DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Omori(US 9554827 B2 in view of Cohen(CN 101918073 A).
Regarding claim 1, Omori teaches a continuum robot system comprising: a continuum robot that includes a bendable body and a base portion at which the bendable body is provided; a support base that detachably supports the continuum robot; a slider that is provided at the support base; and that is configured to slide relative to the support base; and a coupling portion that is attached to the base portion of the continuum robot and that is provided with a connecting portion to be detachably engaged with the slider, wherein a space is formed between the base portion and the connecting portion by the coupling portion(The medical robot system includes a robot arm, a medical manipulator which is detachably provided in the robot arm and supports an organ to a predetermined position, and a controller unit operable by an operator to control the robot arm and the medical manipulator. The medical manipulator also includes a first arm portion in a base side thereof, a second arm portion in a front side thereof for supporting the organ, and a connection portion connecting the first arm portion with the second arm portion[abstract]. Intermediate member 120 is connected to first pin portion 116 and second pin portion 118 so as to be movable in two directions (the X and Y directions in FIG. 4) perpendicular to the movement direction of intermediate member 120. Accordingly, it is possible to bend joint portion 110 in the transverse section of first arm portion 60 in the vertical and horizontal directions by a desired angle. That is, it is possible to change the direction of second rod portion 106 with respect to first rod portion 104. As a result, in the case where connection portion 68 is bent, it is possible to bend joint portion 110 in accordance with the bending operation of connection portion 68(Detailed Description, paragraph 25). The attachment/detachment operation and the exchange operation of base portion 58 provided onto slider 50 may be performed by a predetermined attachment/detachment mechanism. Base portion 58 is provided with pulleys 72 and 74 which are provided in parallel in the Z direction so as to engage with the pair of motors 52 and 54 for curving. One of motors 52 and 54 for curving, and pulleys 72 and 74, for example, is provided with a non-circular convex portion (not shown), and the other is provided with a concave portion (not shown) which engages with the convex portion, thereby transmitting the rotation of motors 52 and 54 for curving to pulleys 72 and 74((Detailed Description, paragraph 12)). Omori fails to explicitly state “wherein the slider includes: a detachment switching portion that is provided on one end side of the slider in a sliding direction of the slider and that is configured to switch between an engagement state and a detachable state for attaching and detaching the coupling portion to and from the slider; and a restricting portion that is provided on another end side of the slider in the sliding direction of the slider and that is configured to restrict upward movement of the connecting portion, wherein, when the detachment switching portion is in the engagement state, the coupling portion is engaged by the restricting portion and the detachment switching portion”.
However, Cohen teaches “ sled base 136 of far end and near end limits the movement of drive bracket 166, so as to limit the movement of handle controller 144 and sled-shaped component 138[0277]. mounting arm 140 connected to sled base 136 and allows vertical (downward and upward) rotational motion and horizontal (left and right) rotational motion. can manually or by using remote control is mechanically movable mounting arm 140. the mounting arm 140 may be attached to such perspective operating surface of the inspection table 156 of the left side wall or right side frame, it also can selectively by a third bracket (similar to a tripod structure) attached to a table leg[0274]. The sled member being configured to position the medical device within the body of the patient; and a sled base configured to advance the sled member towards the body of a patient, the sled bed being coupled to a sterile barrier effective to maintain sterility inside the sled base[abstract]. In another embodiment of the present invention, there is provided a mounting assembly mounting a sled base. the mounting assembly includes a suitable connection to the surface of the sled base, connected to the connection part of the slender batten structured and arranged to position control; on the one dimensional direction moving track of the elongated plates, and a pair of mounting members for the track mounted on the bed frame structure, mounting member adapted to engage with a transverse track connected to said bed frame structure, wherein the installing component can on the one dimensional direction along the transverse rail of the translation[0242]”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the medical robot system of Omori with the slider element of remote control robot system of Cohen. Doing so would specify the elements of the sliding base attached to the robot arm to control positioning and movement of the robot during use.
Regarding claim 3, Omori in view of Cohen teaches the continuum robot system according to Claim 1, wherein the coupling portion is detachably attached to the base portion(The attachment/detachment operation and the exchange operation of base portion 58 provided onto slider 50 may be performed by a predetermined attachment/detachment mechanism. Base portion 58 is provided with pulleys 72 and 74 which are provided in parallel in the Z direction so as to engage with the pair of motors 52 and 54 for curving. One of motors 52 and 54 for curving, and pulleys 72 and 74, for example, is provided with a non-circular convex portion (not shown), and the other is provided with a concave portion (not shown) which engages with the convex portion, thereby transmitting the rotation of motors 52 and 54 for curving to pulleys 72 and 74(Detailed Description, paragraph 12)). The coupling portion of the sliders are elements 52 and 54, which can attach and detach from the other half of the coupling elements 72 and 74 on the base portion.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omori in view of Cohen and further in view of Xu(US 20190239966 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Omori in view of Cohen teaches the continuum robot system according to Claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the coupling portion has a U-shape, and ends of the coupling portion that sandwich an opening of the U-shape are attached to the base portion such that one of the ends is located at a position closer to the bendable body while another one of the ends is located at a position farther from the bendable body.
However Xu teaches “In the above embodiment, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 20, the present invention further comprises a linear module 60, which comprises a bracket body 601 with a sliding groove, a lead screw 602 is rotatably provided on the bracket body 601, the lead screw 602 is sheathed with a slider 603 which is threadedly fitted with the lead screw 602 and is slidably provided in the sliding groove, one end of the bracket body 601 is provided with a motor 604, and an output shaft of the motor 604 is securely connected to the lead screw 602 via a coupling. The driving unit shell 50 is securely connected to the slider 603. When the output shaft of the motor 604 rotates, the slider 603 will drives the driving unit shell 50 to perform linear movement along the sliding groove, so as to implement the feed motion of the flexible surgical instrument 10[0070][FIG. 1]”.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the medical robot system of Omori with the U shaped couplers of the flexible surgical instrument system of Xu. Doing so would specify the shape of the couplers to ensure flush connection between the base and the slider.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that Omori fails to disclose the amendments to claim 1 detailing the detaching, switching and restriction of the slider. However, new art Cohen teaches a sled base that slides on a track in a 1 dimensional direction(up and back), with members able to be attached and detached to sled base in order to move the components(paragraphs [0301], [0302], [0285], [0277], [0274], and [abstract]). Cohen and Omori can be naturally combined to disclose all claimed material in independent claim 1. Therefore a 103 rejections for all claims stands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA CATHERINE ANTHONY/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796