of the first base body face each other, and wherein the first seal member is disposed in the first space. However, Hida teaches wherein an annular second groove (i.e. groove 13)(fig.4B) recessed in a direction away from the first base body (i.e. heater layer 4)(fig.4B) is provided on an outer peripheral portion of the second base body (implicit), wherein an annular first space (refer to groove 13)(fig.4B) in which the first adhesive layer is not present is formed in a region where the second groove and an outer peripheral portion of the first base body face each other (implicit), and wherein the first seal member is disposed in the first space (i.e. thermally sprayed ceramic layer 6)(fig.4D). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chuck of Parkhe to include the groove of Hida to provide the advantage of increasing the strength of the seal member (refer to Hida [0018]).
Regarding claim 6, Parkhe teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1, comprising: a first seal member (i.e. insulation 120)(fig.1); however, Parkhe does not teach wherein an annular first groove recessed in a direction away from the second base body is provided on an outer peripheral portion of the first base body, wherein an annular second groove recessed in a direction away from the first base body is provided on an outer peripheral portion of the second base body, wherein an annular first space in which the first adhesive layer is not present is formed in a region where the first groove and the second groove face each other, and wherein the first seal member is disposed in the first space. However, Hida teaches wherein an annular first groove (i.e. groove 13)(fig.4B) recessed in a direction away from the second base body (i.e. electrostatic chuck layer 3)(fig.4B) is provided on an outer peripheral portion of the first base body (implicit), wherein an annular second groove (i.e. groove 13)(fig.4B) recessed in a direction away from the first base body (i.e. heater layer 4)(fig.4B) is provided on an outer peripheral portion of the second base body (implicit), wherein an annular first space in which the first adhesive layer is not present is formed in a region where the first groove and the second groove face each other (refer to groove 13)(fig.4B), and wherein the first seal member is disposed in the first space (i.e. thermally sprayed ceramic layer 6)(fig.4D). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chuck of Parkhe to include the groove of Hida to provide the advantage of increasing the strength of the seal member (refer to Hida [0018]).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkhe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Parkhe U.S. Patent Application 2016/0276196 (hereinafter “Parkhe2”).
Regarding claim 9, Parkhe teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 7; however, Parkhe does not teach the substrate fixing device comprising: a second seal member, wherein an annular second space in which the second adhesive layer is not present is formed in a region where an outer peripheral portion of the first base body and an outer peripheral portion of the base plate face each other, and wherein the second seal member is disposed in the second space. However, Parkhe2 teaches the substrate fixing device comprising: a second seal member (i.e. o-ring 240)(fig.2), wherein an annular second space (refer to space 242)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]) in which the second adhesive layer is not present is formed in a region where an outer peripheral portion of the first base body and an outer peripheral portion of the base plate face each other (refer to [0034]), and wherein the second seal member is disposed in the second space (implicit)(refer to o-ring 240)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Parkhe to include the second seal member of Parkhe2 to provide the advantage of protecting the bonding layer from exposure to the plasma environment (refer to Parkhe2 [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Parkhe teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 7; however, Parkhe does not teach wherein on a surface of the first base body facing the base plate, an outer peripheral portion and a central portion are on the same plane, and wherein on a surface of the base plate facing the first base body, an outer peripheral portion and a central portion are on the same plane. However, Parkhe2 teaches wherein on a surface of the first base body facing the base plate, an outer peripheral portion (refer to outer diameter 252)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]) and a central portion (refer to outer periphery 250)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]) are on the same plane (implicit)(refer to fig.2), and wherein on a surface of the base plate facing the first base body, an outer peripheral portion (refer to outer diameter 252)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]) and a central portion (refer to outer periphery 250)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]) are on the same plane (implicit)(refer to fig.2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Parkhe to include the outer peripheral portions and the central portions on the same plane of Parkhe2 to provide the advantage of preventing loss of vacuum through a tight seal between the first base body layer and the base plate (refer to Parkhe2 [0034]).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muramatsu as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Parkhe2.
Regarding claim 9, Muramatsu teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 7; however, Muramatsu does not teach the substrate fixing device comprising: a second seal member, wherein an annular second space in which the second adhesive layer is not present is formed in a region where an outer peripheral portion of the first base body and an outer peripheral portion of the base plate face each other, and wherein the second seal member is disposed in the second space. However, Parkhe2 teaches the substrate fixing device comprising: a second seal member (i.e. o-ring 240)(fig.2), wherein an annular second space (refer to space 242)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]) in which the second adhesive layer is not present is formed in a region where an outer peripheral portion of the first base body and an outer peripheral portion of the base plate face each other (refer to [0034]), and wherein the second seal member is disposed in the second space (implicit)(refer to o-ring 240)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Muramatsu to include the second seal member of Parkhe2 to provide the advantage of protecting the bonding layer from exposure to the plasma environment (refer to Parkhe2 [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Muramatsu teaches the substrate fixing device according to claim 7; however, Muramatsu does not teach wherein on a surface of the first base body facing the base plate, an outer peripheral portion and a central portion are on the same plane, and wherein on a surface of the base plate facing the first base body, an outer peripheral portion and a central portion are on the same plane. However, Parkhe2 teaches wherein on a surface of the first base body facing the base plate, an outer peripheral portion (refer to outer diameter 252)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]) and a central portion (refer to outer periphery 250)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]) are on the same plane (implicit)(refer to fig.2), and wherein on a surface of the base plate facing the first base body, an outer peripheral portion (refer to outer diameter 252)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]) and a central portion (refer to outer periphery 250)(fig.2)(refer also to [0034]) are on the same plane (implicit)(refer to fig.2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Muramatsu to include the outer peripheral portions and the central portions on the same plane of Parkhe2 to provide the advantage of preventing loss of vacuum through a tight seal between the first base body layer and the base plate (refer to Parkhe2 [0034]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838