Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2025, 07/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 recites, “…the accessory device. The first drum and second drum coaxial with the first control assembly.” Instead, this should be recited as “…the accessory device [[.]] the first drum and second drum being coaxial with the first control assembly.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Onuki (US 20130184528).
Regarding claim 1, Onuki discloses a medical scope device (FIG. 1), comprising: a handle located at a proximal end of the medical scope device (FIG. 1, annotated);
a first steerable device (bending section 31; FIG.1) extending from the handle to a distal end of the medical scope device;
a second steerable device (left arm section 4, FIG. 1 annotated) extending from the handle to the distal end of the medical scope device;
a first control assembly (Dial section 51 configured to manipulate the bending section 31) disposed at a first location on the handle; and
a second control assembly (First knob 52A configured to bend the bending section 220) disposed at a second location on the handle (FIG. 1), wherein the first control assembly controls a movement of a distal end of the first steerable device (Dial section 51 configured to manipulate the bending section 31), and wherein the second control assembly controls a movement of a distal end of the second steerable device (First knob 52A configured to bend the bending section 220).
Regarding claim 2, Onuki discloses wherein an axis of rotation of the first control assembly is offset from an axis of rotation of the second control assembly (FIG. 1; Axis of rotated of the First knob 52A and Dial section 51 are offset.).
Regarding claim 3, Onuki discloses wherein the first control assembly is disposed closer to a proximal end of the handle than the second control assembly (FIG.1, annotated).
Regarding claim 4, Onuki discloses wherein the first steerable device is an elongate tube (31 is an elongate tube) extending from a distal end of the handle to the distal end of the medical scope device.
Regarding claim 5, Onuki discloses an accessory channel disposed within the elongate tube (Accessory channel is disposed within 31), the accessory channel extending along the elongate tube from the handle to the distal end of the medical scope device.
Regarding claim 6, Onuki discloses wherein the second steerable device (bending section 220 is disposed within 31) is disposed within the accessory channel, the second steerable device extending along the accessory channel from the handle to the distal end of the medical scope device.
Regarding claim 8, Onuki discloses wherein the first control assembly (Dial section 51; FIG. 1) comprises a first wheel and a second wheel (FIG. 22 shown two wheel in each of the control assembly), wherein the first wheel controls a first direction of movement of the first steerable device and the second wheel controls a second direction of movement of the first steerable device (the bending section 31 is bent in four direction by the dial section 51. Para [0094]).
Regarding claim 9, Onuki discloses wherein a first drum is coupled to the first wheel and wherein a second drum is coupled to the second wheel, wherein a first wire disposed on the first drum controls the first direction of movement of the first steerable device (A wire and drum is associated with first dial section 51 which has two wheels. Wire 239; para [0134]) and a second wire disposed on the second drum controls the second direction of movement the first steerable device (Wire and drum associated with the second wheel of the dial 51; FIGS. 1, 19, 22).
Regarding claim 10, Onuki discloses wherein the second control assembly comprises a third wheel and a fourth wheel (Note two wheels associated with the second control assembly; FIG. 22), wherein the third wheel controls a first direction of movement of the second steerable device and the fourth wheel controls a second direction of movement of the second steerable device (Second dial section 52 includes two wheels and are configured to manipulate the left arm section 4. Para [0107]).
Regarding claim 11, Onuki discloses wherein the first wheel and the second wheel of the first control assembly are coaxial, and wherein the third wheel and the fourth wheel of the second control assembly are coaxial (Note the coaxial wheels in each of the first control assembly and second control assembly; FIG. 22.).
Regarding claim 12, Onuki discloses wherein a third drum is coupled to the third wheel and wherein a fourth drum is coupled to the fourth wheel (Each of the wheel have associated drums. The claims do not claim the features of the drums.), wherein a third wire disposed on the third drum controls the first direction of movement of the second steerable device and a fourth wire disposed on the fourth drum controls the second direction of movement of the second steerable device (Each wheel would have drums or pully for wires to be maneuvered by the knobs. Para [0094]).
Regarding claim 13, Onuki discloses a medical scope device (FIG.1 annotated), comprising: a handle (FIG, 1) at a proximal end of the medical scope device;
an elongate tube (bending section 31 is an elongate tube) extending from the handle to a distal end of the medical scope device;
an accessory device (bending section 220 protruding from tube 31; FIG. 1) disposed within the elongate tube and extending from the handle to the distal end of the medical scope device;
a first control assembly (Dial section 51 configured to manipulate the bending section 31) disposed at a first location on the handle (FIG. 1, annotated); and
a second control assembly (First knob 52A configured to bend the bending section 220) disposed at a second location on the handle offset from the first location (FIG. 1);
wherein the first control assembly controls a movement of the elongate tube (Dial section 51 configured to manipulate the bending section 31), and wherein the second control assembly controls a movement of a distal end of the accessory device (First knob 52A configured to bend the bending section 220).
Regarding claim 14, Onuki discloses wherein the accessory device (Bending section 220 is moveable distally bending section 31) is moveable distally relative to the elongate tube.
Regarding claim 16, Onuki discloses wherein the first control assembly comprises a first wheel and a second wheel (FIG. 22; first control, dial section 51, assembly include 2 wheels), wherein the first wheel controls a first direction of movement of the elongate tube and the second wheel controls a second direction of movement of the elongate tube (Wheel are configured to control the two directions of the movement. Para [0107]).
Regarding claim 17, Onuki discloses wherein a first drum is coupled to the first wheel and wherein a second drum is coupled to the second wheel (A wire and drum is associated with first dial section 51 which has two wheels. Wire 239; para [0134]), wherein a first wire disposed on the first drum controls the first direction of movement of the elongate tube and a second wire disposed on the second drum controls the second direction of movement of the elongate tube, the first drum and second drum coaxial with the first control assembly (Wire and drum associated with the second wheel of the dial 51; Wire 239; para [0134]); FIGS. 1, 19, 22).
Regarding claim 18, Onuki discloses wherein the second control assembly comprises a third wheel and a fourth wheel (Note two wheels associated with the second control assembly; FIG. 22), wherein the third wheel controls a first direction of movement of the accessory device and the fourth wheel controls a second direction of movement of the accessory device (Second dial section 52 includes two wheels and are configured to manipulate the left arm section 4, bending section 220. Para [0107]).
Regarding claim 19, Onuki discloses wherein a third drum is coupled to the third wheel and wherein a fourth drum is coupled to the fourth wheel (Each of the wheel have associated drums. The claims do not claim the features of the drums.), wherein a third wire disposed on the third drum controls the first direction of movement of the accessory device and a fourth wire disposed on the fourth drum controls the second direction of movement of the accessory device (Each wheel would have drums or pully for wires to be maneuvered by the knobs. Para [0094]), the first drum and second drum being coaxial with the first control assembly (Note the coaxial wheels in each of the first control assembly and second control assembly; FIG. 22; FIG. 22).
Regarding claim 20, Onuki discloses a medical scope device (FIG. 1), comprising:
a handle (FIG. 1, annotated) located at a proximal end of the medical scope device;
a first steerable device (bending section 31; FIG.1) extending from the handle to a distal end of the medical scope device;
a second steerable device (left arm section 4, bending section 220, FIG. 1 annotated) extending from the handle to the distal end of the medical scope device;
a first control assembly (Dial section 51 configured to manipulate the bending section 31) disposed at a first location on the handle, the first control assembly including a first wheel to control a first direction of movement of the first steerable device and a second wheel to control a second direction of movement of the first steerable device (Dial section 51 includes two wheels; FIG. 22; The bending section can be bent in four directions. Para [0094]); and
a second control assembly (First knob 52A, dial section 52, configured to bend the bending section 220. Para [0094]) disposed at a second location (FIG. 1) on the handle offset from the first location, the second control assembly including a third wheel to control a first direction of movement of the second steerable device and a fourth wheel to control a second direction of movement of the second steerable device (Dial section 52 include third wheel and fourth wheel. Para [0094]; The bending section 220 is bent in four directions.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuki (US 20130184528) in view of Fancher (US 20220151463).
Regarding claim 7, Onuki does not expressly disclose a first brake for selectively preventing rotation of the first control assembly and a second brake for selectively preventing rotation of the second control assembly.
Fancher is directed to a medical instrument system (abstract) and teaches a first brake for selectively preventing rotation of the first control assembly and a second brake for selectively preventing rotation of the second control assembly (Reusable hand-piece can include a brake that applies an adjustable level of rotational resistance to the articulation control (e.g., articulation control knobs; FIGS. 11, 13; Para [0270], [0280], [0283], [0407]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Onuki to include brakes with the drums so that the rotation of the control assembly (wheels) could be smoothly controlled.
Regarding claim 15, Onuki does not expressly disclose a first brake for selectively preventing rotation of the first control assembly and a second brake for selectively preventing rotation of the second control assembly.
Fancher is directed to a medical instrument system (abstract) and teaches a first brake for selectively preventing rotation of the first control assembly and a second brake for selectively preventing rotation of the second control assembly (Reusable hand-piece can include a brake that applies an adjustable level of rotational resistance to the articulation control (e.g., articulation control knobs; FIGS. 11, 13; Para [0270], [0280], [0283], [0407]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Onuki to include brakes with the drums so that the rotation of the control assembly (wheels) could be smoothly controlled.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO – 892.
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
1/26/26