DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onihashi et al. (US20240063666, “Onihashi”).
Re claim 10, Onihashi discloses an electric motor comprising:
a rotor assembly 3 including a rotor shaft 4 (figs 1 & 18a, [0031] & [0139], discloses figs 1-18 are 1st embodiment); and
a stator assembly 2 including a plurality of stator segments arranged adjacent one another in a circumferential direction of the stator assembly 2 (figs 1-2 & 5, [0050-0051]), at least one stator segment including
a core 10 having a core yoke portion 11 and a core tooth portion 12 (figs 2 & 5, [0051]),
an insulator 25 at least partially covering the core 10 and having an insulator yoke portion 32 and an insulator tooth portion 28 (fig 8, ([0059]),
a stator segment yoke portion formed by the core yoke portion 11 and the insulator yoke portion 32 (fig 5),
a stator segment tooth portion formed by the core tooth portion 12 and the insulator tooth portion 28 (fig 5), and
a stator winding 20 extending about the stator segment tooth portion 11, the stator winding 20 including a wire having a wire lead and making a plurality of passes around the stator segment tooth portion to form a coil (figs 1, 12 & below, [0056]);
wherein the insulator yoke portion 32 of the at least one stator segment includes a standoff portion that protrudes axially away from the core yoke portion 11 of the at least one stator segment (figs 5-8 & below), the standoff portion defining an inner surface facing toward the insulator tooth portion 28 (figs 5-8 & below), an outer surface facing away from the insulator tooth portion 28 (figs 5-8 & below), and a top surface facing away from the core yoke portion 11 (figs 5-8 & below);
wherein the standoff portion defines a first wire notch recessed in the top surface and extending in a radial direction of the electric motor from the inner surface to the outer surface (figs 5-8 & below, [0061]);
wherein the standoff portion further defines a second wire notch recessed in the inner surface and extending in an axial direction of the electric motor (figs 5-8 & below, note: 2nd notch has curved surface that transitions from axial direction to radial direction, as understood from figures; 1st & 2nd notch have an overlap area similar to applicants-see instant application pgs 32-33, [00164], coextensive), the first wire notch communicating with the second wire notch (figs 5-8 & below); and
wherein the first wire notch and the second wire notch each receive at least a portion of the wire lead (figs 12 & below), and wherein the portion of the wire lead is recessed within the second wire notch and passes beside the plurality of passes forming the coil (figs 12 & below, lead in 2nd wire notch so is recessed within 2nd notch; lead beside plurality of passes of coils).
Re claim 11, Onihashi discloses claim 10 as discussed above and further discloses the second wire notch extends in the axial direction from the top surface of the standoff portion to a second notch bottom wall located near an axial end face of the core yoke portion 11 (figs 5-8 & above for claim 1).
Re claim 12, Onihashi discloses claim 11 as discussed above and further discloses the core 10 further includes a core crown portion at a distal end of the core tooth portion 12 (figs 2 & below);
the insulator further includes an insulator crown portion 29 at a distal end of the insulator tooth portion 28 (fig 5, [0060]);
the at least one stator segment further includes a stator segment crown portion formed by the core crown portion and the insulator crown portion 29 (fig 5); and
the second wire notch opens radially toward the stator segment crown portion (figs 5 & above for claim 11).
Re claim 13, Onihashi discloses claim 12 as discussed above and further discloses the second wire notch also opens axially away from the core yoke portion 11 (figs 5 & above for claim 11).
Re claim 14, Onihashi discloses claim 12 as discussed above and further discloses the second wire notch is further defined by:
a second notch base wall defined by the standoff portion and facing radially toward the stator segment crown portion (figs below & above for 10 & 12); and
a second notch first sidewall and a second notch second sidewall each defined by the standoff portion and facing toward one another in a circumferential direction (figs below & above for claim 10).
Re claim 15, Onihashi discloses claim 14 as discussed above and further discloses the first wire notch is defined by a first notch bottom wall recessed from the top surface of the standoff portion in the axial direction and facing away from the core yoke portion 11 (figs 7-8, above for claims 10 & 14 & below, flat wall indicated below that curved surface transitions to).
Re claim 16, Onihashi discloses claim 15 as discussed above and further discloses the second notch base wall extends in the axial direction from the second notch bottom wall to the first notch bottom wall (figs 7-8 & above for claims 10 & 14-15).
Re claim 17, Onihashi discloses claim 10 as discussed above and further discloses the first wire notch opens away from the core yoke portion 11 in the axial direction (figs 5-8 & above for claim 10), opens inward in the radial direction (figs 5-8 & above for claim 10), and opens outward in the radial direction (figs 5-8 & above for claim 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9 and 18-19 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US20220166278, “Ogawa”) in view of Haga et al. (US20070278876, “Haga”).
Re claim 1, Ogawa discloses an electric motor comprising:
a rotor assembly ([0017]);
a stator assembly 17 including a plurality of stator segments arranged adjacent one another in a circumferential direction of the stator assembly (figs 1 & 5, [0028] & [0038], includes 1 & 2), at least one stator segment including
a core 1 having a core yoke portion 4 and a core tooth portion 3 (fig 1, [0028]),
an insulator 2 at least partially covering the core 1 and having an insulator yoke portion 8 and an insulator tooth portion 6 (fig 2, [0028]),
a stator segment yoke portion formed by the core yoke portion 4 and the insulator yoke portion 8 (fig 1),
a stator segment tooth portion formed by the core tooth portion 3 and the insulator tooth portion 6 (fig 1), and
a stator winding extending about the stator segment tooth portion 3, 6, the stator winding including a wire having a wire lead 15 and making a plurality of passes around the stator segment tooth portion to form a coil (figs 2-5, [0028]); and
a bus bar assembly 18 coupled to the stator assembly 17 and configured to electrically connect to the stator winding (fig 5, [0030]), the bus bar assembly 18 including a body and a plurality of conductors 19 (fig 5, [0030], body portion of 18 holding 19);
wherein the insulator yoke portion 8 of the at least one stator segment includes a standoff portion that protrudes axially away from the core yoke portion 4 of the at least one stator segment (figs 1 & below), the standoff portion defining an inner surface facing toward the insulator tooth portion 6 (figs 1 & below), an outer surface facing away from the insulator tooth portion 6 (figs 1 & below), and a top surface facing away from the core yoke portion 4 (figs 1 & below);
wherein the standoff portion defines a wire notch 9 recessed in the inner surface and extending in an axial direction of the electric motor (figs 1 & below, [0028]); and
wherein the wire notch 9 receives at least a portion of the wire lead 15 (figs 1-4, [0028]), and wherein the portion of the wire lead 15 is recessed within the wire notch 9 and passes beside the plurality of passes forming the coil (figs 1-4, [0028]).
Ogawa discloses claim 1 but is silent with respect to:
the rotor assembly including a rotor shaft; and
the body is a molded body.
Haga discloses the rotor assembly includes a rotor shaft 70 (fig 1, [0044]); and
the bus bar assembly 30 includes a molded body 32 and a plurality of conductors 31 (figs 1 & 10, [0041] & [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
configure the rotor assembly of Ogawa to include a rotor shaft, as disclosed by Haga, in order to rotatable support the rotor assembly on the bearings, as taught by Haga ([0044]); and
form the body of the bus bar assembly of Ogawa from a molded body, as disclosed by Haga, in order to form the body and plurality of conductors in on piece, as taught by Haga ([0089]).
Re claim 6, Ogawa in view of Haga disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Ogawa further discloses the plurality of stator segments comprises a first stator segment and a second stator segment adjacent the first stator segment in a circumferential direction (fig 5).
Re claim 7, Ogawa in view of Haga disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Ogawa further discloses the wire notch 9 extends in the axial direction from the top surface of the standoff portion to a notch bottom wall located near an axial end face of the core yoke portion.
Re claims 8 and 9, Ogawa in view of Haga disclose claim 7 as discussed above. Ogawa further discloses:
the core 1 further includes a core crown portion 5 at a distal end of the core tooth portion 3 (fig 1, [0028]);
the insulator 2 further includes an insulator crown portion 7 at a distal end of the insulator tooth portion 6 (fig 1, [0028]);
the at least one stator segment further includes a stator segment crown portion formed by the core crown portion 5 and the insulator crown portion 7 (fig 1); and
the wire notch 9 opens radially toward the stator segment crown portion (fig 1); and
wherein the wire notch 9 also opens axially away from the core yoke portion (fig 1).
Re claim 18, Ogawa discloses an electric motor including
a rotor assembly ([0017]);
a stator assembly 17 including a plurality of stator segments arranged adjacent one another in a circumferential direction of the stator assembly (figs 1 & 5, [0028] & [0038], includes 1 & 2), at least one stator segment including
a core 1 having a core yoke portion 4 and a core tooth portion 3 (fig 1, [0028]),
an insulator 2 at least partially covering the core 1 and having an insulator yoke portion 8 and an insulator tooth portion 6 (fig 2, [0028]),
a stator segment yoke portion formed by the core yoke portion 4 and the insulator yoke portion 8 (fig 1),
a stator segment tooth portion formed by the core tooth portion 3 and the insulator tooth portion 6 (fig 1), and
a stator winding extending about the stator segment tooth portion 3, 6, the stator winding including a wire having a wire lead 15 and making a plurality of passes around the stator segment tooth portion to form a coil (figs 2-5, [0028]);
wherein the electric motor further includes a bus bar assembly 18 coupled to the stator assembly 17 and configured to electrically connect to the stator winding (fig 5, [0030]), the bus bar assembly 18 including a body and a plurality of conductors 19 (fig 5, [0030], body portion of 18 holding 19);
wherein the insulator yoke portion 8 of the at least one stator segment includes a standoff portion that protrudes axially away from the core yoke portion 4 of the at least one stator segment (figs 1 & above for claim 1), the standoff portion defining an inner surface facing toward the insulator tooth portion 6 (figs 1 & above for claim 1), an outer surface facing away from the insulator tooth portion 6 (figs 1 & above for claim 1), and a top surface facing away from the core yoke portion 4 (figs 1 & above for claim 1);
wherein the standoff portion defines a wire notch 9 recessed in the inner surface and extending in an axial direction of the electric motor (figs 1 & below, [0028]); and
wherein the wire notch 9 receives at least a portion of the wire lead 15 (figs 1-4, [0028]), and wherein the portion of the wire lead 15 is recessed within the wire notch 9 and passes beside the plurality of passes forming the coil (figs 1-4, [0028]).
Ogawa discloses claim 18 but is silent with respect to:
a power tool comprising: a housing; and the electric motor is received into the housing;
the rotor assembly including a rotor shaft ; and
the body is a molded body.
Haga discloses a housing 10 (fig 1, [0031]);
an electric motor received into the housing 10 (fig 1, [0031]);
the rotor assembly includes a rotor shaft 70 (fig 1, [0044]); and
the bus bar assembly 30 includes a molded body 32 and a plurality of conductors 31 (figs 1 & 10, [0041] & [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
configure the electric motor of Ogawa to comprise a housing; and the electric motor received into the housing, as disclosed by Haga, in order to protect the electric motor from outside element, as demonstrated by Haga ([0031]);
configure the rotor assembly of Ogawa to include a rotor shaft, as disclosed by Haga, in order to rotatable support the rotor assembly on the bearings, as taught by Haga ([0044]); and
form the body of the bus bar assembly of Ogawa from a molded body, as disclosed by Haga, in order to form the body and plurality of conductors in on piece, as taught by Haga ([0089]).
With respect to the limitation of a power tool, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction (see MPEP 2111.02, II.). Additionally the electric motor of Ogawa in view of Haga would be capable of being employed as a power tool since it is an electric motor and discloses all the claimed limitations of the power tool.
Re claim 19, Ogawa in view of Haga disclose claim 18 as discussed above. Ogawa further discloses the wire notch 9 extends in the axial direction from the top surface of the standoff portion to a notch bottom wall located near an axial end face of the core yoke portion 4 (figs 1, above for claim 1 & below), and wherein the wire notch 9 opens in a radial direction of the electric motor and opens in the axial direction (figs 1, above for claim 1 & below).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa in view of Haga and in further view of Hackl et al. (US20200076259, “Hackl”).
Re claim 2, Ogawa in view of Haga disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Ogawa further discloses the standoff portion further defines the wire notch 9 is a first wire notch recessed in the top surface and extending in a radial direction of the electric motor from the inner surface to the outer surface (figs 1 & above for claim 1).
Ogawa is silent with respect to a second wire notch recessed in the inner surface and extending in the axial direction.
Hackl discloses a first wire notch 251a (fig 4, [0055]) and a second wire notch 270 recessed in the inner surface and extending in the axial direction (figs 14-15 & below, [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the wire notch of Ogawa in view of Haga as a first notch recessed in the top surface and extending in a radial direction of the electric motor from the inner surface to the outer surface; and a second notch recessed in the inner surface and extending in the axial direction, as disclosed by Hackl, in order to reduce undesired stress on the winding wire, as taught by Hackl ([0057]).
Re claim 3, Ogawa in view of Haga and Hackl disclose claim 2 as discussed above and further discloses the first wire notch at least partially receives the wire lead (Hackl, fig 12, [0057]).
Re claim 4, Ogawa in view of Haga and Hackl disclose claim 2 as discussed above and further discloses the wire lead passes between the standoff portion and the molded body of the bus bar assembly via the first wire notch (Ogawa discloses wire lead 15 passes radially between the standoff portion & body in fig 5; & Hackl discloses wire lead pass through first wire notch 270).
Re claim 5, Ogawa in view of Haga and Hackl disclose claim 2 as discussed above and further discloses the first wire notch communicates with the second wire notch (Hackl, figs 4 & 15-16).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa in view of Haga and in further view of Kitora et al. (US20190140509, “Kitora”).
Re claim 20, Ogawa in view of Haga disclose claim 19 as discussed above, but are silent with respect to the stator winding comprises a wire having a diameter of 1.7 millimeters.
Kitora discloses the stator winding 4 comprises a wire having a diameter of 1.7 millimeters (figs 1-4, [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stator winding wire of Ogawa in view of Haga to have a diameter of 1.7 millimeters, as disclosed by Kitora, in order to reduce stress on the coil ends due to temperature rise, as taught by Kitora ([0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
Applicant argues that Onihashi does not disclose the portion of the wire lead is recessed within the second wire notch and passes beside the plurality of passes forming the coil (pg 10, last two paragraphs). Examiner disagrees.
As discussed above in the rejection, the wire lead passes through the second wire notch and is therefore recessed within the second wire notch, as well as the wire lead is besides the coil formed by the wire (figs 3 & 12). Applicant does not provide specifically why Onihashi does not disclose this limitation; there is just a description of the prior art structure and no explanation why Onihashi does not disclose the limitation.
Applicant argues that Ogawa does not disclose the portion of the wire lead is recessed within the second wire notch and passes beside the plurality of passes forming the coil (pg 11, last paragraph to pg 12, 1st & 2nd paragraphs; note claims 1 and 18 recites “wire notch” not “second wire notch”). Examiner disagrees.
As discussed above in the rejection, the wire lead 15 passes through the wire notch 9 and is therefore recessed within the wire notch, as well as the wire lead is besides the coil formed by the wire (figs 1-4). Applicant does not provide specifically why Ogawa does not disclose this limitation; there is just a description of the prior art structure and no explanation why Ogawa does not disclose the limitation.
The remaining arguments (pg 12) are moot since applicant has not overcome Onihashi and Ogawa.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834